The flat is located in the heart of the city!in one of most authentic and central historical neighborhoods:Pera. Literally a few meters from Pera, Galata, Tünel. The flat is a little special:it is a wooden house of 4floors from old istanbul. although well restored and renovated it is almost 100 years old.once upon a time all the houses of the city were wooden single-family mansions. most of them went burned, demolished and replaced with cement ugly buildings. we managed to save one! so it looks more like home, than a cold flat for tourists. FLAT: the apartment is comfortable and pleasant: furnished with taste and attention. equipped with all comforts. (we have also a baby bed, if you need) the kitchen is well equipped. Bed linen. towels heating and wifi internet are included. There is a washing machine. LOCATION: The flat is a5-minute walk from taksim, the true center of istanbul, hundreds of restaurants, bars, café, live music, shopping centers along the way of istiklal, Metro is also there, all just 300 meters away. It is here you want to be here to spend the nights in the life of this great young city. it is here that you will eat all the best regional foods, there are restaurants for all tastes and all budgets,here you will be shopping and you will drink in the myriad of bars and cafe', with live music, watching the bosphorus...The house is also only10-15 minutes from Galata&Karakoy, where is the tram to the historic mosques and bazaars of Sultanahmet(10 minutes),the ferry boats to the Asian side.
- House484 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Minimum StayNone
Lovely apartment in a wooden house of old Istanbul.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Turkish
- Calendar last updated:
- Jun 13, 2018
About mico deloreti
i am italian, living in istanbul since 15 years! i work in the university here, as well as doing the tour guide for alternative walking tours, oriented into cultural tourism, culinary and sustainable tourism as well (please don't hesitate to contact me privately for further detail). Istanbul still is able to surprise me, fascinate and touch me!
What makes this House unique
SPECIALTY ' : at the center from the heart of Istanbul, with the monumental buildings of the street istiklal , the pear palace hotel , tunel , Galata ... all just minutes away . this app.to has a particularity ' that makes it special : and ' an old wooden house in istanbul . built at the beginning of the century ( last ) when the whole city ' was made up of detached houses of wood, 2-3 or 4 floors . there were hundreds . simply disappeared : burned , beaten, abandoned . mine has 4 floors made in the '30s . and 'more ' like a house, not a cold apartment for tourists
Local Services & Businesses
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Very deceiving. Families must absolutely avoid.
I am sorry to say there is a HUGE GAP between the feeling we've had through the description of the house, the photos and also through the web contacts with an enthusiastic owner, and the REALITY ! On the contrary, I consider the house as expensive, an not fabulous at all.
We have stayed 9 nights here. AS MANY COMMENTS say about this appartment, MAVI flat (and some others owned by the same MIKO in Istanbul), this is quite SMALL and not very convenient for cooking ; you have to pay attention to the HOLE leading to the staircase and basement (the room underground), it is NOISY through the window of the small bedroom upstairs, which is rather HOT at night, and no possibility of opening the window.
When we arrived, the room downstairs (bed, floor, air inhalated by our two girls) was VERY WET, and it got worse day after day, because of a general problem of plumbing in the flat (as we complained about humidity, a plumber finally came and they discovered a hole in one of the water tubes of our toilets !) After 2 days of work inside our room, a second adventure occurred with a flood that invaded the underground room because of a huge storm on Istanbul ! We had let the small windows open because of the humidity, and liters of water rushed into the bedroom... Our cases were swimming in a sort of river !
Two weeks after, I feel very angry with this type of location, and also with the owner. He is an Italian but this room is not something acceptable to normal standards (not even the italian standards and prices, those we know after10 years (!) of holidays in Italy with Abritel). I think he is a sort of businessman, but the all thing is not very professional, and he does not seem very concerned with his guests. For me, such a thing is not normal, is not fair.
In fact, the owner's wife was here, trying to solve the problems when they appeared, and we must say she was WONDERFUL at the time of the flood. At the same time, she was so shocked by the storm and all our problems. She took 2 days to wash our cases, and removed all our flooded affairs upstairs. Thanks to her, we managed to move to another flat, wider, and cleaner. She proposed us 100 euros back, when we left the room.
I am sorry to give this hard general appreciation on Miko and Miko's flat, because SHE has been so reliable and a real support in that difficult period !! But I must not conceal the reality : HE could have wasted a family's holidays >> this is NOT very fair, elegant, friendly.
i am very sorry that you feel like that about your stay in our flat. i see you review only now! and i hope you are not angry anymore
i just wanted to state that you were there at very very exceptional conditions! we had a flood in istanbul at that time, and we tried to do the most to face a rather terrible situation. it was the flood that may have ruined your holidays, if it wasn't for ...my wife, as you correctly remark. i thank you for mentioning all the efforts she did. as for my absence, i am sorry for that, but i was very very busy with my walking tours in istanbul in that period of high season. maybe you remember that. i thought my wife's help would have been enough, but you are right, my presence would have been better, at least to talk about problems and to solving them. you are right and i feel sorry for that now.
your remarks about the flat and the price are pretty unfair: i sent you specific photos of the flat you were going to reserve, with warnings and description (as i ALWAYS do, in order to avoid surprises). looking at homestays website for istanbul on the internet this is one of the cheapest in the city
We were there in Febr 201...
We were there in Febr 2013.We suggest to stay there if you don't mind:
1. The advertisment refers to two separate flats (or three?) and not to one of 100m2.We stayed on the first floor ,the photos are partly from one floor and partly from others.
2.Anything broken or old gets never replaced
3.the flat is poorly furnished and the matress is very used
4. In the kitchen there is a refrigerator but the supplies for cooking are the least possible.
5.The espresso machine is filthy and rusty
6.We never saw the owner, instead he sent someone who could hardly speak English.
7.On the first floor Kitchen and bath are very narrow(pictures don't show it)
We loved staying at this ...
We loved staying at this apartment! The location was superb - just a 5 minute walk to Istikal and Tunel - easy access to anywhere you want to go in Istanbul without being in the tourist core. We found everything we needed, and Miko was a fabulous host. Any concerns were quickly taken care of.
"I would highly recommend...
"I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Istanbul. The apartment is equipped with everything you need, and is very cozy. My husband and I enjoyed our stay so much we extended it! You won''t find a better location - just a 5 minute walk to Istikal, and easy access to all the historical sites.
"It was hard to find the ...
"It was hard to find the place, and when we arrived the place was very cold because it was empty for a while before our arrival, so the first day was not very cosy, let''s say...but it went better and better as the flat was getting warmer, but still another problem could not be solved so easily: the noise, as the house walls are very thin, so when the other group of french tourists arrived, i could listen to evey word they said, even their morning prayer at six a.m., or the neighbour next to us washing her dishes, so it was like living in a cardboard house! So if you go there in summer, the first point would not be a problem, and even the second one would be easier as yu will maybe have your windows open...but it was snowing during our stay, so the house was an important point of our trip...but it''s nicely decorated and very well situated, the area is fantastic and mico''s wife was very helpful, so" go there in summer" will be my final word!"
"Very nice and cosy flat ...
"Very nice and cosy flat even though we never found the iron flat/laundry and it was impossible to chose the temperature of the heating (off/hot like hell. But we sure enjoyed it!"
40 min. IST airport 90 min. SAW airport 3 min. istiklal st. 10 min. galata 15 min. karakoy/taksim the owner is living in istanbul since more than 10 yrs. i will be happy to give any hints or information on restaurants & bars, may be needed. the house is just at 100m to the istanbul entertainment center: live music, restaurants, bars, cultural centers, museums. the historical center is also very near (sultanahmet 1,5km, taksim square 500m, istiklal cad.si 100m, galata tower 150m, suleymani cami 400m, vapur piers to the bosphorus-asian side-golden horn 50-200m)
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Tariffe scontate in relazione alla durata, Tariffe in funzione del numero di persone, Richiesto supplemento per il riscaldamento in base alla stagione, Caparra richiesta alla prenotazione, Consegna delle chiavi da parte del Proprietario non presente in locorietario