Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Daniel McCormick

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Lakefront House On Beautiful Northern Michigan Lake

5 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Northern Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Listen to the call of the loons from a modern, 3 bedroom, 2 bath A-frame house located on the shores of serene, 415 acre Avery Lake near Lewiston, MI. A quiet place to appreciate nature and just relax. Area wildlife includes deer, elk, black bear, bald eagles and more. Enjoy excellent fishing for smallmouth bass, walleye, pike and panfish. Fly fishing for smallmouth bass is great in the summer and fall, and we encourage catch and release. Three kayaks, a canoe, a row boat (on which you can put your own outboard motor, up to 15hp) and a new STAND-UP PADDLE BOARD are provided. Numerous trout streams are nearby too.

Much of the lake is surrounded by Mackinaw State Forest, which provides miles of trails for snowmobiling, mountain biking, cross-country skiing, hiking and thousands of acres for hunting. About a half hour drive to the fabulous Garland Resort for golfing or cross-country skiing or less than an hour drive to Gaylord, the Golf Mecca of the Midwest.

The house is located in a very private, wooded setting, on a small island with a drivable causeway and bridge. There are three large bedrooms, each having access to outside decks. Also, there is a large deck off the living room with a great view of the sunset over the lake. The front of the house facing the lake contains large windows affording a panoramic view of the lake and surrounding hills from the living room and kitchen areas. The interior of the house is paneled in rustic knotty pine complemented by a cathedral ceiling. There is a nice lakeside deck, which provides access to a great swimming area. We want you to have a great experience here and will be happy to provide you with any information about area fishing, canoeing, hiking, etc. MAXIMUM OF SIX GUESTS DURING ANY RENTAL PERIOD, and we have had a long-standing policy of no pets, as some of our regular and repeating guests have allergies.ALSO, DURING THE SUMMER, WE RENT ONLY BY THE WEEK, AND OUR WEEKS RUN FROM SUNDAY TO THE FOLLOWING SATURDAY. THE RATE FOR THE WEEK IS $1200. WE DO RENT FOR SHORTER PERIODS IN SPRING AND FALL. ALSO, ALL RENTALS ARE CONTINGENT ON GUEST SIGNING, ABIDING BY, AND DELIVERING TO OWNER A RENTAL AGREEMENT WHICH OWNER WILL SEND TO GUEST.

AREA INFORMATION:

Montmorency County is probably one of the least developed counties of northern Michigan. Much of the county consists of state forest land. The area abounds in beautiful lakes and clear trout streams. Very close to Avery Lake, are small streams like Hunt Creek and Gilchrist Creek, each having gin-clear water with good populations of brown trout. Canada Creek is just north of Atlanta, and has some surprisingly good brook trout fishing. About 25 miles directly south, the Au Sable River flows through Huron National Forest and is designated a National Wild and Scenic River in this stretch. Great opportunities for floating this river exist, and you are welcome to transport our canoes and/or kayaks to the river for a great day of fishing or just enjoying nature.

In the northwest part of Montmorency County, the beautiful Pigeon River State Forest has abundant small lakes and some very decent trout streams as well. Try fishing on the East Branch of the Black River, or the Main Branch of the Black for wild brookies, or the Sturgeon River or the Pigeon River for brookies, rainbows and browns. All are within about a 30 to 45 minute drive from Avery Lake.

For golfers, Garland Resort is probably one of the nicest courses in the area. And of course there are the many fabulous courses in the Gaylord area.

Great dining is found at the Lewiston Lodge, about a 20 minute drive from Avery Lake, between the huge lakes of East Twin and West Twin. Lewiston, Michigan is located on East Twin and has a decent grocery store and additional great restaurants - like the Redwood Steak House.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Daniel McCormick (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Daniel McCormick

We are Dan and Cheryl, and although we actually purchased the property in 2003, it has been in our family since the mid 70s. We both grew up in Toledo, Ohio, but we have been coming to beautiful Avery Lake since the late 60s, when we camped at the state forest campground. We now divide our time between Avery Lake, Ohio, and Florida.

Daniel McCormick purchased this house in 2003

Why Daniel McCormick chose Northern Michigan

We absolutely love the area that Avery Lake is located in. It is so removed from the hustle-bustle of downstate life. It is located in Montmorency County, which is probably the least developed of all the counties the northern part of lower Michigan. The lake water is of the highest quality. The drinking water comes from an 80 foot well and we think its the best!

We have two (now adult) children who were practically raised at Avery Lake in the summer, and they come back each year for a wonderful family reunion. The memories of this place are an important part of all of our lives, and Cheryl and Dan want to share with you the beauty that the house and area offer.

Reviews

4.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Lakefront House On Beautiful Northern Michigan Lake
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
4

As advertised - Nice place to stay!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great weekend. Beautiful view of the lake, clean, comfortable and good accommodations. Would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. . . it is really appreciated. Glad you found the place comfortable and clean and also glad that you would come back again. And the view of the lake that you mentioned is one of our favorite things about the place. We also appreciate the views of the the brilliant sunsets that you can see from the living room and kitchen areas. You are always welcome back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Lafayette,IN
5

Great place to spend a vacation

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I rented this Avery lake cottage for our annual fishing trip. We're a little older now, so we're not too worried about being close to bars and stuff. This location was about 20 minute to either Atlanta or Lewiston. Both places had snack bar-style restaurants and Atlanta has a nice grocery store and the hardware store sells live bait.

This house has a shallow dock, but we rented a pontoon boat. It was really not a big deal. We were worried going in, but the lake was deep enough for us to do whatever we wanted. It's possible at other times of year the lake could be lower and a boat like this would not have done as well as far as gliding over stumps.

The fishing was very good. We were given some tips which didn't work out. So we basically took a look around and decided for ourselves where we thought fish would be. And lo and behold, it worked. I think we spent 2 hours in one spot and pulled in 6 nice pike/bass. had a great feast,

The cottage itself is roomy enough for 5 people to hang out in. The kitchen has utensils and plates and stuff and also a dishwasher. The one problem we had was the lack of sponges, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. We thought those would be included.

Bringing our own sheets was kind of annoying but I get it...there isn't an accessible washing machine on site I dont think. Bringing your own towels, though, was too much for me to remember. But hey, four days without a shower is no biggie, right?

We had a great time, the giant porches were really nice to have around and the view of the lake was awesome. Oh yeah, we headed out to an island on the lake that had a fire pit and we grilled hot dogs and drank beer one afternoon. Very cool. Had our own little island. The water is clear too. You'll see people swimming over by the campground.

Overall we were very pleased. If we ever stayed in the same place twice, we would consider this one again, but alas, we must find more cool lakes and cottages to stay in!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and so glad you had a great time. As you indicated, fishing can indeed be spectacular at Avery Lake, withe the predominant species being smallmouth bass. We do strongly encourage catch and release in order to maintain the high quality of the fishery though. Fly fishing is the way to go anytime during the summer after about the first week of June. I wish someone would have contacted me about the toilet paper, paper towels, etc. We do indeed supply these items and we keep a stocked supplies of these in the basement, in the closet that has the bifold doors on it. If that closet was inadvertently locked, I apologize. You were the first guests that have ever brought their own pontoon boat, and I am glad that it worked out well for you. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
5

As advertised

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Avery Lake cabin for the Memorial Day week and it was a perfect place to relax and recharge. There were up to six adults staying at the cabin at one point and it never felt crowded. Listening to the loons every morning on the deck with coffee and every evening with a beer was a great way to unwind from a hectic and stressful “normal” like. In between, all we had to do was take a few steps to the lake to kayak and fish.

The cabin is outfitted with all the items you would expect (you have to bring your own sheets and towels) and though not luxurious it is all functional and comfortable. What really makes it special are all the “toys” that are included. The kayaks, canoe, paddleboard and rowboat provided really set this rental apart.

There is one other cottage next door but this didn’t cause us any issues. The closest town is Lewiston which has several restaurants and a grocery store but not much else. If you want someplace with nightlife this is not the place for you but if you want to just enjoy the lake and read consider it. We are already talking about meeting up at this cabin next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our lake is truly blessed to have loons on it every summer. Their wonderful "yodeling" in the quiet evenings is a hallmark of the "up north" experience. And so glad you enjoyed the kayaks, canoe, stand-up paddle board and row boat. Really, the lake is just a perfect size for these. . . you really don't need high-power motor. Some folks do bring electric trolling motor for the boat and that works just fine. Thanks again for your visit and so happy you all enjoyed yourselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orion, Michigan
5

Wonderful Visit!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our long weekend at this home. The property is well kept, clean and spacious. The owner was very quick to respond to any questions we had. We never left the property during our stay as we had everything we needed. There was a beautiful view of the lake from the living room windows! It was a bit too chilly to swim, but we took the rowboat out for a spin. What a beautiful, crystal clear lake! Even though the wind was whipping up a bit that weekend, we still caught a few nice fish. An extra treat was discovering a nifty assortment of games and puzzles in the bedroom closet, as well as vintage books throughout the house. Great stuff for rainy day/evening fun! We'd definitely consider renting this home again!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind words. We really try to make the place comfortable, interesting, and fun for all of our guests. It means so much to us when guest report back that they have enjoyed the place! Looking forward to having you as guests again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Blanc Mi
4

Avery Lake cabin

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. Lake is beautiful. Row boat was provided - "dock" area could have been more user friendly. Cabin was nice except furniture was pretty uncomfortable- had it been warmer we would have spent more time outside and on the lake and probably wouldn't have noticed how uncomfortable furniture was. Dogs were not welcome although we could tell they have spent time there- would have liked to have included our dog. We may come back in the summer when it's warm and we can spend the day on the water.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time, and thanks for taking time to write the Review. It was wonderful having you as guests. Please know that since your visit we have replaced the couch and now have one that is much more comfortable. You are correct in that we do not allow dogs, and that has been our policy for the last 12 years.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

This is a nature-lovers paradise! So many trails to explore on state forest land; mountain biking opportunities on back roads; running, swimming, etc. Grocery shopping abut 9 miles away. Good restaurants in Lewiston and Atlanta; Golfing at Garland is about a 25 minute drive. All the fabulous golf courses around Gaylord are an easy drive from the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Atlanta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring, Summer and Fall
Apr 15 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

During the Summer, we rent ONLY by the week, and our weeks run from Sundays to the following Saturday. The rate for the week is $1200. During the Fall and Spring, we do rent for shorter periods, with a 2 night minimum stay. Limit of 6 guests during any one rental period. We do request guests to bring their own sheets and towels. We do require guests to fill out and sign a Rental Agreement, and we send the Agreement to guests by email.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northern Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Located on second floor, accessible from master bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Second floor bedroom with bathroom/ shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , First floor bedroom with double bed. Bath just across hall
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , First floor bedroom with two twin beds
  • The house is an 'A' Frame. The master bedroom is on second floor, with its own bathroom. The other two bedrooms are on first floor, with bathroom just across the hall. WE DO REQUEST THAT GUESTS BRING THEIR OWN SHEETS AND TOWELS. The various sizes of the beds are listed on the Rental Agreement, which we email to you.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • water tubing
Notes:
If you are looking for a place to just kick back and relax, our house on Avery Lake is for you! My wife and I absolutely love being there and I think you will too. It is also a great place to use as a base for exploring the area, as there are numerous trout streams, rivers to kayak, trails to walk and bike on, other lakes to explore/fish, in the area. I love to fly fish on Avery Lake with poppers - both smallmouth and largemouth bass love 'em. Great to canoe or kayak on the Au Sable River too, just a 35 minute drive south from Avery Lake. We also enjoy bicycling around the lake, especially because so much of it is surrounded by state forest land. Fall has some of the greatest weather, and starting about mid-September, the foliage starts to gradually change, exploding into full color during October. I can't fail to mention what a delight it is to swim in water that is about the highest quality lake water you will find in Michigan.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote