check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Doug Goodyear

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Wife speaks some Italian

Celista Waterfront Gardens, Large Private Property with Beach and Buoys

8 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Shuswap Lake House Rental Photos and Description

Large private treed waterfront property ideal for family watersport vacations

This is a new 2700 sq ft two-story home including a 900 sq ft walkout basement on a large private treed property. On the main level you will find a 3-pc bath and a master bedroom (King). The kitchen, with a dishwasher and all the amenities, dining and living areas are open, spacious and very bright with a large Rumford wood-burning fireplace. From the living area, there is a large deck overlooking the lake with a new barbecue and a comfy screened-in side porch where you can enjoy the evenings, if the weather or bugs are bad. Wifi and cable TV available.

Upstairs, there is a 3-pc bath and two bedrooms (Queen/Double, Queen). The large loft area contains a flat-screen TV/Entertainment Centre (plus Wii Game Console) with leather sectional and lazyboy recliner. In the finished lower level, you'll find 2 more bedrooms (Double/Single bunks, Queen) and another 3-pc bath. A ping-pong table is set up in the open area, with a view of the gardens and lake. From here, you will step outdoors into the gardens on the way to your private beach. Have an evening wiener roast or just relax by the fire pit at the water's edge on pebbles and sand. Firewood is provided in a new wood shed for your convenience. There are two mooring buoys for two boats and a peddle boat is provided. A custom timber-frame picnic shelter complete with custom-built picnic table has its own propane barbeque and cook stove and provides another sheltered area amongst the trees for private dining and entertaining. Next to the picnic shelter, there is a full-service RV pad available for booking upon request.

During those hot summer days, you'll enjoy the air-conditioning along with other features like ping pong. A very short walk will take you to the corner store, a hiking trail across the street and the Elementary School playground.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
Doug Goodyear (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Wife speaks some Italian

About Doug Goodyear

Owners reside in Calgary, Alberta

Doug Goodyear purchased this house in 2000

Why Doug Goodyear chose Shuswap Lake

A wonderful get away to one of the most beautiful and accessible large lakes in British Columbia. The property is heavily treed and is very private making it a great retreat from the rest of the world. The pebble beach and the water clarity make it a great place for all the water sports like swimming, snorkeling, boating, fishing, wake boarding, water skiing, sailing, etc.

Reviews

4.5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Celista Waterfront Gardens, Large Private Property with Beach and Buoys
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
5

Already can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

Our week at Doug and Claudia's beach house in Celista was amazing! Everything that we could have possibly needed was already there, which made our stay so comfortable, cozy and easy. It felt like we were at home. I was so pleased with my interactions with Doug as well. They are incredibly friendly owners that just want everyone to have a good time. The kitchen is very spacious, well laid out and beautiful; it made making meals for 7 adults and 4 kids, easy and enjoyable. The kitchen is fully loaded with coffee makers, appliances and all the utensils you would ever need. Everything was is excellent working order. The beds were incredibly comfortable; my husband and I slept amazing there! Nice to have the 1 room with bunk beds for all the kids. All the rooms are spacious and well laid out. It was fun for us to explore the numerous games and books that are there for the guests to enjoy. This beach house is AMAZING and is guaranteed to be a good time! We can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Red Deer
5

Family holiday!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 plus both sets of grandparents stayed for a week at this beautiful lakefront property and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house had lots of room;having three different families there everyone had their own floor with bedrooms and bathroom for privacy and downtime if needed and had everything we needed. Our three boys enjoyed the paddle boat and ping pong table a lot! We had mid 20's temperatures the whole time there which was great for us,we enjoyed the water everyday and the beach firepit was great! The property was very private and secluded. Both Doug and Claudia were both helpful with any questions we had and even called to see how the weather was and if we were enjoying ourselves. Having the store next door was nice when we happened to run out of something. The Celista market was awesome and so was the winery. Thanks again and hope to be back again next year!!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed our place so much. We would be happy to see you again next year. Doug and Claudia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A vacation our family will remember

  • 5 of 5

The location is great if you are wanting to get away from the busy city. 10 of us stayed here and could have expected anymore. The weather was not the hot July as we hoped but this didn't stop us from taking in a variety of activities. Running, swimming, kayaking, fishing, wine tour, dance classes, campfire, hiking, cards, puzzles, market ....

The house is VERY WELL equipped. We slept like babies. Had no worries of doing without. The grounds are so well looked after, a family picture done in the back yard had turned out to be priceless. The owners are very accommodation, and set us up to have a great one week holiday. The home is beautiful,. Felt at home. Lots of room. Clean. Wouldn't think twice to stay here again.

Thanks for making my mom's dream of having our whole family together on a holiday, come true.

Corrine Gable

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your consideration. We are happy everything worked out so well for you and your family. Doug and Claudia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this cottage. The kitchen was beautiful and well stocked, the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and accommodated our kids and grandkids perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed the easily accessed beach and dock. We had planned to do a lot of day trips but ended up staying at the cottage most days because it was so beautiful and there was lots do to right 'at home'. Doug was very helpful in making us feel welcome and was always available if we had questions. We look forward to returning hopefully next year. An excellent vacation. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Doug and Claudia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Saunders

  • 1 of 5

Booked a one month rental July 2015 we had a great time , but sadly on the last week the air con broke . And the ONLY reason we booked this rental was because it had air con. We checked out 5 days early and not only did they not refund , they wanted us to pay for an air con that wasn't big enough to cool the entire house. We did NOT receive damage deposit back in full , In addition we left the place 10 x cleaner than we got it. We spent the first day cleaning and chucking out food items dated 2012. It's a great location , but it's not well cleaned and be careful of your damage deposit being refunded.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the four years that we have been renting out our home in Celista, ie. to some 40 groups, we have been blessed by having guests that have been very caring and respectful of our property. We have never had to retain any damage deposit money from anyone before. This is easily seen by reading the praises of former guests shown here. But due to the number of problems this party created for us and their lack of willingness to accept responsibility for their actions, we had to retain a large portion of their deposit to make good on a number of damages and abuses not limited to the damaged air conditioning. Everything is now back in working order. For those of you considering a stay with us, we welcome all future guests and know that you will be greatly pleased with our choice location and very well thought out and comfortable accommodations. Thank you in advance from the owners, Doug and Claudia Goodyear
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Wow! Where do I begin?

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time ever using the Home Away service.

Doug and Claudia were an absolute pleasure to work with. It was not like a 'rental'. I'm not sure how they've done it but it honestly felt like we were using our friends cottage. Very warm and personal. Perhaps it was knowing that Doug was an email or phone call away and was always prompt in replying if we had questions.

The cottage is stunning and the bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. It was so quiet and peaceful and having a private beach and dock was great for privacy. We all made great use of the paddle boat and kayaks that were there for our use. Not one person was every bored!

The little town of Scotch Creek has everything you could want for liquor/groceries. In our group we had an Executive Chef and a Sous Chef and let me tell you that kitchen was a delight! The meals that came out of there were absolutely the finest of dining and there was not one item or tool lacking. Both the Chefs had the highest of praises on the equipment, the lay out and the wonderfully stocked spice cabinet.

We will definitely be returning to this paradise next year! Thank you Doug and Claudia!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the support. Doug and Claudia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
140 Kilometres
Kelowna
Nearest Barpub
7 Kilometres
Copper Island Inn
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Talking Rock Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
22 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Creekside Inn
Nearest Beach
Located on Celista beach
Car: necessary

Famous for the Adams River Sockeye Run in fall of each year

Photos

Rates & Availability

Celista House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Season
Jul 3 2016 - Sep 2 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,256
 
 
Post Season 2016
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 29 2016
4 night minimum stay
$416
$2,498
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,256
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $757
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shuswap Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement access to beach
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Canopy Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties