Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heavenly Hana Tropical Oasis

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom / 1 Bath With Lanai And Ocean Views, Sleeps Up To 6 People

Located in the heart of Hana, come enjoy our family home that we have owned for over 25 years. Come experience the Aloha of Hana , and the lasting memories it will impart on you.

Relax in paradise and a bit of ancient Hawaii.

Wake up to birds singing and a beautiful Hana sunrise from your king size bed, or from your spacious lanai. Fall asleep to the gentle sounds of waves from Waikaloa Bay.

The furnishings are casual, comfortable, with a Hawaiiana feel.

Well maintained grounds with large yard gives you an opportunity to just relax and enjoy the quiet of Hana. Conveniently located close to Hana Bay, the famous Fagans cross, Travaasa Hana Hotel, and world famous Hasegawa’s and the Hana Ranch market. Hana has so much to offer and we are here to make your time most enjoyable, whether its directions to that beautiful waterfall, gorgeous beach, or simply a massage at the end of your day by a licensed massage therapist.

Relax, and enjoy our hospitality .

2 bedrooms, one king bed ,one queen bed, and a fold out sofa sleeper.We have a fully equipped kitchen,washer/dryer,and outdoor shower.Other amenities include 40 inch flat screen TV with Direct TV, blue ray DVD player,WiFi, gas BBQ, wrap around lanai with ocean views, yard/garden area, beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, and stand up paddle boards.

More Details

Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018

About Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows

Jim Meadows and Joni Meadows are brother and sister who grew up in San Clemente, Ca. I moved to Maui in 1987 and the family came to visit a year later. While on vacation the family spent time in Hana and fell in love with it. Shortly after vacation our Mother Jackie as well as my brothers all moved to Maui. We bought property in Kihei as well as Hana. Mom lived out the rest of her life in Hana, and we got to enjoy the family property over the years. Now, Jim and I are managing the property and I live here in Hana full time. We are blessed to call this our home and look forward to sharing this wonderful part of Maui with many.

Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows purchased this house in 1988

Why Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows chose Hāna

This was always our 'getaway' from the other side of the island, and to spend time with our Mom. A beautiful property with a stunning ocean view and the quiet serenity that Hana always has. A family home with a lot of love. For those that want an extended vacation or need to be in Hana for work related business this property is perfect for you.

What makes this house unique

This property is know around town as the house with the bridge! It sits on a half acre full of tropical flowers, fruits, and singing birds. Across the street is the Hana ranch and we see cows grazing and pheasants nesting. A huge banyan tree across the street shades the driveway as you pull into the property.


Hāna House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , outdoor shower, indoor shower hot and cold
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , queen bed with sunrise view
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master bedroom has ocean/sunrise view
  • master bedroom has king bed, sitting area,and ocean view, . 2nd bedroom queen bed with sunrise view.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(102 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
24% Complete
3% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Heavenly Hana Tropical Oasis
average rating of 4.529412 based on 102 reviews

Aloha! We found the BEST place in Hana, HI! Stop looking, this is HOME!

  • 5 of 5

Aloha! Where do I begin... WOW! So, you officially made the crazy drive up the Hana Highway! Unlike any part of Hawaii you may have experienced, this is the most honest, most pure, and un-touched of Maui. There are local huts selling fruit, smoked meats, and other amazing local fare in this most perfect piece of paradise.

Let me tell you about this home. The view is stunning with most of the windows facing the turquoise ocean waves that will romance you in the evening and ease you into a beautiful sunrise. There is a full deck facing the ocean with a lovely breakfast (or dinner) table outside where you want to be! There are roaming wild chickens to add to the charm and wake you in the morning. Thank you roosters for waking us up! You seriously don't want to miss anything in this town.

I could write a novel about this property and this town, but I will try my best to get back to the point here. My husband and I got married in Lahaina, HI, then traveled to Hana to this beautiful home to spend our last few days. We will never forget this place and I know you won't either. All comforts of home and more are here to make your stay so easy and just... full of love. Book this place!

Mahalo with Aloha,

Chris and Susanna Fry

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Thank You for that lovely review. We take pride in making this your "home away from home" with all the cozy comforts. Hana has such a special charm and is definitely a must see. Mahalo for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time during our stay in Hana. Joni was wonderful and the house was everything we could ask for. Great location, great views, and a lovely host.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ok rental,but needs updates.

  • 2 of 5

Our first impression was not so good. The driveway is steep and difficult to get in and out of. The kitchen has nice appliances but the cabinets are in need of some cleanup and repair. The beds were comfortable but the dogs barking and jumping on the floor above us at 1:30 am resulted in a poor nights sleep. Also there is no inside dining table,just a bar style eating area for 3 people. On the plus side the use of a cooler, beach chairs,boogie boards, and ping pong table were appreciated.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your feedback. I apologize for the noise above your room. Unfortunately we do live in a neighborhood with dogs and cats and occasionally my dogs are aware of strays roaming the neighborhood and are on alert. This does happen on rare occasions and I try to control it a best as possible. I am very clear that I do live upstairs with dogs and if you are looking for complete peace and quiet this may not be the place for you. As far as the driveway goes we are making some improvements on it this coming month so that issue will be addressed. We can't fix the steepness but will be widening the entrance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Host, Very Spacious, Great ocean views!

  • 4 of 5

Perfect location for our small family-2.5 yr old could walk to skate/soccer park 3 min away. 5 min drive to everything in Hana town (or easily walkable). Joni was a warm, kind host getting us first aid supplies when my husband cut his foot on rocky beach and even loaning us a rain jacket and always responded immediately to any questions we had. These types of small kindnesses are what makes us love VRBO stays! The space is very large with plenty of sleeping options and a great kitchen for cooking, and the super comfy king bed with ocean views and breezes is wonderful! Minor suggestions would be around a few no big deal maintenance repairs (fixing the broken lattice on deck for safety, fixing the front door that drags). I would definetely recommend staying at Joni's to our friends and family! p.s. For those that made comments in reviews about the dogs they were no problem for us-we did hear them barking some but it was only during the day time. Yes there are also roosters/chickens all over Hana town but I don't agree with the reveiws about those--why come to Hana if you don't want the wonderful country experience?! We loved it!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kristin, It was lovely meeting you and your Family! So glad you had a great time and thank you for your review! We are always trying to make improvements and will definitely make those repairs you mentioned as we will be having a crew come out next month for flooring improvements! Yes, Hana is country living and that is why it is so special here. Hope to see you again. Aloha, Joni
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay in Hana

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying here, and as usual it was wonderful! We stayed for a week and enjoyed all the sights around the area which is easy to do from the great location of this home. And Joni was a fantastic hostess, couldn't ask for more.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review! It is always nice to see familiar faces return to enjoy our home. We are continuing to make improvements and hope to see you again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

comfortable, cozy, but....

  • 2 of 5

Kitchen, bed, shower's water pressure, hot water and big towels were great, but the upstairs dog running across our ceiling and barking at 2:00AM did it for me. We won't be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, so sorry you did not have a great experience here. We are very honest about this being a property below a main house. Typically our dogs do not bark or run around in the middle of the night but in does happen on a rare occasion. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 14.18%

Please be honest when booking in regards to how many people will be staying. We like to provide enough linen and towels for our guests and we do charge an extra $25 per person per night for parties over 4. we do live on property so we will know how many people are in your party

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties