check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Elizabeth Fox

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Quiet, Relaxing, Family-Friendly Lakeside Cabin

4 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mount Desert Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Our two-story, four-bedroom (two-and-a-half bath) log cabin has beautiful views of Round Pond, a large front deck for lounging and dining, a side deck for grilling, and a dock for swimming and launching the canoe.

It's quiet and peaceful, with no TV connection (although we do have Wi-Fi) and lots of space to explore.

Upstairs: The master bedroom has a king-size bed, and the lofted bedroom (above the living room) has two twin beds. There is also one full and one half bath.

Downstairs: Living room, kitchen, and dining area are all in one open space, with the dining area set off to one side with optimal views of the sunset. There are two bedrooms downstairs: one with a queen bed, and one with two twin beds. There is also a full bath. The cabin is furnished as a home; please treat it as such. If you appreciate hand-crafted furniture, welcome! (If you seek a rough-and-tumble experience, you'll be happy elsewhere.)

We have a TV with DVD-playing capabilities but haven't quite found a great place to put it, so for the moment it's sitting kind of awkwardly on a table in the living room -- feel free to rearrange, if you'd like.

Canoe and swim toys are in the basement!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Elizabeth Fox (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Why Elizabeth Fox chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

Seclusion, being surrounded by nature, the only home on the pond with electricity (camp without electricity is set far up, out of view, seldom used). Tasteful furnishings.

What makes this cabin unique

Peace, quiet, beauty, access to National Park without being hurried, private waterfront property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This lovely log home is ideally situated far back from the road on a PRISTINE, seemingly 100% private pond and undeveloped (but for the house) property. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the echoing call of loons. Each day, we had a hard time leaving to enjoy the rest of what MDI has to offer because this place offered such comfort and serenity.

The home itself is roomy enough and can accommodate a family - maybe two depending upon ages and number of kids. The small dock is just the right level and size for launching/landing kayaks and canoes. Although we brought our own kayaks, the house does have kayaks and a canoe as well as other water toys in the basement (accessed from doors outside). Fishing rods too!

The pond is flat-out gorgeous and appears to be a natural part of the island's landscape/ecosystem -- marshy areas, beaver huts and all! Deer watched from the shadows of the serene woods as I paddled along an unspoiled shoreline opposite the house :)

Our experience renting was simple and flawless with great communication from the owner (no manager or agent involved here). Being in town during our arrival, the owner welcomed us personally when we had an initial need and was hospitable to a fault! And, when we encountered a minor plumbing issue, it was addressed and fixed immediately without any inconvenience to us.

As for the location, you can't get any better insofar as having what feels like a place in the deep Maine wilderness yet being just a few short miles from the most desirable spots on MDI.

Lovely place, lovely experience; We have our sights on coming back next year!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

3.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Quiet, Relaxing, Family-Friendly Lakeside Cabin
average rating of 3.75 based on 5 reviews
1

BEWARE!!! Terrible experience!!!

  • 1 of 5

On the surface this looks like a lovely cabin on a quiet pond on MDI. My family & I were very excited about our Maine vacation & stay at the Cabin. Unfortunately, it could not have gone more wrong!! We are still offended and scarred from the terrible treatment by the owner Elizabeth. We are wrongly accused of putting a burn mark on the deck. Since we only ate breakfast at the house and never used the BBQ there was no way we caused the burn on the deck. Elizabeth harassed us with accusations and even dug through our garbage looking for evidence. All she found was cooked vegetables which she claimed could not be breakfast food. We even sent her a photo of the eggs and vegetables in the pan they were cooked in to defend ourselves. Elizabeth lives in Boston had not been to the house in weeks after many other renters used the house. She came right after we left (a day early) because we reported a broken washing machine with a door that did not close and suds that poured all over the floor that we needed to clean up. Elizabeth clearly does not have the comprehensive check in / check out procedure so you are greatly at risk of being charged for something that a previous renter caused.

The contract states that if you do not report something that it wrong with the house within twenty four hrs she can keep your entire deposit. The burn mark was there when we arrived and we assumed it was a part of the rustic cabin. If we make a list of all of the flaws of the cabin it would have been a very long list (dirty bedspreads, dangerous tall step to enter, holes in the screens, rugs without pads & my elderly mother slipped & took a hard fall, very dated kitchen). We were just trying to make due & not complain to her about all of the things that were wrong. How were we suppose to know that the burn mark wasn't just part of the cabin?

My brother joined for 4 nights at the last minute so we had one more guest (total of 6 adults and 1 child, still under the 8 person capacity). We offered to pay for the extra person. Instead she took our entire deposit!!! She offered to give us a small part of the deposit back to cover for the fact that there were no bedspread covers on any of the dirty blankets (after accusing us of taking the covers but then later finding them folded in the closet). Elizabeth withdrew offer and took our entire deposit. Taking our entire despite to pay for deck repairs that we did not cause is morally wrong! Terrible! Caused us grief! Avoid cabin!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. G. signed a contract for 6 people, with a clause that said having more would result in forfeit of the security deposit. She had 7 visitors, so her deposit was forfeited. (I offered to return $100 because the cleaner took some duvet covers to wash). I called to see whether Ms. Gorfinkle had questions or problems and I was available via email. She said she'd post a bad review if I did not return her deposit, and here it is. I welcome renters who keep the terms of the contract. Incidentally, I had bought a new L.L. Bean kayak after Ms. G. asked about renting them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Rustic cabin in a peaceful setting

  • 4 of 5

Rustic and charming are the best words to describe this log cabin. Although the western view was slightly obstructed by trees, the side deck was the best place to watch the sunset and relax with a glass of wine. The cabin does not have cable tv - and the wi-fi connection was spotty at best- but there was a good selection of books & games provided by the owner.

The weather was awesome the first week of September, days were warm enough but not too hot. Evenings got chilly - we lit the wood-burning fireplace the last night. Unfortunately, there was no outdoor fire pit....the night sky on MDI was awesome and we would've loved to be able to sit around the fire and look at the stars.

The house's biggest drawback was the kitchen. Granted, we had two chefs in our party. However, they had a hard time making due with the outdated appliances, pots, & pans. For a group that plans on eating out a lot, this may not be a big deal - however we had dinner in most nights.

The owner was very nice - despite some initial confusion on our reservation (which was straightened out with plenty of time to spare). She left a lot of brochures and recommendations and called to check on us the first night.

Overall, we had a great week and are grateful that she was willing to share her house with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: True, the cabin has neither cable, fire pit, nor high-tech kitchen; the profile and pictures correctly depict it. We were happy to gain wifi in 2013. Refrigerator was new in fall 2014, dishwasher and disposal work, and Jenn-air range got a new cartridge in 2013. People who enjoy natural settings may be happiest here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, Comfortable Getaway Right on MDI

  • 5 of 5

This lovely log home is ideally situated far back from the road on a PRISTINE, seemingly 100% private pond and undeveloped (but for the house) property. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the echoing call of loons. Each day, we had a hard time leaving to enjoy the rest of what MDI has to offer because this place offered such comfort and serenity.

The home itself is roomy enough and can accommodate a family - maybe two depending upon ages and number of kids. The small dock is just the right level and size for launching/landing kayaks and canoes. Although we brought our own kayaks, the house does have kayaks and a canoe as well as other water toys in the basement (accessed from doors outside). Fishing rods too!

The pond is flat-out gorgeous and appears to be a natural part of the island's landscape/ecosystem -- marshy areas, beaver huts and all! Deer watched from the shadows of the serene woods as I paddled along an unspoiled shoreline opposite the house :)

Our experience renting was simple and flawless with great communication from the owner (no manager or agent involved here). Being in town during our arrival, the owner welcomed us personally when we had an initial need and was hospitable to a fault! And, when we encountered a minor plumbing issue, it was addressed and fixed immediately without any inconvenience to us.

As for the location, you can't get any better insofar as having what feels like a place in the deep Maine wilderness yet being just a few short miles from the most desirable spots on MDI.

Lovely place, lovely experience; We have our sights on coming back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loons like the fish in the pond, and deer enjoy the woods and long driveway. Privacy makes the cabin a great spot for relaxing, with walks, hikes, lovely gardens, and other sightseeing nearby. The Southwest Harbor Public Library has a great selection, too, for quiet times.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Maine cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5

The Pretty Marsh Cabin was a perfect retreat. The photos in the VRBO post are accurate but do not tell the entire story.

If you rent the Pretty Marsh Cabin, you essentially have your own private lake. There appears to be only one other home on the lake, and it didn't seem to have a dock. This means that you can canoe, standup paddle, or kayak without motor boats or anyone else for that matter. It is just you and nature on this large and beautiful lake! I was out on the lake and I saw bald eagles, many ducks and babies, and I had them all to myself! There is only National Park lands across the lake. It was heaven!

The house itself is extremely well appointed. You don't need any guidebooks or maps, as they are all there. The beds were comfortable and the kids were extremely happy with the cabin. Fishing rods were supplied! The towels were wonderful.

We highly recommend the Pretty Marsh cabin for your Maine getaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed the privacy and natural setting. The Marimekko towels seem right because Mt. Desert resembles Finland in some ways: forests, coastline, lakes, and appreciation for artists' work.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
The Hancock County-Bar Harbor Airport
Car: necessary

Acadia National Park, Nature Conservancy, Asticou gardens, many hiking and carriage trails, bike rental shops,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Desert Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning ~4 hr. $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%

Being on the water with a long driveway through the woods gives great privacy and peace.

Deck may be unsafe for small children; they need supervision. Kayaks are fragile, so please treat accordingly.
A signed waiver for use of water craft is required for rental.
Cabin is closed from Columbus Day weekend until mid-June, 2016

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Desert Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Note: The cabin can fit 8 people in beds, but a 10% fee will be charged for the 7th guest, and for the 8th guest.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Privacy and quiet make this spot a soothing retreat, yet one close to all island and park activities. Go mussel-picking at Pretty Marsh Picnic area, clean the mussels, and steam for dinner!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties