Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing ocean view plus WAVES!!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Heated Pool
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning

Overview

About the property

Boutique Complex - Quiet and Private! Newly Remodeled June 2015

This is a favorite location!! This ocean view is the most beautiful sunset view on the Kona coast! Enjoy a sunset dinner right on your lanai. Farmers Market right across the street! A short 1 1/4 mile walk to town right along the ocean. Security gate. FREE PARKING! Kitchen and living areas newly remodeled in June 2015. Walk to a small sandy beach about 1/4 mile north. Newly remodeled bathroom, new flooring, new furniture and fixtures. One king size bed.

W57889748-01


Property Manager
Kathie West
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • remodeled bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • 1 king size bed in bedroom 1 sofa sleeper in living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Amazing ocean view plus WAVES!!!
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
Virginia City, Nevada
5

Our 15th Anniversary vacation

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What a great place to stay! We have been here before and will definitely be back. The unit has been totally renovated floor to ceiling and end to end. The kitchen is wonderful for cooking and has a new large stove and refrigerator. Relax on the lanai and view the sunset each nite. The pool is just down a few steps where you can swim and then after stand at the railing and watch the ocean right at your feet. Sea life abounds for easy viewing. The on site manager was pleasant and provided us with local information. The place was very clean inside upon our arrivals and the outdoors is constantly maintained. We highly recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The condo was beautiful.

  • 1 of 5

The condo was beautiful. It had almost everything we needed. When we first arrived we were greeted with a torn up parking lot. Kathie had said there was a small repair and there would be a designated walkway. There was no walkway. It was so bad since the parking lot is small. The parking lot was a dangerous walkthrough. Kathy forgot to send me the passcodes to get in. I called her when we got there and that was the only time she returned any calls. I mentioned the parking lot and she stated don't worry it'll be fine. Well it wasn't. Both my husband and I have bad backs and I have rods and pins holding my feet together. It was messy and uneven. Almost impossible to roll our suitcases over the torn up ground.I called her once we got in the condo and she never returned the call. We called her 2times a day and sent her messages and again she didn't respond. The couple in the a joining condo had the same concerns and also tried daily to reach her with the same results. NO RESPONCE.

There was no toilet paper or paper towel in the unit so we found an open closet next to our unit, we thought it was part of the unit. Turned out the stuff belonged to the Manager. We were so embarrassed. The manager of the unit was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back to the condo but never again using VRBO Kathie West. The parking lot had 12 workers all day long and large noisy equipment everyday till around 5pm. I did take pictures.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That review is hilarious. It's true, the condo is a WOW condo! The views of the ocean are spectacular! It's a great, quiet complex that our same guests return year after year. But there are so many inaccuracies in this review I don't know where to start. First I will say if you look up Karren K. name in VRBO there is a negative review. The reason is our condo is a no-smoking condo. Despite these rules, they smoked so much inside the condo that the next guests could not check in. Every single thing in the condo had to be washed, even the linens inside the closets. It took days to air out the place. Also Yes, I did talk to them on the phone so "no response" was not true. And yes there was a walkway for guests to walk on. The whole point of the repair was the driveway was damaged due to an earthquake so safety was our concern. They were told about the work in an email ahead of time. Yes, there was toilet paper and towels, just not a complete roll (really??) So Karren K. is supposed to help pay the damages incurred to our condo and has refused to pay the invoice after repeated requests. Not even a response or apology for the inconvenience it caused everyone. This has never happened in 16 years and I hope it never happens again! Most of my guests are lovely people and I welcome them back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Kona Riviera Villa and will definitely stay here again should we return to the Big Island. The location is wonderful (close to town) and I don't think I've ever stayed closer to the ocean in my travels. The condo was clean and well-stocked. My favorite thing about this condo was drinking my morning coffee while the ocean crashed into the wall at my feet. Some mornings I got the extra treat of watching body boarders as well. The sunset from this location is absolutely spectacular! Have I mentioned that I loved it here? :)

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A WOW! condo!! Oceanview plus WAVES!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our second vacation in KRV. This one on the main level. Good view, good communal barbecue , nice clean pool, good neighbours and manager Brian. Nice little condo, pretty well updated, bed a bit harder than we would prefer. Nearly everything you could want to move in with your food and drink and feel like you've been there a while already.

There is only one place we have in mind to stay on our visits to the Big Island and that is KRV. Kathie West has always made our arrangements a piece of cake; she's a true pro. We are reserved for next year already albeit in a second floor condo, better view but a bit less convenient.

Do not stay in this condo if you don't like a beautiful ocean view with varied marine traffic, surfers, boogie boarders on big surf at times, spinner Dolphins,( no whales in area this year ), and oh, did I mention sunsets?. Sunsets from the Big Island are not always the same or great every night but you get to grade them yourself every night from you lanai. Pretty nice with a tastey beverage !!

Condo, location, view, sound of the surf, people, booking agent , my wife and I choose KRV. Sure bet!

T & F W

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

5-star view

  • 5 of 5

We agree with everything that was said in the two previous reviews, including the one bug! Being oceanfront with a 5-star view was our priority, and this unit met the challenge. I wouldn't go out to eat until after sunset, since none of the restaurants had a better view! The Kona Riviera Villas complex is small and private and quiet---SO much nicer than the large condo complexes all around. We heard no noise from neighbors. Since the unit is near the entryway and the laundry room, we did hear a few noises from there, but very few, and never at night. We met several couples, all owners or long-term renters who return every year. Our biggest regret is that we spent only four nights here.

This unit (104) would be greatly improved with more lighting, especially a light on the bedroom ceiling fan, and better window treatments. The bedroom blinds are VERY difficult to use, and the sunscreen blind on the lanai is impossible to use.

That said, we were very happy here, as you can see from our rating. The unit was very clean. We only used the bedroom A/C one night; it worked well. The king-sized bed is very comfortable. The kitchen is well-appointed, down to a coffee grinder! There were some condiments in the refrigerator, and we left butter, peanut butter, and jelly.

We have previously stayed in the Kona area five times and in Waikoloa once. This is the place we would like to return to.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
4

Great value, great location

  • 4 of 5

A great complex. Nice and small and we always had the pool and/or deck area to ourselves. You cannot beat the view. Bed was very comfy as were the other furnishings. Kitchen is quite dated but everything worked. Condo was very clean on arrival and I loved the new bathroom and the tiled floors everywhere. Having coffee on the lanai and watching the early morning surfers became a favourite activity as well as watching the sunset. One bug on the last morning but to be expected in this southern spot. Great location away from the craziness of Kona but close enough to that, Walmart and grocery stores and shops.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value
Mar 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$130
 
 
Peak
Sep 16 2017 - Mar 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$140
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation Policy:

Cancellations made sixty (60) days or more prior to arrival with written notice shall be given a full refund minus $50.00 reservation processing fee. Cancellations of less than sixty (60) days but more than thirty (30) days prior to arrival shall forfeit 50% of the total rent plus tax or the deposit paid. Cancellations of less than thirty (30) days the entire rent and excise tax (less cleaning fees) is forfeited unless we are able to re-rent the property. Refunds on any forfeiture will be issued in the dollar value the unit is re-rented for during the same dates as the canceled reservation. There is no refund for early departure or no shows for any reason.

Trip insurance is always a good idea. Let me know if you’re interested and I can provide a quote.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Kona
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Farmers Market right across the street!!

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties