Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Summer or Winter Cabin Among the Pines

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

LOCATED ONLY 9 MILES FROM THE SOUTH ENTRANCE TO LASSEN VOLCANIC PARK

GREAT FOR FAMILY'S

'Great get away from it all Vacation'

Our 3 story cabin is nestled on a hillside of forest. The 2nd story contains the main living area with living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms with King size beds, and 1 bath with a nice deck facing the mountains. It is great fun to sit outside watching the sun rise over the mountains in the morning and watch the shooting stars at night. Our kitchen has lots of counter space, is equipped with a dishwasher and ample cooing utensils and dishes. The utility room, located off the kitchen has a washer and dryer with a back door that lead to the outside barbecue area.

The first story contains an entrance hall and one bedroom with twin futons and 1 bath. This room has its own TV which offers privacy for children or adults.

The 3rd story is one large room with one double bed and 3 twins.

The Mineral Lodge provides a grocery store for milk, bread and other items you may have forgotten. Their restaurant serves excellent meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a full bar for wine or cocktails. There is a small resort in Mill Creek, 6 miles from Mineral which serves good food and real homemade milkshakes. Chester is 30 miles distant with a large grocery store and a bank.

More Details

Owner
Jo Ann Perkins
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

About Jo Ann Perkins

I grew up in Mineral. My family owned and operated the Mineral Lodge from l920 until l980. I am currently retired and living in Red

Bluff after selling Real Estate in Mineral for over 30 years.

Jo Ann Perkins purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Jo Ann Perkins chose Mineral

I purchased the cabin so I could use it at times and have it available for others to enjoy the area.

What makes this cabin unique

Quiet and peaceful with lovely mountain views, Great climate with afternoon breezes

Lassen Volcanic National Park close by, only 9 miles from the southern entrance. Lassen provides great hiking trails and picnic spots, plus swimming in Summit Lake and a climb to the top of Lassen Peak.

Amenities

Mineral Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Dishes Provided, Glasses & Cups Provided, Gas Barbeque, Gas "Fireplace" Heating Stove on a Thermostat

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
46% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
Summer or Winter Cabin Among the Pines
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews
2

Not impressed by the owners

  • 2 of 5

We stayed here during memorial day weekend in 2017 and would give 2 stars for the home and its location. It's a spacious house. But it's an old house, so is the condition. The attic is huge but due to poor ventilation, it had bad smell emanating. Kitchen stove was upgraded and was a pleasant surprise.

The worst part of my stay was the communication with the owner. She almost disappeared without a trace, won't return my emails/calls. After much of firefighting with Homeaway support, I was able to get hold of owners' relative to get the checkin details. Later she came back and casually told that she had to go travel abroad and thus couldn't come back to me. I agree that she could be in an urgent situation, but in my opinion, bailing out like this is plain frustrating for renters. She needs to better manage this unit.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I thank Animesh for the report and I take full responsibility for the problem. I am 1/2 owner and handle all the reservations and communications with renters. When I left for my 3 week cruise I left instructions with the other 1/2 to handle the emails etc. However I did not leave details directions for incoming renters because I planned top be in contact with them every 2 days. However when I arrived on the Princess cruise I discovered that my telephone would not work as I had been promised before I left the U. S. I had set up my ATT account for this. In addition I could not use my email which is a small private server which had worked on every other cruise ship , even Princess before. So I had no means to give the advise and instructions. I deeply apologize to Animesh for his frustration in trying to obtain directions etc This will not happen again because I will be training the other 1/2 before I leave again. Sincerely Jo Ann Perkins
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Great place and the owners are very responsive.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A rustic cabin for a Lassen excursion

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was just what we expected for our Lassen trip. The kitchen allowed us to prepare our meals instead of going out (to the one restaurant in the very small town). There was only two of us but the cabin has room for a large family. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bay Area
5

Cozy property with great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved this property. It was close to the Lassen visitor center.

The kids enjoyed the loft.

There is no Wi-fi, but that was not a problem for us.

The cooking range has been upgraded as one of the earlier responses by JoAnn suggests.

It was good value for money.

We would definitely come back to this property.

JoAnn was prompt in her response.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this place. Well maintained. We found what we expected. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We work hard so our guests enjoy their time in our cabin. We love the atmosphere in the mountains and welcome everyone who shares our values. We are lucky to have very good renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice place to stay and a great value

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay here over a long weekend.

A group of friends and families came up for snow play during the day and

music, games and camaraderie in the evenings. Easy access to Lassen

and other cross-country ski trails.

OK, five stars may not be a good description of the place, but after reading

the other reviews and looking at the photos I knew what we were getting and

it met our needs well. With all the beds filled and the cost divided up, everyone

thought it was a great deal.

It's definitely and older place, and maybe a bit run-down, but was clean, and

comfortable. Any issues have been compensated for, like the non functioning

wall heaters, with plenty of space heaters. I'd recommend the place, but do

read the other reviews. Some have written a lot more than I will, and they tell

you all you need to know. Hope to use the place again next year

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Chester, CA
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Mineral Lodge
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
California Hwy 36
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Mineral Lodge
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Security Deposit $150

Security Deposit is refunded after clients leave if the cabin is not damaged and they leave the cabin as they found it. All instructions on refrigerator should be followed and there will additional charges if the heater is left on or windows left open. Liens are supplied for 2 Cal. kings, 1 Queen, 1 double and 2 twins. There is additional charge of $10.00 per night per guest after 8 guests. There are more beds and futons please bring sleeping bags and resister additional guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties