Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Makena Makai - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $795/night

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 14 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
6 - 14 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Gorgeous home on quiet Old Makena Road with ocean views from every room.

Slip on your beach shoes, walk down your 40 foot dogleg to the left of your front lawn, step over small rocks, and swim with the turtles at our private beach.

Beautiful sunsets every night from a half acre lot on the ocean.

Breeching of humpback whales can be seen just off-shore in winter months.

Three-bedroom 2250 square-foot home has been decorated with Hawaiian style art, teak furniture from Bali, carpet, travertine flooring, and new appliances. Each bedroom has its own full bath.

Luxurious master bedroom with ocean views from your king-sized bed. Second bedroom has a queen-sized bed. The third bedroom has two twins that convert into a king.

Missionary founded church is three doors down. Ideal for destination weddings.

Keywords: Single-Family Home

More Details

Owner
Sue Johnson
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2017

Why Sue Johnson chose Maui

My parents built this home in 1969, when the only access was a dirt road. They lived there year round, but had no mail or paper delivery for many years. Its a lovely, quiet location in a pristine area, which my husband and I have updated and kept decorated in the Hawaiian style.

What makes this house unique

Snorkeling, turtle and whale viewing (in winter months) is awesome from our location. We can also swim off the left front side of our property. Our oceanfront location with sunset views overlooking 3 islands and 2 peninsulas is truly unparalleled.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Makena Makai - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $795/night
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
Olympia, WA.
5

Exquisite Setting

  • 5 of 5

We have been traveling to one Hawaiian island or another for the past 22 years. Makena Makai has the most beautiful setting of any place we have ever stayed. The house is spacious and avoids the "cramped" feeling one often experiences in a condo. The location is quiet and we very seldom saw our neighbors. The whales were out in force during our stay, providing ongoing entertainment. We particularly enjoyed the several morning and evening meals we ate on the table and chairs next to the water. Thanks Sue and Clark!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have had the privilege of inheriting this wonderful place, and I always am gratified when the folks who stay there understand how special our home and location is. Mahalo, Bruce!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

When we were thinking of a warm weather destination to celebrate our 50th anniversary we thought of Hawaii. Needing a home to accommodate our family of 6 we were able to find our perfect spot through VRBO.

WHAT A FIND!

Owner Sue responded quickly and easily to all of our questions. The pictures of the ocean view....exactly what you will see every moment....from master bedroom to kitchen! Open the doors to the outside and you will hear the soothing surf sounds and hear the birds. The landscaping is lovely...hibiscus trees abound. SUNSETS ARE CAPTIVATION!

Although we had several trips away from the home we always looked forward to returning to this lovely spot. We walked to the church's Christmas Eve service down the road from us.....seating for 800 outside.....cars parked all along our road....and we walked there in 5 minutes! Also a 10 minute walk to the 'Turtle Bay' where you most always count on seeing the sea turtles. Snorkeling off the property's shoreline will allow you to see many fish, and turtles, too! (bring proper shoes to wear to the shoreline). Our sons enjoyed the kayaks....even their father was able to navigate to enjoy the last sunset 'on the water' as those of us on the lanai were enjoying the beauty. We saw two turtles sleeping on the rocky beach our first two days! The whales entertained us endlessly!

The 'living' area is spacious and well-appointed for casual living. The TV was perfect for the football games that were interesting to us.

You will find this home a very comfortable and livable paradise. We were there 14 days....We were sad to pack up and head for the airport to arrive home in Chicago with temperatures of 12 degrees!

Thank you, Sue and Clark, for opening your home and sharing your beautiful and private location.

p.s. the puzzle is missing 5 pieces.....but we worked it anyway!!!!!

Date of arrival

December 20, 2016

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Linda, for the thoughtful review. My husband and I truly feel we have a wonderful inheritance to share, and we are delighted when our guests appreciate the special charm and character of our home. Mahalo nui.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

real hawaii

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I and our three daughters spent two weeks at this wonderful home in August. It is situated on an out of the way section of the old Makena Road and has privacy and the feeling of old time Makena. It's really a home that has warmth and personal touches but fully appointed with a great grill and very comfortable beds and a nice big washer dryer. The ocean is right there for turtle watching and there is a large beautiful beach just a few minutes walking distance down the road. There's plenty of space and comfortable sitting spaces to watch the ocean sunset. It is a distinctly Hawaiian home - nothing generic about it. We were all very happy, kids and adults.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a paradise

  • 5 of 5

When I walked into the house, the ocean view from the big windows took my breath. The posted pictures are beautiful but the real view from the property was even better! The mountains on the horizon change thier colors hour by hour. Finding huge sea turtles swimming to the private rocky beach, or seeing colorful tropical fish by snorkeling, we were thrilled like children. You don't need to drive or even walk blocks. Everything is in a few steps away from the house, which is surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and serenity, but close enough to a town, Kihei.

The kitchen was spacious and well equipped. The beds were all comfortable, as well.

The experience at this beautiful specious house was so healing, comforting, and peaceful-- that I felt like I were in a paradise and never wanted to leave.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this review. I think it expressed a factual and telling report of the comfort and aura of our home and location.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

spacious place with amazing scener... and turtles!

  • 5 of 5

You step out the backyard and there's the ocean. Sea turtles come to feed by the rocks, we probably saw at least four or five of them every day. You can see the sun set whenever the weather permits and that's quite the view as well. The neighborhood is real serene, house is spacious and comfortable, and of course the view is killer.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous, peaceful oceanfront location in south Maui

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to the Hawaiian Islands; although I am certain that it will not be our last. I was looking for a relaxing waterfront home to rent while our daughter was married on Maui. Reviews indicated like this home would fit the bill and it absolutely did. The home is well sized and well stocked for 6 adults. The location is drop-dead gorgeous! There are two sand beaches just a short walk in either direction; or, with foot protection, you can walk across the lava rocks and go snorkeling in the backyard ocean. When we had a question or problem, the caretakers, Jim and Katrina, took care of our needs promptly. Staying here was a wonderful experience. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kahalui, Maui
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Makena Beach and Golf Resort
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wailea Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Piilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Kiowa Restaurant
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Maluaka
Nearest Point of Interest
Makena Makai
Car: necessary

We own a 40 foot dog leg parcel of land, to the left of our home,that is directly on the ocean. You can enter the ocean from this area wearing beach shoes in the morning when the ocean is calm.Maximum Occupancy Six Persons.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Jan 5 2017 - Apr 14 2017
6 night minimum stay
$875
 
 
Standard
Apr 15 2017 - Jun 14 2017
6 night minimum stay
$795
 
 
Summer 17
Jun 15 2017 - Aug 14 2017
6 night minimum stay
$825
 
 
Standard 17
Aug 15 2017 - Dec 14 2017
6 night minimum stay
$795
 
 
Holiday 17
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 4 2018
14 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
 
High Season '18
Jan 5 2018 - Apr 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$975
 
 
Spring '18
Apr 15 2018 - Jun 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$825
 
 
Summer '18
Jun 15 2018 - Aug 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$875
 
 
Fall '18
Aug 15 2018 - Dec 14 2018
6 night minimum stay
$825
 
 
Holidays '18
Dec 15 2018 - Jan 4 2019
14 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$825
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin beds can be made into a king-sized bed upon request., Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play available.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
State # W20611820-01; STKM-2012/0003 House Rules: Quiet hours are from 9:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m., during which time the noise from the short-term rental home shall not unreasonably disturb adjacent neighbors. Sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries during non-quiet hours shall not be more excessive than would be otherwise associated with a residential area. Amplified sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries of the short-term rental home is prohibited. Vehicles shall be parked in the designated onsite parking area and shall not be parked on the street. No parties or group gatherings other than registered guests shall occur. The shoreline area is the property of the people of Hawaii, and is open for the free use by everyone.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties