Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Villa with garden on Mount Canigó close to ski-ing and beaches,South France.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths2
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa sleeps 7, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Garden Flat sleeps additional 4.

Relax in our comfortable Villa in a quiet location surrounded by mountains, in the heart of the Catalan Pyrenees National Park in the South of France near Perpignan and the border with Spain. The villa stands in a secluded garden with fruit trees,a large sun terrace with BBQ and garden furniture. In the summer an above ground pool is on one of the lawns.(July and August)

The interior is comfortable and fully equipped with electric heating and a wood burning stove. One double bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms sleep a maximum of 7 (additional pull out child's bed). There is one full bathroom with bath shower and bidet, and 2 separate toilets.

SPECIAL NOTE: Click the ENQUIRE button to contact the owner. The MAKE A BOOKING button will take you straight to this website's payment system.

The small town of Vernet is just a short walk away with its shops, markets and wonderful parks. The house is just 40 minutes from winter skiing and from Mediterranean beaches

Getting to Vernet: Perpignan airport is just 40 minutes away served by low-cost airlines, Ryanair and Flybe. Other airports accessible are Girona (75 mins) Carcassone, Toulouse and Barcelona are a 2-3 hour drive away.

There is a main train station in Perpignan served by the TGV and car hire is available here. The TGV also runs to Barcelona.

Vernet is about a 12 hour drive from the channel ports. We usually stop off half way at one of the many comfortable motel chains, our favourite is Campanile.

More Details

Owner
Rachel Bridgeman
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2017

About Rachel Bridgeman

We live in Buckinghamshire, have 2 children (23 and 16) and a beagle. We love walking and good food and mountains.

Rachel Bridgeman purchased this house in 2005

Why Rachel Bridgeman chose Vernet-les-Bains

We have always loved France and this area in particular because it has mountains and sea close together. Our plan is to retire here.

What makes this house unique

Sunny days all year round. Clean mountain air and utter stillness.

Amenities

Vernet-les-Bains House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower , bidet , Ground floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Ground floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bidet , First floor
  • The first floor cloakroom has a toilet, bidet and washbasin and can be accessed by both first floor bedrooms. The showers, although 'over the bath' are really good powerful showers. The garden flat has an additional bathroom and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Ground Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 child bed , First floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , First floor
  • The villa sleeps 7 in 3 bedrooms. Additional space is available in the self contained flat below, ideal for 2 families sharing. The flat comprises 2 bedrooms, living/dining room, kitchen, bathroom and toilet. The flat is not let separately. The main bedroom in the house is on the ground floor with easy access to bathroom and living areas, it has a wonderful view of the Canigou Mountain The first floor bedrooms both have walk in under eaves wardrobes and beamed ceilings.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
The main accommodation is all on one level so the house is suitable for people with some mobility problems. Contact the owner for details. The kitchen and dining area are fully equipped.An iron and ironing board and a hairdryer are provided. There is UK satelite TV, a few games and some DVDs. The garden flat below the house will sleep an extra 4 people, ideal for a larger group or two families sharing. We do not let the flat separately. The garden is large and mainly lawn with a sun terrace. The outdoor pool is a 3m round above ground pool ,only in summer. Children are welcome, the garden is fully enclosed but there are steps into the garden. The house provides a great space to relax and enjoy the quiet. The town is a 10 minute walk away for morning croissants, the parks, and Swimming Pool complex are also within easy reach. There are great walks into the mountains from the front door and many other activities within a short car ride.

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Villa with garden on Mount Canigó close to ski-ing and beaches,South France.
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
2

Good location but not a swimming pool

  • 2 of 5

I'll start with the good points. The house is nice and spacious and is in a great location for exploring the Pyrenees. If you are looking for a house and are not bothered about a swimming pool then maybe this is the place for you.

However, we booked this property with the impression that there was a swimming pool. We were well aware it wasn't going to be a big pool and knew that it was only 3 metres in diameter but we expected to have the pool that is on the photos. When we got there we found what could only be described as a paddling pool and a completely different pool than in the picture. It is an inflatable paddling pool where the water only reached below our knees. How can it be described as a swimming pool when not even my 2 year old could swim in it. So instead we had to make use of the public swimming pool and pay into that. To conclude it is a nice house but we would have never booked it if the actual pool was in the pictures which is why I feel I need to give it two stars. We booked it to teach our son to swim which is why we were so disappointed.

We did complain to the owner via text when we arrived but she just advised us to use the public pool. When we left she waived the electricity fee as we weren't happy which was good and returned the deposit and then a week later text us to say we didn't leave it clean which we definitely did which I thought was strange as why tell us this a week later and after returning the deposit.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were disappointed by the pool and for that reason waived the electricity charges. The dimensions of the pool are given in the description, but I shall make it clearer that it is not for adults to swim in. Deductions from the security deposit are only made for electricity usage and any breakages or damage, not usually for extra cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

nice house in a nice location

  • 5 of 5

Spacious house which was just as well with 4 adults , 3 children and 1 baby.

superb views from the terrace. Quite a nice town which is easily accessible once you work out the short route past the church. loved the shutters as i prefer a completely dark room for sleeping and also stopped the temp rising too high during the day.garden was ok for the boys to kick a ball about . very little traffic ever goes by .a nice enjoyable stay in an area i have visited several times before.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vernet is a lovely town just a short walk from the house, all down hill too! The mountain views are stunning. So glad you enjoyed it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location in Vernet les Bains

  • 4 of 5

This house is in a quiet location, but not too far from the centre of Vernet Les Bains - restaurant Le Cortal is very close and serves excellent food. The town centre has several good bakeries, bars, a small grocery store and a regular market. There is also a good supermarket on the edge of town.

The house is in a traditional French style ( I love the shutters!) and a contemporary interior, and has both shady areas and sunny spots in the surrounding gardens. There is a terrace which has sun all day and is a lovely spot to watch the sunset with the swifts swooping overhead, glass of wine in hand...

The house has all the amenities you need; as we were hiking each day (and got a bit wet and muddy) I made good use of the washing machine. The kitchen is well equipped and there are plenty of glasses, decent saucepans, etc,

On the downside some of the garden furniture was a little tired but adequate. As someone who enjoys cooking I would also have loved to see some herbs growing in the garden.

As a couple, we found the house ideal and I think it would also suit a family or two couples. The booking process, direct with the owner, was very easy and straightforward, and good value.

This was our second visit to Vernet les Bains; there's plenty to do in the area. The hiking trails are excellent and mostly well marked, with a variety of challenging and easy walks. There is a wealth of history and places to visit in the area; from the town's Spa heritage, to nearby abbeys, le petit train jaune and Les Canalettes caves.

Overall a lovely spot!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. The house is spacious and airy and surrounded by the garden gives a real sense of space and peace. The garden has 2 apple trees, a cherry tree and a chestnut tree which along with the fir tree and silver birches provide welcome shade in the summer. The grassed area and the sun terrace provide plenty of space for sitting in the sun. The Cortal restaurant can be seen from the terrace and is 5 minutes walk away. It really is one of the best restaurants we have been to in France and well worth a visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

spacious, well-located, good views

  • 4 of 5

A spacious property for our family of 5. Lovely views all around to mountains and hills. We kept time with the view of the church clock in the old town. On quiet residential street where we enjoyed nosing at people's veg plots. In the best part of Vernet because only 5 mins to buy bread in one direction but right on the doorstep of excellent walks into the mountains. Did one nearly every day and never got tired of the view. Favourite was the 45 min walk (with kids) to Filols over the hill for une pression and ice cream and a walk back. Kitchen stocked adequately; English DVDs and books. Not the comfiest double bed in the world and the TV room needed a better clean. But these are small gripes compared to the positives.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed the house. Apologies for the living room, I will have a word with our cleaner. The house is in a beautiful spot and very tranquil. Thanks for your kind comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
London, uk
5

Great house in fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great two weeks at this house. It was very comfortable and we enjoyed meals on the terrace with wonderful mountain views. The children loved the garden and pool and we spent lots of sunny afternoons at the outdoor village pool too. This is a great location to explore the hilltop villages, forts, mountains and gorges. The coast is accessible, as is northern Spain. Vernet is a charming village with a great restaurant and some good cafes, together with a market in the village square.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2010
  • Stayed: August 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Perpignan
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Bars in main square
Nearest Train
6 Kilometres
Villefranche de Conflent
Nearest Motorway
45 Kilometres
Perpignan A9 Jn 42
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Le Cortal
Nearest Ski
45 Kilometres
Font Romeu
Nearest Beach
50 Kilometres
Canet
Car: recommended

Vernet is on the slopes of Mt Canigou, one of France's top 'Grande Sites'. Vernet has old narrow streets winding up to the church, a market place and a few shops and restaurants. There is a swimming pool complex, parks and playgrounds. It is quiet and relaxing town.

The area around Vernet offers stunning mountain scenery and many things to do for all ages and interests; there are over 250 km of footpaths for walkers of all abilities, the Yellow train, a spectacular journey through the Pyrenees across viaducts and mountain gorges, the Têt valley with its peach and cherry orchards, historic towns and vineyards takes you to the Mediterranean, its long sandy beaches and the picturesque harbour town of Collioures, Skiing is just 40 minutes away.

A great base for exploring French and Spanish Catalonia, Girona is about 75 minutes away, with access to the beautiful Costa Brava. Closer to the border is Figueres, with its Salvador Dali museum and on the French side, the town of Ceret.

Other Activities: Thermal spa, Casino, Canyoning, High ropes

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $200.19

Rates are for the house sleeping 6 +1 only. Please contact for rates to include flat sleeping an additional 4.
Electricity is charged based on a meter reading taken at the beginning and ending of the stay. Electricity is charged at the standard EDF rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties