Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic No Bank Beach Front Cottage - Only 1.5 Hour From Seattle

Bedrooms 3
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Enjoy this renovated beach front cabin! Just steps away from the historic Point No Point Lighthouse, this is the perfect location for a romantic celebration, a girls’ or boys’ weekend, or a family beach vacation. This beautiful spot seems worlds away from the hubbub, but is only an hour and a half from Seattle (including ferry time)—especially ideal if you only have the weekend and want to keep travel time to a minimum. If you are looking for a laid-back getaway, this is it!

This property was once part of the historic Point No Point fishing resort, so it's a PRIME location (the original resort was established in the 1920s). We are located right on the primary shipping lanes, facing north to Whidbey Island and Mt. Baker; watching the boating/shipping traffic provides a real sense of Puget Sound maritime. The beach itself is a rare, sandy beach all the way to low tide (most Puget Sound beaches are fairly rocky).

The three bedroom cabin includes a quiet master bedroom in back with a newer (2014) queen bed, two separate bedrooms each with twin bunk beds (also newer beds), an updated bathroom, a fully equipped galley kitchen, and an open concept living/dining area with an unobstructed view of Puget Sound. The front door opens onto a nice deck for relaxing, sunbathing and eating. There are lawn/play areas in the front and back of the cabin. Everything you'll need to enjoy your stay is already here: bedding, beach towels, sand toys, games, BBQ, deck/beach chairs. Vizio HDTV/BluRay with WiFi, Wii console, and Comcast TV/WiFi (local channels only, but excellent bandwidth to stream your favorite shows) are also included.

Try exploring beyond the beach! Kingston and Poulsbo are fun for shopping/dining/movies, Port Ludlow and Port Townsend are less than an hour away, and the Hansville Store is not to be missed for ice cream, coffee and casual breakfast/lunch/dinner. The lighthouse area is a County Park with a sprawling beachfront and a bird sanctuary just feet from the cabin. This is traditionally a great salmon fishing area (check on open season dates for Marine Area 9 - Admiralty Inlet). You can launch your boat in Kingston, or just cast off the beach! Other activities include hiking/bike riding along the Hansville Greenway trails, shopping in Poulsbo and Port Townsend, and excellent golf courses are nearby @ Whitehorse (15 min), Gold Mountain (~1 hr), and Port Ludlow (45 min).

We know you'll enjoy your stay, but please contact us with any questions!

More Details

Joe and Lora Kolmer
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2017

About Joe and Lora Kolmer

Our grandparents and their friends purchased the Point No Point Resort in the 1930s. Though the resort is gone now, this cabin remains in our family, lovingly cared for. Our family is still local, and Point No Point is an ingrained part of our heritage.

Joe and Lora Kolmer purchased this cabin in 1938

What makes this cabin unique

1. Easy and fast to get to from the major metro area

2. No bank waterfront with 180 degree view of Puget Sound from the cabin; located right on the shipping lanes

3. Beautiful sandy beach (most Sound beaches are rocky) stretching all the way around the Point

4. Recently renovated cabin - reupholstered furniture, new mattresses, flooring, new bathroom, hot water, electronics (TV, BluRay,WiFi), dishes, etc... Super cute.

5. Great fishing, golf, day trips!


Hansville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Recently remodeled bathroom with large tiled walk in shower (no tub)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen , New (2014) queen bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , new (2014) beds
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , Not a full bedroom; no closet. New (2014) beds here as well
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Historic No Bank Beach Front Cottage - Only 1.5 Hour From Seattle
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews

Another wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We spent another week at this beach cabin. The place is roomy, welcoming and clean. The floors are clean (even under the beds), bathroom clean, no mold, no funky smells, full functioning shower and toilet. The kitchen is clean and fully functioning as well. The beds are super clean, sparkling white sheets. Some rentals have a musty smell and in order to feel OK you need to open all windows and doors upon arrival, or sketchy bathrooms with smelling septic systems, not here. This cabin smells like a honest clean house. There are enough supplies and it is, as I mentioned, welcoming. We are already planning our next vacation here. Thank you for sharing the house with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

The location of this fish camp style cottage is perfect. We caught lots of pink salmon near the lighthouse. The bunk beds were uncomfortable and made lots of noise. Suitable for very small children perhaps. The cottage was not clean - lots of dust and the furnishing very worn. If you just want to go there to fish or sit on the beach, you wouldn't mind all that. I'm surprised the other reviews are so good. If the price were more reasonable, this review would be better. We found it very overpriced.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Barbara, Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry the cleaning wasn't up to our usual standard. Looking back on the dates, I realized that when I was preparing the cabin for you, I received word my husband had unexpectedly been admitted to the hospital and I was rushing to get back to town; I wasn't as focused as I normally am. I apologize it negatively impacted your stay. I have refunded your $75 cleaning fee accordingly. I am very happy you did enjoy the beach though, and that your family had good luck fishing! It was a record season I think. Best wishes to you for a great upcoming summer, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at this beautiful place. The cabin is comfortable, very clean and offers lots of sleeping options. The bathroom is new and very functional. The view and beach access are the best you can imagine. You can beach comb for miles and the neighbors are very friendly. I could stay forever watching the ships go by.

It was really hard to leave and I am homesick for that wonderful piece of paradise. Thank you for offering us this wonderful experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shoreline, WA

Heaven on earth!!

  • 5 of 5

This was probably the most beautiful view we have ever had! You could see it from your front room window, the deck, etc. We had bonfires at the beach! The home was quaint and cozy! We saw whales and sea lions. The beach is sandy and beautiful. We surely plan on staying again. Great people to work with regarding renting their place. All around fantastic time!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful view!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect beach cabin. It had everything we needed. Great beach out front. Our 2 year old could run around all day here. We'll definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gresham, OR

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this cute little beach house and loved it! We had never been to this area before and were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful it was. The house had everything we needed and the best part is it was right on the beach! Beautiful sunsets, peaceful, perfect for kids! My boys played in the water, saw seals, crabs, and caught some fish! One of the best getaways our family has ever had! I would highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Hansgrille, The Point Casino, Puerto Vallerta
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Hansgrille, The Point Casino, Puerto Vallerta
Nearest Beach
Kitsap County Park - Point No Point
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $200

Check in time is 3pm, Check out time is 11am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties