Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Affordable Whaler Studio Condo with Great Ground Floor Location!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

OWNER PHONE FOR QUESTIONS OR INQUIRIES: 310 939 7709 Los Angeles time.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Unit # 114 at the Whaler at Kaanapali, Maui.

Recently upgraded with gorgeous new kitchen including granite counters, custom cabinets, new appliances, plush new carpet and more! This studio ground floor condo has a great location. Just open the lanai doors and stroll out onto the grass to the beach, the pool, the oceanfront barbeque grills. The apartment has a Queen size bed, and a Queen size sofa bed. The unit is completely furnished with everything you'll need, just like the comforts of your own home. Sit out on the lanai and enjoy the spectacular sunsets over azure blue Hawaiian water, or stroll along the beachfront walkway.

The Whaler charges a $20/day Resort Fee, but now parking is free!

Cleaning service after checkout only, however interim service can be arranged in advance if desired.

Keywords: Condominium, Resort, Oceanfront, Beachfront, Vacation Rental, condo, rent, rental, Luxury, studio, holiday, beach, ocean, Hawaii, Maui, Kaanapali

More Details

Owner
Larry Levine
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

About Larry Levine

My family and I have been in the real estate business for decades. My father owned his own Real Estate Company, and is now retired. I am licensed in Real Estate in California. When my father first visited The Whaler, he walked into an Open House and bought our lovely studio condo on the spot! We enjoy vacationing, and offering out our various properties to others around the world to enjoy as well!

Larry Levine purchased this condo in 1985

Why Larry Levine chose Maui

The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach is a premier oceanfront location. Right in the middle of famed Kaanapali Beach, it's walking distance to just about anything you could ask for. The weather is great all year round, and the views are awesome. The ocean floor is smooth for swimming, and the people are friendly! And the ground floor location is so convenient!

What makes this condo unique

We have an oceanfront swimming pool and new spa, as well as oceanfront gas BBQ grills for your use. There is a weight room, sauna and a nail/massage spa on property, as well as tennis courts. It sits right across the street from the Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and directly next door to Whaler's Village, a shopping area with restaurants, and even a free Whaling Museum. Snorkeling is just a simple 5 minute walk up the beach to Black Rock where you can find colorful fish, sea turtles, and even an eel! You can para-sail, jet-ski, go for a sunset dinner cruise right off the beach. A quick drive up the road will bring you into historic Lahaina Town!

Guestbook comments from the owner

This guest said they had a great time at our condo, his second visit. Loves the location next to Whaler's Village and the beautiful grounds at The Whaler. Said he hopes to come back every year.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sofabed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Business Center, Spa with Beauty Parlor & manicure & massage, concierge services. HST ID# W30377802-11 Island Representative: Mary Mishima, phone # available inside condo.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

Affordable Whaler Studio Condo with Great Ground Floor Location!
average rating of 4.296296 based on 55 reviews
1

Loud and Stole Security Deposit

  • 1 of 5

I always love Maui!! However, I won't be staying at the Whaler again through VRBO. I was kept up for two nights with a loud party on the lanai at the hotel next door. I called and complained on the second night. After two more calls the party stopped. On the third night at The Whaler we were warned that the power would be out from 12:00am to 5:00am for work on a generator. This I could handle. While I did wake up from the generator I was just about to go back to sleep, when an teeth rattling drilling/jack hammer noise started shaking the unit. I called front desk at 1:45 am and after about 15 minutes the noise stopped. In the morning I was told that there was a water leak and that maintenance had to drill in the basement below my unit. I was also told "this should have never happened." So was it emergent or not? Not sure...but it ruined our last day as we had a trip to Hana planned which I was now too sleep deprived to drive.

But because I love Maui, we made the best of it and chilled at beach and pool. The day before we had to leave the screen had come off it's hinges and was toppled over. It had been sort of loosely attached the entire weak...not flush with the sliding glass door but I wasn't very worried about it. I called front desk and got sent to a VM and left a message. No one came to fix it. Then when I returned home I got an email from VRBO saying that I was NOT going to get refunded my security deposit because maintenance had to put the screen back on?!! The screen wasn't damaged! Oh! and there was some bird poo on the carpet? We didn't leave any food out so if a bird got in there in the hour between when we left and house cleaning came, I wonder how much poo it could have left? Maybe if the screen was working it wouldn't have gotten in!!

I emailed the owner and talked to VRBO. No word...no response. So my deposit is just gone. We left the unit clean, did the dishes before we left, etc. We are quiet, mellow travelers. Not rock stars by any stretch.

Needless to say...I won't be back to this unit and will not do VRBO ever again!! Jason at The Whaler gets props for being nice and courteous and giving us gift cards for the "drilling" incident. He was lovely and The Whaler as a whole has potential.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The late night maintenance was an unfortunate situation that nobody could predict, however by your own admission you were (over) compensated for the 20 minute disruption by receiving $100 gift card to dine at Hula Grill. When you departed, the glass patio doors were left wide open allowing critters and birds to enter. The Hawaiian bedspread was wadded up and thrown on the closet floor with the beach chairs, boogie boards, and other sandy items. The Front Desk Manager indicated that you were out to get something for nothing, which you did by constant complaining. Sorry that 20 minutes of noise one night ruined your whole trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love Maui

  • 5 of 5

We are active people love the boardwalk,beach,biking,swimming etc. We ride the public transportation and do not rent a car so a Condo is just right for the two of us! The grills are great for cooking and love the work out room. We dont like to be pampered the Whaler is a great get away for us!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha John- I'm glad that you pointed out and enjoyed all the amenities that The Whaler and surrounding area has to offer on your return visit this year. Aren't the new BBQ's and the oceanfront FireTable fantastic? See you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We love the Whaler and the beach...close to everything

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lorrie Thanks for the review. I know that you're a repeat customer, and I look forward to your arrival next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Maui The Whaler at Kaanapali

  • 5 of 5

We spent five nights here and enjoyed the convenience of the ground floor location steps from the barbecues, pool, and beach. Parking was never an issue and the staff are friendly. We would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Andrew- I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Whaler, and thanks for pointing out the convenience of our location! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have stayed at this condo a number of times over the years and it was so great to be back. I really liked the new kitchen - it had been updated since my last visit. Being on the first floor with the lanai and the gorgeous lawn and landscaping surrounding The Whaler was so relaxing. The floor to ceiling sliding glass doors with the elevated ceiling make the studio condo seem much bigger and the layout works really well. I forgot how much I love staying here. We had breakfast every morning out on the lanai with a view of the ocean, the island of Lanai, Molokai, and Black Rock and if we made it back to the condo before sunset, we had dinner out there too. Being able to walk right out our lanai to the beach or the pool made everything so simple and convenient. The heated pool is very nice and was never crowded so we could always find a lounge chair, even a covered one, if we already had too much sun that day. There is everything you need in the kitchen to prepare meals yourself and all the supplies were well stocked so we never had to resupply anything. Check in at The Whaler was easy and there were never any lines. I will be curious to see how the new lobby looks once it is done. We love snorkeling and frankly there is no place better than Black Rock which is only two resorts away - an easy walk on the beach front or the boardwalk. Four turtles were hanging out at Black Rock all week. Be sure and walk the entire boardwalk and check out the other resorts. There are even penquins at the Hyatt. Take a day trip to Lanai on The Trilogy if you get a chance - so much fun and the inland tour was so informative. My bosses were nice enough to give me the Lanai trip as a birthday present. Also, I bought koi food at the Plantation Tour on Maui to feed the koi at The Whaler. The Whaler definitely has the "prettiest" koi pond on the island. I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. Thanks Larry for always making it easy to rent from you and for sharing your beautiful condo with us.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandra & John from Central Coast- OK, that was an amazing review, thank you so much. I think you even upstaged the previous review! I'm glad that you once again enjoyed your stay at the condo, and have pointed out to other potential guests all the benefits of The Whaler and our condo in particular. I know for a fact that you will be back! Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We're going back as soon as possible!

  • 5 of 5

This unit worked very well for my husband and I, and we can't wait to go back. I loved being able to step off the lanai onto my lawn area, then go straight down to the beach. Well, technically the lawn wasn't mine, but the landscape design - which I loved - between the Whaler and the KBH discourages foot traffic anywhere close to the units, so it felt like my private lawn area. Regardless, I don't think I saw more than 3 people walk between the two buildings the whole time anyway. And, KBH is farther away than I had thought and has its own excellent landscaping, which means that space and privacy are non-issues. I've also stayed on the other side of this tower, and the courtyard side of the other tower, and this spot is my favorite.

The unit itself was very comfortable. It's a studio, but there was plenty of room.The kitchen had everything we needed, and this ground-floor unit made it very easy to walk straight out to the grills, cook a wonderful dinner, and have the opportunity to talk with some of the other quests. This unit exceeded my expectations. This is because although the unit is definitely as-advertised, it adds up to more than the sum of its parts. It was such an enjoyable stay. Also, I don't have a lot of experience with by-owner vacation rentals, so I appreciated how easy Larry was to work with, also the booking and check-in process. Oh while we were there, the lobby was under renovation, so check-in was temporarily moved to the lower level. Since the temp location was in the same tower as the unit, there was no inconvenience, and the Whaler staff made every effort to keep things running smoothly. They were successful as far as I could see.

Are there "nicer" units with more upgrades at the Whaler? Sure there are, but be prepared to pay a great deal more. We were happy with this unit, and I'm giving it 5 stars for its overall value.

There are so many things to do within walking distance, but if you like to paddle board, pick up a board pass at the kiosk in front of Kaanapali Alii. At $99 for a 4-day pass, this is a great deal.

Finally, if you don't do anything else while you're staying here, you must do this: Wait until dark, long after you've already watched the sunsets. Kick off your flip-flops. Walk out though your lanai down to the edge of the property. Now go down to the water and stand at the edge. Be quiet, and look up. You're welcome. :-)

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wowser Patty! This is probably the nicest review that I've ever received, and I usually get good ones! Thanks for all the kind words, the explanation of the ground floor benefits, the bbq grills, etc. I sure hope that you can make a trip back as soon as possible, as you say! Mahalo Nui !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kahului International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tiki Bar or Hula Grill
Nearest Golf
Royal Ka'anapali Golf
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Honoapiilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Hula Grill, Leilani's
Nearest Beach
Ka'anapali Beach- your back yard.
Nearest Point of Interest
Whaler's Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Snorkel at Black Rock
Nearest Point of Interest
Delicious Food
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmer's Market Maui
Nearest Point of Interest
Bakery
Car: not necessary

Whaling Museums, Luaus, Sunset Cruises, ParaSailing, Jet-Skiing, snorkeling, scuba-diving.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer-Fall2017
Apr 3 2017 - Dec 12 2017
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas&WhaleSeason
Dec 13 2017 - Apr 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$190
From
$215
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer/Fall 2018
Apr 3 2018 - Dec 13 2018
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas & Whale Season 2019
Dec 14 2018 - Mar 31 2019
5 night minimum stay
$190
From
$215
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee at checkout $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 17.2%

The Whaler now charges a Resort Fee of $15 per night.
Reservations made after March 19, 2015 will incur the resort fee charge.
Reservations made after March 19, 2015 will NOT be charged the $12/day parking fee.
Reservations made PRIOR to March 19 will NOT be charged the resort fee, but WILL be charged the parking fee.
Confusing, isn't it ?

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers