Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Breeze Bungalow In The Heart Of Gulfport's Historic Waterfront District

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 2nd Floor Bungalow with ocean view.. NEW NEW NEW

Welcome to Beach Breeze Bungalow, appropriately named, as it is a second story bungalow that truly catches the lilt of sea breezes. The bungalow is located on Beach Blvd in the heart of Gulfport's Historic Waterfront District. Check in at the August Vernon Studios Gallery in front of the property and walk beyond the gate through the butterfly and flower laden path to the privately fenced and tropical courtyard. The Bungalow sets above our neighbors, providing you with a view of Boca Ciega Bay. Inside you will find tumbled marble floors throughout, new full kitchen with farm sink and granite countertops fully stocked if you preferred to cook, bedroom with new queen mattress set and fluffy pillows, a sunroom with an additional queen pull out and a sectional sofa that converts into a cube to accommodate one more. Amenities also include Keurig coffee maker with a variety of K-cups, ceiling fans, new windows to enjoy the breeze, flat screen HDTV with HBO, Starz, Cinemax and Showtime, propane gas grill for cook outs and an assortment of board games.


Owner
August Vernon
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Why August Vernon chose Gulfport

The Bungalows location is perfectly situated in the heart of Gulfports Waterfront District. Experience the colorfully vibrant restaurants and shopping of Beach Blvd directly in front of the BBB, while the secluded 2nd floor rear location provides a tranquil oasis for your ideal vacation.

This property also offers a unique artistic experience. The owner operates an art studio and gallery located on the Beach Blvd side of the property. Whether you are lounging in the tropical courtyard garden, or browsing the fine artistry of the gallery, the Bungalow is sure to offer a delightful vacation experience.

What makes this bungalow unique

Have we mentioned we are in the Heart of Gulfport's Waterfront District? We are surrounded by wonderful restaurants and shops in an undiscovered jewel of Floridas' Gulf Beach towns. All year, every Tuesday is the Tuesday Fresh Market festival. Every first Friday and third Saturday there is an Artwalk Festival... these events take place right at our front door. We would be happy to accommodate any special requests for your stay as your personal concierge.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Staying in Gulfport is like stumbling on paradise, and staying at this listing is having your very own secret spot! Everything about this listing is clean, comfy and cozy, leaving you feeling quite at home. Communication with the hosts was stellar, as is the location. I had the wonderful experience of waking up with a farmer's market out front on Tuesday. It was great walking past the stalls looking for breakfast foods. Susanne also tells me that twice a month there's also an artist market, so I'm definitely going to book again.
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 4

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
St Petersburg/Clearwater Intl Airport
Nearest Barpub
O'maddys
Nearest Motorway
3.8 Miles
275
Nearest Restaurant
Pias
Nearest Beach
Gulfport
Car: not necessary

Our property is located in the heart of Gulfports historic waterfront district. If you're familiar with this quaint little city often referred to as 'old Key West', you already know about all of the wonderful restaurants, art walks, markets, independently operated boutiques, the marina, Clam Bayou Nature Reserve, the bike and birding trails, beaches, fishing, the friendly locals and ease of getting from one place to another on foot. If you haven't visited Gulfport, there are all of those reasons and more to make it a destination! Within 10 miles of Gulfport you can find yourself at the Dali Museum, the Chihuly Gallery or the Sunken Gardens in St. Pertersburg. Relax at the award winning Ft. DeSoto beach and enjoy all of its sites and water sport activities. Travel a few more miles for Busch Gardens or the Florida Aquarium in Tampa.

Amenities

Gulfport Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • 1 Queen bed in bedroom, 1 Queen sofa bed in sunroom, sectional sofa converts to cube to accommodate 1 more.
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Laundry and grocery service available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Beach Breeze Bungalow In The Heart Of Gulfport's Historic Waterfront District
average rating of 4.7352943 based on 38 reviews
5

Perfect Get Away

  • 5 of 5

This place was just perfect for a week in the sun! Very clean and beautifully decorated. Easy walking to local restaurants. August gave us perfect recommendations during our stay. The area does come alive during the weekends, however, during the week this area of Gulfport is quiet and close to beaches. August was very helpful and prompt if we needed anything. Would be happy to stay here again and hope we do! Excellent place!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeffrey for the kind review and being such wonderful guests! It was a pleasure having you and the Mrs. stay at the Beach Breeze Bungalow and would absolutely look forward to your return! I appreciate so much that you found Gulfport's charm and character, as well as the bungalow, to be a special place. Many thanks and Happy Trails always!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, will definitely be back!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, everything is updated. Will definitely be back! The hospitality from Susanne was spectacular! She's so personable, and really does all she can to make it a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

not a bungalow.......not even close. studio apartment

  • 1 of 5

The owner/owners of this property are showing the front of an ART STUDIO. Misrepresenting the fact that you are staying in the back up about 18 steps to a studio apartment. OH with super plush furniture.... NOT. An old dorm room is quite the quintessential description. Yeah it was clean just as we left it. Your view is of an alley way, cars,garbage cans. LOOK ELSEWHERE. Yeah they advertise a price. You can do better with further searching. Called Home Away with a complaint they suggested call the owner and they hung up on me after a few minutes with this issue. HEY check out Stella's in Gulf port...Excellent food and service and the pier is really nice for sunsets. There are so many places you can stay for the money. My wife and I travel a lot and use Homeaway.com we have always loved the places we have booked. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE SPEND WISELY. If you book this place. HMMMMMM . Please enjoy your stay. HEY There is a recycling can outback! P.S. we have great reviews for our stays and given great reviews as well. This is one that did not FIT the bill.:((((

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chris, When you checked in after a 12 hour drive, we talked about you trying to book several different places and having difficulty with the VRBO web site (as we do not take pets). Yvonne actually came back down to tell me how much she loved the space. I wonder if you have our Bungalow mixed up with a different property? Our photos are arranged so that our guests see the front of the property so that they can identify it from the street. They go on to show the walkway to the courtyard and the staircase that leads to the Bungalow and deck. I understand you are upset that this was a second story property, however, we state in the very first sentence that it is on the second floor: "as it is a second story bungalow that truly catches the lilt of sea breezes". A 'studio' space is all contained in one room. Our Bungalow has four distinct rooms, and is 600 sq. ft., just as we list. To address the furniture which you somehow think is 'deceptive' I say that there are still two pieces of furniture in the sun room. A previous guest ruined the sofa so we replaced it with a new loveseat, the other is the same as in the photo and both are not just functional and comfortable, but I would have them in my own home. I'm afraid you are correct about the alley, there is one. This is where we keep our recycle bins and trash cans. I would also agree with you that there are several places to stay, and would point out that when you arrived, if our Bungalow did not meet your standards you were welcome to find another place to stay. I answered these questions and more when you called days after leaving demanding that I refund half of your money, but you cut me off with an abrupt, "I am not listening to this anymore", before hanging up on me. Your hand written note said "Your deceptive pics sold us", but you said you didn't even realize which place you rented since we weren't even listed as being pet friendly. We really try to go above and beyond to make each guest feel special, and I think you can tell from our 3 years of awesome reviews that we have been doing a fabulous job at that. We understand that our guests are 'away', and we want everything to be perfect. Please make sure you read the description of the property you have rented and if you have a problem, perhaps letting somebody know while you are there, ie "Please let me know if there is anything you need!" might help to resolve your issues. Best, Susanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy, eclectic , charming, delightful

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 short nights and lived August's place and his property manager Tiffany went above and beyond to accommodate us! We thought we were being swift by giving the "kids" the pull-out bed, but it turned out they got the bigger AC, comfy nook, and the TV! We are not complaining , our bedroom was equally as charming AND we had the bathroom in our room- lol. Everything was no problem for August and Tiffany and we highly recommend staying here- we ate at Pias one evening, delicious , and due to our exhaustion and the torrential downpour , ordered in from the pizza/restaurant downstairs. We would def stay again

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Deceiving!

  • 4 of 5

I am not going to lie, my husband was a little skeptical when we walked around back through the yard to the stairs that go up. But once he saw the unit, new tile, nice kitchen and CLEAN!! We walked to every place downtown. Had an absolute blast!!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Originally from Washington AC now live south of Washington DC
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

We drove into town on a Thursday evening 13th of April and August had already been trying to contact us so they would know when to expect us. August was extremely gracious and willing to answer any question we may have. The Beach Breeze Bungalow was the right place for us during our stay. It sits just off the Main Street in Gulfport behind August's Art Studio. It is in close proximity (walking distance) from all the main restaurants & pubs in Gulfport.

The Bungalow was very clean and had everything we needed. The new appliances and Travertine floors were a pleasant surprise. The Wifi was very good and there was a coffee maker and a Keirug. The floor helped to keep the place cool during the day. The bed was comfy and there were extra blankets for our son to use on the pull out couch in the living room. The Bungalow is perfect for a couple or a small family with one child like we have however, a larger family might want to consider another location due to the single bathroom unless you can make it work.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ken is a terrific guest and would recommend him as a 5 star guest to any property. I appreciate his care to the Bungalow and would welcome him back and look forward to Mr. Corbett as a guest anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Persons $20 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 13.0%

Cancellation Policy: 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. Booking is not firm until we receive payment, as well, reservation will be first come, first served. Thank you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.