check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mike and Dawn Rehling

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Make Our Bliss, Your Bliss!

33 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, Balcony Studio Suite

Make our BLISS your BLISS!

We are the proud owners of this beautiful beachfront condo. We would love to make our BLISS your BLISS!

Soak in the ambiance of the Caribbean as you lie in your king size bed listening to the sound of the turquoise water crashing on the beach outside your door. Feel the serene night breeze as it flows through the room and whisks you into a dream that continues even as you wake in the morning.

Sip coffee or your favorite beverage on the balcony overlooking beautiful Sapphire Beach. Spend your days basking in the sun on the lounge chairs provided at no additional cost. Enjoy spectacular snorkeling on two separate reefs just beyond your door.

OUR SAPPHIRE BLISS is a beachfront 1BR/1BA studio condo with a full kitchen located in building C at Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina on beautiful Sapphire Beach in St Thomas (STT) USVI (no passport required).

See our website at oursapphirebliss.365villas.net

At Our Sapphire Bliss, the beach is at your fingertips. Being beachfront means your only steps to one of the best beaches in the Caribbean and a marina that offers charters and excursions from the top operators in St Thomas to the best sites in the Virgin Islands.

Our Sapphire Bliss allows for quick, easy access to the some of the best snorkeling in the Caribbean as well as all of the Virgin Island attractions. Explore the two coral reefs teeming with marine life. Explore nearby Coral World or the quaint marina and wharf in Red Hook a short 3 minutes away. Take a passenger ferry to visit the neighboring Virgin Island of St John, if your more adventurous take the car ferry to St John and you will be able to see all it has to offer.

See historic Charlotte Amalie and world renowned duty free shopping. Don’t miss Mountain Top for all your souvenirs for everyone back home or one of their world famous banana daiquiris. Enjoy fresh seafood at the numerous restaurants (many waterfront) in nearby Red Hook and many other nearby fine dining restaurants and those with a casual beachfront flare.

Enjoy Simple Living in the Heart of the Caribbean

At the end of a day of adventure, Our Sapphire Bliss will be your haven. Relax in our simple but comfortable living room. Curl up on the sofa and read your favorite book while the cool Caribbean breeze caresses your senses.

Watch a movie on our 40 inch flat screen TV or listen to your favorite playlist on our wireless Bluetooth speaker. Prefer nightlife? Then venture out to nearby Red Hook and the Island Time Pub, Duffy’s Love Shack, or Senor Frogs.

When you are ready to retire, rest easy on our pillow-top, king size mattress with pillows for every taste. At Our Sapphire Bliss you will find space for up to 4 adults to sleep. In addition to our king size bed in the bedroom, the living room offers a queen size sofa bed. You can leave the sliding glass doors open (like we do) and let the whispers of the waves crashing on the beach lull you to sleep. If you choose you can cool down with our state of the art climate control system.

A Unique Experience to Meet All Your Needs

Our Sapphire Bliss is perfect for relaxing, playing, or getting work done. We have a full kitchen with a convection microwave, high-speed secure wireless internet throughout the unit, and unforgettable views from the balcony.

The East End on St Thomas is a vibrant beach and marine lover’s dream with real Caribbean flavor. Central to the action, we are located near the main road for public transportation (called safari taxis) but offer parking if you do find you want a car (recommended).

Surrounding sights are a quick skip away and right near Our Sapphire Bliss you will find plenty of restaurants and supermarkets.

Don’t just visit St Thomas, experience real Caribbean living at Our Sapphire Bliss!!

Our Sapphire Bliss is Simple Living on the Beach

637sq ft 1 Bedroom 1 Full Bath built for comfort and Caribbean Living

Features of this home include:

• 1 king bed with pillow top mattress and pillows for every comfort level

• 1 queen sofa bed in living room

• Sleeps 2-4 people

• 32" flat screen TV in bedroom

• 40" flat screen TV in living room with BlueRay player

• Kitchen with modern electric cooktop, convection microwave, and refrigerator

• Plates, utensils, linens, sheets, and towels all provided

• Tile floors throughout

• 8ft wall to wall windows with sliding glass doors to the balcony overlooking beautiful Sapphire Beach

• Free secure highspeed wireless internet throughout the condo

• Cable TV

A place for rest and relaxation, Our Sapphire Bliss was built for you…

Bathroom features:

• Shower with rainfall shower head

• Tile in bathroom

• Double sink vanity

• Hair dryer provided

• Linens, towels, and hand soap provided

The perfect place for a romantic getaway…

Stunning balcony overlooking Sapphire Beach and the Caribbean Sea

• Enjoy views of Sapphire Beach, Thatch / Grass / Mingo Cays, St John (USVI), Jost Van Dyke (BVI), and star filled skies.

• Includes 2 lounge chairs and two outdoor chairs with a coffee table to enjoy the view and sip your favorite beverages

Our Sapphire Bliss is your home away from home!

Beautifully Updated Kitchen and Living Area:

• Beautiful open floor plan with lots of modern lighting.

• Spacious kitchen fully equipped with cooking tools.

• Modern 4 burner electric cook top

• NEW Keurig, Coffee maker, microwave, NEW toaster, and blender in the kitchen

• Filtered water in refrigerator and Ice maker in freezer

• Full sliding glass door opens to balcony for extra open space

• 40” flat screen TV and BlueRay player

• cable TV

• 4 person dining table

• Iron and ironing board available for your use

• FREE secure highspeed wireless internet available throughout the condo

• 1 queen size sofa bed in living room with extra sheets and blankets

Our Sapphire Bliss has your beach needs covered!

Beach Amenities for Your Use:

• Numerous sets of snorkeling gear including mask, snorkel, and fins for adults and children

• Beach loungers provided for use at the beach for your entire party

• Large soft side cooler for your snacks and beverages

• Beach towels

• Beach blanket

• Children's beach toys along with a volleyball

Note: Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina is a beachfront community of individually owned condominiums and not a full service resort. Please review the amenities section for a complete list of amenities that you will find available to you while staying at our property. If you have any questions please be sure to contact us. We want our guests to have a great experience and want to ensure each guests expectations are met.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mike and Dawn Rehling (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mike and Dawn Rehling

Thanks to our careers as an airline professional and elementary school teacher we have been visiting the Caribbean for many years. We discovered St. Thomas and our beloved Sapphire Beach a few years ago and it has been a dream of ours to own a piece of this heavenly place. When the opportunity came for us to purchase a part of our Bliss we knew we had to jump on it. We have a great deal of knowledge about St. Thomas, Sapphire Beach and the surrounding islands. Let us help you make your vacation one to remember. Please e-mail us and we can help you to plan an itinerary that will make Our Bliss, Your Bliss!

Mike and Dawn Rehling purchased this condo in 2014

Why Mike and Dawn Rehling chose St. Thomas

Being seasoned travelers throughout the Caribbean and after staying at several different resorts on St. Thomas, we knew that this was where we wanted to be. Our condo is actually on the beach. There is a beautiful sandy portion perfect for pulling up a chair and basking in the sun. When it’s time to cool off we can don our snorkel gear and head out to the center of the beach in the grassy area and hang with the sea turtles (we always see Green Sea Turtles and have also seen Hawksbill Sea Turtles, both of which are endangered species). After a quick visit with the sea turtles and stingrays, you can swim to either the right or the left and you will be near the coral reefs surrounding the beach. You are assured to see beautiful fish, amazing coral, squid, spotted eagle rays and a variety of other interesting sea creatures. After a day in the sun and a quick shower in the amazing condo you can go a mile down the road to Red Hook and find an array of wonderful restaurants to enjoy some refreshments and then a tasty meal.

What makes this condo unique

Location, Location, Location! That's the saying anyway, and Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina lives up to that in every way. The perfect condo, on the perfect beach, with the perfect reef. It doesn't get any better than Our Sapphire Bliss. Located in Building C means your right in the middle of the action at Sapphire. The beach is less than a 50 steps away, the pool is adjacent to building C and the Marina is less than 100 yards from your front door. The Banana Cabana is right next to you or if you prefer a more casual atmosphere you can take the short stroll up to The Sapphire Grill and have lunch or dinner poolside. For the more adventurous you can 'hike' up the hill for some awesome bbq from Off The Grid.

Reviews

4.8
based on 33 traveler reviews

Make Our Bliss, Your Bliss!
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews
5

Beautiful Beach and Condo

  • 5 of 5

This condo far exceeded our expectations Very well stocked with every day needs and very clean. There were several other groups of people we traveled here with and everybody commented on how well this condo was equipped. Thanks again. We will for sure return!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback and giving us such high marks. We are always happy to hear when our guests expectations are exceeded, especially when they are traveling with others that are staying in other units at SBRM. We often hear that we exceed the competition when our guests are able to compare Our Sapphire Bliss to units that friends and/or family are staying in. Again, thank you for that feedback. We sure appreciate it and we believe potential guests will too! We look forward to seeing you again. Mike and Dawn Rehling Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful time at "Our Sapphire Bliss"

  • 5 of 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mike and Dawn's unit, due to their careful attention to details. There were ample towels, snorkel gear, chairs, coolers, etc... for my family of 4. We loved the beach theme of their unit and felt relaxed and at home whenever we returned to the room. Since we were a family of 4, it was great to be able to make our breakfasts and lunches in the room, saving us time and money. Then, we were able to enjoy going out for dinner in the many restaurants within a few minute drive. Mike and Dawn's attention to detail in providing great directions to local food markets, great restaurants, etc... was extremely helpful in preparing our trip and giving us additional ideas once we were there.

Mike and Dawn's unit is directly on the beach on the 2nd floor, providing for amazing views morning and night, with the security and privacy of being up one floor. Snorkeling at Sapphire is excellent, and the kids loved the small waves, and also spending time at the pool, which is a stone's throw from the unit. Sapphire is less than a mile from Red Hook, which has great restaurants, and also the Red Hook Dive Center, which my husband used to go diving 3x and loved it! It is also less than a 20 min. drive to Magen's Bay, and less than 10 to Coki Beach, 2 other great snorkeling sites we enjoyed during our trip.

If we are able to visit St. Thomas again, we will definitely see if Dawn and Mike have availability, as they would be our first choice.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review. We always appreciate when our efforts are recognized in a way that lets us know that all the hard work is making a difference in our guests experience. The guestbook is one of those little things that we have put a lot of energy into to help our guests focus on enjoying their vacation. We really enjoyed helping you navigate your way through the numerous things all first time visitors have questions about and putting your mind at ease as a first time customer of VRBO and the booking process. We hope we will see you again in the future! Mike and Dawn Rehling -Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice condo

  • 4 of 5

The condo was great, complex a bit old and not kept very well. Security at entrance was very pleasant, but other workers, like at small restaurant, very unpleasant people. Reef outside condo looks like it is dying, not much to see besides some turtles. Overall the condo was great, red hook is close for dinner, good location.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and our future guests. We are almost complete with our mulit-million dollar renovation of the property. The last phase will begin this July and be completed this fall during the low season. Since there is no restaurant directly on our property we cannot offer any insight to that part of your review. The reef is teaming with marine life along the "right" side of the beach all the way out to the point. Our website has numerous pics and videos that capture all of its beauty, our favorite video is one we took while diving the reef this past Christmas. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Our Sapphire Bliss. Hopefully we will see you again. Mike and Dawn Rehling -Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springville, Utah
5

More than we expected, best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

The owners provided us all the information we needed and then some, not just about the condo but things to do and places to see. The condo felt just like home from the second we walked in and we felt so comfortable every minute we were there. We will definitely be staying there again and are happy to recommend it to anyone!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for another positive review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us and future guests. We pride ourselves in accurately describing our property to perspective guests. We are always happy when guests expectations are exceeded. Afterall, that is our goal. We look forward to seeing you again! Mike and Dawn Rehling -Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything we expected

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Pre-trip info from the owners was timely and very helpful. The condo was just as described and really worked well for us. It was quickly " our home" for a few days. We felt the price was quite fair and we're pleased to get our damage deposit back so quickly. Would definitely consider staying here again the next time we're in St Thomas.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us as well as potential guests. We are always happy to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that our description of Our Sapphire Bliss is indeed what guests will find when they arrive. We know from experience that guests appreciate that we have taken time to develop our guest book that includes a wealth of information that is a great resource in planning their trips and your review confirms this to us. We look forward to seeing you again! Mike and Dawn Rehling Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss-
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

very disappointing experience when compared to posted reviews

  • 2 of 5

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week stay at Sapphire Beach Resort. Mike and Dawn were very helpful in preparing for our vacation. They are very nice and decent people but they are handicapped by a longstanding dispute between the condo owners and the land owner, which is draining financial resources and expending energy. On the website there is a map that shows tennis courts and a pool bar. The first thing we were greeted with on our arrival at the resort was rundown tennis courts, overgrown with brush and non playable. The pool bar is on the land owners property and all boarded up.I brought this to Mike's attention and he told me that it was only included and the map for orientation purposes, but it should not be there if it is not a functional part of the resort. The parking lot is unpaved and full of potholes. Due to the ongoing disputes a truck pumps the septic system several times daily which is noisy and disturbing. The pool area is average, not well maintained, there are dying plants and some stone coming off the walls. There is a sad looking gazebo structure in need of maintenance. Our unit was a good size for the two of us, well stocked with towels, supplies etc.The pillow top mattress is old and compressed. I did bring this to Mike's attention and he admitted that it was getting to the end of its life and was going to be replaced, great for future guests but not so good for us. The trellis over our patio had at least 20 broken boards and several others rotting and likely to break soon. Every time it rained debris washed off the rotting wood onto the deck, very unpleasant. The decking on 5 of the 7 buildings has been repaired and re-stained and the remaining two buildings are slated to be repaired in the future, again not good for us but good for others if and when it is completed. I gave feedback to Mike and Dawn half way through our stay and they have responded saying that given my comments it is unlikely that they could do anything to change my feelings about our stay and suggested I misunderstood the information I was presented before we arrived. There was a strong unpleasant odour at the head of the bed which we couldn't determine the source of, it made sleeping unpleasant. After ten days we discovered a compartment in the headboard in which was stored bleach containing cleaning products. We removed them from the area but the smell was in the wood and could not be removed. This is not even close to a five star experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Although we fully realize that we cannot please everyone, it is still a disappointment to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Nonetheless, we realized after our numerous emails during your stay with your long list of “disappointments” that we would not be able to make you happy regardless of how we responded to your feedback. We invest a great deal of care in how we describe the available amenities at our property both on our VRBO page, and a guestbook that we provide each guest at the time of booking. We always encourage each guest to review it thoroughly and to contact us if there are any questions. You did contact us with a few questions and indicated you were satisfied with the feedback we provided. We were very disappointed when we read this review that you have misrepresented those communications and even imply that we said things that we in fact did not and you chose to include things that you did not contact us for resolution. I think most will agree that we cannot address things that are not brought to our attention so we can investigate to determine the validity to the claim. As you pointed out, we (owners association) have invested millions of dollars in the last 3 years funding a comprehensive refurbishment project for the entire property. As in all projects of this magnitude there will be some inconveniences along the way as we improve the infrastructure. In this case our building is the next to undergo renovation this fall (and our prices reflect that). Another improvement underway is complete replacement of our wastewater treatment system. This has resulted in a temporary solution for wastewater treatment. We are excited about the investment that our owners association is making to our beloved Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina community. We will continue to provide potential guests the opportunity to experience an amazing beachfront location at an affordable price. Virtually all of our past guest agree that we are doing just that and is confirmed by the fact that we have 26 (of 28) 5 Star Reviews (including yours). Mike and Dawn Rehling-Owners-Our Sapphire Bliss
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cyril E. King International Airport, St Thomas
Nearest Barpub
Sapphire Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Red Hook Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mahogany Run Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
Rte 38
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Numerous restaurants in Red Hook
Nearest Beach
Sapphire Beach
Car: recommended

Onsite marina hosts many charter and excursion companies that offer a wide variety of deep sea fishing, sailing, and powerboat tours of the US Virgin Islands of St Thomas and St John as well as the British Virgin Islands of Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Jost Van Dyke and many more.

Airport pickup service available by a reliable third party an additional cost of $60. He will also make a grocery stop for you!

Photos

Rates & Availability

East End Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Shoulder Season
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Exit Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 12.5%

50% deposit due at booking, remaining 50% plus $300 refundable damage deposit due 45 days prior to arrival. 100% refundable if cancelled 45 days prior to arrival (minus credit card fee if applicable). No refund if cancelled less than 45 days prior to arrival.

We offer discounts on stays over 7 days

Optional Mid-Week Cleaning $50

Optional airport pickup/drop off can be arranged for an additional fee.

By accepting a booking you agree to the terms and conditions noted on our web page noted in the quote you receive.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

East End Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 627 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Double sink vanity and updated tile shower with shower massage
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Comfy King size bed with plush pillows for your comfort.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a keyless entry system so you will never have any worries about losing the keys.

Partner Offers