Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Double Octagon as 1 Oceanfront House 8 min to downtown St Aug for Xmas Lighting

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

What An Adorable House With 2 Octagon shapes as one. It Is So Unique

Octagon Blue, two octagons connected together to become one beautiful ocean front home. The entire East side of the home includes floor to ceiling windows facing the ocean. Our guests love the unique and interesting architectural design and large deck and private walkway to the ocean. You should come and experience it yourself. As it's hard to show from the pictures.

It is PERFECT for a Long weekend romantic getaway, weekly or monthly vacation, a honeymoon, 1 to 3 couples, 2 families or even multi generation family reunion for beach vacation of a lifetime! 3 Bedroom, 3 bath, with large Master Suite and nicely furnished. This home was designed for fun. Set on a high dune, you can watch the ocean waves from the Master Bedroom, The kitchen/Dining table, the Kitchen and the living room. The unique design of the beach house takes avantage of every square foot of the property. The outside deck along the entire length of the house contains two lounge chairs and two outdoor tables, one glass rectangle shaped table that comfortable seats 6 and another table that comfortabley seats 4 at the smaller circular table. Very easy access from the house to the deck from either the main living area or the master suite or or from ground level below the elevated house directly from the driveway through your own private access gates. Free High Speed Internet throughout the house. Two HD flat screen TV's with Dish Satellite and a wide variety of programing. We fell in love with KJ Octagon house the first time we saw it, due to its unique Octagon architecture, and incredible views with floor to ceiling windows the entire east side of the house. The master bed room has its own Octagon and is so cute and you must come see for yourself. We know you will fall in love with it just like we did and still do.

KJ Octagon house has 3BR, and 3 baths. We have good quality furnishing - beautiful teak/Rattan bedroom set in master suite, queen, beautiful white king size bedroom set in the 2nd master suite, and adorable white bunk bed in the 3rd bedroom (twin over double with trundle bunk bed). The Master suite has its own private bath, double sink, and oceans views from the large glass walk in shower. Two large dressers for your clothes and a nice size walk in closet. The 2nd bedroom comes complete with King bed, dresser, closet and full bath. The 3rd bathoom located next to the 3rd bedroom and living area. The 3rd bedroom also has a dresser and closet. The 2nd TV is currently located here. The deck is very large and a great place relax in the sun, or enjoy an early or late meal.

The Octagon House has efficient central air and also has ceiling fans located throughout and in each bedroom.

A full size washer and Dryer are located in the lower level.

From May 1st thru October is Turtle Season and local and state laws due require that all ocean front homes lower their blinds at sunset and not illuminate their decks at night with white light so as to disturb the Loggerhead Turtle Nesting which occurs all along our beach. We use only approved deck lighting and ask that you respect these rules as we can receive a fine for failure to do so.

We are accepting booking now with grand opening special and book it now before all dates are taken or rates go up later.

We have been renting ocean front property for over 10 years and with great success and with many who come year after year. Once you stay here we are confident you will want to return again and again. We will do everything we can to make your vacation home a fun, relaxing and memorable experience. We hope you enjoy your stay at our personal vacation home, as much as we do.

More Details

Owner
Jean
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Jean

It was love at the first sight when we first saw this adorable Octagon beach house and we know we just have to have it and now we want to share it with you.

We live in Ponte Vedra Beach since 1999 and love this area so much and will never move away.

We travel all over the world and like to bring the idea of what a home away from home should be so that you can experience the same as we do.

We have owned a few vacation rentals in different locations since 2004. Please check one of them at Jacksonville Beach Listing #401870. As you can see we always decorate it nicely for your stay so that it feels like a home.

Jean purchased this house in 2014

Why Jean chose St. Augustine Area

This beach house is in S Ponte Vedra Beach and backyard is beach and is very private yet close to everything. It is not uncommon to go an hour without seeing another person walk by. The nearest public entrance is over a quarter mile away. The unique charm of this house with its floor to ceiling ocean front windows is so pleasant it lifts your spirit the moment you walk in the front door. It makes you say 'Wow' when you see the vista as soon as you open the front door. We know that you our guests will feel the same way.

What makes this house unique

Huge deck with your own private deck/boardwalk to the beach and it is all yours. Backyard is beach is just so awesome. We do supply 6 beach chairs and 1 beach umbrella if needed.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My husband I love this adorable house with huge master suite. This house has 2 octagon combined as one house and it is beyond adorable.

We have come stay a this house for over 8 times now as we love the almost private, quiet and safe beach while sometimes there is no others at the beach.

Breakfast by the ocean deck is a treat and we love to come here to get away all our stress from work or life. Sometimes our children and their families come and stay with us and there are plenty rooms for our big family.

We highly recommend this place for your getaway. We have already booked our next 2 stays.
Nov 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

South Ponte Vedra Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Hosting any gathering over 12 people is subject to approval and fee may applied, else deposit may be forfeited.
  • Pets are subject to approval with fee applied. No pets allowed in any guest beds or sofa.
  • Check out is 10 AM or arrange with manager if extension is needed.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Suite - toilet , shower , Double sink
    Junior Master Suite - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Junior Master Suite - 1 king , Beautiful new white beachy bedroom set with dresser/mirror
    Master Suite - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Rattan/Teak furniture with 2 dressers
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , twin over full with trundle sleep 4 + "Pack n Play'4 baby
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We can offer private chef service for catered meal upon your request.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Double Octagon as 1 Oceanfront House 8 min to downtown St Aug for Xmas Lighting
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 34 reviews
5

Great Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Rented the Blue Octagon for a week. The house has plenty of room, the back deck is great, the kitchen has everything you need. The beach was absolutely perfect! The family loved it and wants to come back again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

everything as described

  • 4 of 5

master bedroom (queen bed room) - lots of room, big closet enough for two weeks of clothes; lots of drawer space - again enough for two weeks - hope my wife takes the hints), beautiful view of ocean, great bath although door would have been nice since grandkids didn't like us locking them out of bedroom when we were taking shower

2nd bedroom (king bed) - very nice but no view of ocean

3rd bedroom (bunk and trundle) - little narrow and hard to go from closet to bathroom if someone is sleeping on trundle - bathroom small - ample for kids probably not for adults

kitchen - great for those who want to cook - WHY? you are on vacation and Cap's down the street is GREAT

Plenty of sitting room around the dining table and in living room

Porch/deck - plenty of room - two tables and lots of chairs - charcoal grill is usable (barely)

Boardwalk is well built and solid (although 26 steps down to the beach will give you a good cardio and calf burn) - beach is worth it because it is virtually private

Washer/dryer is downstairs - a little inconvenient unless you bring two weeks of clothes for a one week stay

The reason for 4 instead of 5 (if available 4.75) is trying to pull out of drive way onto A1A - it is blind in both direction - we had someone on lookout when we backed out - the turn lane into the subdivision across the street helped and 13 steps to traverse for unpacking and packing your vehicle (dumbwaiter would be great addition or enterprising young high school/college kid(s) on retainer as bell hops - for a small fee of course)

All in all a great place to stay - convenient for beach goers and St Augustine tourists

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great things come in unusual shapes

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a month at the Blue Octagon and could not have been more pleased. The house itself is charming . The location is "perfect" with its expansive and private beach...the sunrises were glorious and the nearby restaurants and shopping extremely convenient and as an extra bonus it was a very short drive to the beautiful and historic Old St Augustine. The owners were a mere text message away and responded immediately with any communication. I highly recommend Blue Octagon

Midge Woods

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy home by the beach!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at this wonderful beach getaway several times now. Perfect location for long walks along the peaceful beach, and a short drive to beautiful St. Augustine. Will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner did not work with me. Became unresponsive as soon as I asked for a partial refund.

  • 1 of 5

We arrived late in the evening and awoke at 3 am to a loud and awful noise from the refrigerator. The noise continued for at least 15 minutes every hour from then on. I sent the owner a text about the noise the next morning, including a video so she could hear how awful the noise was- there was no way anyone in the house could sleep. She asked me to call the repairman to set up an appointment for him to stop by. The repairman came by at 11 am and said the refrigerator's carburetor was dead and the fridge needed to be replaced. The owner said she would have a new fridge delivered the following day and someone needed to be there for the delivery. I told her we were only on a quick 3 day vacation, and we had already cancelled vacation plans to meet the repair guy, so we didn't want to be stuck at the rental house again the last day of our vacation to wait for the fridge. She did offer to bring coolers over and I told her we had a cooler for drinks, but we were going to need to eat meals out.

After we left, I asked the owner to let me know what a fair refund was for the inconvenience we experienced during our vacation- not being able to sleep the first night and not having a fridge for most of the time. After having to follow up several times, the owner finally offered me a refund of 5% off the total cost.

I feel like the owner and VRBO left me no choice but to write this review. I understand that appliances break. I just don't think the refund was fair- 5.0% for a 3 night stay of which one night was spent listening to the refrigerator noise as well as a non-working refrigerator. As a result of my poor experience, and the fact that the VRBO customer service department was not willing to help in any way, just repeating that the company is only a "marketplace," I will never rent through this website or from this owner again.

In addition, I have rented many vacation homes (on many websites) and I have never had an owner take money out of my deposit for credit card fees. While it may be legal, it isn't a way to encourage repeat renters.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly value all of our guests, and we do all we can to ensure that every guests receive an experience that fully meets or exceeds their expectations. Unfortunately and in the end we feel there is nothing more we could have done that would have made this guest happy outside of providing them free rental for their stay which is in the end what they requested. We feel this review is not only inaccurate but also totally unwarranted. Here are the facts. Our guests checked in late at night. The very next morning they advised us of an annoying noise coming from the refrigerator and would like it addressed. We immediately contacted a repair service and arranged an emergency service call that very same morning, virtually a couple hours from the initial call. we extended to them the opportunity to set the appointment time to allow the repair man to fix the issue immediately. The repair man came out that very same morning only 2 hours after their call to us and indicated that there was indeed an issue, and a noise but not to the extent as related by the guest in their review. This was a high end french door SS refrigerator and relatively new. Apparently it had a failing compressor, not a carburetor as described in the review which is found on an automobile. The noise as described to us by the repairman was what sounded like ice cubes dropping into the ice tray. He said the part needed would have to be ordered and likely arrive some time the following week. Out of compassion and respect for our current guest we offered to have a brand new refrigerator delivered and installed the very next morning and also we offered to drop off a couple coolers but both offers were rejected as we were told they would be out all day so they wouldn't cook. Also, They said they wouldn't have time to wait for repairman during the 2 hour delivery window so we offered our staff to go meet the delivery man but was rejected again and all they asked was free stay. We have refunded extra money but it is not to the guest satisfaction as they want more than just extra refund but free stay as that's what they think is fair. We felt we did all we could offer to fix the issue and all were rejected and things as such do happen so we appreciate guests to just work with us with reasonably compensation not to stay free for ice dropping sound issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Clermont, fl
2

Usage fee

  • 2 of 5

I never received my full deposit back. I the renter, was charged the merchant fee? The merchant is the owner, not the renter! I am done with vrbo! Never again!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have warned all vacationers on VRBO/all websites, on our agreement during booking, and on 'Pay Now' booking instruction that you have choice to pay via ECheck( debit from your account free ) or by credit card with 2.89% ( deducted that fee charged by VRBO when deposit is refunded ). We can raise all rate 3% to offer free Credit usage to all vacationers but we decided to respect the ones who choose to use eCheck therefore only the ones choose to usage credit card will pay the fee VRBO charges. We don't get to keep that fee anyway VRBO does. We feel it's much fair system than raising 3% rent to all vacationers. I am sorry if you missed the info on 3 places to warn you the fee. Besides that we were told you all had a great time and hope this clears your question. Thanks for the stay .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
52 Miles
Jacksonville
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
CAPS on the Water
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
Cap's On the River, Reef Restaurant or Aunt Kates
Nearest Beach
Ponte Vedra Beach
Car: necessary

America was discovered on Ponte Vedra Beach, by Ponce DeLeon in 1513. Our beach remains much as it did back then. We are only 8 minutes from the Nations Oldest City, St. Augustine and its major attractions which include the nations oldest Fort the Castile de San Marcos open National treasure open to the public, The famous Alligator Farm, Ripley's Believe or Not Museum, The Fountain of Youth, or walk St. Georges Street and enjoy the many unique shops and dining establishiments. One of the largest outlet shopping malls can be found in St. Augustine. There are three excellent restaurants less than 2 miles from the beachhouse, one oceanfront and two on the Intracoastal river. There is a reason the PGA Tour and the ATP located their U.S. Headquarters in Beautiful Ponte Vedra Beach. The famous TPC Players Champion Golf Course, the number 1 rated course in Florida, along with the worlds most famous hole in golf #17 the Island Green is open to the public. There are two other highly rated public courses in Ponte Vedra Beach open to the public. If you are a fan of Nascar, Daytona Beach motor speedway is just one hour south. Close enough to Jacksonville, FL to take in a show or concert, or book your tickets to see NFL football, Jazz Festivals, Minor league baseball and an outstanding Smyphony. St. Augustine offers excellent deep sea fishing excursions. You can pretty much do it all in just a matter of minutes from this location. Just 5 minutes south in Vilano Beach, Publix opened a brand new starte of the art grocery store. You don't even have to get off the island your entire trip and enjoy all that island living has to offer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $195
Damage Deposit $500

Extra $350 added for holiday or special event week. 2.89% fee added if credit payment is used. Pet fee $299/pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.