Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Tahoe Mansion with 2 Large Spas on Tahoe X-C Dollar Hill

Bedrooms 6
Space 4,400 sq. ft.
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Estate, 6 Bedrooms + Loft, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 24) in 12 separate beds)

This Secluded Tahoe Mansion is available for winter and summer fun.

You can enjoy the privacy of having two spas, each on its own private deck, and a 6 bedroom 5 bathroom home in a secluded setting on the North Shore of beautiful Lake Tahoe. Wi-Fi internet throughout the complex and three large High Definition TVs are just a sample of the amenities here.

Tahoe Nordic X-C ski area is right out the back door. (Skis and passes available at the lodge a few short blocks away) and in the Spring/Summer there are multiple trails for hiking and biking for many miles.

Located on a quiet cull de sac outside of Tahoe City on Dollar Hill, with a gentle rolling lawn and greenbelt out the back door, this home is very private, close to the sounds of nature with the soothing sound of silence yet close to all the action! High end furnishing are here with many leather couches and love seats, and recliners also.

The casinos are only 10 miles away in Crystal Bay, and Squaw Valley is 10 miles the other way through Tahoe City. Alpine Meadows is close by, along with Homewood Ski area which is 11 miles, Northstar is 13 miles and Heavenly Valley and the South Shore are an hour away.

The 6 bedrooms all have unique and private settings, and some have attached baths while others join the large deck and spa area. There are three Kings, two with pillow tops and three Queens, and there are two Queen hide a beds. There is another double futon in one of the large masters, and another king bed, double bed and queen bed located in the loft above the master bedroom. The three gas hot water heaters make hot showers reality for everyone, and four of the bathrooms have tub and showers, and the fifth has a double shower. Plenty of towels, linens, pillows and bedding for up to 24 guests.

The two covered spas, each on their own private deck makes this home special. One of the decks has a 6 person sunken spa which is fully covered overhead, and has a view of trees and sky! The other spa is an 8 person spa, on its own private deck with plenty of chairs and chaise lounges in the summer, and trees popping up through the deck like a giant tree fort! In the winter you have a large private deck to enjoy your stay, surrounded by snow and privacy!

The court is fairly flat, and there is plenty of room for parking, also boats, trailers and RVs. There is also lots more parking up the long driveway for many cars.

Entertainment is to the max with surround sound and three large High Definition TVs in different locations. Dish Network and free U.S. long distance and premium channels make staying here a fun time. There also a bumper pool table which converts to a card table for poker or bridge located in the front dining area.

The house is fully equipped, with double everything, two dishwashers, two gas ranges, two refrigerators, two washers and two dryers make this place a natural for large groups!

There is plenty of room for cooking in the large country kitchen with separate butcher block, and over sized 36 inch professional gas range with large centered griddle, and another gas range for food prep located at the front of the house. Also two large gas barbecues outside, designed for large groups, these can cook for many guests. There is a bar in the large dining room with many wine glasses and other bar essentials, shooter glasses, shakers and more. There are two dining tables in the large dining room that can be combined to seat 20 plus. A large butcher block in the center of the main kitchen and an adjoining counter bar can also accommodate more.

With level access out the back door, there is outdoor seating and tables for lots of guests, and with greenbelt out back you can walk everywhere. There are many miles of mountain bike/ski trails, and hiking trails that go everywhere including Truckee, Northstar, Tevis Trail, Watson Lake and on to the Truckee River and Squaw Valley, and also Tahoe City. You can ride directly from the house without getting near the traffic. There are also paved trails that go everywhere also including U S Coastguard and Boat Launch with public beach, Skylandia Beach, Tahoe City, River Ranch, and Squaw Valley. Dollar Lake is within walking distance of the house where you can swim and fish or sunbathe. A 7-11 is close by on Dollar Hill. there is room to practice your golf, throw Frisbees, or have a private reception in a meadow surrounded by trees and green grass in the summer, and snow in the winter. Two separately fenced yards are there for your pets, (written approval required depending on the breed of your animal the amount and deposit varies) Email for complete details of this one of a kind retreat that is sure to be the highlight of your vacation at Tahoe.

Keywords: Secluded Tahoe Mansion

More Details

Robert Wilhelmy
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

About Robert Wilhelmy

The Secluded Tahoe Mansion is personally designed to make your vacation very enjoyable, with many amenities only found on high end rentals. Things such as 2 private spas, several big screen TVs, wifi internet throught complex, free telephone, free firewood to burn in the house, many secluded decks, two separately fenced areas for pets, and a huge lawn out the living room deck, giant fire pit in the back yard and tons of parking are just a sample of what is in store when staying here.

Robert Wilhelmy purchased this estate in 1973

Why Robert Wilhelmy chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

I have lived at Tahoe most of my life and enjoy sharing the discoveries I have made with other people. Privacy is a plus!

What makes this estate unique

Skiing in the winter, and bicycling in the summer all within the bounds of my property. Little lake within walking distance and nature garden hikes everywhere! Just forget about everything as staying here is your own world


Tahoe City Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Floor Area:
  • 4400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5 bathrooms, 2 adjoin bedrooms, 4 are tub and shower, 1 is double shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • King size beds (4) 2 of the Kings are New Pillowtops!, Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
TVs in some of the bedrooms, and three large plasma TVs, 2 Surround sound areas, Prep kitchen, Oversized gas range,2 Microwaves,2 Dishwashers, 2Refrigerators, 2 Washers, 2 Dryers, 2 Private Spas, one eight person and one 6 person, Bumper Pool, Poker Table, bar located in dining room, another bar/computer area near kitchen. Outdoor furniture to seat 30 plus, 3 chaise lounges on private deck, umbrella table, and many outdoor tables as well. Two outdoor barbecues and seating for large groups make the Secluded Tahoe Mansion special.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Secluded Tahoe Mansion with 2 Large Spas on Tahoe X-C Dollar Hill
average rating of 4.090909 based on 22 reviews
Baywood Park, CA


  • 2 of 5

Listing, as well as signs throughout this place continually refer to it as "Secluded Tahoe Mansion." Yes, it is Secluded, and it's maybe 2 miles from Lake Tahoe, but Mansion it is not, by any stretch of the imagination. It's actually two rather rundown houses, probably built in the 1970's, connected by a jerry-rigged staircase covered in dirty carpeting. The decor can only be described as Garage Sale Moderne. The rear wooden deck that looks so inviting in the listing is covered in plastic grass. The spa area between the two houses is also surrounded by fake grass, with high walls of peeling paint on fiber board, protecting you from any view, and the view from you.

Both kitchens are small, with sparse room for storing food and very limited counter space. So if you plan on cooking for a large group, be prepared to spend a lot of time running up and down that staircase. Why there are two bar stools facing the butcher block in the middle of one kitchen was never explained.

In its favor "Secluded Tahoe Mansion" would probably be great for cross-country skiing, there were trails in back of the unit and a cross-country skiing center close by. Also, there were no complaints about the beds.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I try and go out of my way to please all guests to the Secluded Tahoe Mansion. Sometimes it does not matter what they say, as I have many happy and repeat guest who stay here, and have been doing it for quite a while, and yes, even though, reviews matter. The only time I get a bad review is usually when I find damage and charge the guests. With your group, I did find damage as noted on your deposit refund NO CHARGE! Where is the large broiler pan? We have looked everywhere. You had 14 adults and 7 children, and probably more, but I never check. It is the hours cleaning that matter, and I lost money cleaning up after your group. The "garage sale" furniture was all purchased new, and the granite table in the living room was from the Godfather movie set and retailed for over 4500 dollars! The five leather couches in the living room show very little wear although when you get crowds including your group, furniture can get abused quite easily. That is why I chose leather for all of my couches. Garage sale not! The upper kitchen is quite large, the new 36 inch stainless commercial range and a 10 foot long counter beside it has plenty of room for cooking and preparing for large groups. The butcher block in the center of the upper kitchen was a plus for the kitchen! like a grand—— It is a great prep area with 3 barstools to sit at. The outdoor lawn on the rear deck is fairly new, and an upgrade over the redwood. This goes for the spa deck also which is surrounded by painted walls and trees so privacy is accomplished. The covered stairs get lot of use, and it shows. The rate for a house of this size that sleeps large groups like yours says it all. It cost me a considerable amount more than I charge for a cleaning fee to drain and clean both spas and also clean the house, and your group did leave the place a mess, and I know you are aware of this, with the back door wide open after vacating, spa cover upside down on spa to hide rip, trash strewn around the spa and rear deck area! I am sorry you were disappointed It was nice meeting you in person, along with your husband. When everyone showed up early and I met them, the entire group were awestruck on what a nice place it was. Now after seeing the shape my house was left, Thanks but No Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house at Tahoe. It was spacious, and as advertised with the house nice and clean along with the spas. Parking was ample as we had 6 cars and some of our friends showed up also. The back yard of the house is spacious and plenty of room to play with the kids. Tahoe City is close by, and so is night life including dining music and gambling. The silence was the best part of our stay, and plan on returning sometime in the near future when we can gather up all our relatives!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. I always am delighted when people take care of my place like your group did and also appreciate you taking time to write a review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

The house is great. The kitchen is well stocked with tools and frying pans. It was clean and in good working condition. The house is really two houses connected by an enclosed stairway. This worked well for our group. We could put families with kids in the higher house, and non-kid peoples in the lower house where there is a room with 5 beds in it. We were so lucky to get a foot of snow our second night. We never left the property our whole trip. The kids were so happy playing in the backyard, we just hung out and relaxed. It was a great weekend!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, and you and your group are welcomed back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
California, USA

Worst Vacation Experience Ever!

  • 1 of 5

Review #11063269 “Worst Vacation Ever!”

The house was falsely advertised.We did not know we would have to step outside to enter one part of the house from the other&that the long hallway joining the two houses would be freezing cold!However the biggest issues are the accusations made against our family that turned this vacation into a nightmare.Our deposit was withheld from us on trumped up charges.HO claimed we had major plumbing issues&did not tell him because an apartment under the house, which we had NO access to,had a back up of sewage in the shower.I told HO we did not have plumbing issues,excluding one time when the toilet water would not go all the way down & we had to plunge it.Something that happens in most people's houses WITHOUT causing a sewage back up.The HO would have been notified immediately,because we had 20 people in the house.HO was e-mailed several times throughout our stay,regarding issues in the home.So the line of communication was open.

HO claimed we had 30 people in his home and he had to charge us 10 hours over the regular clean.Completely untrue,we actually had three less people in the house than originally planned.We are a clean family & did more than required of check out procedures.We were asked to put all linens by the washer, we actually started a load&did 2 loads of laundry,3 of the loft bedding were never used.We did all dishes&started the dishwasher as required & we vacuumed & cleaned the kitchens several times a day.The house was not in tip top shape when we arrived,there were cigarettes & trash in one of the room's closet and another had a condom & men's underwear in the dresser drawer.

HO claimed he had to move furniture back,if he did it was by mere inches,because of the Christmas tree.

HO is blaming us for a leak under kitch. sink-that we told him about when it was discovered & we cleaned up & he never got back to us!

HO claimed he had to spend 3 hours removing a sled run that we built in his driveway&that we used all his salt.We used the salt because the driveway was icy when we got there and is very steep We had trouble getting four wheel drives up the driveway and some of us had to put chains on.We went and got extra salt for the rest of our stay.Yes we sledded down his driveway-we saw his cameras outside&knew we were being watched!

HO claimed the spas were trashed & reeked of urine-UNBELIEVABLE!They were hardly used! & this wasn't even mentioned until after we contacted VRBO.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your letter is nothing more than a revenge letter, and to hear such a different story is typical when guests do not receive their deposit back. VRBO denied your claim regarding your deposit refund after viewing the documents and photos that I sent them. I originally had you booked as 12 adults and 4 children. There was 30 plus people there with 15 or more being unsupervised children. The amount of people you let stay with your group was never approved by myself, and you never ever stated that you would have that many guests. The sled run your group built was very hard to dismantle, and was necessary to remove for the next group to use the driveway. The amount of furniture that was moved from one house to the other was very time consuming to re-arrange. The sewer that backed up in the maids store room was not a pretty sight! All this damage and no admission of responsibility was very frustrating. Previously meeting you personally along with your husband and many other party members and hearing how you had such a good time, and were sorry that you checked out many hours beyond your checkout time was a big act, and considering that I had a new group showing up within hours, I was very disappointed when I discovered all the damage and emailed you immediately. You told me there was never any issues except a leak in the lower kitchen which your relative" fixed". Turns out someone pulled the pipe away from the drain tail piece and was never put back into the trap. This and also the sewer back up were well beyond the paltry 600 dollars I deducted from your deposit. When I got a report from the maids that they found plungers in both bathrooms in the upper house coated with toilet paper and still wet! Earlier you told me that there were no plumbing issues, later changed your story after I mentioned both toilets upstairs were backed up! You also emailed me that a few glasses were broken. There was many wine glasses and shooter glasses and plates that disappeared, or were broken. The spas were so bad that they needed double dumps to clean them up. Your letter took 3 months to compose all of your issues. It took me only a short while to respond to such a malicious review, and to hear all the false statements is only a sign of what kind of person you really are!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Best time we had!

  • 5 of 5

I promised a review when we stayed at this place, and now here it is. Lots of bedrooms and sleeping areas, very family oriented house, and surroundings all combined with nature Wild animals came to visit, including chipmonks, squirrels, and racoons. Plenty of trails from which to hike. We rode our mountain bikes from the house, and others also rented some right down the path from where the house is, and the selection was teriffic. Big decks and also lots of chairs and chaise lounges around the property. Both spas worked without any problems. Privacy is the best part of this place and everyone enjoyed the peace and quiet

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

4 familys for fun

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the house known as the Secluded Tahoe Mansion, of which we expected a lot of snow and difficulty in parking but it was a breeze. The cul de sac where this home is located is quite large and we were able to park right on the street. We had a full house, and with some extra guests showing up, had extra beds and plenty of sheets and towels. The Nordic Ski Center out behind the house had snow, but not enough to go very far. The two outdoor spas were a blessing, and everyone enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The floor plan is a bit confusing with all the different rooms, but once used to the surroundings, it was fine, and also there are plenty of different outdoor lights which is always nice. The fire pit in the back yard was also a nice extra. This house had it all, and even though the snow was minimal, we all had a very good time.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Truckee Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Pete and Peters
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Tahoe City with service in the summer
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Tahoe City
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I 80
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Wolfdales, Jakes, Bachis,
Nearest Ski
Tahoe Nordic
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Skylandia Beach
Car: recommended

This house is perfect for large groups, lots of parking and a secluded neighborhood to enjoy the solitude of nature at its best. With mountain scenery and a little lake within walking distance, and bicycle trails that go everywhere!

Tahoe XC is right down the hill, ski rentals and snow shoes are there along with a great snack bar and lodge. Once settled into the woodsy surroundings there is plenty to view along with two large spas each on a private deck.


Rates & Availability

Tahoe City Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
End of Summer
Jul 7 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 20 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
Holiday Rates
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 4 2018
5 night minimum stay
Peak Winter
Jan 7 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning fee $400
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 10.0%

400 dollar cleaning fee to drain and clean both spas and also clean the house

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question

You might like these similar properties