Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunny ground floor apartment.

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome


About the property

2 bedroomed apartment sleeping 4. Main bathroom.

Sunflower apartment is a cosy two bedroom apartment situated in the beautiful village of Marsascala. Facing South it enjoys long sunny periods all day long. It is fully air-conditioned and equipped with all the necessary equipment for a pleasant stay. Situated on the ground floor it has easy access to wheelchair bound persons. It is situated close to shops, restaurants, cinema, and the beach, has a beautiful terrace and a small garden. It has a Main bedroom, and another bedroom that can be set as double or twin a full bathroom, an equipped kitchen with oven, hob, fridge/freezer, dish washer, washing machine, cable TV and a corner five seater lounge.

About Marsascala. Malta.: In the year 1905 The population of Marsascala was 53. The population today is in the region of 3,800. The Maltese name for this area is 'Wied il-Ghajn'. This area had been forgotten by the Maltese, but not by the foreigners. The reason or theory of why this was so, was that the area was so accessible by sea, that successive conquering armies came ashore here and set about taking the land, and slaves. Marsascala was once a Roman Port. Roman remains lie scattered at 'tar-Rumi', where pre-Roman cart ruts have been noticed. Though the area is partly ringed by tall white cliffs, the smooth inlets offered easy access to 16th and 17th century invaders.

The defences of the area was late in coming and Vendome Battery dates from about 1715. Vendome was a French Knight. Some of the residents built their own towers, and fortified farmhouses are quite frequent. Even after the area was finally fortified residents still remained few and Sicilian fishermen were more familiar with the area.

More Details

Property Manager
Adrian & Mary Rose Zammit
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, french, italian, Maltese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017


Malta Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 20 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking On Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Main Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Sunny ground floor apartment.
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews

A good base

  • 3 of 5

We chose Sunflower Cottage as a base for exploring Malta and Gozo as it appeared to be ideally placed for our needs as we only intended to and did use it as a 'b&b'. There was safe bathing a ten minute walk away and a variety of restaurants anything from a five to twenty minute walk from the apartment. Also it was well away from the main holiday areas of the island. The apartment was clean and had all the amenities we needed for our stay and were grateful for the pre -arranged lift from the airport. Also knowing that the owners could be contacted if needed was an advantage.

For us, the only problem was the parking which was fine during the day but after about 4pm, as the apartment was in a well populated residential area, a parking space was almost impossible to find and we did manage a parking ticket timed at 08.05! Being a residential area we were also aware of the constant traffic noise during the evening and early morning. However we very much enjoyed our stay in Malta and will visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Well situated a.equipped apartment with great host

  • 5 of 5

We are very happy of being on Malta! The apartment is situated in calm area and is close to most important places in Marsaskala. The hosts Mary Rose and Adrian are very kind and helpfull. They gave us lot of usefull tips:) Less tourist, more local citizens and thanks to it You can feel real Maltese atmosphere:)

What is more, the weather was perfect. You do not have to plan your days because of the weather:) Perfect holidays with perfect hosts. Thank You Mary Rose and Adrian:)

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests We appreciate your review, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday in sunny Malta:) Hope to see you again. Best regards Mary Rose and Adrian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Saved our holiday!

  • 5 of 5

A very understanding and helpful couple who helped us when we left unsuitable accommodation. They couldn't have done more to help and we have had a great time here. They are very approachable and willing to help. The appartment is very clean, comfortable and we felt very safe here. Would definately come back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests We thank you for your comments, and we are glad you liked your stay at Sunflower apartment in Marsascala. It was a pleasure to have you at our apartment. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Mary Rose and Adrian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Not a holiday apartment

  • 1 of 5

Expected a holiday apartment and landed in the middle of a working residential area on a road with wasteland opposite and a large rubbish bin which was noisily emptied every day at 8.00. The apartment had been artfully photographed and sometime ago. Over the terrace was a worn out bamboo covering which did nothing to keep out the morning sun but from 3.00 there was no sun at all.. The phone was placed so high you needed stepladders to use it and there were no small pans for eggs, soup etc and you wouldn't have wanted to use the oven. A welcome pack was useful and the neighbours were friendly.

We can't understand the comments of the other guests finding it so wonderful!!

We liked Marsascala just not where we were. Some good restaurants within walking distance and we used the buses all the time.

The arranged driver did not turn up and fortunately we managed to contact the owner. On the return journey we took the bus to the airport as we felt that was much more reliable.

Will not rely on other peoples view for any future holiday booking.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest We were surprised to read your comments as you had not mentioned anything while we were communicating when you were still on holiday in our apartment. Whilst we respect your opinion and rating, we feel you were disrespectful towards all our previous guests who left very good comments. We do not agree with your comments. We appreciate any feedback that is true, because it helps us keep the apartment up to the required standards. However, not everything you commented on about our apartment is true. It is true that the driver didn’t show up on time, however, when you called us from the airport, we called him immediately and he was there within 10 minutes. We apologized for that on that same day and the following day when we met. It is our pleasure to leave a welcome food pack for you to find upon arrival. Regarding the telephone set, thanks for letting us know, nobody had ever commented about it. We leave a telephone set for the guests so that if you need to call us, you can do so free of charge and not waste credit from your mobile. We will replace it with a cordless phone to make it more accessible. It is regarding your comment that the apartment is in a working residential area and opposite a wasteland that is untrue. The apartment is set in a quiet residential area and opposite there is not a wasteland. Opposite is a plot that is still unconstructed and with a boundary wall of 8 feet high all along as required by the laws of Malta. We are always happy to help our guests and had you asked us for an extra pan, we would have been more than happy to bring you a new one. We leave our mobiles on 24 hours a day and you could have called us at home any time. We feel your rating of 1 star is not appropriate. Regards Adrian and Mary Rose
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Fabulous really lovely apartment !!

  • 5 of 5

Great location

Great apartment everything and more very clean and cosy but spacious as well.

Private and safe as I was visiting family and on my own I felt very comfortable and safe I had the most wonderful four days and highly recommend this as a perfect place to stay. The owners are very helpful and attentive.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sunflower and appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again in one of our properties. Best regards Mary Rose and Adrian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Great holiday destination

  • 4 of 5

Flat had everything as described and most of the time we used the small terrace which gave a view up the local street and local life in progress. Several shops within 100 yards and a large supermarket at the end of the road into town less than10 minutes walk away.In the centre up past the childrens playpark is a pharmacy and cash point on the other side of the road.Everything you could need. We found it a good location for exploring the island in our hire care and even the top end is only about 30 minutes away. Roads vary tremendously from new carriageways to farm tracks so potholed it must be a great place for testing car suspensions. However, if you can bear it these are often the shortest way there and Marsascala to Marsaxlokk is less than 10 minutes but somewhat longer on the good roads. Lots to see and do on the island with endless places to swim in the sea including Golden sands if you go that far. Visit the waterpark at Bahar on the way back which is very quiet at this time of year and closes early October. Having been in Malta with the navy I was interested to visit my old haunts but Halfar airfield is now an industrial estate and the runway a racetrack. The old mess building was still standing but all boarded up and neglected. That is 54 years of progress. The bay where we used to swim is now the Freeport and it is good to see the island progressing commercially. A visit to Valetta is a must as it is bustling capital with endless side streets and loads of places to visit. At the entrance turn first right and you are in the upper gardens and then it is downhill to the other places of interest. We made the mistake of walking down to the far end and round by the grand harbour and have never seen so many steps on the way back! We would definitely come back to the island and the flat in Marsacala.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests We thank you for this review and for staying at Sunflower apartment in Marsascala. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday exploring different places in Malta. We will be happy to welcome you again at Sunflower on your next holiday. Best regards Mary Rose and Adrian
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
Malta International Airport
Nearest Ferry
18 Kilometres
Gozo ferry boat
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Palm Valley Restaurant 2 minute walk away
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
St Thomas Bay 5 minute walk away
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Malta Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
Nov 7 2017 - Dec 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax €0 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the manager upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties