Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Lake House with 150' of Winnipesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms + Futon, Sleeps 10, 1.5 Baths, Beach and Dock on Lake Winnipesaukee

## Cottage on the Bay ##



| Completely Rebuilt New Bathroom! See the new pictures!


| Summer 2016 Availability in August and September, check calendar

| Take advantage of our Labor Day Week Special for $2600!


Waterfront home was built on one of the premier lots in Alton Bay around 1902 and has been owned by the same family since 1918.

Looking for Peace and Quiet? This house is very private and quiet as the rear of the property is 4 acres of woods. The property itself is 4.5 acres total.

Boater? Bring your boat and park your trailer in the driveway, or rent a boat from one of the many Marinas around the lake. Park it on the dock on property for your stay. Take the Canoe on site out for a nice ride if you'd like.

Looking for Adventure? Bring an ATV or rent one to try out the many long trails around the lake. Travel a short distance to Weirs Beach or Alton Bay by land or water and have a blast with numerous attractions and come home and relax on the porch.

Have Young Kids who love to swim? Bring them down to the beach on property. The shore is very sandy and the sand bar extends 150 yards from shore and allows for a large, sandy, shallow swimming area.

============== House Details ==============

The house has been modernized, but still retains the old cottage feel. It has a screened in porch facing the water on the west side of Alton Bay which affords excellent views of Lake Winnipesaukee and plentiful morning sun.

The private driveway places this house over 800 feet from the highway through woods. There is an abundance of parking next to the house on the same level as the main floor, and the main floor is accessed by a single six inch step.

On the main (first floor) there is a bedroom in the back with a twin bed and a twin-over-full bunk bed. The completely rebuilt full bath is located on the first floor and now includes the washer. The second floor has a half bath and three bedrooms, all with queen beds.

The house is fully furnished. The kitchen is fully equipped with new appliances, dishes, silverware and place settings for 10+ persons. Please note that renters must provide their own bed linens and towels.

The beach is located about 40 feet from the house via a concrete and stone stair way. (Vertical distance is about 20 feet.)

The boathouse has two outside docks available to the tenant which will accommodate up to 26-30' boats. The North dock has a depth of 2-2.5' while the South dock has a depth of closer to 3-4'. The sandy beach opens onto a shallow sand bar which extends for 100 feet into the lake with a depth of about 4-6 feet. This is an excellent and safe place for young children to swim in shallow water, but be slow and cautious with boats.

In 2015 the full bath on the first floor was completely rebuilt and enlarged. In 2014 this house was equipped with a brand new dishwasher and new toilets and in 2007 was equipped with all new appliances including a new Clothes washer, New refrigerator, and ceramic top electric range.

The cabin contains a propane-fueled baseboard heating system and instant hot water supply.

For rainy day entertainment there is a 50' Plasma TV in the living room with Hulu+, Netflix, HBO, Amazon Streaming, Limited Local Channels and more.


DISCOUNTS Offered for:

-Early Booking

-Consecutive Weeks

-Referrals (both parties)

-Repeat Customers

All rentals require a $1000 refundable security deposit(cashiers check or eCheck) at booking.

Owner prefers contact by email, please use convenient form on this page.


More Details

Evan Burleigh
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

About Evan Burleigh

I am the fifth generation owner, having inherited this family property from my father, Peter Burleigh, when he passed away in October 2013. I grew up coming to the cottage for lake related activities, and am now a Corporate Educator in the Boston Area. I intend to keep the property in my family by renting it to vacationers every summer. This is a picture of me at a deep, secret cave nearby the cottage known as "Devil's Den."

Evan Burleigh purchased this house in 1918

Why Evan Burleigh chose Lake Winnipesaukee Area

This is some of the cleanest lake water around the New England region. The turn-of-the-century house was 16 years old when my Great, Great, Great Grandfather purchased it in 1918. It had an attached farm and a long, sandy beach, making it one of the best locations on the bay. Since then, the farmland has grown into a large pine forest separating you from the highway. The old farm house was transformed into a summer cottage and remains atop a hill overlooking the majestic Alton Bay.

What makes this house unique

Accommodations include picturesque views from the elevated cottage; Lake Winnipesaukee access for swimming on a 150' long beach; boating docks that can support up to a 30' boat; all equipped with modern appliances, WiFi, and a new bathroom to make your stay convenient and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our stay. We especially appreciate the extra day. The weather was beautiful yesterday.

We really relaxed and felt quite at home here. The personal items (Alice's stichery ...) says much about its history. I hope everything is in order.

Thank you.

Jim and Elaine
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 1


Alton Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , Half Bathroom located on second floor.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Bathroom was completely rebuilt in 2015.
  • Full Bath on first floor, Half on second floor.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 queen , Largest room, well shaded in AM
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon in living room
    Upstairs Lakeside Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Overlooks the lake and gets lots of sun in the AM
    Upstairs Lakeside Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Overlooks the lake and gets lots of sun in the AM
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , large bedroom with a Twin bed and a Twin over Full bunk bed
  • - 3 Queen Size Beds located on second floor - 2 Twin and 1 Full Size Beds located in downstairs bedroom - 1 Futon (equivalent to a Full Size mattress) located in the living room
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
No linens provided, renters responsible for cleaning up after themselves.


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Lake House with 150' of Winnipesaukee waterfront, Sand Bar, Very Private
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Iowa City Iowa

Classic Lake House

  • 5 of 5

We have rented this house for the past 3 summers with our children and grandchildren. The house is the perfect, classic Lake House. The setting is as beautiful as you could find on the Lake. We practically live on the front screened-in porch overlooking the Lake and on the beautiful sandy beach (so nice and shallow for the little ones). The house has always been clean when we arrive. The four bedrooms and 11/2 baths have accommodated our family well. The rooms and floors are furnished in a typical cottage manner -- meant to be worry free when kids and dogs are in and out all day, sandy feet in tow. No stress-- total relaxation. The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary tools for cooking. There is a local "handy dad" who is available to help with any issues that arise. We've had no problem in getting our deposit back from the owner in a reasonable period of time and have enjoyed our e-mail contacts with him. In summary, if you are looking for a fancy hotel style Lake experience you may want to look elsewhere. This house is for those who appreciate a simple, bygone-era, Lake vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
bedford, nh

Problems with this rental

  • 2 of 5

The view is great, the rent is cheap, and the lake is wonderful. thats it for the positives.

The place is dirty and poorly maintained. Old furniture, cheap dirty carpet, peeling paint, and just plain grimy. the pots, silverware, and kitchen appliances are older then me. the refrigerator broke while we were there and we lost our food. the deck on the back is improperly built and dangerous. the boathouse is sinking and on rotten timbers.

Biggest problem is the owner. Has not returned our damage deposit despite emails saying "the check in in the mail". Has not responded to our inquiries. We are in the process of legal action. My advice is that you do not leave nor pay without a return of your deposit. I suspect the issue is that they are strapped for money as the power was turned off while we were there due to non-payment of their electric bill.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rental has a new owner, trying to reach out to this customer to resolve any issues. Though the home will be in much better shape in the 2014 season than it was in 2013, the Appliances were new in 2010 and work well. The furniture is in fact old, very old, most of it is antique, part of the charm of the place. Any damaged or worn out furniture will be replaced for the 2014 season.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
Norton, Ma

A relaxing, peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this home at the end of the summer last year and it was everything we hoped for. We were overdue for a vacation and this turned out to be a great getaway. It was private, peaceful and very relaxing. We spent alot of time on the beautiful screened in porch enjoying the view and the solitude. Even our english bulldog enjoyed himself! He loves the water but isn't a very good swimmer, so the beach was perfect for him.

We looked at many rental properties online before choosing this one. It had everything we needed and the location was great. It was a very private spot and at the same time just a short drive to stores and shops including Dunkin Donuts!

We are definitiely interested in renting this home again...we loved it!!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Monroe, New JErsey

Great spot! Great Landlord! Great Week!

  • 5 of 5

I am a 26 year old female, who spent a week at this great spot last August. There were 8 of us in total. The house has a very cozy feel, and it over looks the gorgeous lake. The house is fully equipped with everything you may need! The house, although older, is very clean, and feels like home! There is a big TV (which we barely even used), as well as an awesome screened in porch that we frequently made use of. Additionally, the landlord ensures that the place is turned over quickly and that everything is cleaned out before the next tenant occupies the house. There is an available contact to call at anytime should you have any questions, concerns etc. (Although we didnt have one single problem or question while we were there!). It really was a wonderful vacation, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone to rent this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Beautiful view

  • 3 of 5

As the review states, this house was built in 1918, so if your looking for a modern look, you wont find it here. I found both good and bad here. Yes, the stove and fridge are new, but as for pots and pans and utensils, bring your own. We had to go out and buy a pot and pan and a few utensils because the ones there were "not usable". The on demand water heater DOES NOT WORK and should be removed from the listing. Two short showers and the hot water is gone. The Filtered water was not filtered,, it was actually pretty disgusting. The deck off of the kitchen is held up by two 4x4's. I would not allow anyone on it or under it. The water pipes in the bathroom sweat constantly, so you have to leave a towel around the pipes. The gas grill,, well lets just say it needs to be thrown out. The life preservers for the canoe are unserviceable. OK, now the good. I can see why it says the property is located on a sought after area. Its view of the lake is beautiful. The water is clear and actually pretty warm. If you have smaller kids, they will love it. We sat on the porch every evening playing games and just relaxing. The beds were pretty comfortable for a rental unit. The TV, when we used it, was great. Surprisingly, hardly saw a bug. The owner was very responsive to our needs. So, in the state its in now, I cant really recommend it if your looking for new and modern. If the items I described were corrected and you didn't mind an older house, then I would say go for it. Remember that the cleaning is your responsibility. I also received my deposit back in about a week.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The problems mentioned by this renter have all been addressed long ago. A new heating system was having difficulty at the time of this rental. We responded immediately, and were luckily able to install an old electric water heater, which is still on site as a backup (though we haven't used it since). The system has since been replaced and works flawlessly. He accurately described how well we responded, and how they loved the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Manchester-Boston Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
2.5 Miles
Mount Washington
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Lake Winnipesaukee Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Interstate 93
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Gunstock Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
On Site
Car: necessary

Located minutes from historic Alton Bay, a hub of activity for Lake Winnipesaukee. Reachable by boat or car, you can play mini-golf, go to a roller-rink, get ice cream, and get on the Mount Washington. Plus find numerous dining and shopping options. Or travel 15 min to Weirs Beach or Laconia, also either by car or boat, for numerous options including old fashioned arcades, go-karts, and even a drive-in movie theater.


Rates & Availability

Alton Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Early Summer Special
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 24 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 25 2017 - Sep 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Renters are required to give a $1000 Security deposit at the time of booking in order to reserve dates. This is refundable in full when you have checked out and the property is clean and has no damage. In the case of a dirty home or anything broken the deposit will be held by the owner until repairs can be made and costs will be taken from the security deposit for cleaning and/or repairs before returning the remaining balance to the renter. The Pet fee is per pet for the duration of your stay regardless of how many weeks you book.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties