Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Affordable Whaler Studio Condo with Great Ground Floor Location!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

OWNER PHONE FOR QUESTIONS OR INQUIRIES: 310 939 7709 Los Angeles time.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Unit # 114 at the Whaler at Kaanapali, Maui.

Recently upgraded with gorgeous new kitchen including granite counters, custom cabinets, new appliances, plush new carpet and more! This studio ground floor condo has a great location. Just open the lanai doors and stroll out onto the grass to the beach, the pool, the oceanfront barbeque grills. The apartment has a Queen size bed, and a Queen size sofa bed. The unit is completely furnished with everything you'll need, just like the comforts of your own home. Sit out on the lanai and enjoy the spectacular sunsets over azure blue Hawaiian water, or stroll along the beachfront walkway.

The Whaler charges a $20/day Resort Fee, but now parking is free!

Cleaning service after checkout only, however interim service can be arranged in advance if desired.

Keywords: Condominium, Resort, Oceanfront, Beachfront, Vacation Rental, condo, rent, rental, Luxury, studio, holiday, beach, ocean, Hawaii, Maui, Kaanapali

More Details

Owner
Larry Levine
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 17, 2017

About Larry Levine

My family and I have been in the real estate business for decades. My father owned his own Real Estate Company, and is now retired. I am licensed in Real Estate in California. When my father first visited The Whaler, he walked into an Open House and bought our lovely studio condo on the spot! We enjoy vacationing, and offering out our various properties to others around the world to enjoy as well!

Larry Levine purchased this condo in 1985

Why Larry Levine chose Maui

The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach is a premier oceanfront location. Right in the middle of famed Kaanapali Beach, it's walking distance to just about anything you could ask for. The weather is great all year round, and the views are awesome. The ocean floor is smooth for swimming, and the people are friendly! And the ground floor location is so convenient!

What makes this condo unique

We have an oceanfront swimming pool and new spa, as well as oceanfront gas BBQ grills for your use. There is a weight room, sauna and a nail/massage spa on property, as well as tennis courts. It sits right across the street from the Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and directly next door to Whaler's Village, a shopping area with restaurants, and even a free Whaling Museum. Snorkeling is just a simple 5 minute walk up the beach to Black Rock where you can find colorful fish, sea turtles, and even an eel! You can para-sail, jet-ski, go for a sunset dinner cruise right off the beach. A quick drive up the road will bring you into historic Lahaina Town!

Guestbook comments from the owner

This guest said they had a great time at our condo, his second visit. Loves the location next to Whaler's Village and the beautiful grounds at The Whaler. Said he hopes to come back every year.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sofabed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Business Center, Spa with Beauty Parlor & manicure & massage, concierge services. HST ID# W30377802-11 Island Representative: Mary Mishima, phone # available inside condo.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

Affordable Whaler Studio Condo with Great Ground Floor Location!
average rating of 4.25 based on 57 reviews
Manhattan Beach, California
5

The Perfect Studio Condo with Excellent Views!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for having me at your wonderful studio condo at the Whaler! This was the perfect place for me to stay for the week. It had everything I needed, and more! The balcony views were stunning, and it was the most peaceful place to drink my morning cup of coffee. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary
1

Great location,beautiful view...BUT......

  • 1 of 5

This suite is located at Whalers, main floor great location. Once inside these were the things we noticed. Wallpaper peeling away from walls throughout the unit, carpet stained, bathroom dated and showerhead hard water scale build up,diswasher inside so much hard water scale we had to purchase dishwasher cleaner and use it 4 times to clean it,pillows were stained and flat,we purchased 2 pillows so we could get a good sleep, cuttlery has rust on it, lamp shade next to bed had disturbing stains, this unit is in need of an update, guest book on site has similar comments written in it from previous visitors. The location is amazing but after seeing the inside of other units at Whalers it was like the unit we stayed at was not at the same location. We will be going back to Maui next year but have already picked an other unit to stay at that has had all of the updates and is well looked after. If this suite had the updates that are desperatley needed it would be rented over and over again by return visitors. The less time spent in the suite the better so you have the opportunity to enjoy paradise. Worth spending the extra $100 to $200 a night to stay in an updated suite at this amazing location (Whalers) as we tried to avoid the amount of time spent in the suite except sleeping so we were not reminded how worn down our suite was compared to the other suites we veiwed. We will be returning to Maui again but would not rent this suite again unless it was completly updated.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike I'm sorry that you found our unit not up to your Canadian standards. My unit is rented over and over again by repeat guests, who are quite happy with the unit and it's furnishings. You can see that with the many other reviews that are 4 or 5 stars. Also, thanks for pointing out that my unit is $100-$200 less per night than some of the other units at The Whaler. Not everybody has unlimited budgets, and my condo is consistently a great value in a great location. Hard water scale in the dishwasher? Seriously? I can't imagine why anybody would go to Maui and look deep inside a dishwasher instead of the spectacular vistas and sunsets right from our lanai.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Loud and Stole Security Deposit

  • 1 of 5

I always love Maui!! However, I won't be staying at the Whaler again through VRBO. I was kept up for two nights with a loud party on the lanai at the hotel next door. I called and complained on the second night. After two more calls the party stopped. On the third night at The Whaler we were warned that the power would be out from 12:00am to 5:00am for work on a generator. This I could handle. While I did wake up from the generator I was just about to go back to sleep, when an teeth rattling drilling/jack hammer noise started shaking the unit. I called front desk at 1:45 am and after about 15 minutes the noise stopped. In the morning I was told that there was a water leak and that maintenance had to drill in the basement below my unit. I was also told "this should have never happened." So was it emergent or not? Not sure...but it ruined our last day as we had a trip to Hana planned which I was now too sleep deprived to drive.

But because I love Maui, we made the best of it and chilled at beach and pool. The day before we had to leave the screen had come off it's hinges and was toppled over. It had been sort of loosely attached the entire weak...not flush with the sliding glass door but I wasn't very worried about it. I called front desk and got sent to a VM and left a message. No one came to fix it. Then when I returned home I got an email from VRBO saying that I was NOT going to get refunded my security deposit because maintenance had to put the screen back on?!! The screen wasn't damaged! Oh! and there was some bird poo on the carpet? We didn't leave any food out so if a bird got in there in the hour between when we left and house cleaning came, I wonder how much poo it could have left? Maybe if the screen was working it wouldn't have gotten in!!

I emailed the owner and talked to VRBO. No word...no response. So my deposit is just gone. We left the unit clean, did the dishes before we left, etc. We are quiet, mellow travelers. Not rock stars by any stretch.

Needless to say...I won't be back to this unit and will not do VRBO ever again!! Jason at The Whaler gets props for being nice and courteous and giving us gift cards for the "drilling" incident. He was lovely and The Whaler as a whole has potential.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The late night maintenance was an unfortunate situation that nobody could predict, however by your own admission you were (over) compensated for the 20 minute disruption by receiving $100 gift card to dine at Hula Grill. When you departed, the glass patio doors were left wide open allowing critters and birds to enter. The Hawaiian bedspread was wadded up and thrown on the closet floor with the beach chairs, boogie boards, and other sandy items. The Front Desk Manager indicated that you were out to get something for nothing, which you did by constant complaining. Sorry that 20 minutes of noise one night ruined your whole trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love Maui

  • 5 of 5

We are active people love the boardwalk,beach,biking,swimming etc. We ride the public transportation and do not rent a car so a Condo is just right for the two of us! The grills are great for cooking and love the work out room. We dont like to be pampered the Whaler is a great get away for us!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha John- I'm glad that you pointed out and enjoyed all the amenities that The Whaler and surrounding area has to offer on your return visit this year. Aren't the new BBQ's and the oceanfront FireTable fantastic? See you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We love the Whaler and the beach...close to everything

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lorrie Thanks for the review. I know that you're a repeat customer, and I look forward to your arrival next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Maui The Whaler at Kaanapali

  • 5 of 5

We spent five nights here and enjoyed the convenience of the ground floor location steps from the barbecues, pool, and beach. Parking was never an issue and the staff are friendly. We would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Andrew- I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Whaler, and thanks for pointing out the convenience of our location! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kahului International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tiki Bar or Hula Grill
Nearest Golf
Royal Ka'anapali Golf
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Honoapiilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Hula Grill, Leilani's
Nearest Beach
Ka'anapali Beach- your back yard.
Nearest Point of Interest
Whaler's Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Snorkel at Black Rock
Nearest Point of Interest
Delicious Food
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmer's Market Maui
Nearest Point of Interest
Bakery
Car: not necessary

Whaling Museums, Luaus, Sunset Cruises, ParaSailing, Jet-Skiing, snorkeling, scuba-diving.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lahaina Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer-Fall2017
Apr 3 2017 - Dec 12 2017
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas&WhaleSeason
Dec 13 2017 - Apr 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$190
From
$215
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer/Fall 2018
Apr 3 2018 - Dec 13 2018
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas & Whale Season 2019
Dec 14 2018 - Mar 31 2019
5 night minimum stay
$190
From
$215
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $75 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee at checkout $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 17.2%

The Whaler now charges a Resort Fee of $15 per night.
Reservations made after March 19, 2015 will incur the resort fee charge.
Reservations made after March 19, 2015 will NOT be charged the $12/day parking fee.
Reservations made PRIOR to March 19 will NOT be charged the resort fee, but WILL be charged the parking fee.
Confusing, isn't it ?

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable