Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Janette Meppen

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Modern Amenities! Hot Tub! Kayaks/Paddle Boards/Sail Boat/Row Boat Provided!!

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more


Lake Champlain Valley Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom with Incredible Views of Lake Champlain and Burlington VT

Enjoy this newly renovated lake front bungalow located in Port Douglas NY and close to Schuyler Island.

This home includes modern features such as Stainless Steel Appliances, Granite Countertops, USB outlet in kitchen, alarm clocks in bedrooms with Intregal I Phone chargers, Hotel quality shower surrounds, Wetbar with Convenience Refrigerator, (2) flat screen TVs and DVD players along with a Collection of DVD's and much much more. One of our favorite ammenitites is our Stereo Receiver with (2) in ceiling speakers that projects more than ample sound thruought the entire house. Stereo receiver is equipped with an I Phone/Pad Dock allowing you to play your favorite variety of music. We also have a collection of CD's for your enjoyment.

Enjoy all that lake champlain has to offer by staying at this property!! This property is equipped with (2) kayaks, (2) Stand up Paddle Boards. Enjoy paddling over to nearby 123 acre Schuyler Island and explore the beauty of this Vacant Island.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janette Meppen (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Janette Meppen

We are excited to be able to share our recently renovated home with vacationers. This is our 2nd rental property to be offered through VRBO and we take pride in being your host!!

Janette Meppen purchased this bungalow in 2013

Why Janette Meppen chose Lake Champlain Valley

We have close family in the Adirondacks. Our permanant resdence is 3 hours from our close family members. Our frequent travel 'Back Home' warranted the purchase of this home. We knew that we had to have the best views in the nicest area of the Adirondacks so we chose this home!!

What makes this bungalow unique

Enjoy the modern ammentities of this home, kayaks, paddle boards hot tub and much more!!


based on 6 traveler reviews

Modern Amenities! Hot Tub! Kayaks/Paddle Boards/Sail Boat/Row Boat Provided!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home , in a great area with tons of activities for us and the kids.

We highly recommend going to this property

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Peacefull and Restfull Heaven by the lake

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at the house with our daughter her husband and our teenage grand Children. The house is very nice and well decorated. We had a wonderful time just enjoying a cottage by the lake, relaxing, some kayaking, Stand up paddle board , fishing and ending the evening in the hot tub. On Thursday we approach the neighbour who as a boat with a water board. My granddaughter of 17 wanted to try out the water board and for a small fee the neighbour gave a lesson and she successfully went water boarding.

I want to thank the owner Jeannette for renting us there house by the lake and I would highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for quiet and peaceful surrounding by the lake.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Best of Lake Champlain!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first foray into the Adirondacks and I feel fortunate we selected this property as our temporary home base. It is well situated to offer a range of activities to take in during your stay. For the urban needs, you are a short drive and ferry ride from bustling Burlington, VT. For the adventurous outdoorsy inclined, its an even shorter drive to hike Poke-O-Moonshine mountain to its summit. There are several other nearby attractions that you should take in; the Ausable Brewery, Clover Mead Cafe, and Ausable Chasm were all enjoyable.

Even if you went nowhere, you will still enjoy the onsite activities this property has to offer. The 100' of waterfront offered fun for us, our dogs, and our teenagers. You owe it to yourself to wake early enough to see at least one sunrise over the lake. Our Jack Russell terriers greatly enjoyed the constant antics of the local chipmunk and squirrel population [during daylight hours, that is]. We made good use of the kayaks, paddleboards, and tubes on several days. Our kids completed the "Schuyler Island Challenge" as we called it, a 3 mile one way kayak trip to the island looming off shore. The inviting fire ring demanded several nighttime fires for s'mores making and family bonding and we were happy to comply. Be prepared to take in the loon and haunting whippoorwill calls as sun sets. The railway rumblings were inconsequential, by the way.

As our stay was early in the season the lake was quite cold [56 degrees]. This was more than offset by the 100 degree water in the bubbling hot tub right outside the lower level. The hot tub was also very welcome to soothe tired muscles after hiking local mountains and chasms.

The house itself is quite nice. The pictures don't lie, particularly on the inside [the outside has been painted uniformly since the pictures posted]. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed, and the kitchen adequately equipped. The lack of cable was welcome and hardly noticed. There is a large collection of DVD's available if you are so inclined. The wifi connection was strong and uninterrupted , a must for our teenagers. There are a few facets about our stay that would have been helpful to know in advance. The water apparently is not potable, so prepare to bring your own drinking water. The laundry appliances are coin-operated so bring plenty of quarters. The few hiccups we experienced were readily addressed by the owner in a timely fashion.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Jersey

Nice house on the lake

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this house for our winter break. We were pleasantly surprised and how nice this house really was. It does look exactly like the photographs. It was nice too this time of year we basically had the neighborhood to ourselves. THe hot tub outside definately made our trip. The house was clean and very nicely renovated. We wish would we have known about the train that's basically in the backyard that comes by at all hours of the night because that was a little noisey. There is no cable at all in the house which we knew about so we brought a playstation for netflix and things like that unfortunately the wifi does come in and out because of where the house is but, the owners have a stock pile of movies to watch and a really good selection as well. They did allow us to bring our 2 dogs with us which is always nice to be able to bring them with us and our dogs loved all the hills and the beachfront to run around. We were very pleased over all at our stay and would love to return during the summer months to be able to compare the different seasons.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We came up to check the spotty internet connection and had the same trouble but never have in the past so we are going to get it looked at. Sorry you had trouble with that during your stay. We hope you can try to make a trip to enjoy all that summer offers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haddonfield, NJ

Wonderful Stay at a Beautiful Lakeside Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful 4 night stay this fall. The house is as beautiful, if not more so, than the pictures on the site. The house is tasteful, the view is amazing (especially across the lake to Vermont and the gorgeous Green Mountains), and the amenities make the trip extra special. Just a quick note, the house is located on the edge of the Adirondack Mountains and Lake Champlain, so there are understandably many steps, (there are 3 flights of steps down to the house, and another set of steps down to the beach). The house has 3 bedrooms, two of which are comfortably sized, and the Master, which is quite large. The master is downstairs, and also has a wet bar and nice sized couch. Upstairs there is a great lounge chair and comfortable couch with a nice sized flatscreen tv. (Note: There is no cable tv, but the owners went out of their way to provide us with a digital antenna once they found out that we were looking forward to watching a specific football game. They didn't have to do that, but did it anyway, and it was so appreciated). We spent the weekend kayaking with the provided kayaks, having bonfires on the beach, soaking in the hot tub while soaking in the view, and taking in the local sites. We would highly recommend you visit the Ausable Chasm and Rulfs Orchard. We had such a peaceful and relaxing weekend, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys beautiful crystal clear lakes, views, and peace and quiet.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time by the lake. The house didn't disappoint, it has been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, the beds are super comfortable, the view is stunning, the onsight toys gave us hours of fun ... It truly over delivered!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Plattsburgh International
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Harmony Clubhouse
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Port Kent Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Harmony Golf Course
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Port Kent Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I 87- Northway
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Harmony Clubhouse
Nearest Ski
39 Miles
Whiteface Mountain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Port Douglass Beach
Car: necessary

Ausable Chasm


Rates & Availability

Keeseville Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 27 2016 - Sep 5 2016
7 night minimum stay
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Linen Fee (optional) $75
Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $200

Regitration forms must be signed upon booking.
Pet fee is per pet with 2 pets maximum. No dog breeds with the ability of reaching 40lbs are permitted. Guest must also clean any and all dog hair
NOVEMBER THRU APRIL NOTE: Due to slope of driveway winter guest must park at top of driveway and walk down driveway slope and stairs in order to enter residence. Guest responsible for maintaining path.

Administrative cancelation fee applies to refunds if unable to keep reservation and advance notice is given cancelations withing 14 days do not receive refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lake Champlain Valley Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Full Bath with Modern Fixtures
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Full Bath With Modern FIxtures
  • 2 Full Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Mooring Buoy included if you wish to bring your own boat!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote