check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lynda Grosskreutz

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet

58 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Papaikou House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

The beautiful Malia Bree at Onomea

HI Tax ID # W83948495-01

Enjoy the beautiful ocean view and the tropical landscaping in this private home with gated entry. Spend hours on the wrap-around deck enjoying the tropical breezes and Hawaiian ambiance. Sit back and watch for the humpback whales from the patio, or see the cruise ships make their way toward Hilo. Be dazzled by our incredible stargazing, as the island has been outfitted with special lighting for the observatories up on Mauna Kea.

Centrally located in East Hawaii on the Onomea Scenic Route, often called the most beautiful place on the Big Island, you'll find yourself in old Hawaii. The whole house is yours to relax in, with the town of Hilo just 10 - 12 minutes away, serene Akaka Falls and Honomu Town five minutes away, and the 'must see' Volcano National Park 45 minutes away.

The Hamakua coastline's best kept secret is our unique tradewind weather that encourages most of the rainfall to occur in the early mornings and evenings, leaving the day fresh and clean with sunshine and breezes. You will not be disappointed by the colors, plants, museums, gardens and tours. Many of our attractions comes with no cost other than your camera to help you savor your memories.

Honeymoon, enjoy your keiki (children), or write a book. The ocean views, tropical landscaping,and peace of old Hawaii at the Malia Bree will surely inspire you to not only 'be on vacation,' but 'feel on vacation.'

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Lynda Grosskreutz (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lyndy, My son said it all when he walked up the stairs and looked into the window. "Mom, this place is awesome!" We just came from Oahu, and are on to Kona but there is no question in my mind that Malia Bree will be our favorite home away from home. Our time here is definitely too short.

What makes this place so special? The fact that it feels so native Hawaiian, the wonderful fresh fruit smoothies across the street, the beautiful road through unbelievably lush jungle, the quaint feel of Hilo town with the diverse farmer's market--but mostly the spirit of "Aloha" that your showed us from the first e-mail . You treated us like family visiting. We cannot thank you enough for teaching us the spirit of Hawaii Mahalo
Jun 2007
  • 1 of 30

Reviews

4.8
based on 58 traveler reviews

Onomea Scenic Route, Ocean Views, Beautiful, Free Internet
average rating of 4.827586 based on 88 reviews
Brisbane QLD Australia
5

lovely quiet peaceful retreat with all comforts

  • 5 of 5

The home was easy to locate with the directions lyndy provided before our arrival. The flowers on arrival was a nice homely touch. The home is very well maintained and had excellent standards in regards to cleanliness. The layout of the house was fantastic as my parents were on one side of the house and my aunt and I were on the other. The front door steps are very easy to climb (lower then even normal steps!!). We survived the first big storm of the season without loss of power but the rain came down very heavy. We loved the view and woke to a number of animals (chickens, turkeys, cows etc) in the paddock in the mornings. The drive into Hilo itself is not that far (10mins) and we did a day trip up to the Volcano national park. Thanks Lyndy for going the extra mile you have fantastic customer service skills and I would recommed this property to family and friends.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dee! The rainstorm was impressive! Even to us islanders who should be use to it. Glad that you made the most of it and still got to see and do everything that you wanted to do. Thank you for your response. It really helps our prospective guests get a feel of what they can look forward to, and credibility to our vacation rental. The cows in the lot across us are very entertaining indeed. Next time, if you are lucky, you may catch a family of piglets running across the fence line! Mahalo and a fond aloha! Hope you can return to the Big Island again someday. Lyndy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Napa, CA
4

Great value in special location.

  • 4 of 5

The house fully met our expectations. It was exactly as advertised. The host was a thorough, prompt and clear communicator. The neighborhood is terrific and the view from the house is beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AWESOME | IDEAL | PERFECT

  • 5 of 5

The property exceeded our expectation. It was ideal central location for our family of four for hiking for waterfalls and visiting Volcano National Park. The house was surrounded by tropical foliage which made you feel you were on the island by your self. The view from the back porch was breath taking. My husband and I enjoyed eating our breakfast on the back porch every morning listening to the birds, frogs, cows and watching the rain. Lyndy was great. She let us check in early and checked in on us to make sure everything was going great. Having the smoothie stand across the street was the icing on the cake. We enjoyed Cafe 100 for dinner. They are known for their Moco Locos and are very reasonably priced. Big Island pizza was also very tasty. For snorkeling we recommend SeaQuest in Kona. You definitely need to visit Volcano National Park and see the flowing lava at night. As for hiking, there are plenty of places to go (easy-strenuous) that you won't be disappointed. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Great house!

  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing time in Hilo and in this lovely house. The house is very clean, and everything we needed was available. Lynda was very attentive. The shave ice down the road is amazing. Great location! There were seven of us (3 adults and 4 kids) and the only slight issue was that the queen couch didn't serve as a bed because it is very uncomfortable (two of the kids ended up sleeping on the ground), but besides that, everyone loved it! Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous time in a quiet tropical setting

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed staying in this rental. Everything was as described. The house was very spacious, clean, well maintained and the wraparound deck was amazing. All the little amenities really were helpful and Lyndy had tons of local information available on fish/birds, restaurants, and local attractions you may want to visit while in her property. We found the tropical country setting to be relaxing and similar to our PA home. The frogs at night were relaxing and the cool breezes and fans made for a good night sleep. Being just outside of Hilo was nice for our visit to the falls, beaches, parks, and family. We would recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in the Hilo area.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Big, fun house!

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time here, house is huge and loved that we could spread out and listen to the frogs. Low Store and What's Shakin' are close by (walkable!) and were both delicious! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Car: recommended

Helicopter rides, Museums (Tsunami, Lyman House, Train, Ocean Discovery), Kayaking down the old sugar mill ditch, Birdwatching, Mauna Kea star gazing tours, Waipio Valley, Laupahoehoe Point, Akaka Falls, Hawaiian Museums, Banyan Drive, Liliuokalani Gardens, Tsunami Museum, Farmers Market, Hawaii Volcano National Park, Prince Kuhio Plaza, and Visit the most delicious smoothie store a stone's throw away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Papaikou House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,100
$4,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaners fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Call for Merry Monarch Rates. Military Discounts offered
Homeaway/VRBO has their own service fee which is not related to our property. Please feel free to contact Homeaway or homeowner for more information

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Papaikou House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , in living room
  • King size beds (1) King sized bed in the master bedroom with cable tv and ocean views, Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) twin bed with bolsters for a daybe/sofa in second bedroom with the queen sized bed, Baby Cribs (1) porta-crib available in unit High chair booster seat
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3200 feet of house and deck to enjoy, Free High Speed Internet with wireless Router available for use with your laptop, CD/DVD Player, Well furnished and supplied home, Blender, King and queen sized beds, hair dryer, Pull-out queen sized sleeper sofa, day-bed, Futon mattress, Ceiling fans & skylights throughout the house, Gated driveway, Yard for kids to play in, Games, Puzzles, Beach mats & Towels, Badmitton, Frisbee, Chess Set, Checkers Fooseball table on enclosed screened lanai (patio), exercise machine

Partner Offers