Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Portofino Resort & Spa -Gulf View/Beautiful Unit a Must See!!

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,350 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Portofino Resort and Spa is an exclusive resort that is located on Pensacola Beach nestled between the white beaches of the Gulf of Mexico and the Santa Rosa Bay. The Five Towers were designed with the look and feel of the Italian Mediterranean.

Each tower was built with at least 300 feet apart allowing for panoramic island views. The resort and spa in this private retreat offers endless amenities that will give you lasting memories. Starting with the gated security entrance each tower has its own lobby, heated pool and whirlpool spa for your privacy.

The 40,000 square foot European Spa and Lifestyle Center features an exclusive Aveda Concept Spa from body treatments, massages all other luxurious salon experiences. The fitness center has state-of-the-art equipment with cybrex strength training stations including elliptical cycles, treadmills and 23 cardio-vascular machines each with flat-screen TVs, all overlooking the bay.

Enjoy a yoga or aerobic class, work with personal trainer. Afterwards soak in the atrium hot tub or take a swim in the indoor lap pool. Visit the juice bar that is now offering several new lines of all natural organic juices that are 100% juice.

For outdoor activities visit the tennis center or bike trail and rentals. Kids club and babysitting(seasonal). Portofino's beach service offers sailboat, kayak and surfboard rentals, plus parasailing. For off-sight adventures take the water taxi across the bay to Tiger Point golf course or shopping at the boardwalk.

The concierge will also make arrangements for sunset cruises, charter fishing or whatever you desire. For the person who just wants to relax, lay out by the three tiered deck system surrounding the uniquely designed life-style pools with the waterfall infinity edge, rock waterfall, and two oversized whirlpool spas.

Our non-smoking unit is located in Tower 1 on the 16th floor. It is professionally decorated and has a spectacular gulf view. The eight foot double door entrance leads into the designer kitchen with all built-in stainless steel appliances. The kitchen is fully equipped with all your cooking needs and has granite counter tops.

To the right of the kitchen is a half bath. The dining area has a large table with six chairs and three barstools for the breakfast area. The living area has an armoire complete with 32 inch flat screen TV/VCR DVD, a sofa, and two comfortable soft leather recliners.

All rooms have access to the 170 square foot tile balcony. The glass railings allow unobstructed views throughout the unit,with elegant tuscany columns and arched ceiling. Our balcony also has furniture and grill for your outdoor entertaining.

The master bedroom has a king size bed. Two night stands, armoire with TV, DVD, VCR. The entrance to the bathroom has his-n-her closets. The master bath has a separate walk-in shower with glass door and ceramic tile, Roman designer tub with whirlpool. His-n-her vanities with ceramic tile top and a private toilet area.

The quest bedroom has queen bed, two nightstands, armoire with TV, DVD, VCR. The unit has high speed wireless internet and ceramic tile throughout. Washer and Dryer in utility area in unit.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Chris Zimmer
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

About Chris Zimmer

Our unit is located in Tower 1 on the sixteenth floor. This is our second home. We rent our unit only a dozen times a year. We do not smoke or have pets. We take a lot of pride in our beautiful home. The main thing we want to share by renting is the beautiful decor and the fabulous views from our unit. We used to go to Portofino Resort as a guest ever since the first tower was built. Never thinking we would ever own at this exclusive resort. We have owned this unit since 2004 and we try to go as often as possible. We are from Slidell LA. Since Katrina we hardly get to go so we decided to share our home with others. We have had great guest & wonderful feedback.

Chris Zimmer purchased this condo in 2004

Why Chris Zimmer chose Pensacola Beach

Pensacola Beach is only 184 miles from our home. We live on the water but not beautiful blue water like this. We don't go often but when we do we feel a million miles away. Its truly a vacation & the view is spectacular from our unit.

What makes this condo unique

My husband loves to drink his coffee from the balcony early in the morning & watch for dolphins. He especially loves to watch the boaters to see if they are catching fish. I like to pull the curtains & enjoy my coffee & the view from the bed. As far as you can see is water. I absolutely love a full moon on the gulf as well!!


Plaza Primera Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 16
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) King bed in master bedroom., Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in guest bedroom. NO SOFA SLEEPER.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
High speed wireless internet, Electric Grill, No Pets


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Portofino Resort & Spa -Gulf View/Beautiful Unit a Must See!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews

perfect for a quick getaway

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable. Great view. Everything you need for an easy beach vacation is on site. Chris was very helpful and attentive.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ooltewah, TN USA

A very beautiful place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

Where do I start? This unit was everything as advertised and more!!! Chris was so wonderful to work with. Followed up with you through the whole process, could not ask for a better transaction. The unit was AWSOME!!!!! There is everything possible for home away from home. The views alone were enough for me. The beaches are SO beautiful & water was very clear during our recent stay. We truly had a relaxing vacation in this unit. The beds are very comfortable and spacious. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone that wants a great relaxing getaway for vacation. Chris thank you so very much for allowing us to enjoy your BEAUTIFUL unit!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review and you were very easy to work with as well. Hope you return!! Chris Zimmer
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Couldn't Ask For Anything More

  • 5 of 5

I'm not sure what more you could ask for in a rental or from an owner. Chris was very responsive and even checked in to make sure we received our key in the mail.

The Portofino is a first class resort with all the amenities of a five star property. The unit was impeccably furnished including incredible sheets and pillow cases. The unit was very well stocked and included a washer and dryer which we used.

The staff is friendly and we used the health club everyday. It was very tough to leave and we even talked to a real estate agent about buying a unit!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I am excited that you enjoyed your stay and my unit. I try hard to maintain the beauty & cleanliness of the unit during a totally booked summer. We never go in the summer but looking forward to our next trip. So glad you talked to a real estate agent about a purchase, now is the time. If you don't, I hope I can accommodate your family in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Unit with a gorgeous view

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing week we had in Pensacola! First off, the unit was EXACTLY as described! It was beautiful to say the least. The view was amazing! The unit was immaculate and well stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, and linens. In each bedroom, there were plenty of extra blankets, pillows, etc. But let me tell you about the kitchen! The kitchen was stocked with ANY kitchen appliance or utensil you could possibly EVER need! If you want to make something in Corningware-type dishes, got it. Tupperware, got it. Plates (Bone China), coffee cups, wine glasses, dinner glasses, again, GOT IT! Large, round pizza pan, large boiling pots, and MORE! There is a regular coffee maker, a mini Keurig, a blender, a toaster, wine opener, pizza cutter, and again...EVEN MORE! It was amazing! The outdoor grill is electric and worked very well. We grilled fajitas, steaks, ribs, hamburgers and it all turned out wonderful! All you need to bring is the food!!

There was hand soap in each restroom, dish soap in the kitchen, a small package of washing machine "pods" and fabric "things" like 'Bounce' for the dryer. We weren't sure if the previous person renting the unit had taken those things with them or not, so we bought small bottles of dish soap and laundry items with us.

There is a safe in the master closet along with an iron and ironing board. I REALLY can't think of a single thing we needed besides food. We will definitely be returning! It was such a pleasure dealing with Chris! Her main concern is your enjoyment! Have a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stephanie for your wonderful review, your so sweet! It was a pleasure dealing with you too! I try to stock the condo as I would if I were home. When we go which is very rare, like you, I just want to come with my food, like you said. Hope to do business with you in the future!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN

Best condo we have ever rented

  • 5 of 5

We have vacationed at Portofino for the past 4 years and this was the first time we rented a unit from VRBO. As soon as we walked in the door everyone in my family said "Wow". The unit decor is top notch. The kitchen is fully stocked and the views are breathtaking. We will rent this unit again. Chris was wonderful to work with answering my phone calls and emails. Our only complaint was the weather was not on our side but we still enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for that review. You were very easy to work with and I am so glad you enjoyed our unit. I have a few families that come back each year, that makes me feel so good. Sorry about the weather. Hopefully the weather will be better next time!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Bend, OH 45052

The Schmidt Family

  • 5 of 5

The condo was immaculate and the view was beautiful. We were fortunate that Tropical Storm Debbie decided to travel down the east coast, leaving us with gorgeous weather for the week. Portofino is a lovely resort and we will certainly return to this condo. Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise with us!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1



Rates & Availability

Plaza Primera Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Memorial Day
May 21 2017 - May 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
Fourth of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
Jul 10 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
Sep 10 2017 - Nov 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
Dec 1 2017 - Jan 31 2018
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $115
Refundable damage deposit $350

Prices are slighty higher for Holiday's.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email

You might like these similar properties