Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Super Value-Magnificent Mile Shopping, Rush St. Nightlife & Oak Beach !

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 15 nights


About the property

Truly the best walkable Downtown location on quaint residential estate-lined St.

Please note: Available for Monthly only. Villa Verdone gives you a neighborhood experience like no other in downtown Chicago! This historic 1890's Georgian at 55 E. Cedar in the Gold Coast's Magnificent Mile neighborhood has elegantly furnished apartments that feel like home for two to twenty-two guests.

Only 1/2 block from both Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile shopping, Oak Beach swimming, and the fabulous restaurants and nightlife of Rush Street. This truly is the BEST location on Home Away and VRBO! Rent our renovated estate apartment, or several for larger parties and corporate events! (see VRBO 456620)

As you enter the beautiful marble hall, hinting at Chicago's past, your 2nd floor apartment has high ceilings, recessed lighting, fireplace, hardwood floors and all the comforts of home. We feature two separate bedrooms with queen size beds, additional sleeper/sofa in the living room comes with air mattress for maximum guest comfort, formal dining room, fully equipped granite kitchen with gas stove, microwave, coffee maker, blender and all the pots, pans and stemware necessary to create a gourmet meal.

Your estate apartment features Chicago hand-crafted mattresses with 1600 threadcount brushed Egyptian cotton sheets, fireplace, NEW 55' LCD TV with DVD player, free wifi and NEST controlled A/C for comfort.

Guests will appreciate fragrant Lemongrass shampoo, all linens, hair dryer, iron, free washer/dryer and mini-gym with NordicTrack treadmill and weights on the ground floor. Parking available for one car on first come basis, but truly not necessary from this location.

Monthly rates depend on length of stay and time of year. Perfect for family gatherings and large corporate events for up to 22 guests in several apartments. For neighborhood, go to Maps and 'WALK' to everything to see awesome location.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish, czech
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

About Michael

I live in San Francisco and Cedar Street is our family estate. This 1880's Georgian was lovingly restored several years ago to serve numerous family relatives while visiting Chicago. We offer our beautiful chic suites when not in town. Walk to Oak Beach, Rush Street nightlife and Magnificent Mile shopping.

Michael purchased this apartment in 2006

Guestbook comments from the owner

Terrifc location! Close to so many restaurants and the beach :) We were in town for our daughter's wedding and with family coming in it fit our needs perfectly. Plenty of rooms, deck for entertaining, beautiful accommodations, full kitchen....and flexibility to come and go. Michael called ahead of time to answer any questions and assist in making our stay comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend these flats to friends and family.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 13


Gold Coast Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Free Wifi
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Lemongrass shampoo and soaps, hair dryer.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Super Value-Magnificent Mile Shopping, Rush St. Nightlife & Oak Beach !
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 16 reviews

Fantastic stay a couple blocks from Magnificent Mile and Lake Michigan

  • 5 of 5

I rented the two bedroom apartment for my parents. They wanted to spend a month in Chicago to visit with my family, while having their own space for an extended stay. The accommodations were excellent. The kitchen was fully equipped, the apartment well furnished, and the location was on a beautiful block in the Gold Coast neighborhood. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to visit Chicago while staying in a residence, rather than a hotel.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Northern Michigan

Fair accommodations...

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at Villa Verdone and had two units (2nd and 3rd floor) and had a good time in Chicago but to be honest the accommodations left a little to be desired. A few things were not up to our expectations including the showers and hot/cold water being difficult to obtain and even impossible to get hot water at times. One of the shower faucets was held together by duct tape! Some of the bedrooms were FREEZING cold while others were boiling. Numerous members of our party got locked out of the front door with the code not working on multiple occasions. The sink in one of the bathrooms leaked everywhere and the shower was not clean or well kept. This was frustrating and disappointing. After two attempts to contact Michael, the owner of the condo, we've received no response to our complaints over these issues. Overall it was a fine experience, just a disappointing way to end it with no apology or willingness to make these issues right. Not sure I'd stay here again. Would not recommend this location for anyone that has difficulty with many steps! It's an old building!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, this historical building is 130 years old, and there is no elevator. However, we have new HVAC's, dual pane windows, remodeled kitchens and baths. In all fairness, guest failed to contact us by phone until checkout, and plumber was sent immediately that afternoon to correct all deficiencies. Previous "texts" were unanswered because our phone is a land line and not a cell phone that would have received texts. As for too hot/too cold, room temperature is easily controlled by adjusting the dampers as one would do in any home. Guest difficulty in accessing unit was because some forgot to press the "unlock" button after entering code. Villa Verdone remains committed to providing superior guest service through continued upgrades, quality decor, and conveniences such as Lemongrass soaps and Smart TV's. Thank you. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Chicago trip family

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. We had all girls- 2 adults and five children. It is a two bedroom with a pull out and it worked as two of the girls are 8. The location was perfect. We could walk to shopping restaurants , the beach. We even walk to Navy Pier as it's just about 30 minutes right along the lake. The apartment was clean and having a kitchen was great with kids.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you had an awesome time Stacy. We finished installing the new dual pane windows just hours before you checked in. Hope you enjoyed the new lemongrass soaps as well and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
O'Hare or Midway
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
Rush St. nightlife & Restaurants 1/2 block
Nearest Train
400 Metres
Red line 3 blocks away
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
Dozens on Rush Street 1/2 block
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Oak Beach 1/2 block away
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Gold Coast Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
15 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $195

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties