Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Right on the sea front bright bungalow with garden

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,054 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

in the heart of Connemara, ideally located on the coast road along Berthragboy Bay wholy renewed well equipped with all modern facilities and choice antique furniture

A very peaceful stay in one of the most beautiful landscapes in Ireland

discount for long stay

jeanne-ita MEUNIER
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018


County Galway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1054 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Boat
  • Canoe
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
12% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Right on the sea front bright bungalow with garden
average rating of 4.7 based on 70 reviews

Peaceful, beautiful location.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at Curlews and were so sorry to have to leave. It was great as a base for touring the area and a joy to return to in the evening. Our closest "neighbor" was a heron, and we enjoyed watching the fishing boats pass as they went about their work. Our other neighbors - the human ones - could not have been more friendly and helpful, though we did not see them often. They were lovely, just as one can expect when in Ireland.

The house itself was cozy and comfortable. We had fires in the evening and the timer for the radiators was set just right so that the house was nice and warm each morning when we got up. When we first got there, there was a slight musty smell due to the place being closed and unused for a time, and obviously because of it's proximity to the sea. Our own home, which sits close to the Columbia River and the ocean nearby, does exactly the same thing so it didn't bother us a bit. Also this: we read in another review the complaint/suggestion that the owner should put a sofa or couch in the living room in place of the chairs as they are now to which we say, "Please Don't!" We're unsure how you'd place a couch without impeding the view, and the arrangement as it is couldn't be more perfect for looking out to the sea while having a cup of tea and a piece of brown bread and marmalade.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so pleased yu enjoyed your stay and it's wonderfull to feel how you got Curlew's atmosphere. Welcome back ay time
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House needs help

  • 1 of 5

A lovely spot, but the house is not, by any means, in the shape to be let.

The refrigerator is on 24/7, but our food spoiled. It doesn't chill. The

clothes washer is so noisy, you can't be in the house when it runs. The

dryer door is broken and won't stay shut, so the dryer is not usable. A

burner on the stove (left/rear) is broken and unusable. The dishwasher

didn't clean the dishes. There's no couch in the sitting room. The hot 'cold

faucets in the bath basin were reversed: hot came out cold, cold came out

hot. I took them apart and reversed the colors on the faucets. The lamp in the

bedroom had a paper shade that was deteriorated, fell apart, and the metal

frame was rusted and broken. The shower faucet kept falling off and almost

broke my toe. The tub was incapable of being filled with hot water - the water

was insufficient and ran out before the tub was hardly filled, unless you were a duck.

The woman who brought us to the house told us we'd have to pay for heating the

house!!!! In all the years I've done self-catering, I've never had a surcharge added

for heating the house. Surely, that's part of the charge for the use of the house.,

which, for off season was quite dear - EU87 a night! This is a case of an owner

squeezing out every penny while not being willing to update the services. The

quality of accommodations offered in Ireland since it joined the EU has vastly

improved, but I guess there are holdouts who take advantage of unsuspecting

tourists and ruin the reputation of what is given in exchange for payment.

It would be a lovely offering if the owner was willing to invest in updating her


  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Waouh you are very harsh. I'm certaintly very sorry for all the troubles you had during your stay. I have decided that the house is not suitable for winter breaks and have taken it off the market for the rest of cold season. Why do guests pay for their electricity? Everything is on programs so each guest can choose according to their number & needs. The fridge breaking down was unfortunate ( the guests were exempt of electricty to compensate) and of course the fridge will be changed before next guests come. *The fridge was not broken but thermostat was wrongly set (barely cool ).* As usual updating will be carried out as of every year Jeanne
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Lovely setting by the sea.

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Curlews in September, 2017. The cottage setting is in a great location by the sea/bay with lovely garden plantings. We did have difficulty initially finding the cottage as the directions did not match the colors of the landmark houses. The cottage itself is comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen. The windows in the living room overlook the bay,. There is a binder with information for the area which was helpful. There were also additional cottage instructions in the binder however they were in French which we were unable to read.

Location is good for exploring Roundstone, Clifton and hiking in Connemara(national park about an hour from the cottage).

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks for reminder to leave instructions in english. Shall be included from november onwards.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR

Beautiful country and lovely people. The house needs updating and new mattresses. No sleeping there!

  • 3 of 5

The grounds and surrounding countryside are spectacular. The house works, but is damp and needs updating. A good, comfy couch for reading on rainy days would be a plus. The beds are awful and sore bones ensued. Most things work, some are broken. We did enjoy our stay and loved the natural beauty of this area. I believe the owner will be updating, which in case, we would visit again. Loved Ireland and its wonderful natural beauty.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. It seems a bit harsh to me. Indeed some updating is programmed this autumn (furniture and refreshing paint). Thanks for the tip as regards couch, at the moment armchairs only The twin beds are orthopaedic beds, one double bed is only 2 years old. I shall check the breakages you mention because on this level we ( the caretaker & I) replace immediately any appliances that do not work. As for dampness I'm more then astonished. Tthis house can stay closed for months without any objectif signs of dampness. Whatever I shall be more then pleased to detail the work done this autumn and receive you again with pleasure
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Urlaub in Connemara

  • 4 of 5

Sehr schöne Lage direkt am Wasser, großer Garten, gemütliches Haus, liebevolle Betreuung - herrlich zu relaxen - guter Ausfahrtspunkt für Touren.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments. Our pleasure to receive you again someday ( less windy)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Très bon séjour

  • 4 of 5

Nous avons passé un très bon séjour dans la maison qui présente tout le confort nécessaire. Le point fort de la maison est évidemment la vue splendide sur la mer avec la baie vitrée du salon. La situation de la maison est très bien pour rayonner dans le conemara

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: En vous remerciant et au plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau si tel est votre souhait. Jeanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Nearest Train
60 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
60 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
Car: necessary

On the Galway Clifden road turn off after Recess towards Carna/Cashel, go along for roughly ten km and then take coast road for 5km and your there

Carna (10km) is capital to lobster fishing and the Gaelthacht area Friendly pubs and 2 restaurants will be happy to welcome you.

Clifden (35km)is Connemara's capital town with lots of tourist attractions and facilities - restaurants, local craft, banks, shops, etc

Galway (70km) capital to the west of Ireland, goes back centuries and is also a bomming modern city




Additional information about rental rates

literie $98.45
Pet Fee $12.31

tarif dégressif en fonction de la durée, supplément chauffage selon la saison, caution demandée, acompte/arrhes à la réservation, propriétaire non présent sur place

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties