check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076


Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Ocean Front-Pebble Beach Drive-Spectacular View!-Crescent City

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Crescent City House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Pebble Beach View Vacation Rental & Guest House - This older oceanfront beach house (2 BR/2 BA) has just recently finished a major remodeling and has now has expanded beautiful ocean views from living room, dining and master bedroom areas. Spacious master bedroom has plenty of closet space, a tiled shower, double sinks and dressing area. 2nd bedroom has a queen bed & a twin sofa sleeper (sofa sleeper is best for kids rather than adults). Living room has new futons & older sofa sleeper (sofa sleeper is best for kids, rather than adults). Stairs to the beach are right out the front door! Separate second story studio/loft available for rental, also, for around half the cost of the main house (that adds another bedroom, kitchenette, and bath, and 2nd story ocean view deck, making it 3 BR/3 BA). This location has an amazing view! HAS WIRELESS INTERNET CONNECTION!

Located on South Pebble Beach Drive (the most breathtaking drive on the North Coast!) near to Redwood National Park, Battery Point Lighthouse, Crescent City Harbor, Ocean World, Trees of Mystery (Klamath), the Smith and Klamath Rivers, Lake Earl Wildlife Area, Del Norte County Airport, Sutter Coast Hospital, Pelican Bay State Prison, and it's only 20 miles up Coast Highway 101 to the Oregon border and Brookings. We encourage Exchange Stays with other Vacation Rental Owners through the iTravex website online. (Ours is #9977)

Pebble Beach offers the Pacific's most spectacular sunsets, plus a view of distant Point St. George Lighthouse out at sea. We think it's the most beautiful spot on Earth!-- Listen to sea lions and sea birds, plus take advantage of the free stress-reducing therapy offered by the sight and sound of the ocean waves!-- We've had many satisfied guests. Keywords: Vacation Rental/Guest House

More Details
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Lori (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

About Lori

This is our only rental place--it's the house we first bought and that we used to live in before our big family 'outgrew' it, but it's in too nice of a spot not to hold onto it! We're in love with the location!

Lori purchased this house in 1988

Why Lori chose Crescent City

Like living in a national park setting every day!

What makes this house unique

This is an older home (now recently remodeled) with a 'million-dollar view'!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great Location! We had a family reunion here & it was wonderful. Every sunset was magical. The kids went crabbing at low tide. Major change of pace from Chicago! Thanks--
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 217


based on 10 traveler reviews

Ocean Front-Pebble Beach Drive-Spectacular View!-Crescent City
average rating of 3.7 based on 227 reviews

This beach house is made for relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this beach house. Access to the beach was easy, the views are amazing. The home was clean, comfortable,spacious and well supplied. Lori was A very gracious host.

Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome place to stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Very good place to stay and have a leisure stay. Good view of the beach right from the bedroom snd living room. All the facilities provided was very good. Very good and humble owners. This place is surely a place where you can just sit back and relax. The house was very neat and clean and was well maintained. Will surely recommend others whoever wants to go cresent city.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review, and we wish to say thank you to you as well, for being great guests and leaving the place in nice condition and very neat upon your departure. You would certainly be welcome back to stay again any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Coastal Redwood Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Arrived late, after dark, due to cancelled flight. Had NO problem finding this rental with the great directions from Lori. We tucked ourselves in and had the ocean notice put us to sleep. Woke up the next morning and WOW.. Our view was beautiful , the pictures you view here are only a small glimpse of the beauty. Wished it did have some coffee for us, but the studio was clean and you just can't beat the view.

Thank you Lori for everything, and we are recommending everyone to come visit you.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very happy that the directions worked well for you finding the rental and coming in after dark! I am also very pleased you enjoyed the view (it is our very favorite, too!)...I hope you are able to return sometime--you would be very welcome--and thank you so much for recommending it to others as well. As far as coffee, I am a bit at a loss, never having been a coffee drinker myself, I am not even sure what people would like or prefer in that area...There are some coffee makers there that had been donated by a past guest, but as far as what types to use with it, I have had to leave that up to others' preferences. Sorry if that was an inconvenient thing for you...Thanks again so much for the nice comments and for coming to stay with us! --Lori
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, excellent views, house leaves something to be desired

  • 2 of 5

Our host Lori was great, very responsive to our inquiries. The location is immediately across the street from beach access. We spent a good amount of time at the tide pools poking around. The house also makes for a great base when exploring the Redwoods. Those are the positives.

I am reluctant to provide a poor review but at the nightly cost plus VRBO fees I think travelers can find better deals. As for the home itself, it needs to be refreshed. When we arrived the house smelled like it needed to be aired out for a week. The beds and pillows were not comfortable and frankly when I see a pillow with stains on the cover it leaves a lot to be desired. Their are four couches in the living room, two of them are broken down and uncomfortable so basically we just sat on the love seat or at the dining room table to enjoy the views. The kitchen appears to be well stocked.

Lori had advised us that she had family staying in the house prior to our arrival so we weren't surprised that the beds weren't made. I attempted to dry the sheets and towels so that we could make the bed only to find out that the dryer doesn't work. I sorted through the drawers to find sheets for the bed, there were no complete sets so we just made due with what could be found. The listing reports to sleep 10 people, however there were not enough linens that could support that many people. If you are really into television the TV in the bedroom doesn't work so don't be disappointed. Lastly, it appears that the garage is just a dumping ground for beer bottles, recyclables and garbage from renters. I realize this isn't an area of the house that we would typically be visiting but when the washer and dryer is located in this area you sort of need to visit it. It just isn't a clean environment that you would want to see in a home you are renting therefore I can't recommend this home to other renters.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry for any aspects of your visit that you did not enjoy or didn't work out well for you. Since we weren't available when our relatives were there staying and had no cleaning services available when they were leaving, as we advised you ahead of time, that is why we waived the cleaning fee for you. We are very sorry for the unexpected problem of the dryer not working, and I think some of the sheet sets had been taken offsite to finish drying elsewhere which is why many of the extras were likely not found in the house. Since your group had just requested for 3 people (2 adults and one child), that is why other bedding for 10 was likely not back at the house. I know that vrbo now adds on extra fees that they didn't used to do, so I do realize that makes the cost more expensive, so perhaps we will at this time review the rates and see what vrbo is adding on to try to keep things at a good value for travelers such as yourselves. Also, since we were away, I think much of the "recycling" bottles or cans you mentioned from the previous renters had not been removed from the garage and I'm sorry you had to view them and felt it was not pleasant for you. The TV in the master bedroom is not malfunctioning, rather it just had recently been moved from the living room, when a flat screen TV was added in the living room, and the cable person had not come to hook up the additional TV now available in the master bedroom as of yet. Very sorry for the inconvenience. Also, we did not realize that any couches were broken, as when we left beforehand, they all seemed to be in working condition for sitting, so we will definitely check that out. Again, we are sorry for anything that was not pleasing to you, and if you ever did decide to return, we could be sure it was at a time when we had the regular cleaning services available and the dryer and everything were back working correctly. We could offer you a past guest discount just to help make up for some of your inconvenience. I am happy you did enjoy the view and location though. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lives up to its description and then some!

  • 5 of 5

I managed to talk some friends from San Francisco into hiking through Jed Smith Redwoods for a few days. My previous plans fell through, so I booked less than a week before our arrival. Seeing as it was a last minute booking and having never been to Crescent City, I was fully prepared for the house to be one step up from camping on the street. I have been fooled by online descriptions of vacation rentals in the past, so I'm very skeptical when a listing sounds so amazing. I couldn't have been more wrong about what to expect!

I didn't count but I'd guess that it took less than 50 steps for us to be on the beach exploring tide pools on our first morning there. Cross the street. Take the stairs down. Boom, your feet are in the Pacific Ocean. In the afternoons, we would leave the front double doors open to watch the sun set and listen to the seals barking offshore. The weather during our visit was amazing the entire time so we were able to see spectacular sunsets every night.

At first I wanted to be closer to Jed Smith State Park because I figured we'd be tired after hiking and wouldn't want to drive all the way to the beach. It was actually much more convenient being close to the stores and restaurants in town. Turns out that after spending all day hiking in the woods or sunning on the beach, no one really had the energy or desire to cook.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your eloquent review of our beach house, and we are so happy to hear you loved the location and being so near the beach and viewing the ocean sunsets! (I am also particularly pleased you mentioned and enjoyed the front French double doors, which were a fairly recent addition to the remodeling when I had a sudden idea to add those to the plans, so I am thrilled you love them as much as I do!) We are glad we could accommodate you for your stay and you are, of course, welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Sets the bar too high!

  • 5 of 5

The whole family agrees that it's going to be hard to duplicate this vacation, we don't want to go anywhere else after this one. The hubs even called it his "Zen Place" and he doesn't normally use that word!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review comments! While I hadn't previously thought of that description, after your words, I agree with you that our place feels like a "zen" location for me, too, whenever I am there. It was certainly a pleasure to meet and host your lovely family! And I hope little Nancy had her best birthday ever while you were there! And thanks for leaving everything in such great condition--You are most welcome to return to the "zen place" anytime! :) --Lori
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Crescent City Airport (CEC)
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
US Hwy 101
Nearest Beach
Pebble Beach

Miniature Golf (in Klamath), Fishing (river and ocean), Whale Watching, Birdwatching, Antique and Local Small-town Shopping, Drive-In Movie Theater, Local Festivals, Skim-Boarding, Tidepooling, Beachcombing, Agate Hunting, plus everything the North Coast has to offer--too much to mention!


Rates & Availability

Crescent City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 15 2016 - Sep 15 2016
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee, unless arr $60
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 8.0%

Refundable damage deposit ($75 per day up to $150) or credit card information necessary to reserve. Rental amounts can also be charged to a card for a 3.5% card processing fee. Rent may also be mailed ahead or paid with check or cash either by a week ahead, or with owner's okay may be able to be brought for payment upon check-in.
Cancellation?--Refundable if cancelled with up to a week's notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Crescent City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main bathroom for house.
    Bathroom 2/Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Double sinks
  • If extra unit (upstairs studio apartment) is added, another bathroom becomes available.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pullout sofa sleeper in 2nd bedroom is twin (single) sized.
    Living Room - 3 sleep sofa /futon , Has double futon, single futon, plus older sofa sleeper.
    Attached Unit (separate fee) - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Has extra mattress available. (Extra rental fee for studio.)
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (0), Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) 1 older queen sofa sleeper in living room, 1 single sofa sleeper in 2nd bedroom. Sofa sleepers are more comfortable for kids than for adults. Living room also has double futon and single futon.
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Fireplace/woodstove, Central Heating, 'Natural' Air-Conditioning (ocean breezes!), Phone (for local calls--long distance can be charged to a card), Queen sleigh bed in Master bedroom, Queen bed & single sofa sleeper in 2nd bedroom, Double futon and single futon plus older queen sofa sleeper in living room, Circular Drive in front, Backyard, NO Pets, Children Welcome, Flexible check-in & check-out times

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties