Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern Rustic House Overlooking The Deerfield River

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,894 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Beautiful River Views

This is a cozy and bright getaway in the Berkshires. 3 bedrooms and 1 loft, comfortably sleeps 6 people, can sleep up to 10. Living room and dining room have lofted ceilings and big windows overlooking the Deerfield River. Full kitchen, laundry, and 2.5 bathrooms. Radiant heating keeps the house wonderfully warm in the winter, and the breezeway is the perfect place to relax in the summer.

It's a quiet, family house and we are looking for quiet, respectful guests.

Situated in between Shelburne Falls and Charlemont, on the historic Mohawk Trail, this house is ideally located near quaint New England towns, activities for all seasons (Berkshire East Ski Resort, Zoar Outdoor Whitewater Rafting, and miles of beautiful trails in the woods all within 15 minutes of the house). Plenty of delicious dining options nearby.

The house was built in 2003, and the lumber was milled at the Hall Tavern Farm--which is just down the road from the house! The construction is entirely mortice and tenon (no nails!) and has spectacular woodworking features. Contact us if you'd like a tour of a working farm, including a sawmill, big barn, and 400 acres of woods.

Washer, dryer, and dishwasher. TV and DVD player.

No cable.

More Details

Owner
Owner / Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2018

About Owner / Property Manager

My siblings and I share ownership of this house, which our parents built in 2003.

Why Owner / Property Manager chose Buckland

This house is cozy and bright, nestled away in the Berkshires, and surrounded by such wonderful scenery and people.

What makes this house unique

Radiant heating! Proximity to many different activities, and also to solitude and relaxation, depending on your mood. The house is new, so it has many modern amenities. But it feels rustic and traditional.

Amenities

Buckland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1894 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Attached to master bedroom downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , Upstairs
  • The only full shower is downstairs. The upstairs bathroom has a tub and a hand shower--best for kids.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Downstairs, Master Bedroom with half bathroom attached.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upstairs, shares a full bathroom with the other bedroom.
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single , Upstairs, shares a full bathroom with the other bedroom.
  • The upstairs bedrooms are accessed by a spiral staircase. The staircase is a bit narrow, and not ideal for those with less sure footing. Additionally, there is a king-size mattress in a loft up above the upstairs bedrooms. It is not a closed off bedroom, and noise carries easily up to the lofted spaces.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • museums
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Modern Rustic House Overlooking The Deerfield River
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
5

Beautiful home, well kept, spacious

  • 5 of 5

Loved the yard and the breezeway. Spent most of our time enjoying the summer nights in that room. The house was very spacious and had a ton of character. Great price as well and will be looking forward to staying here again the next time we come out to Charlemont!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to have you come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfield, Connecticut
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home. Pictures don’t do it justice. Great location. Stunning view of the river. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

OUTSTANDING HOME IN A BEAUTIFUL SETTING ❤️

  • 5 of 5

Eight family members from across the country came together to celebrate a very special event. This home was perfect for us. Lots of space and the temperature inside even though it was cold outside was always perfect. The first snow of the season came the day before we left and the grounds and views were spectacular!

There was nothing we needed that wasn't there. Hopefully we will have another occasion to return.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flagstaff, AZ
5

Lovely spot to get together with old friends!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property with everything we needed. Nice views of the Deerfield river, acres of lawn and woodlands. Very comfortable house and complete kitchen. Would definitely return here!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, clean house with great views and a screened in porch!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice, comfortable and clean house that had beautiful views. We were only there for 2 nights and out and about during the days so spent little time there, but would highly recommend this house. The location was close to town and a short drive to restaurants and the sights. The second floor is accessed by a spiral staircase which could be difficult if you are elderly or have bad knees. Again, we would highly recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leominster
4

Great Spot!

  • 4 of 5

We did a guys trip here for my buddies bachelor party this past weekend. The house is awesome and the grounds are expansive and stunning. The yard was the perfect spot for kan-jam and soft toss. The breeze way porch area is a great spot to hang out and the star gazing at night is amazing!!

We were 10 minutes away from the Great Outdoors riving tubing company. Tubing the river was a lot of fun and $25 got us a rental tube and a shuttle. At night we found that the Shelburne Falls Bowling Alley and the Mohawk Park Restaurant were the most accommodating to groups. For dinner we really liked Buckland Pizza which had a deck overlooking the river and live music.

We had a great time at the home and I would highly recommend staying there. My only complaint was the water pressure was pretty weak. Other than that zero complaints. Rent this house you won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Mike! Glad you enjoyed your time there! Very strange about the water pressure--I'll look into that because that's not normal.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Property Damage Protection $59

No pets allowed.
No additional guests aside from the ones you have included in your rental request allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties