Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Eco barn conversion, next to stables

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

Trippet Cottage - a barn conversion that sleeps 4 guests in 2 bedrooms

Trippet Cottage is a recently refurbished, low energy, stone barn conversion which has been equipped with under floor heating, led lighting and photovoltaic panels. The large open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area has been tastefully decorated and is well equipped with all modern amenities. The bedrooms are spacious, luxurious, well appointed and have a delightful feel.

Trippet Cottage is situated next door to Hallagenna riding stables and livery yard. If you want to bring your horse with you on holiday, there are some fabulous hacks across the breathtaking and unspoilt scenery of Bodmin Moor, from rocky tors, open moorland, atmospheric wooded valleys and gentle streams.


Ground Floor: Open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room with comfortable sofas and double height ceilings, one double bedroom with a 4'6" bed and en suite with shower and WC, one twin bedroom with en suite shower and WC.

Exterior: Parking for 3 cars out the front, seating area with garden furniture and barbecue facilities.

Facilities & Services

Trippet Cottage is centrally heated with an under floor system. The fully fitted kitchen is equipped with an electric oven & hob, kettle, toaster, fridge /freezer, microwave and dishwasher. There is a washing machine/dryer. The lounge area has a flat screen, digital TV with DVD player with a CD & Radio. There is an iron and ironing board available. The property has WiFi.


Heating, electricity, bed linen and towels are all included however you will need to bring your own beach towels. We regret that dogs are not permitted and no smoking is allowed.

General Booking Information

Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.

Short breaks are available during quieter periods.

£200 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 days outside the peak season, using one room only.

More Details

Property Manager
CornwallsCottages Booking Team
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 13, 2018


Saint Breward Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • - toilet , shower
    - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 double
    - 2 twin/ single
  • 1 x double, 1 x twin - both en suite
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Eco barn conversion, next to stables
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
London, United Kingdom


  • 5 of 5

Our journey was excellent despite awful weather. But it did not depend on the owner. Very clean and very comfortable. Many thanks.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stanford Le Hope, United Kingdom

A wonderful few days based on Bodmin Moor.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time here despite the weather. The barn conversion has been done to a very high standard, with all mod cons.

And we got to see the horses every morning as they were groomed for the day. Within easy reach of The Old Inn, St Breward where we ate on 2 nights and Jamaica Inn, full of mystery and romance.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Herbrechtingen, Germany

Mixed Emotions

  • 3 of 5

As we arrived in the later Friday afternoon the room temperature was preset to 15°C. The cottage was feeling cold and didn't warm up before next day afternoon due to the set of the heating programm, which only can be edited by the owner.

Due to the open plan and the few interiors the feeling was like in a church. Every sounds echoes. The acoustic conditions of Tripped Cottage are very poor.

I never expected that there was no teapot, no salt, no sugar, no condiments, no food containers for storage, no clocks neither on a wall nor on the bedsides, just the one of the hob. The microwave oven is situated in a corner and opens to the front which makes it difficult to use, especially for small people (and I don't mean kids).

After I spoke to the owner a teapot was organized in between one week.

In general the under floor heating is alright. In our case it failed at the beginning of the second week of our stay and the temperature began to drop again. It was not easy for me to recognize if a low temperature heating works or not because it was set to switch on for some hours in the monring and then again in the afternoon till approx. 22 hrs (in October!). But after we informed the owner it was repaired immediately and the heating was active for the whole last day.

The bed and linnen was very good, warm and comfortable. The owner is a nice guy and was always kind and ready to talk with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Owner's Response: Dear Bernhard It is of great concern that you did not find Trippet cottage to your satisfaction. Your comments regarding the equipment in the cottage have been taken on Board and we wil be ensuring that the items which were not available will be made available in the next few weeks. With reference to the Heating. As you are aware after 8 days of your stay when you did make us aware of the heating issue. We found that the boiler was not working correctly, Once we had established the issue it was repaired without delay. We apologies for any inconvenience caused and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Delightful Modern Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cottage ( Family of four ) October Half Term. The location is quite remote, about a 10 minute walk to the village center in St Breward. This was exactly what we wanted a quiet and remote base to travel around the delightful Cornish countryside!

The Cottage is a very, very clean and ultra modern with lovely white walls, wooden floors and minimalist look throughout.

There is everything you could want for a simple relaxing holiday. The cottage is well equipped with washing machine/dishwasher, excellent oven and all the usual equipment you'd expect in a modern kitchen.

The bedrooms are all en-suite with very modern walk in shower/wet-room... all very tastefully decorated

We were able to use the very fast WiFi easily, although it did fall down a few times... but considering the remoteness of the dwelling this is probably to be expected and not a complaint at all.

Nothing negative about this cottage all good, would happily return. Thanks, Shaun and family.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

A long weekend away.

  • 5 of 5

Although we stayed in this cottage for only a weekend it was perfect. The scenery around trippet cottage is amazing.

The property itself was modern and clean and the people who own the place are very friendly and helpful with whatever you need! If horse riding is your thing I would definitely recommend a stay here.

There is plenty to do round the area with a local pub just round the road that does really good food.

We will definitely be going back in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Trowbridge, United Kingdom

Lovely quiet setting. Accommodation provided all we required. Privacy good. Choice of activities gd.

  • 5 of 5

Excellent. Just what was required to get away from hustle and bustle. Would recommend to others. .

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


The nearest good country pub is in the middle of St Breward - The Old Inn famed for being Cornwalls highest pub, they have an excellent atmospheric bar with beamed ceilings and roaring log fires (in the winter of course!) The pub was originally built in the 11th century to house the monks who constructed the church next door. There is also a village shop which stocks a wide range of local produce.

If you fancy sampling other areas of Cornwall, Trippet Cottage's central location gives really good access to the A39 North Coast road from Tintagel down to Newquay and also to the A30 which can take you further west towards Penzance and Mounts Bay with St Michaels Mount. Wadebridge, once a Market Town is now more widely known as being part of The Camel Trail, the cycle route out to Padstow from the depths of Bodmin Moor, on the old tram way route. You can hire a bike at the start of the trail and cycle to Padstow, now famous for being home to Rick Steins Seafood Restaurant, amongst other properties the celebrity chef owns in the town. From Padstow you could take a boat trip across the Camel Estuary to Rock, and lounge on the beautiful beach that stretches all the way around to Daymer Bay. The National Lobster Hatchery neighbours Rick Steins empire in Padstow. The Royal Cornwall Show ground at Wadebridge hosts the county show every June, come rain or shine, opened each year by a member of the Royal Family. Cornish Farmers have had to diversify in recent years and so has the show, but they have kept their traditional roots with steam engines being shown next to the shiny new high-tech tractors. It's not every day you get to see formation JCB digger dancing in the main ring. The National Trust have three properties nearby, Lanhydrock House, Trerice and Carnewas. Slightly further afield is the Eden Project in St Austell, famously built in a disused china clay pit.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included.

    Discounts available for couples staying for 7 days outside the peak season, using one room only.
  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent

You might like these similar properties