Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

House in Zaanstad, Amsterdam area

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,776 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Pelle & Viktoria van Hall
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018


Zaanstad House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • floor 0
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1776 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Toilet 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    - 1 king
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Parasol
  • 6 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • disco club
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • water sports
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
26% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.631579 based on 19 reviews
California, USA

Wonderful home close to Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in Zaandam. The home was well stocked with necessities. The kitchen had many of the basics in the cabinets, extra towels and paper goods were available, the beds were comfortable - we couldn't have asked for more! The washing machine was a bit finicky to get to work, but we finally figured it out. Transportation in to Amsterdam was easily accessible. Zaandam was a nice town and there were many places to enjoy and eat at in the square which was walking distance from the home. We enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to recommend the home to others. Thank you Pelle and Viktoria!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at this Holland home. Very nice area.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We've just come back from a week in Zaandam and Amsterdam, and Pelle's place was a great place to stay.

Six of us stayed (a family of 5 and a friend) and there was plenty of space in a stylishly decorated house that really fit our image of what it would be like in The Netherlands. The local area and the house are exactly as described by Pelle and the welcome from Pelle's friend Farah was warm and she was very informative for first-time visitors to The Netherlands.

Although we didn't get to meet Pelle himself, we did talk to him several times via the HomeAway messaging system, and he was friendly, efficient and helpful - a pleasure to deal with.

The house was well equipped for cooking so we cooked at home a few times.

The nearest supermarket was only a 5 minute walk and the town centre, with some Italian, Spanish Tapas, Greek restaurants, a delicious ice cream shop and a Chinese take away was a 10 minute walk.

Zaandam and the surrounding area north of Amsterdam has a lot of history, so do your homework before you go, and plan to look around. Zaanse Schans was only 10 minutes drive away and we spent a whole day there. Staying at Pelle's house and just heading south into Amsterdam every day would be a real shame. The train fare for an adult costs around 6.50 Euros return to the Central Amsterdam station which we think was a reasonable price to pay to come back to a nice, spacious, quiet house at the end of a busy day, rather than staying in Central Amsterdam.

If we go back to The Netherlands for another holiday (which is quite likely, given how interesting it is and how friendly Dutch people are!) we will definitely be in touch with Pelle again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

I bought a car using the European Delivery Program and wanted a location where I didn't have to worry about public parking. This is an amazing property that I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to use Zandaam as a base operations to explore Amsterdam and the Netherlands. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the house and its only a few stops away from Central Station.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
phoenix, az

Beautiful house, great location

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 (including 3 teens and a grandma) had the pleasure of staying in Pelle and Viktoria's beautiful home for 3 nights in early June. The house was exactly as pictured. Pelle was out of town when we arrived, but we were met by his friend, Farah, who showed us around and made sure we had all the information we needed for our stay.

We did not have a car, and were able to take the train from the airport to the Zandaam station. The house is a short walk from there. A quick ride (less than 15 minutes) on the Sprinter line got us into the city each day. Zandaam is a nice, quiet place to stay--good markets, shopping and restaurants near the train station. Once back to the house, the neighborhood was quiet and quaint. The house was clean, the kitchen was well-stocked (we didn't do much cooking, but it seemed to have everything one would need.) Exceptionally high marks for the espresso machine--the best coffee we've ever had in a rental!

I would caution readers that the stairs are very steep, especially the ones up to the attic bedroom. This is clearly stated, so I was not surprised, but my 71 year old mother would not even consider going up in the attic. Just something to be aware of. Overall, the house is lovely and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious, comfortable, quiet place in Amsterdam.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome property near Amsterdam

  • 4 of 5

Location was perfect! Only 20 minute train ride to Schiphol - 5 minute walk to train station and super easy access to Amsterdam Central (12 minutes). Walking distance to 2 supermarkets and the city centre with wonderful pubs, shops and cafes. Quiet and beautiful residential street.

Property was extremely clean and had great amenities. Comfy beds, modern showers. There were 6 of us so two bathrooms with showers was awesome! 6 people lived very comfortably in this space for a week and the rate is very reasonable.

Everything you need to cook but BBQ was not in great shape and needed to be cleaned before use. Does not have a traditional oven - just a stove top cooker but microwave can be used as a convection oven.

TV and internet were advertised but we could only use one or the other at a time - when we did use the TV picture quality was terrible. Not usually something we'd care about but it was advertised and it was World Cup time.

Internet wifi quality was good.

Setting up things with Pelle before our arrival was great - he answered all of our questions promptly

But we were a bit disappointed about the check in on arrival as Pelle was on vacation (which he told us about), but calling to meet his back up person didn't work out well. We called from the airport several times but the contact didn't answer their phone. We left a message saying we had arrived and were on our way to the house but she never showed up to let us in. Without a phone this proved difficult. Luckily a very helpful neighbour and friend of Pelle's let us in and showed us how everything worked.

We contacted Pelle after we checked in and even though he was on vacation he returned our messages very quickly and provided us with follow ups and information. Even at a distance he was a great host.

We would definitely stay here again! Thank you Pelle!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Renée, Thank you for your review! The TV / internet issues have been resolved. They both work at the same time. TV picture quality issue has been solved by UPC and a new 125kb/sec WiFi modem has been installed. Unfortunately you never left a message when you called the lady that was supposed to check you in. She knew you called but had no idea at what time you wanted to check in. Maybe a good idea to have a working mobile phone with you when you the next time you travel. BBQ should of course have been cleaned before your arrival, my apologies for that. Hope to welcome you again soon, this time in person :) Best regards, Pelle
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
17 Kilometres
Nearest Train
800 Metres
Station Zaandam
Nearest Beach
17 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

(Text automatically translated) When arriving by car you can enter my address into your navigation system. Street: Boats Makers Street 105 Zip: 1506 TC City: Zaandam When arriving by plane you can take a direct train from Schiphol Airport to Zaandam. The train goes directly 2x per hour at: 16 and: 46. Directions from the station to my house can be found using this link: Also a taxi transfer can be arranged with Taxi Zaanland. For a regular taxi car the cost for pick up and return costs 80 euros total. A total minibus taxi for pick up and return costs 120 euros. Please Remember That four people easily fit into a normal taxi but not too much luggage will fit in the boot of the car. Let me know if you would like to use the taxi transfer service so I can make reservations for you.

(Text automatically translated) On arrival you will find a directory listing That the shops and restaurants are close to the house, many of the interesting sites and places to see and how everything works in and around the house.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $307.65
Schoonmaak $184.59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties