Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New 1st Tier Home with Old Florida Charm, 2 Masters, 3 King Beds, Bunk Room

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,660 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 1st Tier, Easy Beach and Pool Access, 2 Masters and 3 King Beds

-Managed by Owner Carrie Shevlin

-Beautiful New Vacation Rental Home

-Perfect for Multiple Families

-Pet Friendly

-Just Steps from the Beach

-Amazing Outdoor Shower off of 3rd Floor Master Bathroom

- Nothing but 5 star reviews on personal website too

-To ask questions about Good Fortune please use the "Ask the Owner" button as opposed to the "Request to Book" button.

Good Fortune, A Cape San Blas Get Away Home, is new built in 2015, with great attention to unique details. It is the perfect combination of new construction amenities and Old Florida charm details.

New Construction Amenities

Good Fortune has two master suites, each with large windows and a slider that access one of two decks that span the Gulf facing side of the home. From these decks there are incredible unobstructed views of the Gulf of Mexico.

The masters suites each have king beds and large bathrooms and closets. The third bedroom has a king size bed and an amazing natural dune structure view that Cape San Blas is known for. Each of these three bedrooms has Smart TVs with Direct TV service. The fourth bedroom is a bunkroom that boasts 4 built-in bunks, a large window and plenty of room for just hanging out. The bunkroom and the third bedroom share a large bathroom with a generous shower/tub combination.

When you go up the stair tower steps and turn the corner, the view is guaranteed to take your breath away. The Gulf, the dunes and the beautiful furnishings will immediately evoke feelings of relaxation and of being “at home”. The amazing kitchen is well appointed with everything you will need to prepare fabulous meals for your vacation. There is ample storage in the separate pantry and the French door refrigerator. The large dining table seats 10 comfortably and there is additional seating for 4 at the kitchen island. The openness of the upstairs allows all members of the family to be together but not “on top of” each other. There is also a large living room on the first floor, in the event that someone needs a little space. Each living area has a large Smart TV with Direct TV service and DVD player.

The master suite on the second floor boasts an incredible private outdoor shower. This is a “one of a kind” amenity that no other house at the Cape can offer. It really is amazing!

An abundance of windows throughout Good Fortune provide not only an unobstructed view of the Gulf but also views of all the natural beauty the Cape has to offer including unique dune structures, native flora and fauna and the beautiful blue sky.

The beautiful beaches of the Cape are about a 100 yard walk down the boardwalk that runs directly beside the house. The pool is about 50 yards away, across a quiet gated, dead-end road.

When you return from the beach or the pool there is plenty of room for you to rinse off or shower in the large, ground-floor outdoor shower.

If you enjoy fishing, the Cape is the place for you. Good Fortune has a large outdoor fish cleaning sink and a charcoal grill on which you can prepare the catch of the day.

Old Florida Charm Details

The reclaimed bead board ceiling includes unique individual pieces of 100+-year-old wood taken from farmhouses and buildings. The shrimp sign that hangs in the dining room was purchased from a local fishery where it hung outside for more than 35 years. The oyster basket, that is now the dining room chandelier, is from that same fishery. The pantry door was rescued from a 1920s bungalow just before it was torn down to make way for a new home. The table in the bunkroom is a vintage mid-century modern boomerang café table from the 1950s or ’60. The large piece of cyprus that makes the bar on the 2nd floor deck comes directly from the Dead Lakes in Wewahitchka and is the perfect place to pull up a stool and enjoy the amazing sunsets. Most of the furnishings at Good Fortune have a story and make Good Fortune truly a unique beach home.

Good Fortune is house at the beach that genuinely feels like Beach House! We look forward to having you as our guests. If you have any questions about the home, please do not hesitate to contact us.

More Details

Carrie Shevlin
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About Carrie Shevlin

Our family lives in Atlanta, Georgia. We love visiting The Cape. The relaxed atmosphere and beauty of the area keep us coming back year after year.

I will be managing your stay at Good Fortune and can be a bit of a perfectionist. That's a bonus for you, as I promise that I will do all I can to make your time at The Cape absolutely wonderful.

We are confident you will love The Cape as much as we do. Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions about our home or the area.

Carrie Shevlin purchased this house in 2012

Why Carrie Shevlin chose Port St. Joe

We visited The Cape for the first time in 2001 and immediately fell in love. The water was perfect, the beaches weren't crowded and we could bring our dog. We especially like the North end of The Cape because it is very quiet. The amazing T.H. Stone Memorial St. Joseph Peninsula State Park is so close to the house and the dune structure on that beach is like none you have ever seen. It is also a very short walk to Coneheads from our cream, oysters and cocktails…what could be better?

What makes this house unique

We worked really hard to think about how we could make this house as 'easy' as possible in which to vacation. Just a few things that make Good Fortune pretty special:

2nd Floor Outdoor Shower - Off of the master bathroom there is a private outdoor shower. This is the only 2nd floor outdoor shower on The Cape!

Bunk Room - The kids will love their built-in bunk room. Each bunk has an individual light for reading before bed.

Amazing Reclaimed Beadboard Ceiling - We love old things and wanted to add some historic touches to our new home. The entire ceiling in the 2nd floor living space is made of reclaimed beadboard from Valdosta, GA. It's beautiful! The only ceiling like it on Cape San Blas is the one at our other home, Beach Camp.

Huge Outdoor Shower Under the House - I really don't like my dry things getting wet when I shower in a small outdoor space. We've made our outdoor shower large enough so your clothes and towels never get wet.

Quiet Dishwasher - I promise, it's quiet.

Large Pantry - Our kitchen has a large, walk-in pantry so that all of your groceries can be stored out of sight.

Huge Decks - There are two very large covered decks that span the entire front of our house. You can get a glimpse of the Gulf from the first floor and have an amazing view of the Gulf from the second floor. Both are accessible from the living spaces and the two master bedrooms.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were fortunate to be able to spend the entire month of February at beautiful Good Fortune, Cape San Blas (retired 60 yo couple and 5 year old granddaughter). This house was our home away from home like no other rental we've experienced. Pack your clothes and pick up a few groceries in Port St. Joe. That's all you'll need. Once you are there, you will not want to leave. It's paradise!

We loved everything about this house, the floor plan, the architecture, and the vintage touches in decorating.

We took advantage of the well equipped kitchen for practically every meal, especially evenings, because we didn't want to miss a single sunset from the covered porch or just a short walk to the beach.

Things we loved-waking up to bird serenades, dolphin watching, short walkway to the beach, relaxing on the porches and on the beach, sunsets, outdoor showers under the moon and stars, bonfires.

The owner, Carrie, was the perfect hostess from rental until we closed the door and walked away with fond memories looking forward to our next visit.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 20


Port St. Joe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2660 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared by Bunk Room and King Bedroom
    Master Suite 1 Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Master Suite 2 Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , External door to 2nd story outdoor shower
    Second Floor 1/2 Bath - toilet
    Large Outdoor Shower - shower , Perfect for showering as you come off the beach.
    Third Floor Outdoor Shower Off Master - shower , One of a kind on the Cape!
  • The Master Suite 2 has a private outdoor shower that is accessed through an exterior door.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed , On the 1st floor and has 2 built-in bunks (4 beds)
    King Bedroom with Gulf View - 1 king , On the 1st floor of the house.
    Master Suite 2 with Gulf View and Deck Access - 1 king , On the 2nd floor of the house.
    Master Suite 1 with Gulf View and Deck Access - 1 king , On the 1st floor of the house.
  • All bedrooms (except the Bunk Room) have smart TVs that can access Netflix, Amazon Prime, and Hulu. We also have 2 small cots for kids ages 2-7 (up to 75 lbs) for those guests that may be too big for a pack and play but too small for the bunk room.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • festivals
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
The beach closet comes stocked with 8 very nice beach chairs, various size boogie boards and lots of toys (buckets, shovels, etc.) There is a large outdoor shower on the ground level that makes it so easy to shower off and head into the house clean and refreshed.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
New 1st Tier Home with Old Florida Charm, 2 Masters, 3 King Beds, Bunk Room
average rating of 5.0 based on 48 reviews

Perfect Place for Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

We were searching for the perfect place for our first family vacation with our 2 grown children and their families all under one roof. When we found the Good Fortune listing, we knew we had found the perfect place! 3 large bedrooms with king sized beds and their own bathrooms go a long way in maintaining family harmony! And the bunk beds were a hit with the 2 and 5 year old grandsons. Carrie has thought of everything needed for little ones; from the pack and play and highchair for our 7 month old granddaughter to the drawer full of kids plastic dishes. The beach chairs and toys were also great.

My husband and I enjoyed our bedroom located on the main living area, but our favorite feature was the outdoor shower! We never even used the indoor shower and my hubby is desperately trying to figure out how we can add one on our home without the HOA finding out!

Good Fortune is such a beautiful, spacious home and has everything you will need for a special vacation. Carrie is so attentive to all your needs and a pleasure to work with. Thanks for sharing your special home with our family!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lynn, I am so happy that Good Fortune was perfect for your family gathering. Yes, that outdoor shower is pretty fantastic. It was meant to be the "mommy only" shower but somehow when our family is there everyone uses it. :) Good luck with the HOA…maybe just build one and invite the president of the HOA over to try it out. I bet he/she will go home, approve yours and build one at their house too. :) Thanks again. We hope to have your family as our guests in the future. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic for family vacations!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year in a row staying at Good Fortune and it did not disappoint! As always, the house was emaculate. Carrie makes sure her guests arrive to a clean, organized house perfect for guests of all ages. Won't be surprised if we book there again next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kacie, I am ecstatic that you and your family had another great stay at Good Fortune. It is very important to me that when a family visits Good Fortune for a second (or third) time the house is the same as when they left. I am happy you found it such during your trip. We would be thrilled if you chose to stay with us again in 2017. Thanks again. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canal Winchester, OH

Fantastic House!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything we were told it was! The house is near the beach, has stunning sunset views and the family loved it all week. Will definitely book again when travelling to the Cape.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike and Jan, I am so happy that your family had a fantastic stay at Good Fortune. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Fortune indeed!!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were blessed to have the opportunity to have our intimate wedding and family vacation at Good Fortune!

Carrie was incredibly accommodating, supportive, and thoughtful throughout the process. She was and has been consistently available and able to assist with any needs that we had during our time in Cape San Blas.

The house is absolutely beautiful. It is actually even more lovely in person than the very accurate pictures depict! We had our small wedding on a Sunday afternoon, and the setting could not have been better! The boardwalk and beautiful open beach area is just in front of the house, easily accessible, and the pool was perfect for the kiddos. The open concept kitchen and dining areas are great for family dinners and socializing. (We love to cook in while at the beach, and the kitchen is fully equipped!) We especially enjoyed having two balcony/outdoor sitting areas, perfect for a glass of wine with a sunset view.

As our family stayed throughout the week, the space was just perfect! Having two sitting areas with rooms spread out made for a very comfortable vacation. The house is truly as depicted, with a beautiful coastal, rustic, and contemporary feel. It is lovely, comfortable, and very welcoming.

Thank you Carrie! Everything was just perfect! We could not have picked a better location for our special day and family vacation. Truly thankful...and fortunate!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amanda, Thank you so much for your sweet words about our home. We are so happy that you had a beautiful weekend for your wedding. We feel fortunate too that you found Good Fortune. Best wishes for much love and happiness. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Truly Amazing!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Cannot say enough good things about our stay at Good Fortune! We have been coming to Cape San Blas for 4 years now and this is by far the best house we have stayed in. From the location on the Cape, to the convenience to the beach to the beautiful decor, we had an amazing experience. With 2 small children and loads of baby beach gear, it was so easy just walking up the private boardwalk with everything. Walking back and forth to the house wasn't an inconvenience because it was so close. The pool was directly across the street and we were always the only people there. The setup of the house was perfect for our group and there was plenty of room for us to hang out in the living room. The balconies are large with perfect views. We enjoyed watching the sunset every night without having to leave the house. The kitchen had everything you would need and it was so nice that there was already a highchair and booster seat for the kids. Carrie was so wonderful and accommodating and such a pleasure to plan with. We can't wait to stay here again next year! Thank you for putting so much thought into making your guests feel so at home!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: August, Thank you for your kind words about our home. I am so happy that you and your family had an amazing time. I am thrilled that you found the house so easy and comfortable to be in. We look forward to hosting you again in summer 2017. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great way to spend the winter!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at "Good Fortune" from January through March of 2016. That turned out to be our good fortune! I can temporarily tease Carrie that we have stayed in her beautiful home longer than her and her husband Will have. We have rented accommodations through VRBO many,many,times and overall have had very good experiences. That being said, this is without a doubt the nicest property we have ever rented. This home is appointed so well it is almost unbelievable. Carrie has thought of virtually every detail of things you may need to make your stay enjoyable for you, your kids, your grand kids, all the way down to your dogs.. The colors and decor of this house are beautiful and the theme she has used for the decorating is so well thought out. The beds,bedding,pillows,towels are all of high quality and extremely comfortable. The view from the deck is beautiful and the sunsets directly off the deck are spectacular. It made the adult beverages,of which there were many, taste even better! If a question ever came up about anything I would email Carrie and she would respond almost immediately. Every so often she would send an email or maybe even give us a call to see if we had everything we needed and to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Customer service at it's finest.Everything about "good Fortune is first class! If you are considering renting this home, be assured you can put any concerns you may have to rest. I guarantee you that you will enjoy your stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg, Thank you so very much for your thoughtful feedback and comments about our home. We really enjoyed getting to know you over the past few months and and are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Good Fortune. Having my guests feel "taken care of" is very important to me and I am happy that you felt that way during your stay. It was a pleasure having your as our guests. Carrie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Indian Pass Raw Bar
"The Raw Bar is something you just have to experience to really understand. When you go in, ..."
Up the Creek Raw Bar
"Up the Creek is one of our favorite places to eat and enjoy a drink on the beautiful deck ov..."
Happy Ours Kayak & Bike Outpost
"Happy Ours is the place to rent kayaks and bikes to use to explore the Cape. They also provi..."
Cape Trading Post
"If they don't have it, you don't need it. The Trading Post is the best place to pick up thos..."
Boat Launch St. Vincents Island
"Exploring St. Vincent’s Island Accessible only by boat, St. Vincent’s Island is an undevelop..."
"Apalachicola is the oyster capital of the world. Remnants of its colorful and diverse past r..."
The Tin Shed
"This is the coolest place for nautical items. Some things are old. Some things are new but ..."
T.H. Stone Memorial St. Joseph Peninsula State Park
"This is one the most amazing places we have visited. There are so many things to do over the..."
Cone Heads
"We love going to Cone Heads. It is close enough to Good Fortune that the older kids can bike..."
Weber's Little Donut Shop
"Located right next to the Cape Trading Post. Very early every morning Mr. and Mrs. Weber g..."
Killer Seafood
"Killer Seafood is a bit of a drive but the food is super and the atmosphere is really fun. ..."
Liquid Addiction Charters
"Capt. Taft Taunton is retired Navy, USCG licensed and insured, and grew up fishing these wat..."
Scallop Cove
"More than just a gas station, Scallop Cove has a small convenience store as well as a super ..."
The Loggerhead Run Bike Path
"The Loggerhead Run Bike Path is an eight-mile trail on the Cape that runs the length from St..."
Florida Grill
"Home of the “World’s Largest Fish Sandwich”…not sure if that is actually true but it is real..."
Owl Cafe
"In the heart of downtown Apalachicola, the Owl Cafe offers a River City dining experience li..."
Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza
"We have tried to eat here on several occasions but have been unsuccessful because every time..."
"Our “go to” restaurant when we are craving margaritas, chips and salsa and cheese dip. "
St Joe Shrimp Co
"This is where we go to buy fresh seafood."
Panama City Beach
"Only rated a "1" because it is hard to rate the entire place. If you need a little action or..."
"The City of Wewahitchka is located in the Florida Panhandle, in northern Gulf County. With a..."
Sacred Heart Hospital on the Gulf
"Hopefully you won't have to visit here but just in case it's good to know where it is located. "
St. Joseph Bay State Buffer Preserve
"These publicly owned preserve lands protect the aquatic resources of St. Joseph Bay Aquatic ..."
Seahorse Water Safaris
"Whatever your needs……rental boat, ecotour, fishing, shelling,…..let Seahorse Water Safaris h..."
Cape San Blas Lighthouse
"The light house has been moved off the Cape to Port St. Joe. Be sure to check the hours bef..."
Brokeatoe Horseback Riding on the Beach
"Who doesn't enjoying riding on the beach!"
Nearest Airport
77 Miles
Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
St. Joseph's Bay Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Cone Heads
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $160 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $275 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

It will be required that all potential guests sign the owner's Vacation Rental Agreement and Pet Addendum (if applicable) prior to the reservation being fully accepted by the owner.

The payment terms and cancelation policy for Beach Camp are different then the standard ones the owner is required to select on the VRBO platform. The terms of the Beach Camp Rental Agreement supersede standard VRBO imposed policies.

A $1000 reservation deposit is due upon booking. This holds your reservation. Full amount of rental payment is due 90 days from check in. Once balance is paid in full, the $1000 reservation deposit converts to a fully refundable damage deposit. This deposit will be paid back to guest upon check out assuming that there is no damage to the home.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties