Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious House with indoor heated swimming pool - sleeps 15

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 4,736 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

20 min. from Edinburgh

Woodfield House is an exclusive, detached self catering property suitable for private holidays, residential courses, small events and family gatherings.

Situated fifteen minutes from Edinburgh and twenty-five minutes from Glasgow it's the perfect location from which to enjoy the attractions of these cities. There are a selection of local golf courses including the Championship course at the Dalmahoy. You may also choose to use The Retreat as a base from which to explore the beautiful scenery further north.

Decorated to a high standard, this property is perfect for a luxury holiday, or as a destination to run your event or course. We also offer wedding packages that can be tailored to your needs. The Retreat also lends itself perfectly for spa breaks, golf holidays and corporate events.

The property itself sits in beautifully established gardens in the rural area of Redmill, making it a perfect place to retreat and just enjoy some quiet relaxation.

The Retreat's residential accommodation comprises;

Large lounge area with TV

Kitchen with granite worktops & American style fridge freezer

Dining room

Utility room

Sun room overlooking rear gardens

6 Bedrooms, 3 en-suite plus a shared bathroom.

The bedrooms consist of four double sized bedrooms in main house which have single beds - these can be made into super king beds to suit your party. There is also one single bedroom in the main house which has bunk beds. The annexe houses a further four single beds. Sleeps up to 15

The Retreat Leisure Facilities

Heated Indoor Pool (8m x 4m) & area for lounging

Access from the indoor pool to outdoor decking and BBQ area

Outdoor hot tub

Treatment rooms - Three treatment rooms are located in the annexe building, we can offer ESPA & Ishga treatments. This building also houses small kitchenette, shower room and a jacuzzi bathroom.

Wifi

Sky Television

Decked area in the rear garden ideal for dining outside

Parking area for up to 15 cars

Our guests thoroughly enjoy the time they spend at The Retreat and we'll make every effort to ensure your time with us is as special as it can be.

More Details

Owner
Justin McCarthy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed 24th of May for 2 nights for My Aunt's 60th Birthday. The house was amazing, spotlessly clean, fabulous Pool, Hot tub and Sauna... so much space we all had a Fantastic time and two nights not long enough! This was booked as a surprise and went down so well we are talking about who's birthday next and we would go back in a heart beat!! Loved every minute.
May 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

East Whitburn House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4736 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 15 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 (ensuite) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower attached to taps
    Bathroom 2 (ensuite) - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower attached to taps
    Bathroom 4 - shower , Pool changing room - no toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 6 - shower , Annexe Shower Room
  • Stunning bathrooms fitted to the highest standard, Master bathroom has a deep roll top bath, two contemporary vanity units and is fully tiled. Annexe suite has a large jacuzzi bath and separate shower room. All bathrooms are fully tiled, and have chrome towel rails.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 6 (annexe) - 4 twin/ single , 1 large bed or can be made into 2 singles
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
  • Sleeps 15 (plus 3 cots) Four bedrooms have super king size beds which are zip'n'link and can easily be made to single beds. Single bedroom has bunk beds and the 6th bedroom has four single beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Luxurious House with indoor heated swimming pool - sleeps 15
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 14 reviews
5

Amazing place! Beautiful and spacious house, just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at The Retreat in Redmill. From the start of the weekend to the end we felt comfortable in the very cosy and homely surroundings. The hardest decision we had to make over the weekend was whether to go in the hot tub, swimming pool or sauna! The facilities were superb and allowed for a fantastic weekend to relax and catchup with friends. Communication with the owner was very quick and easy and we would definitely recommend this stunning place to stay to anyone in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Lovely property. The whole group loved it. I would rent it again.

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and we'll presented property. The group of us had a great stay, the space and layout is perfect. We found the pool a bit cold but no one was that bothered. Checkout time is quite early but it did make us get up and get on with it. Like a previous review, I am still waiting for my deposit to be returned 2 wks on.Other than that I can't really fault the place and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing house for weekend away!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this amazing place for our works weekend away! And it was the best ever. Hot tub and poo. We're the best and the rooms were all so big and spacious. Kitchen and living room were fab for all of us. Highly recommend, we are booking for 2016!!

Thanks x

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Holiday review

  • 4 of 5

Despite one or two minor issues on arrival, which were immediately rectified, and us only locating four bathrooms and one shower room, we had a lovely holiday. (Details state 6 bathrooms)

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. I have copied and pasted below the bathroom details from our advert, hopefully this clarifies your query. You will see that there are 6 different bathroom options. Thanks again, Justin Full Bathroom 1 (ensuite) Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower Notes: Shower attached to taps Shower Bathroom 2 (ensuite) Features: Toilet, Shower Enclosure Full Bathroom 3 Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower Notes: Shower attached to taps Shower Bathroom 4 Features: Shower Enclosure Notes: Pool changing room - no toilet Full Bathroom 5 Features: Toilet, Bath with Shower, Jacuzzi Shower Bathroom 6 Features: Shower Enclosure Notes: Annexe Shower Room
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyed our stay but still waiting on deposit

  • 3 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this house. Adjoining pool to the main bedroom gave it the wow factor! However on the Saturday morning we had no hot water for showers in the main house so this was a bit disappointing.

What is more disappointing and unacceptable is that I am still waiting to receive my deposit back or even hear from the owners regarding this despite sending an email asking about it. 14 people are out of pocket. We have been waiting a whole week.Hopefully will get a response soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was sorry to hear you had no water or WI -FI on the Saturday, as you did not contact us this was something we did not have the opportunity to put right for you. Had you contacted us I'm sure this could have been rectified easily. I apologise for the delay in returning the deposit, we were on holiday and didn't pick your email up until our return. The deposit has now been refunded.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

100% recommended

  • 5 of 5

we had a brilliant stay here over new year! The house was immaculate and very modern. The owner was available by telephone at all times if we had any questions. Would highly recommend and will be returning!!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Kilometres
Edinburgh International
Nearest Ferry
18 Kilometres
Rosyth
Nearest Train
6 Kilometres
Bathgate
Car: recommended

The town of Redmill is situated 15 minutes from Edinburgh & 25 minutes from Glasgow and is perfectly placed for touring the Scottish Borders, Highland & islands and Central Scotland.

Woodfield House is situated in secluded luxury development classed as 'countryside' yet only min. from the motorway junction.

There are plenty of activities nearby, shopping for instance can be found at Designer Outlet McArthur Glen, or Edinburgh offers a vast range of designer shops, including Louis Vutton, Armani, Harvey Nichols, Jenners as well as the major high street brands.

Golf can be found in abundance in Scotland, we have affiliations with local golf courses. We can also organise trips to St Andrews, North Berwick or indeed any courses in Scotland.

Restaurants: Plenty of wonderful restaurants can be found nearby, the infamous Champaneys in Linlithgow is definitely worth a visit.

Golf: Stunning scenery. Friendly people. Great shopping. Historic buildings. Crisp, fresh mornings melting into mellow afternoons. Some of the liveliest night life in Europe. Welcome to Scotland - and welcome to Execulet, your Scottish hideaway with a difference. No matter when you come to Scotland, you'll find a warm welcome waiting – if only the same could be said of our weather!

Golf: From St. Andrew's Old Course to the stunning scenery at Gleneagles Hotel and Golf Club, you won't find better gold than right here in Scotland. Perthshire alone boasts over 40 courses, and the rest of the country is equally well-supplied.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit $405.41

* Prices ARE BASED ON 14 Guests,
* £300 refundable security deposit ( payable 8 weeks prior to arrival)
* 50% payable at time of booking - balance and deposit 8 weeks before arrival.
* Price includes, electric, gas, linen, local taxes
* We accept credit/debit card, BACS or CHAPS.
* Sorry, we don't accept pets or smokers or single sex groups under the age of 35.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties