Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful villa with heated pool, large patio area and barbecue

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,668 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps upto 8.

This villa was built in 2005. It is detached with off street parking to the front and a secure garden to the rear. The garden has a private heated pool, 6m x 3m, large patio area and barbecue. The inside of the villa is furnished to a very standard and should cater for all of your home comforts. In the lounge, you will find two satellite systems installed. There's a TV package with all UKTV and most SKY channels, including Sky Sports, BBC, ITV and RTE. There's a CD and DVD player and Wifi. The kitchen is fully fitted with all mod cons and there is an outside utility room with a washing machine and drying facilities.

Tell me more: The villa is situated in La Capellania just off the main Corralejo to La Oliva road. It has a mountain backdrop to the rear and natural parkland to the front. The parkland stretches all the way down to the famous sand dunes and beaches of Corralejo. A car is recommended because, although there are a few beaches in town, the majority of Corralejos beaches are on the outskirts of town. There are many little villages and towns to explore in Fuerteventura, both along the coast and in the mountains, and the roads are very good and are easy to navigate.

Eating out: Eating out is cheap in Corralejo and the standard of the restaurants is excellent, especially in the old town and along the seafront. Live entertainment is often provided if you dine in one of the two squares in the old town. The villa is on the doorstep of La Oliva, Villeverde, Larjares and El Cotillo. All of which boast excellent restaurants and if you don't fancy driving, taxis are cheap and reliable.

On the doorstep : If you don't fancy getting out and about then the area itself has everything you'll need in walking distance. There's an excellent Supermarket and a Spanish restaurant/cafe/bar just 200 metres from the villa.

More Details

Michael Poulter
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Michael Poulter

Born 1965 and brought up in Sheffield U.K. I am a qualified carpenter and builder by trade. I came to Jersey C.I in 1989 because of work and decided to stay. I like the quiet life and love to be near the beach so Jersey suits me. These are also the reasons why I chose Corralejo for my holiday home.

Michael Poulter purchased this villa in 2005

Why Michael Poulter chose La Oliva

I have family who live in Lanzarote. I did not particularly want to be on their doorstep and I prefer to have a more relaxing holiday. Lanzarote is only 45 minutes on the ferry so it is no problem visiting each other when I stay in Corralejo. Fuerteventura is the last of the canaries to be developed and therefore has learnt from the mistakes that the other Islands have made and not made the same mistakes. A lot of people who live and work in the other Islands take their holidays in Fuerteventura because of this.

What makes this villa unique

Far enough out of town to not have to bother with town if you don't feel like it, everything needed is on the doorstep. If you don't fancy the beach then the garden is South facing and has the sun all day. Because of the location you are actually better placed to visit other areas of the Island than if you were staying in town.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jon Cooper. Apr 06. We had a lovely holiday & thought the villa was very nice. It was well furnished, clean & excellent value for money. We will definitely recommend it to our friends. Regards Jon.

Mr & Mrs Watts + 2 grand children. Aug 06.We had a lovely time, the villa is more than expected, bed linen lovely, towels lovely, sky TV fantastic. I don’t think there is anything you could improve on regarding comfort, a real home from home. We found a fantastic restaurant 'El Horno', we ate there most nights, the food was out of this world. We will definitely stay at Casa Miguel again & for longer next year. Thanks Joanne. Jim Cairnes. Aug 06. I would like to thank you on behalf of the family for an absolutely wonderful holiday. Wish we could have stayed longer. Already spreading the word. Amalia. Sept 06. We absolutely loved your villa. Thanks. Neil Foreman. Oct 06. Just got back, great villa, many thanks. Yolander. Nov 06. Your villa was perfect for us & the location is great.
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1


La Oliva Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1668 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet , outdoor shower
  • Towels are provided with 1 mid-holiday change on a 2 week let.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Beds are made up as singles unless doubles are requested
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Beds are made up as singles unless doubles are requested
    Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , There are 2 double sofabeds in the lounge.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 baby crib , You must provide your own linen for the cot.
  • There are 2 double sofa beds in the lounge. These are available for use at an extra cost of £30 per bed per week. The master bedroom is made up as a double unless singles are requested. The second bedroom will be made up as singles unless doubles are requested. 1 mid-holiday linen change on a 2 week let. A travel cot, without linen, is supplied free.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful villa with heated pool, large patio area and barbecue
average rating of 4.580645 based on 32 reviews

Lovely villa with a heated plunge pool set in a pretty private garden.

  • 5 of 5

This lovely villa is set in the quieter residential location of Tamaragua, just 10 mins drive away from the centre of Corralejo. On arrival the villa was spotlessly clean, with everything we needed for a home from home comfortable stay. There was a lovely plunge pool in the garden and an outdoor brick built bbq, with sunbeds and chairs scattered around the garden. If you're after a relaxing, quiet place to stay, then this is a little gem! A very well stocked supermarket is just a stones throw away from the house, along with a little bar that serves basic meals, and the bus stops and taxi rank are located just outside. Buses are reliable, and run every hour on the half hour, you will need the number 8 bus to take you into the town, and you can either get off at the waterpark entrance at the top of the town, or stay on the bus further into the town. Just 1.40 euro each way! The communal pool is just a minutes walk away, located just around the corner from the villa, and although we did not try it, it looked lovely! Really clean with ample sunbeds. The neighbours in the area were really friendly and helpful, and suggested some lovely places to visit. The Grande Playa is a fantastic beach fairly nearby (catch the number 8 bus into Corralejo, then cross the road and catch the number 6 bus to the beach). It is huge, with beautiful white sand and a lovely little beach cafe.

In Corralejo right down near the harbour is a lovely little tapas bar, where they serve 50 different types of tapas (try the lamb lollipops, they are divine). The manager Simon is lovely, and he also runs a fantastic minibus excursion (Go Go Canaries) which takes in several areas of interest around the island. An absolutely fabulous day, taking in the coastal caves with stunningly beautiful views across the coastline and mountains, driving through sleepy Spanish villages up to the old capital of the island, with the beautiful old church and monastery, and a lovely little cafe that does a fabulous plum pie, driving up through the mountains at the very top of the island there are some incredibly beautiful views, and you can watch the little chipmunks playing amongst the rocks, and finally finishing the day with a wonderful deluxe picnic, with champagne at El Cortilla beach watching the sunset. A fantastic day out and definitely worth doing.

Overall we had a fantastic stay, and we would not hesitate booking again. Great value for money! Thank you Michael!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What can I say ? I have had some great reviews in the past but this is exceptional and I think it will be very helpful to any prospective customers. Our management company recently changed hands and I glad to hear that our new management team have carried on their good work. I personally would hire a car but these guests have shown that it is not essential that you do so, with the exception of the day tour they did everything else on the buses which are reliable and cheap. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to hear from you again. Regards Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

July 2017

  • 5 of 5

Had a great two weeks in fact it was that good we're booking again for next year. The villa is spotless and has everything you need for a relaxing holiday and the pool was great for cooling off when it got too hot. The villa is only 5 mins from the well stocked supermarket and another minute from a bar and Italian restaurant in which we had several enjoyable evenings 😊?

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jackie, I'm sure your comments will be helpful to potential guests. We will look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Mick.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2nd stay

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here last September and found it to be ideal for a 2nd visit. The location is very peaceful and relaxing. No need to rush for a place by the pool, no maid trying to access the place at an ungodly hour, just go at your own pace. Thanks Michael.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments Susan and I hope to welcome you again. Regards Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as good as advertised

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for 3 weeks and found it not as good as advertised. The advertised communal pools does not have water in. the towels were old and smelt musty. There is not a tumble dryer. The good tv package wasn't depends on where the satellite is and that info is in the book in the cupboard. The double bed is 2 singles pushed together. The pans are old and had rust inside and the Teflon was coming off in to our food. Also the heated pool had an electrical fault and didn't heat up most of the time. But it is also on a timer from 6am until 2pm so if it was working will not filtrate or heat up the water after 2pm. when trying to get a partial refund because of these faults and issues the owner took offence and offered a small and amount., when i didn't accept that amount and tried to get more he hasn't payed me anything. The advice i can give anyone is ask lots of questions before booking and any conversations do in writing straight away. regards Christine

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I can say to anyone reading this review is to look at ALL of our other reviews. This is our first complaint in the 12 years we have owned the place. The guests who stayed before them stay the same two weeks every year and have already booked and paid their deposit for next year. The guests who stayed after them have already booked and paid their deposit for two weeks later this year. For some reason the three weeks in between everything became unusable !!! Although they didn't complain until 17 days in to a 21 day stay so maybe it wasn't quite that bad. So far this year we have taken 10 bookings from returning customers, I think that says enough. When things wear out or get broken and our management company thinks they need replacing, they will replace them. If it's an expensive item they will contact me first before they spend the money. Last year, on separate occasions, the TV and the washing machine stopped working, both were replaced the following day. The communal pool was closed for maintenance which I didn't know. The amount of satellite channels received does depend on where the actual satellite is in the sky but when our management company went to investigate why that wasn't working they found that our guests had unplugged it and had one of their own devises plugged in instead. When we sent the engineer to investigate the pool heating the water temperature was 1 degree below what it should have been. You would not be able to notice this. Because they booked for 3 weeks they were given discount, I offered a partial refund which they did not accept, I offered a larger refund which they also did not accept. I approached Citizens Advice, Homeaway and Paypal with the facts, all of whom informed me that they had no grounds for a refund so all offers of a refund were withdrawn on the 22nd of February 2017 with Homeaway and Paypal both informed. I would not have done this had I not been threatened in previous correspondence. We have invested a lot of time and money into our holiday home and get nothing but good reviews about the house and our management company. Our guests are encouraged to speak to us at the earliest opportunity if there is anything, questions or requests, that we can do to make their stay better. Unfortunately for us we can not please everybody all of the time and every 12 years or so you come across the one who can not be pleased.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


  • 5 of 5

Excellent villa got everything you need very clean highly recommend this villa

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Des This guy has written a review after his second stay with us and he has already booked again for later in the year. He is the 9th person so far this year to book again after a previous stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely villa. Clean & well equipped. Good location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • 5 of 5

Property really nice & comfortable. Everything we hoped for. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pauline. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to having you back in the future. Regards Michael.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Puerto del Rosario
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Cafe/Restaurant, Pizza & Chicken. All do takeaways
Car: recommended

The location is the key here. You will find yourselves no more than 10 mins drive from any of the superb beaches, mountain views & the famous sand dunes of Corralejo. The mountains provide some lovely sunsets & are around 10 mins drive inland. The beaches are very popular with both sunbathers & watersports enthusiasts alike. Flag beach, one of the most famous, is 5 minutes drive away. Everything from national history to natural beauty, mountain activities to watersports & beaches, is within easy driving distance. Head towards the centre of Corralejo & the islands of Lanzarote & Los Lobos dominate the skyline. Ferries run everyday to both. You will also pass the Bacu waterpark. The kids will love it. Its 3 mins drive away & also has a bowling alley, golf driving range & market days. 10 mins drive in the opposite direction & you will come to El Cotillo on the west coast. It is littered with beautiful beaches & lagoons. It also has a small harbour & half a dozen very good restaurants.

Other Activities: kite surfing, quad bikes, squash, gymnasium

Golf: The golf course is a 9 hole course at the moment with plans to expand. It caters for both beginners and experienced players alike with left and right handed clubs available to rent. The course is in Corralejo about 5 minutes drive from the villa.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $66.58

Prices are per week and based on 4 people sharing. Add an extra £25 per week for the use of each sofa bed. The sofabeds are doubles and there are 2 in the lounge.
Changeover days are flexible.
Contact the owner for a price if you wish to let for longer than 2 weeks.
If you are not hiring a car we can arrange airport transfers, they are cheaper than taxis.
A deposit of £100 will reserve your reques

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.