check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Seashell Cottage -1 block to Duval Street-Parking

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Key West Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1/1 single family residence

Due to changes being made at VRBO beyond my control, please call me, the Owner, direct at 1 386 454 2836 for questions, reservations and lowest rates.

Experience tropical island living in this owner managed property that offers a great location in Old Town Key West. Walk 1 block to Duval Street where you will find fabulous restaurants, boutiques, our famous bars, museums. The beach is a 5 block walk south and Sunset Celebration and the harbor is a 6-8 block north, and they are each short and interesting blocks. Fabulous grocery store just 2 blocks away and they deliver.

Along with value priced lodging, this vacation rental offers private jacuzzi, hammock, fully-equipped kitchen, and the opportunity to relax and enjoy Key West at its best. Free Wi-Fi and free parking.

Seashell Cottage is a one bedroom cottage, totally private single family residence, accommodating 2 adults or a family of 3 with one child under the age of 18.

Whether you've come to play in the water, do 'Duval Street,' check out our historical museums and architecture, eat in our fabulous restaurants, or just walk and bike in and around our island, you'll be happy to return to the comfort of one of this lovely accommodation.

Besides the many water sports listed here, you'll find live theater and music, including symphony and big band, along with art galleries and interesting, small but fun museums, and most are within walking distance of our Old Town properties. This property is highly requested by return guests, call now for availability!

Call for extra person, Holiday, and Festival Rates. Discounts for stays more than one week. Due to changes being made at VRBO beyond my control, please call me direct at 1 386 454 2836 for questions, rates, and reservations. One week minimum may (or may not) apply.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Carolyn Baker (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Carolyn Baker

Greetings - we've lived, worked, and raised our children in Key West. We are pleased to have the opportunity to give our guests great accommodations with fabulous location for affordable rates.

Carolyn

Carolyn Baker purchased this cottage in 1988

Why Carolyn Baker chose Key West

Forget your car; walk or bicycle everywhere from the location, location, location of these properties. Ultimate privacy with fenced back deck, BBQ, hammock, dining table, hot tub. Inside you'll find all the comforts of home with lots of storage in the bedroom. The outside shower, in addition to the full bath with tub and shower, is a big hit with our guests.

What makes this cottage unique

Guests enjoy a totally private single family residence with private spa, fully equipped kitchen, abundant lush tropical foliage. Free internet connections and free onsite parking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

1 review

“Fantastic!”



5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago



My wife and I stayed at the Sea Shell Cottage to celebrate our 40th anniversary. It was our first stay at the Sea Shell and we could not have made a better choice. Everything is there that you will need. So private yet so convenient. We are looking forward to a return stay. Carolyn and Wendy were great!



Steve and Carol



Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple

5 of 5 stars Value

5 of 5 stars Location

5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality

5 of 5 stars Rooms

5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

5 of 5 stars Service
May 2014
  • 1 of 17

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)
Seashell Cottage -1 block to Duval Street-Parking
average rating of 5.0 based on 37 reviews
Dallas, Texas
5

Bryan & Judy Mullican

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just left Poinciana Place this past Saturday after staying there for a week. We could not be more thrilled with Poinciana Place. You are 1 1/2 blocks from Duval street. so you get the peace and quiet, while being close to the "action". Bruce is a great host and will give you 5 star treatment. It was everything we hoped for and then some! If you need a place to get away from it all for some serious R&R you have found it here. We look forward to coming back!!! Thank you Bruce for making this a very SPECIAL week.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Poinciana Place. Thank you for writing the lovely review. We'll look forward to your return! Carolyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Creve Coeur, MO. USA
5

First time in Key West

  • 5 of 5

We did plenty of research on vrbo and we eventually narrowed it down to Lazy Lanes Cottages. We wanted to spend our Twentieth wedding anniversary with little to no distractions like what you may encounter at a hotel. After contacting Carolyn and setting up the dates for our visit we were more than pleased with the accommodations! We arrived to find Bruce doing some minor straightening up and he gave us the run down on where to go and what to see. We throughly enjoyed Poinciana Place Tree Top... everything was just wonderful. The temperature was well into the triple digits but coming back home to a ice cold air conditioner certainly felt like heaven! The Jacuzzi was exhilarating and the cottage was just the right size... Cozy. We are already planning on next years visit!! We left a Thank You card for Bruce and Carolyn for allowing us to stay, experience, and enjoy paradise in their little island retreat! I highly recommend the cottages of Lazy Lane!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Poinciana Place and hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards, Carolyn Baker
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wonderful Little Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the Seashell Cottage. We stayed there for a week and everything was as promised. It was the perfect size for my boyfriend and myself and everything was clean and well stocked. The king size bed was very comfortable. We absolutely loved the outdoor shower, we didn't use the indoor one at all! And even though it was 100 degrees, we still loved and used the hot tub. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone and cannot wait until we can book it again. We flew into Key West airport and rented bikes for the week and I am so glad we did. The house is in such a great location, as it is close to mostly everything, especially by bike. Carolyn and Cindy were wonderful to work with. We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. You were great guests and we're so pleased you had such a good time. Biking around Key West is such a delight; glad you were able to appreciate that. We will look forward to your return. Carolyn and Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Somerville, NJ
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Treetop Jasmine Suite for a week in April. We are dying to go back!

The location of this property is AMAZING. And even better, AFFORDABLE! There are tons of places around the island to stay, but you get everything you need here for a great price. You can walk anywhere if you bring the right shoes! Up and down Duval to Sunset, to Fort Zachary (this was our favorite beach), and to tons of restaurants and bars.

We flew into Miami Airport and drove down the length of the Keys to the cottage (about three hours). It's such a beautiful drive! When we arrived we realized we don't need a car so we returned it to the Key West Airport and rented bikes. Highly recommend renting a bike - it was an excellent way to explore the island and get around! Cabs are a quick phone call away to bring you elsewhere. Sidenote.. If you are doing the drive to/from Miami to Key West - definitely stop at Bahia Honda beach, it is truly beautiful (this was one of Dave the Inn Keeper's wonderful recommendations).

There is a nice covered balcony/entryway to the cottage where you can sit at the end of the night and enjoy some drinks. There is also a kitchen with everything you need (though, why cook when there are TONS of wonderful places to go out and eat?). The sitting room was nice, and everything in the suite was well appointed in general. We experienced that nice "hotel" feel. We were also able to stock up on beach towels and other necessities like suntan lotion at the Inn.

We loved it and can't wait to come back! Thanks Dave and Carolyn!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your amazing review of the Jasmine House Treetop Suite and Key West. You covered it all in such an expressive way. We are so pleased you had such a great stay and hope you return! Carolyn Baker Dave Mueller
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Miami, Florida
5

Definitely A Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I went last year to key west. I had never been. My friend had been numerous times and stayed in all different places in Key West. We were both in need of a little vacation time. I had spotted this place. What caught my attention was the private Jacuzzi, the affordable pricing and great reviews. Then, we contacted the place and Carolyn was extremely polite, informative and accommodating. We stayed on the top of The Poinciana Place. It was perfect for us! We really enjoyed and loved the entire stay! Bruce is very low key and nice. He came by to basically welcome us, answer any questions we had and make sure we had everything we needed. This was about a year ago and we cannot wait to return. My friend who has stayed so many times in all different places on the island was just as impressed as I with Lazy Lane Cottages. Also, the location is excellent; It's quiet, serene right where you stay but within a 5-10 minute walk/2-3 minute bike, you're near everything you could want. It even rained half the time and because of how comfortable the room was, it didn't hinder our stay at all. We were able to relax in the Jacuzzi and watch the rain pour down. The fact that the Jacuzzi is private puts it over the top, for me! I honestly could go on and on because my friend and I were so pleased with our stay at Poinciana Place. Unfortunately, this past year I became sick but am in recovery now and extremely thankful and fortunate. Now, I am able to go out, get in the water and walk again. Therefore, I cannot wait to book our trip this year and even more of a reason to celebrate being here and able to take such a nice trip. (Note: I am not certain if I have the exact date of arrival correct. It was either the date selected, Thursday, June 20 or the previous Thursday, June 13 that we arrived. I apologize for that.) It has been described as a hidden treasure, which is precisely what it truly is.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely surprise to see your great review and to know that you had such an enjoyable stay. So glad you are feeling better and will be returning. Take care and thank you! Carolyn
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Place in Key West

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Key West. So much fun! Our stay was particularly perfect because of our ideal accommodations. We spent a week in Poinciana Place (upstairs) and could not have asked for a more comfortable arrangement in a more ideal location. Carolyn and Bruce made our arrangements and arrival carefree. The cottage is convenient for walking in every direction but on a quiet lane without noise and foot traffic. Every consideration for a comfortable stay has been made. We loved relaxing in the jacuzzi after a day of walking, snorkeling, kayaking, and shopping. Every review here is right on target. There is no need to look around - Any of the Lazy Lane accommodations will be right for your Key West stay. Thank you, Carolyn and Bruce.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're pleased that your stay at Poinciana Place was pleasant and met your expectations, making your first visit to Key West an enjoyable experience. I enjoyed meeting you and we hope you will return. Carolyn Baker
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Key West International
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
South Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Jasmine House
Nearest Point of Interest
Seashell Cottage and Poinciana Place
Nearest Point of Interest
Fausto's Food Palace
Nearest Point of Interest
Eaton Street Seafood Market
Car: not necessary

Biking on Nice Flat Land with Beautiful Ocean Panoramas or in Historical Old Town Key West, Fishing (flats or open ocean), Wildlife Viewing (Birds are plentiful), Snorkeling/Diving on Coral Reef or Shipwrecks, Kayaking in the Spectacular Back Country, Dolphin Watching, Just a Few of our Annual Events, Fantasy Fest (October), Pirates Fest (December), Bikers Fest (September), Literary Fest (January), Conch Republic Secession (April), Old Homes Tour (February), Arts & Crafts (January), Super Power Boat Races (November), 'Yachting' Sailboat Race (January), Lobster Season (August), Hemingway Days (July)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Town Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER
May 29 2016 - Oct 15 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,300
$4,500
 
 
Mid-Season
Oct 16 2016 - Dec 17 2016
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,600
$6,000
 
 
Winter 2017
Dec 18 2016 - Apr 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
$2,000
$7,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$1,300
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 12.5%

Call or email for rates for holidays, special events, festivals.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Key West Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 840 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • In addition, there is an outside shower and sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Seashell Cottage bedrooms has 1 king bed, Double Sleep Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fully-Equipped Kitchen, Private Phone/Answer Machine, Parking, Seashell Cottage - 2 adults or family up of 3 with 1 child under 18,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties