check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Justin McCarthy

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Luxurious House with indoor heated swimming pool 20mins to Edinburgh

Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


East Whitburn House Rental Photos and Description

20 min. from Edinburgh

The Retreat is a fantastic property suitable for private holidays, residential courses, small events and family gatherings.

Situated fifteen minutes from Edinburgh and twenty-five minutes from Glasgow it's the perfect location from which to enjoy the attractions of these cities. There are a selection of local golf courses including the Championship course at the Dalmahoy. You may also choose to use The Retreat as a base from which to explore the beautiful scenery further north.

Decorated to a high standard, this property is perfect for a luxury holiday, or as a destination to run your event or course. We also offer wedding packages that can be tailored to your needs. The Retreat also lends itself perfectly for spa breaks, golf holidays and corporate events.

The property itself sits in beautifully established gardens in the rural area of Redmill, making it a perfect place to retreat and just enjoy some quiet relaxation.

The Retreat's residential accommodation comprises;

Large lounge area with widescreen TV

Kitchen with granite worktops & American style fridge freezer

Dining room

Utility room

Sun room overlooking rear gardens

6 Bedrooms, 3 en-suite plus a shared bathroom.

The bedrooms consist of four double sized bedrooms in main house which have single beds - these can be made into super king beds to suit your party. There is also one single bedroom in the main house which has bunk beds. The annexe houses a further four single beds. Sleeps up to fourteen.

The Retreat Leisure Facilities

Heated Indoor Pool (8m x 4m) & area for lounging

Access from the indoor pool to outdoor decking and BBQ area

Outdoor hot tub

Treatment rooms - Three treatment rooms are located in a separate building off the parking area. This building also houses a relaxation room and a jacuzzi bathroom with showering facilities.


Sky Television

Decked area in the rear garden ideal for dining outside

Parking area for up to 15 cars

Our guests thoroughly enjoy the time they spend at The Retreat and we'll make every effort to ensure your time with us is as special as it can be. We can provide additional features to your stay on request including therapists to deliver a range of world class ESPA treatments in the on-site treatment rooms.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Justin McCarthy (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed 24th of May for 2 nights for My Aunt's 60th Birthday. The house was amazing, spotlessly clean, fabulous Pool, Hot tub and Sauna... so much space we all had a Fantastic time and two nights not long enough! This was booked as a surprise and went down so well we are talking about who's birthday next and we would go back in a heart beat!! Loved every minute.
May 2014
  • 1 of 2


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)
Luxurious House with indoor heated swimming pool 20mins to Edinburgh
average rating of 4.090909 based on 13 reviews

Lovely property. The whole group loved it. I would rent it again.

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and we'll presented property. The group of us had a great stay, the space and layout is perfect. We found the pool a bit cold but no one was that bothered. Checkout time is quite early but it did make us get up and get on with it. Like a previous review, I am still waiting for my deposit to be returned 2 wks on.Other than that I can't really fault the place and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing house for weekend away!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this amazing place for our works weekend away! And it was the best ever. Hot tub and poo. We're the best and the rooms were all so big and spacious. Kitchen and living room were fab for all of us. Highly recommend, we are booking for 2016!!

Thanks x

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Holiday review

  • 4 of 5

Despite one or two minor issues on arrival, which were immediately rectified, and us only locating four bathrooms and one shower room, we had a lovely holiday. (Details state 6 bathrooms)

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. I have copied and pasted below the bathroom details from our advert, hopefully this clarifies your query. You will see that there are 6 different bathroom options. Thanks again, Justin Full Bathroom 1 (ensuite) Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower Notes: Shower attached to taps Shower Bathroom 2 (ensuite) Features: Toilet, Shower Enclosure Full Bathroom 3 Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower Notes: Shower attached to taps Shower Bathroom 4 Features: Shower Enclosure Notes: Pool changing room - no toilet Full Bathroom 5 Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower, Jacuzzi Shower Bathroom 6 Features: Shower Enclosure Notes: Annexe Shower Room
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Enjoyed our stay but still waiting on deposit

  • 3 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this house. Adjoining pool to the main bedroom gave it the wow factor! However on the Saturday morning we had no hot water for showers in the main house so this was a bit disappointing.

What is more disappointing and unacceptable is that I am still waiting to receive my deposit back or even hear from the owners regarding this despite sending an email asking about it. 14 people are out of pocket. We have been waiting a whole week.Hopefully will get a response soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was sorry to hear you had no water or WI -FI on the Saturday, as you did not contact us this was something we did not have the opportunity to put right for you. Had you contacted us I'm sure this could have been rectified easily. I apologise for the delay in returning the deposit, we were on holiday and didn't pick your email up until our return. The deposit has now been refunded.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

100% recommended

  • 5 of 5

we had a brilliant stay here over new year! The house was immaculate and very modern. The owner was available by telephone at all times if we had any questions. Would highly recommend and will be returning!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

What a house!!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved this house!

Its was spotlessly clean, plenty room, facilities are outstanding - the pool was lovely and warm and attached to the house. The hot tub worked perfectly throughout our stay and the owner popped in to refresh water and chemical it for us - staff were lovely to!, We had a ball, kids loved it and can't wait to go back,

They don't advertise it but there are 2 beauty rooms which are just for guests using the house, 3 of the Mums in our party had ESPA facials which were fabulous :) def recommend :))

  • Submitted: May 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
19 Kilometres
Edinburgh International
Nearest Ferry
18 Kilometres
Nearest Train
6 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Car: recommended

The town of Redmill is situated 15 minutes from Edinburgh & 25 minutes from Glasgow and is perfectly placed for touring the Scottish Borders, Highland & islands and Central Scotland.

Woodfield House is situated in secluded luxury development classed as 'countryside' yet only min. from the motorway junction.

There are plenty of activities nearby, shopping for instance can be found at Designer Outlet McArthur Glen, or Edinburgh offers a vast range of designer shops, including Louis Vutton, Armani, Harvey Nichols, Jenners as well as the major high street brands.

Golf can be found in abundance in Scotland, we have affiliations with local golf courses. We can also organise trips to St Andrews, North Berwick or indeed any courses in Scotland.

Restaurants: Plenty of wonderful restaurants can be found nearby, the infamous Champaneys in Linlithgow is definitely worth a visit.

Golf: Stunning scenery. Friendly people. Great shopping. Historic buildings. Crisp, fresh mornings melting into mellow afternoons. Some of the liveliest night life in Europe. Welcome to Scotland - and welcome to Execulet, your Scottish hideaway with a difference. No matter when you come to Scotland, you'll find a warm welcome waiting – if only the same could be said of our weather!

Golf: From St. Andrew's Old Course to the stunning scenery at Gleneagles Hotel and Golf Club, you won't find better gold than right here in Scotland. Perthshire alone boasts over 40 courses, and the rest of the country is equally well-supplied.


Rates & Availability

East Whitburn House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
August 2016
Aug 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
September - December 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
New Year
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan - June 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Jun 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
July & Augusts 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Sept - Dec 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $395

* Prices ARE BASED ON 14 Guests,
* £300 refundable security deposit ( payable 8 weeks prior to arrival)
* 50% payable at time of booking - balance and deposit 8 weeks before arrival.
* Price includes, electric, gas, linen, local taxes
* We accept credit/debit card, BACS or CHAPS.
* Sorry, we don't accept pets or smokers or single sex groups under the age of 35.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


East Whitburn House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 440 m²
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 (ensuite) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower attached to taps
    Bathroom 2 (ensuite) - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower attached to taps
    Bathroom 4 - shower , Pool changing room - no toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 6 - shower , Annexe Shower Room
  • Stunning bathrooms fitted to the highest standard, Master bathroom has a deep roll top bath, two contemporary vanity units and is fully tiled. Annexe suite has a large jacuzzi bath and separate shower room. All bathrooms are fully tiled, and have chrome towel rails.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 6 (annexe) - 4 twin/ single , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
  • Sleeps 14 (plus 3 cots) Four bedrooms have super king size beds which are zip'n'link and can easily be made to single beds. Single bedroom has bunk beds and the 6th bedroom has a super king/twin plus a sofa bed suitable and a further single bed.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties