Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 Bedroom Chalet on Aylen Lake

Bedrooms 5
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Located on Aylen Lake, near Algonquin Park, this charming cottage is the perfect vacation retreat. Aylen Lake is known for being a large natural spring- fed lake that offers fantastic fishing and water sports, also known as one of the cleanest lakes in North America. Sensational sunrises and sunsets! This spacious cottage sleeps 13, great for large families or small groups. Kitchen, dining area, family room, open upper loft, bathroom, and 5 bedrooms. A rustic log cabin that sleeps 6 is also available on the property for an additional $300. Our pebble and rock shoreline features 2 sixteen foot docks to park your watercraft, swim from, or try your luck at fishing, and 2 large decks for sunning and picnics. Outside dining furniture and propane BBQ available. You will find 2 public sand beaches (boat to shore) with picnic facilities, and many trails on beautiful Aylen Lake.

Nearby Algonquin Park offers great hiking, biking, and ATV trails, wildlife sightings, and so much more. Day trip opportunities include the Visitor’s Center Museum, the Logging Museum, and other tourist attractions within the park. Whitewater Rafting, paddling, and golfing at local courses.

Please contact rep for availability and details of rental.

More Details

Diane Windle
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017


Aylen Lake Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • An outside porta potty also
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • 1st bedroom has 2 single beds or push together to make a King.The other 4 bedrooms have queen beds. On the loft there is 2 singles and a double bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible


2.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

5 Bedroom Chalet on Aylen Lake
average rating of 2.6666667 based on 3 reviews
Ontario Canada

Lots of space, could use some tlc and elbow grease

  • 3 of 5

My brother and his family stayed at this cottage recently. My family and my two sisters had rented elsewhere on the lake. The cottage is huge and solid. Plenty of room for a couple of families. Was not the cleanest when they arrived and my sister in law spent a good deal of time bringing it up to acceptable. Furnishings and decor are rustic and the usual hodgepodge of timeworn stuff. This is not a "Cottage Life" showcase. However, the location is good, it is spacious, the beds are adequate, the bathroom works and has hot water plus the porta-potty outhouse outside, the balcony and two large docks offer plenty of seating. BBQ worked fine. Aylen Lake is beautiful and as noted the owners or caretaker has laid patio stones out in the water as a walkway to the sandier part of the lake bottom. Large table for family meals or games, good complete kitchen, etc. It's not a romantic hideaway or showcase, but it is adequate housing on a beautiful lake where you should be outside most of the time.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul, for your review. We updated our cottage décor in 2016. We try and update every few years but not always possible. Our cottage is well maintained and we have spoken with our cleaning agent about your complaint and apologize. Hopefully our renters will find it up to their expectations!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ottawa, Canada

Roomy cottage on beautiful lake

  • 4 of 5

This large cottage (5 bedrooms plus loft) easily accommodated our group of 9, including three children (10, 11, and 14). It is rustic, so don't expect luxury - but is an "authentic" Canadian cottage experience in my opinion.

Aylen Lake is very clean and cool - excellent swimming. The owners have even installed rock steps and patio stones to make entry easier. Nice canoeing to nearby islands (bring your own - no boat provided). Loons, beaver, chipmunks, red squirrels, bluejays and other wildlife abound.

Cottage is well laid out, and adequately equipped. Kitchen features full stove, fridge, microwave, and electric griddle. Lots of seating in living/dining areas. Older TV with VCR/DVD combo player.

Quiet neighbours and low traffic lake.

25 minutes to Barry's Bay, and close enough to Algonquin Park to make it a base for day trips along Hwy 60. Easy drive from Ottawa, longer from GTA.

Owners easy to deal with, although some information lacking (VRBO issue?). All in all, I would recommend this cottage and return myself.

Adventurers - good base for nearby explorations in Algonquin, white water rafting on Madawaska, other provincial parks.

Families - lots of room for everyone, teens can find their own space.

Girls (or guys) getaway - again, lots of room, one bath may be limiting in this case.

Sightseers - near several provincial parks and other points of interest.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Andrew, we would love to have your group back! We try to provide a very nice vacation site!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Don't stay here!

  • 1 of 5

So my group which consisted of a total 13 people arrived here for the May long weekend in Friday around noon. We already knew from pictures that the outside yard is not well maintained but when we got inside, the house with a quick look, looked okay but later we found so many bugs around the house on the floor, sofa, even on some dishes. This really annoyed everyone in the group because we obviously didn't want this. Upon arrival, the BBQ was also not working, apparently rats had chewed up the pipe from the propane tank. To resolve this, we had the agent bring us his bbq as most of our food needed to be bbq'd so we weren't going to do way without it. Overall, this property is not worth the stay, the lake view is good but that's about it. The lawn area not being properly maintained or paved was actually a lot more annoying than we had thought it would be. Also, another huge no no for us was the fact that there was only one washroom in the cottage. There was a porta potty outside but obviously you can't shower in there. You can find much better cottages for around the same price, avoid this one if you can.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very upset by this review. This was a group of loud unruly college age kids. They disturbed our neighbors and frightened one of them. They were loud and left the property scattered with beer bottles and trash. Our agent was in to reprimand them multiple times during a 2 day stay. They brought a hooka into the cottage and burned holes in our carpet. We did not and do not have a bug problem at our cottage.Our BBQ grill was not working, which we were unaware of, and our agent kindly brought his personal grill in for them to use.We made it clear to them that they would not be allowed back at our property. Due to their bad behavior we had to change our rental policies. It is true that we only have one inside bathroom, but this is noted on our site.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 2



Rates & Availability

Aylen Lake Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $36.59
Refundable damage deposit $219.54

We expect you to leave the cottage cleaned, as found, Clean kitchen, bathroom and vacuum cottage. If not clean, fee of $130. will be taken from deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties