check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Deborah Donnelly McLay

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, portuguese

200 Steps to the Beach!! This Dennis Port Home Has it All!!

11 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dennis Port House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-8)

Come experience the charm and uniqueness of traditional Cape Cod at our Dennis Port home! Just 200 steps to Sea St. Beach in Dennis Port and less than a mile to other great Dennis Port beaches, we have it all! No need to even get in the car to go to the beach! Dennis Port offers great restaurants, shopping, mini-golf, the Cape Cod Rail Trail, and of course, the famous Sundae School Ice Cream Parlour is just around the corner! We are within 10 minutes to Hyannis-where the airport, ferries to the islands and major nightlife is located, but yet removed from the hustle and bustle of it all!

Our home has been completely repainted and looks like new inside! We have added new wood floors to all the bedrooms and removed all carpeting to give the cottage a whole remodeled look! The kitchen has a brand new full size refrigerator and stove. We also have a new couch (2016). All rooms have a ceiling fan. We also offer a fully fenced in yard..great for kids and privacy during your relaxing afternoons! We pride ourselves on offering a clean, excellent maintained home to offer. All beach necessities are provided for your use... bikes, chairs, even a wagon! When you return from your day at the beach, just use the outdoor shower and fire up the new grill (2016) with some fresh seafood and you'll have another unforgettable day on your vacation in Cape Cod!

http://www.capecod.com/community/5-remarkable-things-you-can-only-do-in-dennis/

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Deborah Donnelly McLay (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, portuguese

About Deborah Donnelly McLay

We love Cape Cod! Our family has been vacationing in Cape Cod for generations! It is a great family vacation spot with a lot of history and activities for everyone!

Deborah Donnelly McLay purchased this house in 2005

Why Deborah Donnelly McLay chose Dennis

Its' great location! Close to the beach and many activities such as:

Sunset Dinner Train on the Cape Cod Railroad 888-797-7245

Show at the Cape Cod Melody Tent 508-775-5630

Hyannis Harbor Cruise at Sunset 508-778-2600

A Ferry trip to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket 508-778-2600

A Whale Watch and Sunset Dinner 888-942-5392

A Scenic Drive along Old Kings Highway (Historic 6A)

Sunset on the Bass Hole Boardwalk

Pirates Cove Adventure Golf

Explore the Cape Cod Rail Trail

Duckmobile Tour of Hyannis & Harbor 508-362-1117

Whale Watching 508-888-5392

ZooQuarium 508-775-8883

Tour the Cape Cod Potato Chip Factory - Free Samples! 888-881-2447

See a Cape Cod Baseball League Game www.capecodbaseball.org

Homemade Ice Cream at Sundae School 508-394-9122

Children's Theater - Orleans 508-255-1963

Square Dancing on the Pier 508-349-0330

Cape Cod Kids Discovery Museum 508-539-8288

Heritage Plantation 508-888-3300

Jump On Us Trampolines 508-775-3304

Go-Carts, Bumper Boats, Batting Cages Amusement Center 508-398-6070

Harwich Junior Theater 508-432-2002

Welfleet Drive-In 800-696-3532

Kite Surfing - Air Support Kite Surfing 508-778-9313 www.kitesurf.cc

Parasailing - Smugglers beach 508-398-SAIL

Glider Ride 800-660-4563

Boat / Jetski Rentals 508-771-0417

Kayak Tours - Great Marsh Kayack Tours 508-775-6447

Kayaking / Canoeing - Bass River 508-364-2305

Tuna, Bass, Bluefish Sport Fishing 508-790-0696

Cape Cod Bike Trail 508-896-3491

Rent a Harley Davidson Motorcycle for the Day 508-790-1718

Take a Sea-fari 508-896-2480

Exploring and Sightseeing

Seal Cruise - Monomoy Island 508-349-2615

National Seashore Visitors Center 508-255-3421

Highland Light House Tours 508-487-1211

Cape Cod Canal History Cruise

Nauset Marsh Cruise 508-349-2615

Monomoy Island National History Tour 508-349-2615

Ocean Quest Discovery Voyage - Woods Hole

Take a Cape Cod Railroad Tour

Ferry Ride to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are repeat renters and love this great house and location to the beach! Our family loves the ice cream walks and relaxing times on the Cape! We always get have so much fun nearby with mini-golf, ice cream, lobster, and the Christmas Tree shops!! This is our best vacation!! We can't wait to come back and form more great memories! Thank you!!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.3
based on 11 traveler reviews

200 Steps to the Beach!! This Dennis Port Home Has it All!!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 13 reviews
5

PERFECT PLACE TO CREATE FAMILY MEMORIES

  • 5 of 5

WE HAVE BEEN RENTING THIS HOME EVERY SUMMER FOR THE PAST 11 YEARS. IT IS A GREAT LITTLE COTTAGE AND CLOSE TO THE BEACH. IT IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO CREATE FAMILY MEMORIES AND HAVE THE KIDS "UNPLUG FROM PAYING VIDEO GAMES" AND ENJOY ALL SUMMER VACATION HAS TO OFFER. WE LOVE BEING ABLE TO WALK TO THE BEACH AND FOR ICE CREAM! THE SIMPLICITY THE COTTAGE OFFERS IS ALL WE NEED. THE OUTDOOR SHOWER IS PERFECT FOR WHEN WE RETURN FROM A DAY AT THE BEACH! WE LOOK FORWARD TO MANY MORE YEARS CREATING MEMORIES HERE. THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR HOME WITH US!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Just ok

  • 2 of 5

I stayed in this house in August of 2015 and, while the location was lovely, the house itself left alot to be desired. It was incredibly musty, damp and smelled quite unpleasant upon arrival. The cape can be very humid, but a dehumidifier would be very helpful. The house was very very rustic, and the photos in the description are a bit deceptive. Also, the house did not have paper towels, toilet paper or garbage bags, which I've always had provided in a rental, and despite a bit of a confusing description, there is minimal cable and no wifi. Most disappointing, however, was the fact that the house was not clean - i found a very old peanut butter (open) jar behind the couch when plugging in a charger, the coffee pot was full of old grinds which had molded. I alerted the owner, and got a thank you - this has been addressed. Well yes, it was addressed by me when I spent the first day of holiday scrubbing the house top to bottom. Overall, good location, but you really get what you pay for here, which is a mediocre experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Just Plain Filthy!!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at about 5:45 PM. We were not impressed with finding the cottage so tatty and in great disrepair. Since we were starving, we put our cold food in the fridge and left the rest of the unpacking for later so we could go for supper.

When we returned to the cottage and began to unpack, all 4 of us were becoming less comfortable with the cleanliness and condition of the cottage.

The furniture was dirty and in poor condition, but we thought we could suffer make due for 4 days. But, once we got into the bedrooms, the dilapidation and the filth were more than we could tolerate, not to mention the intensely vile smell. The entire cottage smelled incredibly musty. We had opened windows before going to dinner. Upon returning the musty smell was less, but the stench was still bad and the master BR smelled strongly of old vomit. It was sickening.

We began to discuss whether or not we could stay in the cottage. We thought we’d carry on and make the beds, at which time we discovered the disgusting condition of the bedding (captured in photos). Again, more discussion as our skin crawled at the idea of climbing into those “beds”, and sleeping on the horrific, drool covered pillows, we decided to at least run out and buy new pillows.

My husband and I ran to Job Lots before it closed and bought 4 new pillows. When we returned our friends were literally scrubbing floors and surfaces, hoping to not only clean and sanitize, but trying to make it smell better. At this point we determined we just couldn’t spend the weekend in this disgusting place. We packed up, vacated the property and checked into a nearby hotel.

• Stench was unfathomable.

• Furniture filthy and ready for the dump.

• The house was unclean everywhere, trash in very closet, under beds and lying open on the kitchen floor.

• The bedding was disgusting including period stains on the comforter, and drool covered pillows – OMG!!!!!

• Equipment offered for use is complete garbage: 7 broken boogie boards, 2 broken umbrellas, several broken bikes and a broken baby carriage.

• The outside had trash and filth everywhere, including a bathing suit lying in a heap from a previous guest.

Scary electric wiring everywhere.

We insisted on a full refund, which we got, but I believe only because I used PayPal so there was a great deal of pressure on the owner, or PayPal would have intervened.

Photos: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/okjxiq6g8he8d0h/AAD_O-mr7a9D5UDwTLqYwAxaa?dl=0

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinion of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best stay and cleanliness is always our objective. Our home is a beach cottage, and we want you to know that we have promptly addressed the issues that you brought up. Every season we replace the bed covers and pillows, also our boogie boards and beach equipment is new at the start of the season. We apologize that your arrival late in the season left some of these areas not in brand new condition. The issues that you address such as electrical wires are actually extension cords, and the "stains" on the walls are the pine wood under the paint. Most of our guests are repeat guests snd enjoy our quaint, beachy cottage.As this is the first negative review that we have ever received, I believe that you may be interested in a different type of accommodation, such as a chain hotel and not a beach cottage. The conditions that you speak of are deceiving and did not occur at our property. We have an excellent cleaning service that promptly addresses any issues that guests find. If you decide to come back to Cape Cod, I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you directly. We hope to see you in the future and wish you the best. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hingham, Masachusetts
4

Close to everything!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this adorable cottage for one week in July. We could walk to Sea Street Beach just down the road or go to a public beach about a mile away. The cottage has a Red Flyer wagon so it made it easy to go back and forth to the beach. The outdoor shower was heavenly. Icecream, bike trail with rentals (or just borrow one from the shed at the cottage!) bakery, stores, restaurants, and kid stuff and larger beaches are all very close by. We brought our dog and he enjoyed his daily walks through the area and because the yard is fenced in, he spent most of his time outdoors. Dogs are not allowed on any of the beaches and Animal Control does frequently survey the beaches and parking lots.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Litchfield, CT
5

Perfect trip!

  • 5 of 5

Love coming to the Cape! It is so much fun here and we the house! Love the quick beach access and all the extra amenities! Can't wait until next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waterbury, CT
5

Great spot to vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to vaction with kids! The house had everything we needed including bikes, boogie boards,sand toys, stroller, and even a wagon! Walking to the beach everyday was so convenient! Anything we needed was close by! Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Beach, Cape Cod Rail Trail

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dennis Port House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Preferred payment method is PayPal-Please contact owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dennis Port House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
Cable, TV's, DVD Players, Outdoor Shower, New gas grill, Beach Chairs, Bikes, Wagon, Boogie Boards, Sand Toys, Outdoor Deck, Screened in Porch, Fully Fenced-in Yard, Driveway Parking 2 cars and much more! Great beach cottage to get away from it all!!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties