check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

John G. Leggett

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, italian

FALL $EA$ON $PECIAL! 3rd Nite 1/2 off weekend Fall Foliage rate! Book early!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

West Jefferson Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Situated 700 yds. off Blue Ridge Parkway, easy access to Boone, West Jefferson

Open the front door to a custom built real log cabin situated at 3250' elevation and only 700 yds to the Blue Ridge Parkway at Mile Post 268! You will immediately know you made the right choice beginning with the warm and comfortable high end furniture and accessories, a complimentary wine, fruit and cheese basket, and the perfect room layout for one or two adult couples. Choose either spacious, fully appointed bedroom - the loft with the comfy Queen, or the downstairs Master with just as comfortable king bedding and custom quilts. Both offer full and large bathrooms with windows in each, and overhead fan heaters for the ever so often morning chills. Parkway BellaVista is meticulously maintained amid peaceful mountain surroundings. Rock away on the large covered front porch to the many different birds and the natural stream whose relaxing flow is always in the surrounding natural sounds. The newly enlarged back deck that ties seamlessly into the front porch covered front porch is where you can enjoy eating on the open back deck or move to the covered porch and enjoy the view and the sounds of the stream directly across the street. Lunch or enjoy a gas grilled meal outside at the wrought iron and umbrella' furniture or dine inside with vaulted ceilings, exposed beams, a 42" HDTV with custom sound bar fronting a massive stone fireplace and mantel housing gas logs. With a total of 3 HDTV's, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor grill, Washer and Dryer, a gas logs stone fireplace, 2 very large bedrooms with private baths and custom window treatments on every window, the only missing element for the utmost stay is your anxious anticipation of feeling like you've arrived! Venture 700 yards up from the driveway to access the Blue Ridge Parkway, and drive one of the most breathtaking casual north to West Jefferson and Glendale Springs, or south to Boone and Blowing Rock. You can actually walk to the Parkway, bike, hike, or drive in either direction to take in the views, overlooks, waterfalls, picnic areas and trails. Kayak, canoe, or just enjoy the South Fork River only a few miles away. After a full day, relax to the scenic surroundings, wildlife, and bustling creek sounds yards away from the front porch. After a day of biking, hiking, or shopping locally, enjoy the outside porch and deck amenities as you grill your favorite meal, and appreciate the cool, crisp, clean mountain air. You'll have unlimited hot water, spacious full bathrooms (with windows and privacy shades), and comfortable beds and bedding. Downstairs BR is a king, the large and stately open loft BR is a queen with sky light just overhead. This cabin is only 7 years 'young' and we have truly attempted to pay very close attention to every detail. Bring your bike, kayaks, and energy to the Blue Ridge. It's simply awesome! If you are looking for noise, traffic, hard to manage dirt roads to a cabin in the woods with no view, then this is not for you! We offer that absolute opposite, and when you open the door to Parkway 'Bella Vista', you will simply say 'Yes'! Try it once; you will most likely come again! Note: Quote includes nightly rate PLUS cleaning, taxes, propane, and Refundable Key/Excess Cleaning deposit for 1 couple. Surcharge for extra people up to a total of 4. NO PETS- NO EXCEPTIONS! NO SMOKING INSIDE THE CABIN, including NO E-CIGS!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
John G. Leggett (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, italian

About John G. Leggett

Graduate of UNC-CH. Naval Aviator, licensed Real Estate Broker and Developer, Commercial airline pilot. Two great sons, with wonderful wives and four beautiful grandchildren!

John G. Leggett purchased this cabin in 2014

Why John G. Leggett chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

Elevation, proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway, scenic drive to/from any direction. Searched the area for almost 3 years before finding Parkway 'Bella Vista'. It is simply just what I was looking for. Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway, close to Boone, Blowing Rock, and the up and coming 'artsy' downtown area of West Jefferson. Cool crisp nights, clean air, the sound of the roadside creek from the front porch while sipping morning coffee or evening wine. The quality of the construction was also a key factor and this cabin boasts quality and precision throughout. Spacious, lofty, roomy, bright, well ventilated, heated and cooled, and a great covered front porch to take in the sights and sounds of the mountain views. Easily accessible, yet with little or not traffic, and plenty of room to do your own thing.

What makes this cabin unique

No noise, no traffic, less summer heat, wildlife, surrounding mountain views, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and the local people.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)
FALL $EA$ON $PECIAL! 3rd Nite 1/2 off weekend Fall Foliage rate! Book early!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
5

Beautiful, comfortable and clean cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great cabin, in a great location with a wonderful and accommodating owner.

The owner responded very quickly after submitting our reservation request. He was very cordial and specific in his requirements, but the cabin showed his meticulous detail very well. It was very clean, organized and had all the comforts of home.

The location was great for getting away from everything, or travelling just 15-20 minutes to visit West Jefferson. Furthermore, with the cabin being only 1/2 mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway there is terrific access to scenic rides and hiking along the Parkway.

I would definitely recommend this location to someone looking to get away.

We will most definitely be considering this property when we travel to this area again.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very positive review for your recent stay at Parkway BellaVista. You have more than validated all the reasons that led me to purchasing this cabin and location. I always appreciate guests who recognize the efforts and emphasis we put into cleanliness, and comfort items. You are certainly more than welcome for a return visit. Pass the word - we like guests who leave happy and fully satisfied.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very nice cabin, but not worth dealing with the owner.

  • 3 of 5

This cabin is rare in that it is one of the cleanest, most well-maintained and nicely decorated properties we have ever rented. It is perfect for couples, as it is just the right size, and is located right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. If you love driving or hiking, it could not be more appropriately located. The reason we are only giving it three stars however, has nothing to do with the cabin and everything to do with the owner. From the beginning it was clear through his written and verbal communication that he is a "stickler" for rules and detail...not a problem in and of itself, and in fact, this quality is no doubt the reason his property is so nice. Unfortunately though, this came across as over bearing and too intense in his dealings with us. Upon checking out, we informed him that we accidentally cracked a refrigerator drawer. He was not upset by this, but strangely, he questioned us about whether or not we had allowed other people to stay at the cabin. He based this questioning off of the fact that his housekeeper thought we had used a lot of towels and dishes, and we also used the 2nd bedroom in the loft. After assuring him that we were the only ones there and explaining our usage of items to him, he stated that he had to weigh our word against that of his housekeeper's. I'm sorry, but when you rent a property, you rent the WHOLE thing, not just certain pieces of furniture, and how many towels or dishes (we left the dishes clean, by the way) you use should not be held against you. He said he had to pay an extra cleaning fee if both beds were used. This should not be a concern of mine as a renter...it's a cost of doing business, and if you want it covered then fold it into the cleaning fee, or hire a new cleaning service. We did not appreciate being treated like dishonest, destructive, abusive guests by getting the third degree upon checking out or being made to feel "guilty" over how many towels and dishes we had used. If you don't mind the owner's militant approach or being questioned about every little thing you use and do in his cabin, then this is a good rental for you. It completely tainted the experience for us however, and we will not be renting this cabin again because of it. How unfortunate, because it is a great cabin, and it would've been nice to revisit our honeymoon spot again someday. Dealing with the overbearing owner and worrying about every little step you take just isn't worth it.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to this owner's review I have to sum it up in one word - Wow! This is the caliber of guest we seek - very particular, appreciative of what the level of cleanliness, condition of furnishings and accessories, etc. Unfortunately, there will always be an occasion when the "perfect guest" may turn out to be something different. Like every homeowner who offers their personal investment to guests, there are property descriptions, check in and out instructions, and terms and conditions associated with every reservation. While I appreciate the positive comments offered by this guest, I can only refer any prospective party considering the Cabin to take the time to look at all of the many positive reviews. Somewhere in what appeared to be a very positive relationship, there was a turn in this guest's sentiments. We rely on the housekeeper to report on the condition of the Cabin upon Check-Out. A very short email questioning the no. of adults in the party turned into a very defensive and negative review. Your fully refundable deposit was promptly returned.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Top-Notch Cabin

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I spent Fall Break here & loved everything about the cabin. Everything was top-notch --it was spotless, beautifully decorated, close to West Jefferson, Boone & Blowing Rock & had any amenity we needed.

I would stay here again & recommend to anyone looking for a true-cabin getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Special thanks to special guests. Your review/comments are appreciated as we strive to make every stay a positive and memorable experience. We invite you to return to Parkway BellaVista and spread the word. John/Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Anniversary Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This place is beautiful! We've stayed at many cabins in the area but this is now our absolute favorite. We had a welcome gift, which we've never received anywhere, the place was so beautifully decorated and immaculate (I'm a clean freak so that's a lot if I say it)! I definitely recommend this place! We had a horrible experience with a big rental company so it was much nicer to deal with an individual. We will definitely be returning and sending all of our friends and family!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Parkway Bella Vista at the Blue Ridge Parkway

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was wonderful!! Will book again!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the cabin for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had such a great time at this very well appointed cabin. John pays such attention to every detail! The cabin is clean and well cared for. Everything you need is right there! If you are looking for a quiet, romantic get away, this is your place. Thank you for a great 25th, we will return.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
115 Miles
Charlotte
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Boone, West Jefferson, Blowing Rock
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Mountain Aire
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Blue Ridge Parkway - 500 yds.
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Various
Car: recommended

Blue Ridge Parkway one minute away. Walk, bike or drive it! Mile Post 268 is access and travel north or south to overlooks, walking trails, picnic areas, or drive to the South Fork of the New River and kayak, tube, or float at your liesure. 18 minutes to Boone, West Jefferson, 30 to Blowing Rock. Grandfather Mountain nearby as well. The MST along the Blue Ridge is easily accessible by walking up the hill from the Cabin in 10 minutes. Enjoy the new found art, crafts, and specialty stores in West Jefferson, eat at Shatley Springs for an incredible breakfast, lunch or dinner, or treat yourself to great restaurant choices in nearby Boone or Blowing Rock.

Photos

Rates & Availability

West Jefferson Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall Foliage
Sep 22 2016 - Nov 13 2016
2 night minimum stay
$170
From
$185
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,450
$2,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/NewYears
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
From
$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$155
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$1,175
$2,350
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning upon Check-Out $100
Propane charge/day $12
Refundable damage deposit $75
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates posted for ONE COUPLE. Add $40/nt. for 2 couples. Additional $35 for cleaning if more than one couple. MAXIMUM No.persons - 4. NOTE: If you book the cabin as one couple and it's obvious your party was more than 2, the Key/Excess Cleaning Deposit may be forfeited. Daily propane charge during winter months $15/day surcharge. Renters' Insurance required for all stays. Sorry, PETS NOT ALLOWED, no exceptions. SMOKING any substance is NOT PERMITTED inside the cabin. CHECK-IN, 4:00PM, Check-OUT, 11:00 AM. Additional Key/Excess Cleaning Deposit subject to normal cleaning/return of all sets of keys, and no. of adults in your party as evidenced at Check-Out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Jefferson Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1340 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Window, with shade and exhaust fan.
  • Bathroom down is a full bath with window and privacy shade. Walk in glass shower. Storage. Bathroom up is a full bath with combo tub/shower, window and privacy shade.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large room, with HDTV, radio, private bath with shower.
  • Downstairs BR is a King with large full bath. Lots of windows, private shades and window treatments. Large Master Closet, dresser/s, night stand and leather recliner with ottoman. HDTV, Wireless Upstairs private loft area is a Queen, with skylight. Lots of windows with full private bath. Huge walk-in closet. Dressers and night stand. HDTV, Wireless.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers