Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Spacious & Luxury Apartment "The Mill"

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,453 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

The apartment is located in the WEST-side (BAARSJES) of a residential area of Amsterdam. It is spacious and peaceful with small private garden, a group of friends or family will feel immediately at home. Shops (Kinkerstraat), bars and some restaurants are nearby. All the main tourist attractions are just 15 minutes away by tram or bus.


Owner
Leon Sur
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, german, dutch
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
20%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

Amenities

De Baarsjes Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1453 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • House should be left in a proper state, all carbidge should be thrown out. dishes washed and kitchen clean.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - tub
    Toilet 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • disco club
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Spacious & Luxury Apartment "The Mill"
average rating of 4.28125 based on 32 reviews
San Jose, Costa Rica
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We found Leon's place to be excellent. It was in such amazing conditions and my family definitely loved it.

It was really easy to find it and the fact that is on a first floor is really appreciated.

Leon made sure there were maps and other small details that made you feel welcomed, as an example there is a list with phone numbers for hospitals, doctors, police and after being in a few places across Europe I can say it's not the norm.

We had an issue with the wifi and Leon had it solved within the hour while we went to explore the city.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your good review! hope to welcome you soon in Amsterdam again. We wish you all the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Pay Attention!

  • 1 of 5

Are you planning to spend some days in Amsterdam? Are you a group of 6 or more people?

Pay attention and do not accept the second choice offers you.

We didn’t have a great adventure also in view of the price we paid for our apartment. It was not properly cleaned, we were six and there were 5 dishes and 3 forks as well as 4 chairs. The toilets were poor and during the night the kitchen was the playground of red naked slugs.. which is not very nice to find out.

Anyway the flat is situated in an area well serviced by tram towards the city center.

However Leon has been very kind of us.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response, our policy is that the apartment must be inspected prior to check in and payment by our guests. If something is not according to your wish let us know and we will do our best to meet your requirements. You checked in and very thing must have been according to your wishes otherwise you should not have paid. The house is situated at the ground floor and has a garden, don't be scared if some insects come in. It is a pity that you come up with your review 6 months after your stay and want to be anonymous. We take complaints very serious and like to find a solution for them. There are enough beds, chairs, plates and other utilties. You are the first person to complain about it. Despite your review we wish you all the best and be free to speak out if something doesnot suite you. We kindly request our future guests to do so immediately and not six months after your stay. We want to do our best to make your stay according to your wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
1

RENTER BEWARE

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed with this apartment. We arrived in Amsterdam thinking the apartment would be the one in the pictures. Turns out it was another one, and was really substandard. Leon was very nice, very prompt, but it's clear there was a "bait and switch" involved once we got settled. We decided not to complain because we were only there for four days, had lots planned and didn't want to hassle with asking for a refund and finding a hotel over New Year's Weekend. The apartment was dingy, not especially clean, didn't have top sheets on beds, had leftover food from an earlier renter in the fridge, dishes were in the dish drainer and not put away, ashtray on balcony had old cigarettes in it, none of the furniture in the pictures was in the apartment (because it wasn't the same place as advertised), the front (street) door didn't lock, etc. Really disappointing to pay top dollar and get swindled. You would think there would an honest explanation that the apartment advertised was unavailable for some reason and be offered a steep discount in exchange....but that didn't happen. Felt like we were swindled. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: If the apartment was that bad, why there was not asked for a discount or some form of compensation. You stayed there for the full time. There is no swindle you pay for what you get by us. The payment is made in cash after you have approved the apartment. It is too easy by our opinion to settle for something less if you are not happy with it. We have been in business for many years and we try to solve problems from guests as soon as possible. Making complaints about things you don't like doesnot solve anything, speaking them out and looking for perspective does. Sorry for your bad experience but you should have said something.
Did you find this review helpful?
27 8
3

a very comfortable flat

  • 3 of 5

we had a nice stay

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Fantastic property! Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful apartment, very central, close to tram stops and supermarket. Comfortable and spacious with a lovely garden. Leon was lovely and gave us all the help and advice we could need and I would recommend this apartment to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A big Thank You ! Good to hear, that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We will do our best to make your stay an pleasure. Amsterdam has something to do for everyone: lovely parks, museums, shops, great architecture, night life, restaurants and museums. Come and visit us may be we can inform you about the less touristic places to visit and have a nice stay in our city. Hope to see you soon and we are willing to help to give you a good and enjoyable stay in our city.
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0
5

"The apartment is spaciou...

  • 5 of 5

"The apartment is spacious. It is very nicely located in a quiet residential area, with good public transport and shops just a few steps away.The owners were very kind and helpful."

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Amsterdam-Schiphol
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Amsterdam-Lelylaan
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
A10-ring
Car: not necessary

- Tram (stop is Admiraal de Ruijterweg)

- Bus

- Paid parking possible at Bos en Lommer P+R

- About 10 minutes from central station by tram.

- Train station Lelylaan is nearby for easy access to the airport or other cities in the Netherlands.

Bike rental possible in the area for about 8 euro per day. in the area of MERCATORPLEIN and POSTJESWEG. The Vondelpark is nearby for a walk in the park or bycicle ride.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $119.56

voorschot bij boeking per bank. waarborgsom gevraagd. sleutels af te halen bij eigenaar. degressief tarief afhankijk van de verblijfsduur. tarief afhankelijk van het aantal personen

Betaling; 100 euro borg per bank en rest bedrag kontant bij aankomst in Amsterdam.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.