Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Oceanfront 2BR/2BA Townhouse with Pool and Tennis Courts

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 921 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful 2 BR / 2 BA oceanfront townhouse at Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Are you looking for a special place, with an unsurpassed oceanfront location and view? Look no further...You've found it all at Keauhou-Kona Surf and Racquet Club Townhouse #186!

Keauhou-Kona Surf and Racquet #186 exudes pride of ownership: Balinese and Hawaiian furnishings and art work grace every room, creating a home designed for comfort and relaxation!

In December 2012, the townhouse had a major renovation. The kitchen was remodeled removing walls to make a more open floor plan and installing new cabinets and counters. The laundry facilities were moved upstairs bathroom area, which opened the kitchen considerably. The upstairs bathroom was completely changed, all the plumbing moved and now has a large shower at the end of the room with a large window overlooking the ocean. The living room, kitchen, bathrooms and stairs have been tiled with travertine. We repainted the bedrooms in July 2014 and purchased a new sleeper sofa in February 2017 for added guest comfort.

Let the soft breeze and ocean waves lull you to sleep in the Makai (toward the ocean) Master Bedroom, furnished with a King bed and cable TV. The tropical Mauka (mountain side) bedroom has two twin beds (easily converted to a King with kit provided), and teak and bamboo furnishings.

Keeping to our motto 'Just Say No to Rugs,' this townhouse sports bamboo hardwood flooring in the bedrooms and tile throughout the ground floor.

From the ground floor Lanai you can watch Spinner Dolphins swim the coastline daily, whales breaching during their migration and incomparable sunsets with the ocean waves literally breaking in front of you. If you were staying anywhere closer you'd be swimming!

Located in the upscale Keauhou area this is a highly desirable, quiet, family-friendly and gated 14 acre garden community featuring 3 lighted tennis courts (tennis pro available), a swimming pool that was fully refurbished in October 2016 and nicely done community BBQ and picnic areas.

Walk to Kahalu’u Beach Park (ranked among the best snorkeling reefs in the Islands) and to the nearby Keauhou shopping center for shops, dining, cinema, groceries, local Farmer's market and free Hula and local community entertainment weekly. Excellent golfing is available at the adjacent Kona Country Club Ocean Golf Course or take the day off and watch the local surfers “shred” a few waves.

This is an excellent and safe walking area with many sights, open expanses of coastline and minimal automobile traffic. The area is great for strolling and rich in historical landmarks and heiau (temples), one of which is adjacent to the unit. This area was once the home of the Ali'i (Hawaiian chiefs) and the waters were once reserved for use only by royalty!

This is a wonderful retreat you are sure to enjoy!

We also have a condo that sleeps four at https://www.vrbo.com/1020417

Mahalo!

Hawaii Transient Accommodations Tax identification number: TA-051-900-6208-01

Hawaii General Excise Tax identification number: GE-051-900-6208-01

More Details

Amenities

Keauhou Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 921 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Washer & Dryer located in upstairs bathroom
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Sealy Posturpedic Pillowtop Cal King bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Two Twin / Single Beds Spacer kit provided to make into King
    Sofa/Futon in Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Direct Oceanfront 2BR/2BA Townhouse with Pool and Tennis Courts
average rating of 4.6349206 based on 66 reviews
Greater Boston Area
5

Beautiful views, convenient location, helpful owner!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 (2 parents, 3 young kids) had a wonderful time at this ocean view townhouse. The pool was right across the parking area from the townhouse so it was convenient to quickly walk over to enjoy the pool after dinner/before bed. You cannot beat their views of the ocean and waves crashing against the rocks (nothing to block our views of the ocean and waves). We saw pretty sunsets from this townhouse. The space was clean and decor was tasteful. It was cute that they decorated the twin beds for the kids with colorful sheets (cupcakes/lollipop design; colorful fish pillows). Two parking spots available if that is important to you otherwise it was a nice big double spot for one car.

We were also provided with everything we needed to have a great time at the beach and pool! They had snorkels, water shoes, sand toys, noodles and other blow-up toys, and beach chairs readily available in the closet so it made our time at the beach and pool so much more fun. There were plenty of beach towels as well.

Kitchen had equipment we needed to cook food and make coffee. You just have to buy your own food/coffee but the grocery store was only a few minutes drive from the townhouse - very convenient.

We are close to neighbors next door but we didn’t hear anyone while we slept – just the soothing waves crashing into the rocks at night. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and they had ceiling fans in the bedrooms. It was wonderful!

Edgar (the owner) has been extremely helpful and responsive to our emails. We quickly received confirmation that our security deposit was refunded the day after we checked out. We also forgot our wallet there but Edgar promptly contacted his cleaners who found it and then mailed it to us by priority mail at no charge and it arrived safely. Thank you Edgar for your high customer service and your wonderful townhouse!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you and your family had a great vacation and everything turned out well for your stay in Kona. We hope you have a chance to make it back again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Okay-ish

  • 3 of 5

Party of 4 all under the age of 39. The view, accessibility to a pool, beaches and grocery store very close by. Lots of great activities as well on site and around the area. Walking distance was easily achievable for the trolly and swimming activities in the ocean. Disappointed that we had to buy a lot of our own condiments like ketchup, mustard, mayo, pepper, salt etc. as other VRBO places we stayed at supplied or kept lot of it in the fridge/pantry from past visitors. The toilets don’t flush very well, beds could be updated (as there are lumps in the bed).

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful condo is exactly as expected. Comfortable, ocean front, beach close by, easy sleeping with the surf breaking on the lava to put you to sleep. Added plus - door front parking, grocery store nearby, close to Kona but away from the traffic and noise. Shared and semi private oceanfront patio. We did not use any other facilities but it was close to the pool (but no pool noise at night!). Would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Listen to those waves

  • 5 of 5

Mixed family group of four, nephews, nana and aunt, enjoyed our stay immensely. Made good use of the snorkel gear and the well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed the proximity to the beaches and the terrific local information provided ahead of our stay. Perfect for our first visit to the big island.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful View and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

You can't beat the view. We were able to see whales right off the lanai. The condo is conveniently located and has a great pool. It was perfect for our family of four.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Every bit as nice as the pictures seem! Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Our family of six plus an infant stayed in the condo comfortably and it was every bit as great as we hoped when we booked online. The snorkel and boogie board filled closet was such a bonus! There was enough gear for my four older children who are various ages. You can’t beat the view and location-oceanfront, pool front and close to shopping and beaches! Edgar was very accommodating and we feel lucky to have found this gem!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Edgar Mendez Chacon
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, german, Thai (spoken only)
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Edgar Mendez Chacon

We're Edgar and Jiraphon, an adventure-loving, world traveling couple. We fell in love with the island of Hawaii (also known as the Big Island) and enjoy the vibe of the island.

Edgar Mendez Chacon purchased this townhome in 2014

Why Edgar Mendez Chacon chose Keauhou

On our very first visit to the Big Island of Hawaii we absolutely fell in love with this beautiful island. We rented a townhouse in Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club right next to this one and were surprised to see this unit for sale. We had thoroughly enjoy the area as well as the island so much that we could see ourselves coming back again and again to explore Hawaii. We were lucky enough to be able to purchase the townhouse and are pleased to be able to share it with our guests and hope they have as wonderful stay as we did!

What makes this townhome unique

If you want oceanfront, look no further! To get any closer you'll have to be sleeping on the water! The master bedroom, living room and lanai look unobstructed over 2,500 miles of unbroken Pacific Ocean, the waves of which break not even 50 feet from your door. There is no need for air conditioning since there is a nice ocean breeze to keep you comfortable when you're not out exploring all the magic the island has to offer! If you're a light sleeper you may want to bring some ear plugs since the sound of the waves crashing can be loud at times if you sleep with the windows open.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Via Airbnb (https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/19416): We really enjoyed our week at this beautiful, well located townhouse. When it says oceanfront – it really means oceanfront. The patio door opens directly to the most beautiful view and if you wanted to you could simply spend all day sitting there looking out at the water. The townhouse was spacious, clean and well stocked with everything we needed for our stay. It’s within walking distance of the shopping center and a small beach – although we would highly recommend renting a car to explore everything the island has to offer. The host was helpful and available to contact for any questions or suggestions on things to do and see in the area (we saw a lot of turtles – thanks for everything Edgar!) There was also plenty of snorkel and beach gear for us to use which was great. Given the proximity of the ocean and that you will want the windows open for the breeze - I would recommend bringing ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. We had a great vacation and hope to visit again someday.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
14.6 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Golf
2.8 Miles
Kona Country Club Ocean Golf Course
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Kahalu'u State Marine Reserve
Car: necessary

World Class Game Fishing

Whale Watching during migration season (directly from your lanai!)

Great Farmer's Markets with Fresh Fruit and Veggies nearby (be sure to check out the South Kona Fruit Stand!)

Free Friday Night Hula shows at the Keauhou Shopping Center, a short walk from the townhouse.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Damage Deposit $300

*** In February 2016 VRBO started charging all renters a Service Fee. This fee is calculated by VRBO and goes directly to VRBO and not to the homeowners ***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties