Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Log home and perfectly located

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

WE take rentals up to two years in advance. Call us on our cell at 503-810-2314, 503-807-5489 for details. .Our charming log home is located in the center of Black Butte Ranch near the South Meadow Pool. We are nestled in the back of a cul-de-sac away from traffic and very close to the meadow bike path. Our home is furnished with antiques along with the bear skin on the wall.

We have been updating over the past few years, with roof, driveway, carpet, and decks. Being a gourmet cook, we have everything that you would need to provide that sumptuous dinner after a day of skiing or hiking. Our Master is a queen with full bath, Our Large 2nd bedroom has 2 queen beds and , 2 twins,, and a crib. Our third bedroom upstairs is a queen and we have a full bath upstairs. We have a large couch in our family room downstairs with a large TV and DVR/DVD/VCR. We also have WIFI.

We do allow a dog, but not a puppy or cat. It has to be well behaved, not allowed on the furniture, completely house trained, and crated when you are not in the house. We need proof from your vet that the dog is on a flea prevention program and we charge a $100 pet fee. This has too be cleared by the owners first. Be sure and call owner at 503-810-2314 to confirm before booking .

We have a small family room upstairs that has two couches and a reading area. . Our home sleeps many, but we limit the size of the party to 7 people including infants.

Black Butte Ranch was developed in the 1960's and provides a safe a secure area for your family to venture out on their own. We are a gated community and have two 18 hole golf courses, four large pools, miles and miles of bike paths. It is a working ranch with cattle and horses. Horseback riding is available either individual or by group. Tennis courts are located throughout the ranch in multiple locations. Bike, tennis, golf and ski rentals are available at the lodge.

We have a beautiful lodge that looks out on a lake and multiple mountains. Fine dining is available at the lodge, pool side dining, and a grill at the Pro shop. For the avid fly fisherman, our lake is stocked annually. We also have canoes and kayak available for rental. We are located 20 minutes from Hoo Doo ski resort and 30 minutes from Bend for which Mount Bachelor is located close by. There is a $8 per person per day usage fee that the ranch charges upon arrival.

Keywords: Charming Log home with lots of antiques, well maintained

More Details

Owner
Linda Marshall
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 5, 2017

About Linda Marshall

We are a family of 6 and have loved Black Butte Ranch for 20 years. Our family has many wonderful memories here. We have found much peace in the tranquility of the ranch and able to leave the stress of work and life behind.

Linda Marshall purchased this house in 1992

Why Linda Marshall chose Central Oregon

We chose to buy on the ranch, for we wanted a home that we could enjoy all 4 seasons. We are avid bikers, skiers, fishermen, and hikers. We also wanted a short drive from Portland so that we could enjoy on the weekends. Our home has everything that you need away from your own home.

What makes this house unique

What makes our home unique is that it is a true log home and there are very few on the ranch. We have a covered front porch that can be used during all seasons for the lighting is great to play cards at night and enjoy meals even during the winter time.

Amenities

Black Butte Ranch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • The dog must be crated when depart house and not allowed on furniture. Please make sure all sheets and towels are dried, folded and placed on bed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Please be sure and put the shower curtain inside the tub to prevent water from spilling on the floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Log home and perfectly located
average rating of 4.470588 based on 17 reviews
Lake Oswego, OR
5

Perfect Location and the house has everything you could possibly need

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in this lovely home. Lots of activities. The beds were very comfortable . This location is perfect with small kids for it is cul de sac with no traffic. We are huge cooks and loved having all type of spices and cooking provisions available for us to use. We will definitely come again!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much and come back anytime
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Oregon
2

not so much

  • 2 of 5

You have to be a certain kind of person to be able to rent your vacation home to strangers. This owner is not so much that. (1) The property advertises a "gourmet kitchen", but is woefully inadequate to such a description. We found stale and mislabled spices on the counter and a two-burner stove with a capricious very small oven that doesn't seem to have been updated since the 1970s. (2) We arrived for a week long stay to find half-filled tiny bottles of shampoo and such on the counter of the bathrooms, and ONE BATH SOAP in each bathroom, for six people, with no more anywhere in the cabinets we could open. (3) Most of the cabinets in the kitchen were locked and the drawers were a hideous tangle of not what you are looking for. (4) the house is full of warnings and directions that make it clear that the owner really doesn't want you to relax at her expense, for example, in this big house with full dining facilities on two outside decks and two indoor tables: CHILDREN EAT ONLY IN DINING ROOM. You want us to police the three year old and the 18 month old every minute? (5) BEST OF ALL: you are directed to leave sheets and towels laundered and folded on the beds for the convenience of the cleaning person - but the dryer doesn't work. Oh, it makes noise and heat, but on our last day we got up at 6.30am and threw sheets and towels in wash and dryer immediately. At 10.30am they were not dry. We called the owner, who said "oh, I recommend that you start the night before." BUT MAYBE WE'RE USING THE SHEETS THE NIGHT BEFORE, LIKE, TO SLEEP. She assured us that we should just leave them in the dryer. THEN SHE EMAILED TO SAY SHE WOULD CHARGE US EXTRA BECAUSE WE DIDN'T LEAVE THE SHEETS FOLDED ON THE BED. Must be terrible to be held hostage by one's cleaning person. The stress seems to have gotten to the owner. I would recommend to her that she take a break from renting, and then maybe buy a new dryer, and maybe update that kitchen - or change the description.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, you cannot make everyone happy. The above renter wanted to pay the discounted housekeeping fee and his family wash the sheets and towels. I explained in multiple times for a large group, he would need to wash his sheets the night prior to departure.According to the daughter they had a great time and loved our house. We do not provide shampoos and Cream rinse. He was upset for having to pay an extra cleaning fee being that he did not get the laundry done.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

such a charming log cabin style home.

  • 5 of 5

This home is perfectly located, quiet; and stays cool inside when it's super hot outside. Kitchen has everything you need and we loved lounging on the front porch in the mornings and afternoons.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed our home away from home. Thank you for the very nice review. Sincerely, Linda Marshall
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

This log home is well situated to the South Meadow Pool and tennis courts, the Glaze Meadow recreation center and the bike paths. It's amazingly quiet as it is off the main street even though there are neighbors nearby. The owners are wonderfully responsive and the house is well stocked. This house easily could host 2 families with a master downstairs, a queen upstairs and a "bunk" room with 4 beds. Our dog loved it as well - he particularly enjoyed sitting on the frong porch while we were out and about.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

R & R

  • 5 of 5

This is our family's 3rd stay at #34 SM and we will definitely make reservations soon for next summer! It's a perfect location - close to the pool and tennis courts, bike paths...It is a picture postcard of a cozy cabin and the inside is just perfect for us! We barbeque every evening and entertain guests when they drop by - the front porch is so inviting! Every time we have stayed here the neighboring renters have commented on how charming this home is.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had such a great time. We love our guests that come back year after year. It is our second home and appreciate you treating our home like yours. Have a great last few weeks of summer. Thank you and let us know when you want to come back next summer!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon City, OR, USA
4

Fourth of July

  • 4 of 5

The home was nice for our extended family, ranging from 2 years to 85 years, plus a dog. Black Butte pool nearest the home wasn't open and the owner had not notified so we weren't aware and that was a disappointment. It would be helpful to have instructions on the oven/stove controls and location of the extra burners (instead of grill). Also, railings on the front steps would be helpful for older visitors, and rails at the end of porch would be helpful when toddlers are part of the party. Otherwise the home worked well for us.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, we are so sorry the pool was not open. Unfortunately the ranch does not notify the owners and it was supposed to be open Memorial day weekend. We didn't know that there was a part ordered for the pool that took 3 weeks to deliver. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay though. We raised our four kids in the home with lots of toddlers but it is a log home and not for handicapped, though the master is on the main. The good news, it was a fun fourth of July with all the events going on the ranch. We layer out instructions for the oven and the TV on the countertop now. Thank you and have a great end of the summer
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Redmond, OR
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 20
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Hoo Doo
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $700
Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

Confirmation is required before booking, The ranch charges a $8 per person per day access fee for everyone over 7 that is charged at the registration desk with checking in. All renters dispose of trash at the trash disposal site.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties