check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Pat

Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english, italian

Perfect Private Terrace Real Florence Neighborhood-Great Value-Restaur

36 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Santo Spirito Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Fully Equipped, No Steps, Great Dining (Sleeps 4)

See what the experts say about us! Conde Nast Traveler Magazine Italy Experience Maker award, Travel & Leisure Magazine Italy All-Star award, Better Business Bureau A+ perfect rating, SlowTravel Preferred, Vacation Rental Managers Association professional.

We welcome your inquiries and questions and will respond within one business day. The calendar is updated frequently. Call us 888.308.6123 (North America).

Click the video link to walk through the apartment.

FLORENCE ITALY PERFECT QUERCIA APARTMENT

Appreciate real Florentine living in the typical neighborhood of San Frediano with the special feature of a quiet terrace and garden, a rare situation in central Florence.

"At the end of a crowded day it was a wonderful oasis in which to return."

Location

San Frediano is a village within the city of Florence. Inside the ancient city walls, the neighborhood has served the city with craftsmen for centuries. You'll see examples even on your street. This neighborhood is know for its restaurants. It is a few blocks outside the most popular tourist neighborhoods so you will experience local 'village' life without tour groups passing through. the Quercia building dates from the 1500s.

"We found the location perfect and in a quiet area south of the Arno river."

Exterior

Quercia is located in a narrow building with grey 'pietra serena' stone doorway. On the ground floor and in the back of the building, there are no steps to reach the apartment. Because the apartment is at the back of the building, it is quiet.

Interior

Railroad-style layout, a long hall connects the bedrooms to the living/dining room and terrace beyond. Ancient masonry is exposed on part of the hall wall, together with the vaulted brick ceiling in the first bedroom, the typical Tuscan floor tiles and kitchen evoke the echo of centuries of Florentine and Tuscan history.

Air conditioning in living room and bedrooms.

The heart of the home is a the 'great room' with open kitchen, dining room and modern sofas organized in an L shape, allowing all guests to sit comfortably. Light flows into from the terrace and garden just outside the living room. In warm weather, about 6 months of the year, the terrace forms an outdoor living room. It has table and chairs for dining and even lounge chairs for, well, lounging. And, it has screens, a very unusual thing in Italy.

"The terrace was great and I loved sitting out there in the evening enjoying a glass of wine and listening to the families conversing in Italian."

The living room also has the television with only local Italian channels, wifi router, and air conditioner. The bedrooms are also air conditioned.

Very nice pieces of original, local art are found throughout the apartment.

The compact kitchen has everything needed with full sized refrigerator, gas stove-top, oven, microwave, dishwasher and drip coffee maker.

Moving from the living room towards the entrance you find the master bedroom with queen sized bed, wall of closets and ensuite bath with shower cabinet. The bathroom has heated towel racks, so nice in cool weather.

Between the master bedroom and the twin bedroom, there is an internal patio with a wall of windows that brings in light and good also for bicycle parking. this is where the washing machine is located.

The twin bedroom also has an en-suite bathroom with shower. In this room there can be one bed or a second bed can be pulled out from under the first. New, thick mattresses. The twin bedroom has a high, vaulted masonry ceiling that probably harks to a time when this ground floor was a stable.

"The apartment was well sized for 3 people, was clean,quiet and well furnished including comfortable beds and showers."

Guests receive complimentary and helpful documents: 1. FAQ About Renting in Italy, 2. Helpful Information About Florence with our much-appreciated Restaurant list. On request, complimentary children's adventure guide to Italy e-Book.

Keywords: Apartment, Florence, Firenze, Vacation Rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pat (Property Manager)
Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english, italian

About Pat

This apartment is offered by Italy Perfect. We are a family business with a mission! We want you to love visiting Italy as much as we do. We are sisters Lisa and Pat Byrne who lived in Italy in our youth and now travel there frequently for business and pleasure.

Pat purchased this apartment in 2000

Guestbook comments from the manager

A friend and I stayed at the Quercia apartment in Oct/ Nov. It was all that was advertised...charming, relaxing and well appointed. The location is away from the maddening crowds, but within easy distance to all the necessary shops. The walk to and from city center kept us from weight gain despite pasta, wine and gelato over indulgence. The greeter was lovely and helpful. WiFi was a plus. I so appreciate the professionalism of Italy Perfect
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 24

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Perfect Private Terrace Real Florence Neighborhood-Great Value-Restaur
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 60 reviews
5

A great place to stay in Florence!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed in the Quercia, located in the San Frediano neighborhood of Florence. The neighborhood and location are great, just a short walk to all the tourist sites, but in a real neighborhood with local shops and bakeries. The apartment itself was lovely and fitted out with everything you would need in the kitchen. Not just a few plates and glasses, but full sets of kitchenware and enough pots and pans to cook a meal if you wanted to! The apartment has a back garden which is the sweetest place to sit for your glass of wine or to eat breakfast. We especially loved the open air panini stand and the Angolo Sapporo bakery about a block away from the apartment along the main road, and the wine store about 2 blocks in the other direction.

Our greeter Veronica wasn't able to meet us as we arrived, but sent her daughter to let us in. Veronica came a bit later, and although rushed, she marked on our map some spots, such as markets and shops, that we wouldn't have know about otherwise. Just a note to Italy Perfect, the greeter can take photos of the passports, no need to bring paper copies. Also, the tourist tax just seems to be due by the time you leave, we left if for Veronica when we left at the end of our stay.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Quercia or book through Italy Perfect again!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you've had a wonderful time. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice quiet apartment in a residential section of Florence

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here in the 'Querica' apartment. The apartment itself was quite nice- a beautiful terrace, good wi-fi and a washing machine (very helpful since we were in the middle of a long trip!). It's on the ground floor but very quiet- it's on a side street and the bedrooms are well back from the street. Lots of great restaurants nearby; we never had to go more than 3 blocks for a meal and loved them all. It's about a 10 minute walk to S.M.N station or 20 minutes walk to the historic center (Duomo, Uffizi etc) but we liked being able to get away from that. Close to bus lines and grocery stores. The US staff at Italy Perfect and the Italian staff were all very helpful, gave us a great orientation to the area and were happy to assist with questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful stay! The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin TX
5

Super Spot

  • 5 of 5

We really liked our stay here, felt we were in the real Italy and imagined ourselves in our Florence home for a wistful longer period of time. Terrace is marvelous, peaceful and pretty. Location is great to enjoy an authentic neighborhood. Loved the effect of strolling from here to the the more touristy parts of the city. Italy Perfect did a great job of informing us in advance on what to expect and how to best enjoy our stay in Florence. The local manager very kind. Nice place. Don't hesitate.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Super guests! So glad you enjoyed. Please come again. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

This is a charming apartment on the Oltrano part of Florence with fewer tourists.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment has 2 bedrooms each with showers and air conditioning. For 4 people it was a bit small. You have to walk sideways in the bathrooms to get in. The bathroom in the larger bedroom had a terrible sewage smell so we had to put wash cloths over the drains of the bidet and shower after use and keep the bathroom door closed all the time. The trundle type bed in the 2nd bedroom was so uncomfortable that our daughter had to sleep in the living area. The TV was broken but we told our welcome host that we didn't mind if it wasn't fixed. She said it had to be fixed then so all morning repair people were in and out of the living area. They cleaned up but the mosquitos had gained entrance and bit our daughter all night on the couch. The washing machine is outside with no dryer but we never used it. There is however a lovely patio with an awning, table, and chairs. The host gave us a basket of Italian goodies and all kitchen amenities were available including a dish washer.

The apartment has an old Florence ambience which is nice. It's a rather long walk to the main attractions but there is a lively square (Santo Spiritu) nearby with good restaurants and fewer tourists. So for the above reasons this apartment gets a three.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the apartment, the air conditioning, the lovely terrace, the special welcome basket of goodies. It is so true that it has a charming old Florence ambience. Apologies that the bathrooms in this typical Florentine apartment were small for you; it is a small city apartment and we are sorry that the photos provided of the bathrooms didn’t get that across. I checked with Veronica, the local manager who met you at check in, and she never received a call from you about the smell in the bathroom so she could remedy. They have now done that service, so smell is gone. They could have quickly done it for you, too. Please, if you stay with us or any other vacation rental, and you are finding something like that unpleasant, contact the manager right away. So sorry about the trundle bed being uncomfortable. You didn’t say, but I suspect it was the small size of the bed that was the problem. I’m glad they were able to quickly fix the television. Sorry that there were mosquitoes; they are so common in Florence and screens are so rare that we provide guests a lot of information about how to prepare and use the mosquito appliances in the apartment. We actually require all guests to acknowledge that they received information about preparing for mosquitoes. Fortunately there is a washer on the terrace because, as you could see, it would not fit into the apartment which is very common in Italy where the weather is generally temperate. I’m sorry you were surprised there was no dryer, they are very uncommon in Italy. I suppose you assumed that where there is a washer there is a dryer, but in the information you read about the apartment on HomeAway before reserving and our website, there is no mention of a dryer. Less than 25% of Italian homes have a clothes dryer and even less in vacation rentals. We will take extra care to advise future guests to read the information you were provided on the location of the apartment and its distance of a 9 -18 minute walk to most of the main sights in the center of Florence. Many guests find that walking a few minutes beyond the crowds in the center of Florence very restful and, also, as I am sure you discovered, interesting because you can use so many different routes to go to and from with fascinating discoveries along the way. But if a 15 minute walk is beyond their abilities, we want them to know there is also the bus that runs nearby or taxis are fast and inexpensive
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Fabulous in Florence

  • 5 of 5

My sister & I rented the apartment for a week. We absolutely loved it. The location was perfect, walking distance to most all churches & museums. We had breakfast every morning in the apartment. There was this quaint bakery a block & 1/2 away with wonderful pastries, fresh bread, cheeses, meats freshly sliced for you, butter, yogurt, water, etc. Also close by were fresh produce stands. If I return to Florence I'd stay there again in a heart beat. Our greeter, Veronica was so helpful and always available by phone if we needed her. I highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you had a wonderful time. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Webster, NH
5

Florence, art, churches and so much more

  • 5 of 5

Florence is a wonderful city for walking and the location of our apartment was located just perfectly for that. We were 15 minutes to the center of the historical city, I.e. Duomo, Uffizi, Academia, Ponte Vecichio, Petti Palace and many large plazas. As we wanted to see as much art work as possible, we toured many of the churches as they have some beautiful frescos, paintings and sculptures, and we were never disappointed.

The other wonderful thing was all of the fresh food. I would encourage anyone to just pop into one of the local restaurants for lunch or dinner and have a delicious meal at a reasonable price which almost always included a glass of red wine. The only splurge was having Florentine steak which you should try at least once.

The apartment was nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. We did cook in some, but it was more fun to eat out.

The agent for the apartment, Veronica, was professional and very helpful. All in all, I can easily recommend this apartment.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Please come again. The Italy Perfect Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santo Spirito Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 20 2016
4 night minimum stay
$166
$1,074
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$214
$1,383
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$214
$1,383
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $562
4 night supplement *note $62
Greeting & cleaning/week $141

Supplement for 4 night stay E55, remove for longer stays. Cleaning fee is per week. Local city tax payable in cash on arrival. See www.italyperfect.com/tax for current information.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Santo Spirito Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 860 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Second bed can be stowed under the other, trundle
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Two full bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing

Partner Offers