Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Rare Find! Stay In The Only Beachfront Home On The Gorgeous Playa Blanca

Bedrooms 2
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Oceanfront 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath House With Private Pool & Access To Amazing Beach

Spoil yourself at the only vacation rental property on one of the most beautiful pristine deserted beaches on the Nicoya Peninsula...Playa Blanca.

This secure gated property offers privacy and direct access to the pristine and secluded beach and an abundance of outdoor activities steps from the property or nearby. Yet, it is only a short drive to and from the Junquillal Supermarket and restaurants in the area.

The 2200 square foot home features an open concept living, kitchen and dining area great for entertaining that is anchored by two full master suites to the north and south. Each suite has a large split system air-conditioning unit, full bath and private outdoor sitting area. The south bedroom has a king size bed and the north bedroom has 2 queen size beds.

An on-site caretaker and weekly cleaning is included in the rental to ensure the property is maintained and guests experience a worry-free and pleasurable stay.

Spend your days relaxing in the private tranquil infinity pool overlooking the ocean, unwinding in the shaded hammocks or take advantage of the many recreational activities available nearby, including:

• horseback riding

• surfing

• stand up paddle boarding

• whale watching

• snorkelling

• watching and protecting turtles

• adventure tours

• swimming

• biking

• golf

• fishing

• bird watching

• canopy tours

• kayaking

• beach walks

• enjoying breathtaking sunsets

We invite you to make your perfect Costa Rican getaway a reality by taking advantage of the rare opportunity to stay in the only vacation rental on Playa Blanca.

More Details

Laura Irvine
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2017


Guanacaste House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • North Bathroom - toilet , shower , Private bathroom located in North master bedroom
    South Bathroom - toilet , shower , Private bathroom in South master bedroom
  • The private bathrooms are located in each of the master bedrooms.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • South Master Bedroom - 1 king , Spacious master suite with one king bed & bathroom
    North Master Bedroom - 2 queen , 1 baby crib , Spacious with 2 queen beds
  • 2 very spacious bedrooms accommodate up to 6 people. Each room has a private bathroom and outdoor sitting area.
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Rare Find! Stay In The Only Beachfront Home On The Gorgeous Playa Blanca
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 26 reviews
Port Perry, Ontario

Excellent Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Casa Andy for seven weeks and have nothing but good things to say. The house was everything as advertised only better. The nearby restaurants were of good quality with reasonable prices. We ate dinner our 47 out of our 49 nights. Our favourite was Mundo Milo Eco Lodge but we got into a pattern of visiting four of them regularly.

Look for the Common Pauraque birds (night jars) on the road when going to the restaurants. They feed at night on the road and take off as you approach them. We saw 25 species of birds while sitting on the lounge chairs by the pool.

We also drove to Playa Junquillal for early morning walks.

Tamarindo and Santa Cruz are 30 minutes away for serious grocery shopping. Except for the first few miles, the roads are paved and very lightly travelled. Everyday things are available five minutes away at a local shop. I wouldn't stay here without a car. We rented from Adobe Rent A Car. They picked us up at the airport and shuttled us to their nearby office. We had no difficulty following Laura's directions to the house.

Very comfortable sitting areas in the shade. Pool is lovely and just what you need after a long walk on the beach. Reach the beach through a gate near the pool and walk down a private path.

There were just the two of us for most of the time but we did have another couple with us for one week. The two bedrooms are in separate wings and provide comfortable privacy. The common area is quite large - larger than the vrbo photos show it to be. The kitchen has all that is needed.

I have read some of the negative reviews and offer the following:

1. Yes, there are ants but only if you leave food on the counter or dirty dishes by the sink.

2. There is a dirt road. If you want a paved road, choose Tamarindo and crowds.

3. The place is like Fort Knox. Being robbed can only be because of carelessness.

4. The owners not available or unhelpful? Laura was always very helpful and quick to respond.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always happy when guests embrace this lovely little community which we consider a hidden treasure. You are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great house great beach great weather!!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice house good location friendly caretaker. Overall a very nice stay and worth going back. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beach, Pool and privacy

  • 5 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay at Casa Andy. I won't echo what all the other reviewers said, but it indeed is nice and private, quiet, safe, and the beach is right there and it might as well be your own. A minor inconvenience was not having a dishwasher, but then you can't expect all the amenities of home!

My 9 & 7 year-old kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool. Getting to town is easy, and there are plenty of nearby activities (e.g. zip-lining - we had fun at the Black Stallion ranch).

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

R&R Guaranteed!

  • 5 of 5

Casa Andy is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. It's very private and quiet. Take a 2 minute walk to the ocean from the house, or swim in the pool. The house has everything - dishes, all appliances, (including laundry), landline and free wi-fi.

The owners were extremely helpful and answered all my questions before we went. I would definitely recommend renting a car. One of the best restaurants we found is Las Tuquitas, about 15 minutes from the house, right on the main road. Tamarindo is a nearby town right on the beach. It's great for buying souvenirs or renting surfboards. We loved the Gallo Fino restaurant there. About 10 minutes (drive) from the house is a turtle refuge - we were lucky to help them release 100+ baby turtles into the ocean. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful, and many spoke at least some English.

We loved Casa Andy, and would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Muchos gracias, Lesley! We welcome you back anytime. We love the turtle releases too, and are always amazed by their determined journey down the beach to the ocean.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

Severely disappointed while staying at this property. Nearby restaurants weren't opened and the nearby hotel was recently closed. Hosts were not helpful.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the Junquillal area. To be fair, we have no influence over the restaurants and hotels in the area being open for business. Thanks for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Unsafe at Casa Andy

  • 1 of 5

We were robbed while staying at Casa Andy. Doors were dead bolted and gates were locked. Not a safe place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that this incident happened to guests staying at our house. In discussion by telephone post-incident, the guest said he was unsure if the doors at the point of entry were locked. When we inspected the doors and locks we found no signs of damage or forced entry. Our caretaker reminded this guest 3 times to lock up after she found the house left unlocked when the guests were away from the property. It's a bit like leaving an unlocked vehicle in a public parking lot. Sooner or later, opportunists will take advantage. Tourists must take precautions for their security when travelling anywhere in the world.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Liberia (LIR) International Airport
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Hotel Iguanazul -- amazing sunsets and Happy Hour
Nearest Golf
33 Kilometres
Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hotel Iguanazul, Amigos, Mundo Milo, Surf Cafe etc
Nearest Beach
0.1 Kilometres
Playa Blanca
Car: recommended

This area offers an abundance of activities or the perfect relaxing getaway. There is fabulous snorkeling at low tide and swimming at high tide directly in front of the property. There are several beaches strung together ranging from white sand to black sand perfect for a long stroll or beach combing.

Other favortite activities in the areas are horseback riding down the beach, biking the back roads, surfing, yoga, stand up paddle boarding, turtle tours.

If relaxing is your intention, you will enjoy the private pool and hammocks in the shade at the house or sunbathing at the deserted playa blancas steps from the house.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $350

All rates are quoted in USD and include weekly maid service, utilities, tax and onsite caretaker. 50% of total rents owing is required to confirm a reservation. The remaining rents owing and a $350 refundable damage deposit is due 60 days prior to the check-in date. If cancellation occurs 60 days in advance of the check-in date, 75% of rents paid will be refunded. $25/night/person for more than 4.

Payment is accepted via USD certified check/money order or credit card through Paypal. All Paypal transactions are subject to a 3.0 % charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties