Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

On a peninsula with 4 sided water view!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,080 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Waterfront beach house 200 feet from the water, beautiful 11 room home with spectacular views.

House sits on a peninsula so there are spectacular water views from every window.

To check availability, click on the CALENDAR button just above this paragraph, under the photos, above. RATES: click on the RATES button just below the photos, above, it goes to another page, then click the box "VIEW ALL RATES." Yes it is confusing! There is an attachment to book now!

It was the opportunity of a lifetime for me to buy this beach house on a peninsula with water views from every window and a private beach. Lovely hardwood floors, walls are knotty pine. Careful restoration and updating of a period 1938 beach house. Casually but beautifully decorated with Heywood Wakefield American semi-antiques from this area, seagrass rug, and persian rugs. Kitchen updated June 2014, and new rugs, sofa and lamps June 2014, with some new photos.

In order to keep the property well kept, we are selective about to whom we rent the house. Please press the blue button "SEND EMAIL" and we will email you the application. We do not participate in the book now feature.

The house has central air conditioning, which is not the norm in RI. Most homes have no AC, or have window units in the bedrooms only.

Relax in the living room and watch the ocean or walk to the water from the back door. This is a great place to 'de-stress', just sit anywhere and watch the water and the sailboats. Watching the sunset from the living room and the lighted Mount Hope Bridge is so wonderful!

Four bedrooms ( master is 14 ft by 10 ft with an attached dressing/ bonus room that is 10' x 8), second bedroom is 17' x 10') two baths, two large living rooms ( each 21 ft X 13 ft) gas fireplace turns on instantly, sunroom (16' X 12') large dining room (14' x 12) kitchen, patio. Windows all around the house to enjoy the water views from every direction. Detached 2 car garage. FLOOR PLAN-- SEE LAST 2 PHOTOS. Maximum occupancy is eight people.

House has 2080 square feet, and is on two lots which gives a feeling of spaciousness and privacy. The house is on a no outlet (dead end)street, so no traffic. Ideal for a large family, and the yard is great for children.

Our Newport county summer home in Portsmouth. Congressman Patrick Kennedy of The Kennedy's used to live in this town.

Restaurants, fresh lobster and clams, clubs, entertainment and shopping are minutes away.

Seven miles away is the city of Newport for the famous guilded age mansions and the famous Tennis Hall of Fame.

This is the second home of a professional and we take credit cards so you can rent without worry.

AMENITIES:

Private Beach bordered by conservation land. Small sandy beach with small fist size smooth rocks at the waters edge tapering after about 10 feet to a smooth sandy bottom. Recommend aqua socks or fisherman sandals. Beach blanket, swim noodles, and six beach towels.

Central air conditioning

Wi-Fi internet access

house phone, cable by cox

Detached 2 car garage

All linens

30 inch HD flat screen. DVD player

Flat screen TV, cable and a 'million' channels

Sleeping with the sound of the waves and birds

Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher, washer and dryer and all appliances. Updated in 2014 with quartz countertops

Property manager always available, and nearby.

Children's park with equipment on the street

House has 2 lobster pots

Granite outdoor fireplace, original to the property.

ACTIVITES:

Guilded Age mansions are MUST SEE before you leave the area! Link is on this website, lower down. The movie "Amistad" was filmed at Marble house, and 27 Dresses filmed at Rosecliff.

Newport Marathon

Doris Duke's Mansion called " Rough Point." She used to keep a camel here that someone gave her as a gift! Newportpreservation.'Organization'/visit/rough_point/ Everything is just as she left it down to the magazines!

Golf at Montaup Country Club almost within walking distance. They take non members for greens fee of $47, $37 military and cart $40. A golf course with an ocean view. reach them at montaupcc."kom"

Whale watching and tours at Francis Fleet in Galilee, Rhode island as well as fresh lobsters at Champlains or other nearby places. It's about a 45 minute drive.

The Newport Jazz Festival is end of July 2017. Dates not yet set.

St. Mary's Church where Jaqueline and Jack Kennedy were married

Clam digging and fishing

Fenway Park in Boston is a 1 hour drive for Red Sox fans

Newport Flower Show is June 23-25, 2017 at the Rosecliff Mansion. The original Great Gatsby with Robert Redford, and "27 Dresses" with Kathryn Heigel were filmed here. The flowers and setting are lovely and they have really interesting shops set up for the days. I love going to this!

Bilthewold Mansion and Arboretum is 10 mins away , 4 miles.

A great place for weddings and events, too, They offer daily tours.

Kayaking off the back yard beach. ( We do not supply kayaks.)

What to do in Newport on a rainy day?

Take a drive by SUNNY VON BULOW's former mansion, the famous Clarendon Court at 626 Bellvue Ave. It is a private home to a recent buyer but you can walk by or drive by. Drive by LARRY ELLISON OF ORACLE's Beechwood Mansion at 580 Bellvue Ave, It is his private home but you can drive by and ogle! Or pop over to JAQUELINE BOUVIER KENNEDY ONASSIS childhood home called Hammersmith Farm at 225 Harrison Dr. It is also private. Another drive by is Belcourt Castle at 657 Bellvue Ave. It used to be a museum, but now is privately owned by the lady who owns "Alexis and Annie" jewelry. Or take a trip to Westerly and see if TAYLOR SWIFT or CONAN O'BRIEN are home!! :-)

Kayaking (if you have your own just walk out the 'back yard')

Sailing, boat tours and deep sea fishing charters

Fresh seafood, lobster and clams shop less than one mile.

U pick blueberry and strawberry farms

Jane Picken's Theater, a movie theater built in 1834

Museum of Yachting

Newport Equestrian Academy is two miles for horseback riding or lessons

'Flo's Clam Shack' one of Rhode Island Living Magazines 'Best Of RI' less than one mile.

Nearby Wineries, Greenvale Wineries usually has free jazz concerts on Saturday afternoons in the summer. Newport Wineries has tours, other activities and a restaurant.

Newport Food and Wine festival Sept, 2017

Island Sports for tours and kayak rentals

Internation Tennis Hall of Fame, 194 Bellvue, dates back to 1880, with a newly renodeled tennis museum and Hall of Fame. Tennis is still played there!

Providence Waterfire on certain Saturday nights in Providence.

Audrain Auto Museum, 222 Bellevue Ave, 401-856-4420

Keywords: oceanfront, waterfront, beach house, central air

More Details

Owner
Helen S.
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, lobster, clam !!
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Helen S.

I love the sound of the waves and the smell of the salt air! Also the boats, and seagulls, fresh lobsters, and the beach, clean air and quiet! We never liked 'driving to the beach', finding parking and lugging all the things, having to trudge off to go to the restroom. So now we can just walk out the door!

Helen S. purchased this house in 2005

Why Helen S. chose Newport and Aquidneck Island

It was a once in a lifetime opportunity to buy a house on a peninsula so that it has water views on all four sides, and a private beach. It is just instant relaxation no matter where you sit in the house Such a good place to "chill" We wanted to be close to Newport but have peace and quiet at night. Also my son likes to fish and kayak from behind the house. Just walk to the water.

What makes this house unique

Central AC

Every single window has a water view since we are on a peninsula!

Just walk out the back door to the water!

This house has knotty pine walls reflective of the time it was built and careful restorations and updating. It feels very 'beachy.' Cocktail hour in the living room watching the sun set over the water is really special.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks! We've really fallen for RI and your beach house. We will miss the views, the sunsets, the wonderful seafood and the fab beaches. Whale watching in Point Judith (Francis Fleet) was excellent. We hope to come back to these parts before too long.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Portsmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2080 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No smoking. No parties or weddings on premises. No parking on the lawn.
  • We ask guests to roll out the trash bin and recycling on every Monday night.
  • Multiperson Boats cannot be stored on the premises, we ask you to use a marina.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • You can see the sail boats from the bathrooms too!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , One bedroom extra large: has 2 rooms for that one bedroom
  • You can see these on the architectural plans listed under photos.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
House includes central AC, local telephone, high definition Sony TV with HDTV cable and a 'million channels', Wi-Fi internet, washer/ dryer(new in 2013)' toaster oven, gas range and oven, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, utensils and cookware, Lobster pot, Outdoor granite fireplace, portable charcoal grill, Detached 2 car garage, All linens, Sleeping with the sound of the waves! Private Beach, Large dining with seating for eight ( DR is 14' X12'), Outdoor patio overlooking the water, Dog loving household, one dog OK!, Fully equipped kitchen. Hair dryer, magnified make up mirror.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
On a peninsula with 4 sided water view!
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
2

Okay house, disgusting beach, owner won't return the security deposit.

  • 2 of 5

The house was very nice and accommodating. We had one major criteria for the rental, the backyard beach. The beach was full of seaweed, dead fish and shellfish and trash. Unfortunately not conducive for a family beach outing.

There was trash left in the trash barrel in her garage and when I opened it up flies and everything came out and there was a disgusting smell which made me want to retch.

We were very respectful of the property and kept the house clean. However, we are having issues getting our deposit back now that we are home. Based on this I would stay away. Making up things to keep the deposit and a very restrictive contract make this a difficult house to rent.

I have never had this bad of an experience renting, I would be very cautious.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The URINE SOAKED QUEEN MATTRESS that had to be immediately replaced was the reason he was not eligible for a refund. I sent one email asking if he knew anything about it. In less than 60 minutes, his multiple responses ended with a written threat to sue me! My opinions are the following: his bad review was motivated by anger; his anger probably resulted from the fact that his efforts to conceal the damage did not work, and he knew this was expensive damage. The "restrictions" are house rules to not smoke, avoid aggravating the neighbors by not permitting parties, loud disturbances, not inviting unknown persons from staying overnight without notifying us in advance of the stay (think inviting 40 people over to party and stay overnight), put out the trash on Monday night, and not to throw trash and cigarette butts around the yard. I think my neighbors appreciate these common sense requests. This is a first for us! Read the other reviews on this site ( I have been on it for more than 10 years) and I think you will see. This person and his group would not be eligible to rent from us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Beautiful location. Loved private beach and water views! Loved being able to have our dog with us!!

  • 5 of 5

Only small downside was limited parking because we have adult age kids who needed to bring their own cars but we worked it out

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have parking for three cars on the property
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Views were amazing from everywhere

  • 5 of 5

My family of 7 adults came from far and wide to attend a wedding in Newport, RI. I needed a place where I could bring my dog, have enough space for our group and be affordable. I picked this place because it was exactly what I was looking for. The views were amazing from everywhere in the house. It is a beach house with vintage character. There are three sitting rooms, large table and pathway to the beach. The drive into Newport was easy. The owner is easy to work with and all information is provided along with a bottle of champagne. I do recommend this house; it has the charm of a beach house,you can enjoy quiet beautiful views, and if you are looking to enjoy the beaches, restaurants, shops, and mansions of Newport

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Newport Marathon Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented this fabulous property with another family. Total of 4 adults and 4 children ages 2, 7, 10 and 12. Plenty of room to unwind and relax for all! Children enjoyed "camping out" in sunroom overnight and the only entertainment they needed was the hammock! We were able to make pasta the night before the race and enjoyed a glass or two of wine every night! Good value for money, quiet neighborhood, beautiful sunset views and easy access to Newport and restaurants, shops and mansions! Easy check in and great communication with owner Helen and accountant Lori! Would come back and book next time we come to Newport!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Wonderful 2 weeks

  • 4 of 5

The house had everything we could need. It was clean and perfect for us!. I am missing the views, especially the sunsets and shooting stars.

I want to reply to one of the reviews below that had said the beds were bad.They were soft, but if you stayed at my house they would be hard and you might not like that. Not a valid complaint. They complained the internet was slow, it was slower, but it's vacation, get off the internet! Again, not a valid complaint.

All in all, a wonderful place. Helen was honest and quick to reply and the handyman was awesome. We all even learned of a RI holiday! Thank you for the memories!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Wonderful house for family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a house close to where our son was getting married that would allow more ambiance and flexibility that a hotel, and boy did we find it! This house, with its 3 connected common spaces, 4 ample bedrooms (one with a little anteroom perfect for a crib), and scenic views was absolutely perfect. Add to that the responsiveness of the owner and caretaker and you have the makings of a wonderful vacation. We're planning on regularly returning to this house for family reunions as the family grows (both in size and in number :-) ). Our 2-year-old granddaughter especially enjoyed the nearby playground and gathering shells on the beach.

If there were 6 stars, this place would get it.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
Montaup County Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Flo's Clam Shack
Nearest Beach
Back yard!! Or Sandy Point Beach--public
Car: necessary

Golf course almost within walking distance at Montaup Country Club at 401 683 0955. Newport Mansions including Doris Duke's 'Rough Point' and The Breakers seven miles, Fresh seafood, lobster and clam shop less than one mile, Horseback Riding and Academy, U pick blueberry and strawberry farms (fun with kids), Fishing including off the back of the house, Clam digging, New England outlet stores, Kayaking (if you have your own, just walk out the 'back yard' to the water, If you don't own one, rental shops nearby), Sailing rentals nearby or just watch the sailboats from the shore. If you want 3-4 hours of walking exercise with fabulous vistas, then try cliffwalk in Newport. It has it's own website which is not permitted to be printed here.

What to do in Newport on a rainy day?

Take a drive by SUNNY VON BULOW'S former mansion called " Clarendon Court at 654 Bellvue. It is privately owned by a recent buyer but you can walk or drive by. Also a drive to LARRY ELLISON OF ORACLE Beechwood Mansion at 580 Bellvue. This is his private home, drive by or walk by only. Zip over to JAQUELINE BOUVIER KENNEDY ONASSIS' childhood home called "Hammersmith Farm at 252 Harrison Ave.This is a private home. Belcourt Castle at 657 Bellevue avenue used to be open to the public but the lady who owns "Alex and Annie" jewelry recently bought it and is renovating it, also a private home.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Portsmouth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July 2017
Jul 10 2017 - Jul 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 31 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Autumn 2017 LEAF SEASON
Sep 9 2017 - Dec 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$495
$2,200
 
 
Winter 2017-2018
Dec 2 2017 - Apr 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
$395
$1,700
 
 
Spring 2018
Apr 8 2018 - May 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
$495
$2,300
$8,500
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 23 2018 - Sep 9 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
$12,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,200
per dog $35
5 days or less, cleaning $125

WE DO TAKE CREDIT CARDS. Fourth of July week is $3300. All linens and normal cleaning after departure is included. Dogs are an additional $35 each. Fees listed above include a 3.5% discount for payment by check.

Cancellation Policy: Full refund if cancelled 60 days or earlier before occupancy. 59 days or closer to occupancy date , refund of security deposit and 1/2 of total rental fee. I do not know why it says 30 days below, I did not enter that.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties