Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great view of the ponds and the fortified castle

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,022 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property


Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2017

Amenities

Arques-la-Bataille House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1022 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 twin/ single
    - 1 twin/ single
    - 2 twin/ single
    - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Gated Community
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • bowling center
  • disco club
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • thalassotherapy
  • walking
  • water sports
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The terraced house is empty and is not inhabited. Linen optional: 13 euros / bed

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
31% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Great view of the ponds and the fortified castle
average rating of 4.4375 based on 16 reviews
5

What a wonderful location, near the sea.

  • 5 of 5

We spent three weeks in September 2015 at this delightful house on the Green Route with a magnificent aspect and views across the lake and to the fort on the hill in the distance.

The house is well appointed with all facilities of comfort and convenience. There is a spacious garden and terrace on which we enjoyed many relaxed evening meals in the sun.

The Green Route offers the possibility of cycling, walking and boating and is close by in Arques.

There are good shops, a wonderful Boulangerie, small supermarket and a shop selling fresh fish, fruit and veg. There is a very large Le Clerc Supermarket about a 10 minute drive.

We would gladly recommend this holiday location to friends, family and anyone.

We are going again so I suggest you book early to avoid disappointment

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to read such a review, and I'm glad to see you again in june
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Misleading description, dirty property

  • 1 of 5

This is actually a 2-3 bedroom property with 1 of the 'bedrooms' actually a landing with a door added and the attic room does not have curtains, nor a door over the hatch. One of the bedrooms is accessed through the landing 'bedroom' or through the master bedroom. The property was very dirty with extensive mould in the bathroom (there is only 1 toilet/bathroom, not a 'separate toilet') and an unpleasant smell of urine to suggest the property has not been properly cleaned for many months. The highchair was dangerously unstable and sloping so had be held in it. The owner, quite shockingly, took a charge from our security deposit to pay for a final clean and provision of linen, which smelt dirty, without our consent (despite our trying to find a resolution offering partial payment which was more than reasonable as we felt had she been a fair businesswoman, she would have not only waived the additional charges but offered a partial refund on the rental). I would highly caution rental of this property.

Please note we use rental properties on average twice yearly and have never had cause to complain before.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In fact, the above description is a far cry from reality, as this is the only negative review since I started renting this accomodation (10 years). This family arrived at 10 pm, and did'nt have the cash available to pay the final payment and the deposit, although my house description and contract stipulate that this has to be paid on arrival. As I have a credit card machine, I propose to take payment this way. The first 2 cards were refused and payment was taken on the 3rd card provided ! At the time of rental, they asked for linen and knew that this was a supplement ! I'm surprised as to the comment of the linen smell as all my linen cleaning is done by a linen cleaning company which is top and provides contract to hotels. They rented the property for 1 week as never contacted me nor complained. On the day of departure, I arrived at 10.30 with my cleaning lady and they were not ready, still having breakfast, no suitcases made, no cleaning done : some pieces of furniture upside down, armchair cushions under the bed, TV channels lost, house dirty and her long hair everywhere ! My cleaning lady took 8 hrs to make the house ready for next customers ! Mrs Sollazzi-Davies wanted a price discount and refused to pay extra charges : linen (option), local tax, cleaning (option) and electricity and water charges (6 m3 instead an average of 2 m3/week !) . As a good business lady, I accepted to reduce some of the charges, and I am very surprised to hear belated comments. I In my opinion, she tries her luck in complaining to get a cheaper rental and she probably tries everywhere she goes. I am lucky that I usually do not have dishonest customers and most of them come back, as the next customers after them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pays-Bas
5

Een fantastisch huisje met voldoende faciliteiten

  • 5 of 5

Het uitzicht is zeer inspirerend, een kasteelruine van 1000 jaar oud, Dieppe aan de horizon, een zwanenmeer voor de deur. Vanuit deze plaats is het een half uur rijden naar het strand of,als je de andere kant uit gaat,naar een eeuwenoud bos(Foret d'Ewy. Dieppe ligt vlakbij, dus naar de stad gaan winkelen is ook een mogelijkheid. De eigenaresse is zeer gastvrij. Dit vakantieadres is een absolute aanrader.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2009
  • Stayed: August 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Top huis op een toplocatie

  • 4 of 5

Wat een fijne plek om zo een week te verblijven. Alles is aanwezig. Een heerlijke tuin. Zonnig en heerlijk dicht bij de kust.

Een tip is nog een handvat bij het bad om er makkelijker uit te stappen.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good and quiet location for a relaxed holiday

  • 5 of 5

We look back on a nice holiday in this well equipped property.

Being over 100 years old, this is a typical french house in a typical french garden and with its own charm. All in all it was very well equipped and moderately clean.

We look back on a nice holiday and would like to thank Clotilde for being our host.

Tips and tricks

- contact the owner prior to booking through Abritel to save costs.

- wood for the fireplace can be purchased at the Brico next to Auchan in Dieppe. (We tried in vain to get it elsewhere on the Saturday of arrival).

- caution can easily be arranged when you have a valid credit card.

- many nice things to see and do within 1 hour driving distance (leaflets available in the house).

- 3 spacious bedrooms and an attractive kids bedroom in the attic.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Très bien

  • 4 of 5

Appartement très bien situé, très propre, tout équipé, fonctionnel. un détail mais qui a son importance: sel, poivre, huile, charbon... sont mis à disposition

Rien à redire!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
l'Auberge de la Forêt
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $236.29
Stay tax $0.83 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 13 years.

Les lits sont faits
En supplément, consommations énergie
Forfait ménage possible 45 EUR
Réduction de 10 % en cas de location des 2 maisons

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties