Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large, private beautiful house with tennis court

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8 - 11

This large secluded Victorian house has breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside towards Rye. Inside rooms are light and airy. The property has just undergone a total restoration and refurbishment. Period features have been lovingly restored and the ambiance of the family home maintained. The house is surrounded by three quarters of an acre of enclosed gardens and in addition there is a fenced, hard tennis court. The south facing brick paved terrace is a gorgeous suntrap with lots of flexible seating. The driveway provides parking for at least four cars.

Harriet Holdsworth
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had at The Highlands. My elderly parents particularly enjoyed it as they were able to access everything easily having the downstairs bedroom and bathroom. The house was comfortable and family friendly and we were lucky to have good weather and take advantage of the use of the tennis courts and the lovely sheltered garden. We would definitely consider returning to this property and have already recommended it to several friends.

Thank you
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1


Iden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Luxury
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 11 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The two newly refurbished bathrooms contain power showers. Provided for guests are a selection of fragrances for the whirlpool bath in the downstairs bathroom.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single
  • Two bedrooms have glorious views over the countryside. The downstairs bedroom (3 single beds) is immediately opposite the downstairs bathroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • 11 garden chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
All bedding is low allergen, the floors have been restored and rugs have been used rather than carpets.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Large, private beautiful house with tennis court
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 18 reviews

Ideal space and tranquillity for a family gathering

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at The Highlands to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday, with 6 adults, 4 children and dog. The space to relax. play tennis, explore the garden or simply chill out round the log fire was idyllic. At the same time, the location was close enough to visit nearby Rye and Hastings and we enjoyed a fabulous Sunday lunch at the King's Head in Playden. I think a fire guard would be a sensible addition to the open fire though. Would definitely book again.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Absolutely re fire guard. I will get one ASAP. We’ve always had one as it’s essential with children. It must have gone walk about. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unfortunately there were some issues

  • 3 of 5

We were two families ranging in age from 6 months to 93 years, here for a week over Xmas 2017.

The condition of the metal entrance gate gave a dreadful first impression

on arrival and the two industrial waste bins were equally unattractive.

It was not helped by the very poor condition of the external paintwork and

the outside light not working, making it very difficult at night.

The kitchen was well equipped, but three out of six ceiling lights were blown and lighting under the cabinets was not working. The fridge was certainly not big enough for the claimed maximum of 11 people.

A loud noise like a fog horn in the water pipes occurred after flushing the downstairs bathroom toilet, which was heard throughout the house and woke people up when it was used at night. The bathroom was cold all of the time as the radiator never worked, nor did the flat heating panel above it. (The owner did try to find a plumber to come and fix things, but unfortunately no one was available)

The downstairs bedroom was also cold most of the time. The single radiator in the bedroom was covered by the headboard of a bed so the heat couldn’t radiate properly, and it’s a large room.

The fire in the sitting room had no fire guard, which was a serious safety

hazard with an open fire, or for young children. There was also a lack of

comfortable seating even for 9 in the sitting room.

Paint was flaking paint off the wall near the shower in the upstairs bathroom. The blind was badly stained and a ceiling lamp bulb was blown over the mirror making it difficult to see to shave or apply make-up etc.

On the positive side we found the house very clean when we arrived and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Apart from the items above, everything else worked.

I am sure the house is better for a large group during the summer months when the heating and inside seating issues would not be such a concern, but we really felt quite disappointed with our stay and had been so looking forward to it for a long time. Perhaps things will be put right in the future....just be aware if you are considering this house.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m really sorry you were so disappointed. The toilet noise and radiator in downstairs bathroom were fixed on the day of your departure and you were compensated for the inconvenience. Unfortunately getting plumbers in the Christmas week is so difficult. As discussed the external paintwork is being done this year in early summer, after being let down last year. Thanks for your feedback, we will endeavour to make improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house for a big group

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a surprise 50th weekend away. It was in great condition, really clean and a very well stocked kitchen. Wish we had have been there in the summer to utilise the gorgeous garden, bbq and tennis court! Thanks for having us :)

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property in a quiet but convenient location

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we have stayed there. The house is v well laid out with 5 good size bedrooms and good size sitting and dining rooms. The kitchen is very well equipped so great for those who like to cook. The tennis court is well maintained and the garden is spacious and good for croquet and other games.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Lovely Property but....

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely time at the property and particularly enjoyed the garden and tennis courts as we spent a family weekend celebrating a diamond wedding anniversary. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom facilities were perfectly adequate for our needs. However, some of the furniture in both the house and garden is now a little tired and in need of upgrade in terms of both comfort and safety.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

A fantastic house in a great location, we had an amazing holiday.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Nearest Ferry
28 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
21 Miles
M20 jct 8
Car: necessary

Iden is a pretty and picturesque village with a pub renowned for its food, and post office/general stores within an easy walk of the house. The historic town of Rye, one of the Cinque ports, is less than 3 miles away with its charming winding lanes, interesting harbour and the wonderful sandy beaches of Camber Sands beyond. Rye boasts some excellent restaurants, a weekly Farmers market, and a range of local shops including world famous Rye pottery. The house is well placed, between Hastings (10 miles) Tunbridge Wells (15 miles) and Tenterden (8 miles). The castles of Battle and Bodiam are also within easy reach. Ashford is 15 miles to the north with its International Station for a quick trip to France.

The Hythe to Dymchurch Light Steam Railway is also well worth a visit as it winds its way from Dungeness to Hythe all along the coast - take a picnic and stop off on the way!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $27.7
Damage Deposit $346.21

Short breaks are calculated as follows: 2 nights = 65%, 3 nights = 70%, 4 nights = 75%, 5 nights = 85%

A refundable damage deposit of £250 is payable with all bookings.

We accept bank transfer, cheques or paypal.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties