Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5,500 Square Feet Sleeps 17 People Comfortable Three Fireplaces Outrageous Views

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 5,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

over night accommodations for 17 guests, 6 bedroom suites, Panoramic views.

This 5,500 square feet home sleeps 17 people and is situated in the exclusive Hillside community of South Anchorage. Designed as a luxury property celebrating the History of Alaska, each bedroom is themed to highlight an era of the Last Frontier. From gold prospecting to land homesteading, to the discovery of oil, Alaska represents hopes, dreams, and great adventure. Realize your dreams and experience the majesty of Alaska from this luxury rental

Property Manager
Debbie Speakman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, dutch
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 15, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager


We enjoyed our stay at your house! It was a great environment for our family bonding. We took family photos on the boulder and had game night every night downstairs. We came up here to pick up our Texas 4000 rider from the end of his ride. We had tons of fun exploring sites around Anchorage Places, like the zoo, downtown, Glacier cruises and tram rides were fun to visit. Y'alls showers were very interesting. we enjoyed exploring the house!


John, Mary, Laura, Mike, Patrick, Libby, Avory, Pierce, Lisa, shelby+Maggie
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 3


Hillside East House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Klondike Suite - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Alyeska - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Prospector Suite - toilet , shower
    Master Suite - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
  • this beautiful home has 5 full and 1 half bath.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Tlingit Suite - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , This cozy suite has a kitchenette and sitting area/bed room.
    Master Suite, Aurora Borealis - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Susitna’s master suite will envelop you in supreme luxury!
    KLONDIKE SUITE - 1 king , Bring the outdoors in with our rustic Klondike Suite.
    ALYESKA SUITE - 1 king , Spanish influences help to set the mood in this 2 room suit.
    The Bunk Room - 3 bunk bed
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

5,500 Square Feet Sleeps 17 People Comfortable Three Fireplaces Outrageous Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews

Even More Gorgeous than Expected!

  • 5 of 5

Our large group of family members had an incredible stay while in Alaska. We rented the home for a week and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The benefits of having a yard to play in and a kitchen to cook in while traveling with children are incomparable! Not to mention the game room which included a ping pong table, air hockey, pool table, and tons of board games! The house was clean and extremely comfortable. There was truly something for everyone and the style of the home was like nothing we have ever seen before. I honestly have zero complaints about the home and our entire family was extremely pleased with the choice to rent it!

The booking process was simple, quick and Debbie was so incredibly gracious and helpful! Would recommend this home to any and everyone! Definitely worth every single penny!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Samantha. You were also a dream to work with. I'm so glad you had a nice stay with your family. You are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideal Business Retreat Setting

  • 5 of 5

I stay in a VRBO house about once a month and this takes the cake as the best. We had a great stay and enhanced our time together with late night ping-pong and air hockey. The tables are great, not the cheap version you find in many rentals. The master bedroom is beautiful - I want to redo mine at home to match it! The only drawback from the home is the lack of cooking equipment. We made dinner one night and needed to purchase most everything - other than the pans. The two issues we had - accessibility and electrical, were solved quickly - thank you for that! All in all, a great rental and I wouldn't rent anywhere else in ANC. Thanks again.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Southern state

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect. Wonderful kitchen complete with kitchen ware. Wonderful scenic view. Bedrooms were awesome. Each bedroom had its own theme. Wonderful game and TV room. What a wonderful place to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. Thank you so much.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

My family and I chose this rental because of its size for our family reunion. It was more then we expected. We didn't get a chance to totally utilize all of it amenities because we were busy visiting with family and friends. Clean, roomy and had everything you need for cooking. The back yard does look a little bigger then it was. It is a little distance away from downtown and the grocery store but that's what it's all about right.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pam I am so happy your family enjoyed your stay! I do hope you will come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wedding Bliss

  • 5 of 5

What a house!! From the outdoor scenery to the indoor decor, simply amazing! While we didn't get married here, we certainly enjoyed the house for our wedding party and festivities. Jaws dropped as our guests walked in not believing that they would actually be staying here for a week. Each room was themed differently with something having to do with Alaska and almost every one had its own private bath! With Flattop Mountain being very close for hiking and the view of Anchorage below, it's was breathtaking both day and night. It was a bargain for our guests as well with each barely paying $500 for the week while the cheapest hotel room in town was around $250 per night! Why wouldn't you just stay at a mansion? We dubbed this group, "the real world Alaska", because they were all practically strangers staying together! They had fun with it and actually made some friends for life! We couldn't have picked a better group or location for our wedding festivities! We are already planning a "real world" reunion at the same company's Homer location! Can't wait!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Crystal and Jarrod! You both have been a joy to work with. I can't wait until your Homer reunion!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

College Coaches visit to Alaska

  • 5 of 5

The friendly management staff assured our great stay from start to finish. The coaching staff felt like kings in their Alaska themed, clean and comfortable rooms. I heard them all say the beds were so comfortable and some of the best they have stayed at. The roomy fun house allowed for people to feel like they could be social and also have private time to relax and get work done. It's proximity to Flattop allowed them to hike it 7 times during their stay, which they really enjoyed -yet close enough to town and the ice rink that it didn't really seem too far out of the way (5 miles). The modern kitchen appliances allowed for great cooking and eating experiences. The stone work and flooring added a regal touch while the historical furniture blended perfectly with all the modern appliances, tv's and cable options as well as pool table and air hockey set ups. The coaching staff has asked to be placed here again for those returning to coach at the local showcases and fully endorses anyone wanting a quiet beautiful, with city/ inlet/mtn views to stay here.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are so glad that the coaches all had a nice stay at Susitna Sunset. We would love to have them back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
13.5 Miles
Anchorage International Aipport
Nearest Golf
4.3 Miles
O'Malley's on the Green
Nearest Train
24 Miles
Alaska Rail
Nearest Ski
3.6 Miles
Hilltop Ski Area
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Hillside East House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fall & Winter 2
Mar 1 2017 - May 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 16 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 12.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question

You might like these similar properties