Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful water views/direct access. Nothing like you've ever seen!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 bedroom, 1 bath with glass everywhere.

Come and enjoy nature with 90+ acres to roam. Paths for long walks or mountain bikes. Architect James Fox designed this cliff side home overlooking a beautiful fall. Feel like you are in the trees in an area much as it was when inhabited by Cherokee Indians. Stream feeds into Lake Hartwell. Boat slips are close by to provide big water access. This property is in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. Please respect our no pet policy, we cannot make exceptions.

Bill Martin
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2018

About Bill Martin

I'm a Delta Air Lines pilot living close to Atlanta.

Bill Martin purchased this house in 2013

Why Bill Martin chose Westminster

Truly unique experience. You will be blown away!


Westminster House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • One bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • The beds are double or full size. They are smaller than queen size and are 54” x 75”.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful water views/direct access. Nothing like you've ever seen!
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 48 reviews

Exactly as described! A stay you must experience.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home. This is one of the most relaxing atmospheres one can ever find. From the water fall, house, and surrounding property, one can surely let the mind wonder here. Thank you for allowing others to experience this!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great property. Very quiet and relaxing. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tranquil (most of the time)

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful setting, gorgeous house and very comfortable. A queen-sized bed would be more desirable, and the mattress in the guest room is more comfortable than the master bed. But we loved the house and the setting.

Several large, rowdy groups came to use the pool below the falls. This was mostly okay, but after having paid upfront for “60 private acres”, it was somewhat disappointing. Mostly people were just having fun but two of the groups were drinking beer and yelling more than normal.

Overall we had a great time but I think the ad should warn guests summer months will come with the extra noise / groups.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback Julie. I'm very glad you had a great time. I'm sorry you had any issues. If I had known about them while you were staying, I would have done anything I could to improve your visit. We are over 100 acres now and a part of our property does surround public access waters from Lake Hartwell. We've owned the house for over eight years and have never experienced what you did and this is the first complaint I've received. Neither I, nor the Lake Hartwell Rangers, will tolerate unacceptable behavior.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Clarkesville, GA

Beautiful, relaxing, and everything I hoped for.

  • 5 of 5

The natural beauty of the area and the unique house are unbeatable. The sound of the waterfall is so very calming and the views from the decks are just breathtaking. Being "unplugged" for 4 days was absolutely awesome!!

The short hike down to the waterfall was very fun and not difficult - back up is a little steep but nothing to challenging - especially if you use one of the great walking sticks provided.

The only thing I would change is to upsize the mattresses to queens - I had forgotten how small double mattresses are. Otherwise - sheer bliss!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salisbury, North Carolina

Uniquely beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Gina was very helpful and gave us places to hike and visit. Loved being in the woods by a beautiful waterfall.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for a 2nd time.

  • 5 of 5

This is the 2nd time we have stayed on this property. The first time we were traveling with friends. This time was with our children. Both experiences were great!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Located on a private stream in Oconee County, the most NW county in upstate SC.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties