check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Waterfront 4 Bdrm, Gallop Canal/Thousand Islands; kayaking; FANTASTIC cottage

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Ontario Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Fantastic Getaway, 4 Bedrooms (King/Queens/double/single, 2 Baths) sleeps 10

Get away and enjoy the peaceful countryside. Located on a historic route, 15 minutes to Brockville along the St. Lawrence River. Built in 1999 this house provides modern conveniences with old-time charm. Waterfront property with beautiful scenery and wildlife. Fully furnished with hardwood floors and a dock for swimming and canoeing.

The area offers a variety of activities for all ages: historic sites, museums, antique shopping, local summer and winter festivals, water sports (renowned fresh water scuba driving both for shore diving and river dives), and golf. We have Kayaks, canoes and volleyball onsite.

Keywords: House

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Christine Joli-Coeur (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Christine Joli-Coeur

Randy and I have lived in the area for almost 20 years, both natives of Quebec so we do speak French. We ended up in this area when I moved for work and Randy followed. Randy currently works as a realtor in the area and I work full time as a consultant.

Why Christine Joli-Coeur chose Ontario

Having grown up in Quebec city and travelled along the Eastern Seaboard of Canada and the US this area offer the beauty of comfort and things to do. Comfort of the home to enjoy meals together with family or friends, a quiet coffee looking out on the river, space for a soccer or volleyball challenge or a peaceful paddle in the kayak. Activities are numerous particularly in the summer just drive North, South, East or West and you will find fun for the family or friends. We border on the US so if heading South to explore Ogdensburg, Canton, Alexandria Bay NY bring your passport.

What makes this cottage unique

Having been renters of other cottages we work hard to make sure that the cottages are well kept and not to dissapoint and that the price is affordable. This cottage has a double level deck that overlooks the water with breathtaking views of the St. Lawrence at any time of year.


based on 15 traveler reviews

Waterfront 4 Bdrm, Gallop Canal/Thousand Islands; kayaking; FANTASTIC cottage
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews
Montreal and Toronto area

Beautiful location , but not impressed with the cottage itself.

  • 2 of 5

Arrived Friday afternoon, and everything was good, till we ran into certain details, that should not be an issue when you are paying so much for 3 nights. Dishwasher was broken , had to do the dishes by hand for 10 people, bathroom door and windows were not working. Dirty linens were left in one of the beds, dishes were actually put away dirty in the cupboard. Furniture was very uncomfortable, and the actual cleaning was not great (dead bugs on walls, spider webs on lamps and hanging on the ceiling....) Even the BBQ was not working good and was very dirty. And all the batteries in the remotes were dead and melted..... basic things that need to be taken care of.....

Enjoyed the outside and the view very much, the boats were awesome and so was the swimming, but forget fishing because you aren't going to get much.

In general i enjoyed myself but will not be returning or promoting this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As with everything we do our very best to make your vacation a good one but things will come up. It is unfortunate that you did not bring up these issues during your stay so something could have been done about them. I am happy that you enjoyed the waterfront and we do appreciate your comments however would have even appreciated more to allow us to do something about them in a more timely manner. Have a great rest of summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the sunrise every morning! The home is clean and bright.

Going out onto the water with one of the choices of canoe or Kayak was nice.I loved the view we had of the water.

Nice quiet time.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location for day trips and kayaking

  • 4 of 5

Nice cottage and the water was nice. We really appreciated having so many single and double kayaks and canoes too. We could all go out together. Lots nearby for day trips too. Ottawa is only 42 minutes away so that was nice. Christine was around a few times making sure we were good and even gave a lovely gift of a bottle of wine. We enjoyed it and our week very much. Thanks again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fantastic I am glad you enjoyed your trip and took advantage of the kayaking. it is beautiful on the river; lots to see See you back soon;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice river location but cottage needs work

  • 2 of 5

Homeaway questionaire:

Was the listing description accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities, etc ? Location: lovely Amenities:appliances fair, looked like a new TV, good internet Layout: good. Furniture old and in bad shape, only one couch and one chair for seating in Liv rm

Was the property clean and well-maintained ? Reasonably clean. Maintenance poor, long overdue, outside and in

Did the owner provide good customer service ? Prompt replies, Christine arrived to welcome us

Would you recommend this property to your friends or relatives ? No, we are older renters who expect nice furniture, linens, dishes etc. This property would be better suited to party groups or fishermen. Lots of boats available

What activities, attractions and restaurants did you like or dislike near by ? We went to relax and did not go out

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had a wonderful time at Twin Oaks

  • 5 of 5

We booked the cottage for a family gathering to celebrate my parents' anniversary. The teenagers & 5 yr old loved the access to the water & the amazing sand pile. Beautiful view! Christine was wonderfully helpful and friendly. Her visit to check on the status on Friday was greatly appreciated. Randy stopped by as well and was very friendly and helpful. We had no issues with lack of supplies & cleanliness. Thank you both!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you had a great time with your special occasion. Life goes so quickly that the time you take to get together give lasting memories for a lifetime. Thank you so much for your rental. Have a fantastic day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property, cozy cottage. Could have been cleaner and better stocked for price paid.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay. Perfect cottage for a weekend with young children. Lots to do outside, canoes and kayaks available and beautiful sandy beach area with shallow entry to the water.

However, The cottage itself could have been cleaner. Dirty floors, old dirty rags and sponge left on counter in the kitchen. One of the coffee machines had not been cleaned out and there was a used moldy coffee filter inside. The washing machine was also very dirty. The kitchen was stocked with very limited cookware.

For the price we paid, we expected the cottage to be stocked with basic necessities. Would have appreciated more detailed instructions as to what to bring (paper towels, salt and pepper, hand towels and rags, bath mat) but these are minor details and did not affect our stay. We would happily return again.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really do appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on taking good care of the cottage at a reasonable rate. We rely on cleaners as well as renters like yourselves to keep us abreast of anything that needs additional attention. The cleaner was new so I am so sorry that it appears not to have been done to acceptable standards. I will discuss this to the cleaner to ensure it doesn't happen again. In future please do communicate to me directly at the beginning or during your stay so that I could have made sure items were tended to immediately. I am glad though that you did have an enjoyable experience and still rated us well. Please do come back and I am sure you will see that this was not usual. Sincerely, Christine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Ottawa International Airport
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Prescott golf club
Nearest Train
25 Kilometres
Brockville VIA rail
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
401/ 416
Nearest Restaurant
4 Kilometres
Bridgeview Marina Restaurant
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Prescott Ontario
Car: necessary

Lots of local activities in the summer months; Upper Canada Village, Fort Wellingston, Live theatre St. Lawrence Shakespear festival, Upper Canada playhouse.


Rates & Availability

Cornwall Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Summer 2016
Jun 24 2016 - Aug 27 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Labour day 2016
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
CDN Thanksgiving
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
US Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 24 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Summer 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Aug 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $78
Pet Fee $78
Tax Rate 13.0%

When having additional guests over 8, there is an additional cost which can be negotiated depending on the size of the group.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Ontario Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , also with laundry
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 murphy bed , also has a queen size murphy bed in this room
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Murphy Beds (1) Queen size
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
This home lends well to the guys getting together or a ladies weekend. Just ask if you are looking something specific and we will be glad to let you know.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties