check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richard

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Avail Aug 21-Sept 3!!! Close to Redwoods & Beaches STUNNING VIEWS

57 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

McKinleyville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

WHERE THE MAD RIVER MEETS THE PACIFIC SURF: The Whale's Tale Cabin is a cozy bungalow style cottage sitting on the bluff overlooking the mouth of the Mad River as it meets the crashing breakers of the Pacific Ocean. From the western rooms and deck visitors can enjoy whale watching, viewing the myriad of wildlife on the Mad River, and just relax, taking in all the beauty that nature has to offer.

The Whales Tale Cabin is a home built in the 1960's situated in an eclectic neighborhood of million dollar view homes mixed with modest residences in the small community of McKinleyville just a few short miles north of Arcata off of Highway 101. To maintain the cozy mood of a cabin we have maintained the rustic feel of that time period while presenting an impeccably clean and comfortable ambiance with simple furnishings. There is also free WiFi to keep you connected with the 21st Century.

The quiet and secluded cabin is near downtown Mckinleyville, with a full service cinema, restaurants, and shops. The picturesque fishing village of Trinidad with its famous lighthouse is just ten minutes to the north. Parents and visitors to Humboldt State University are only 10 minutes from the campus. Nearby are gorgeous beaches, Patrick's Point State Park, Redwoods, hiking trails, and the artsy old-style lumber town of Arcata is just 10 minutes south. The Whale's Tale provides an exquisitely serene, relaxing, and private break from the usual mad rush of our hectic lifestyles. Call or E-mail for information.

Keywords: House, Cabin, Cottage, Bungalow, Ocean View, Retreat, River, Ocean Front, Hot tub, river front, waterfront

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Richard (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Richard

We grew up in Arcata and Blue Lake and love the ocean, beaches, and Redwoods of Humboldt County. Among the owners are a chiropractor, and a school administrator, an orthodontist, and a retired school psychologist. We all have grandchildren, but remember, 60 is the new 40 (or something like that).

Richard purchased this house in 2005

Why Richard chose North Coast California

The views are fabulous and the river amazingly alive with wildlife

What makes this house unique

Incredibly Private, Serene, Relaxing, I think the best views within miles, Comfortable, Convenient Location far enough away and yet close enough to conveniences.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Before the whole glow faded, I wanted to write and tell you how very much we enjoyed our time at Whales Tale. I wished we had another day or two there. What an amazing view! And such a lovely, comfortable house. The weather was absolutely perfect, raining one night and clear and bright during the days. We woke yesterday morning to a double rainbow over the dunes. Thank you so much for allowing us bring our dog along and for sharing your cabin. You are a lucky man to own that place. I think I'd never leave if I did!

All best wishes, Joanne
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.9
based on 57 traveler reviews

Avail Aug 21-Sept 3!!! Close to Redwoods & Beaches STUNNING VIEWS
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 64 reviews
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Whales Tale cabin and only wish it had been available for more days during our visit. The cabin has everything you need for a restful stay. The views from the deck are stunning and so peaceful. Richard was wonderful to work with and very helpful. It is a great location away from everything for quietness but still close enough to get to restaurants, state parks, and beach. Don't miss Prairie Creek State Park if you visit. We spent most of our free time there enjoying watching the elk herds and hiking. The house was clean and spacious. Highly recommend a stay here and we will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very wonderful home

  • 5 of 5

This is truly a home away from home. The views were so outstanding. The home is close to the Hammond Trail for daily exercise, and the house was very clean. We so enjoyed are stay and really enjoyed visiting the Arcata Community Forest, just a short drive on the 101.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morrison, CO
5

Beautiful and restful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed there for 4 days. My only complaint is that I wish we had booked a longer stay. The views from the house, the sound of the ocean, and watching the sunset where highlights. The home is well cared for and it felt like we were guests at a well loved home. Everything we needed to cook was there as well as movies and books. The location is very quiet but convenient to Arcata and Eureka.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent location and views

  • 5 of 5

The home owner is very accommodating and responsive. The cottage is an ideal location to Arcata and yet far enough away from the University to offer peace and quiet. The views of the Mad River and ocean beyond are astounding. Natural light abounds throughout the cottage and the beds are super comfy. This home comes with everything one needs. The Hammond Trail is close by, and offers access to nearby beaches and County parks. The hot tub is an added bonus and wonderful to enjoy while watching the incredible sunsets. I definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

VERY RESPONSIVE AND HELPFUL HOST

  • 5 of 5

Richard went out of his way to make booking easy, and to make sure all the details of our reservation were in order. Very responsive and helpful.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent home base for exploring and experiencing ocean and redwoods

  • 5 of 5

We vacation along the California coast 2-3 x a year. We enjoy the Humbolt region: redwood hiking, dog friendly beaches, kayaking, wonderful opportunities for nature photography and plein air painting, bicycling along the coast and several good restaurants. We found the Whales Tale perfect for us: river and ocean and wildlife views from the expansive dining room windows, a clean-casual homey environment, many windows allowing natural sunlight, easy access to the freeway to travel throughout the area, a quiet neighborhood, nice spacious backyard and front yard, nice hot tub w view toward the ocean. It's nice, too, to have an enclosed garage available. Property manager was immediately available to answer a few questions.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We have tried to make the Whales Tale Cabin very clean, comfortable, and what we would want for a vacation stay. We hope to see you again. I wish I could spend more time there. Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Arcata Airport
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Mad river Beach and Clam Beach

kayaking and canoeing on the Mad River--The famous Hammond Trail is just steps from The Cabin

Photos

Rates & Availability

McKinleyville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thankgiving
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 28 2016
5 night minimum stay
$265
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 14 2016 - Jan 2 2017
6 night minimum stay
$275
$1,785
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
HSU Graduation
May 9 2017 - May 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$245
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Please call for special rates, last minute discounts. Standard rate represents an average. Rates are lower sometimes midweek and low season, and higher on Holidays and week-ends, and high season. Rates also vary by number of people. For example, a low season rate for 2 midweek might be $185 per night and a high season rate in July or August, Christmas, etc. might be $285 t0 $345 for 6. Pet fee is for one dog. 2nd dog fee is additional $35 to 95 depending on length of stay. Additional deposit of $200 for pets. We can negotiate rate for full house and longer stays. Call to discuss 707-373-2647. Regards, Richard

Master Card, Visa or by check must clear 30 days prior to arrival, 30 to 60 day cancellation policy

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McKinleyville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) high quality, very comfortable, Queen size Beds (1) high quality, very comfortable, Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties