check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Joel Hookerman

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

3 bedroom oceanfront Penthouse Loft in Diria Resort

9 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Costa Rica Condo Rental Photos and Description

This vacation home is nifty with memorable Ocean Views and Sunsets and sleeps 8

We have 3 bedrooms: master bedroom with a king bed, 2nd bedroom with a king bed that's and a 3rd bedroom with a queen bed and closet. We had a custom built circular stairwell that's not only a work of art but it allows even taller guests to easily access loft. You have wonderful views from most locations in the property. Tamarindo boasts the best beaches in the country. To recap again we have 2 king-sized in-suites and a queen, 3 full bathrooms, WIFI, cable TV, telephone,barbecue, AC, service 24/7. We check you into our Country Balinese retreat that's as quiet as a convent at night so you can luxuriate during a restful sleep and sweet dreams about Nirvana in a paradise like Tamarindo. We give you the skinny; all the inside information on what to do and where to go. Walk to everything. We discuss during our little visit the best dining options, labeling them on a map and there all minutes away.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Joel Hookerman (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

About Joel Hookerman

My wife I am from Alberta Canada and am retired from the Oil and Gas business. My wife is a Psychologist and retired as well.

Joel Hookerman purchased this condo in 2014

Why Joel Hookerman chose Costa Rica

We loved Tamarindo and were looking for something on the Sea with great views of the ocean and Mountains. We like the resort amenities and have seen the rental revenues grow since our 1st purchase of a property in Diria in 2011. We can do everything from play golf at a gorgeous course, fish, go surfing, sail, scuba dive without wet-suites in warm water where the conditions of the blue zone attract more varieties of sea life than we've ever seen on other dives around the world. We play at Hacienda Pinilla on a course as big as Augusta National where they play the Masters each year. It is very tough and long however there's 5 tees. There's 5 kinds of cats in the forest here. They retain a lot of there Rain and Cloud forests and there's strictly enforced laws that protect the plants and trees. We see many varieties of parrots and birds as well as monkeys, sloths and other creatures. What a treat. BTW they don't hunt animals in C.R. They have people who nurse injured back to health then release them where they were picked up.

What makes this condo unique

Our property here makes us very happy when we're in residence. When we're not here we look forward to it. If you can't be happy in Tamarindo in our opinion it will be a tough job for you to achieve that goal any place. The Ticos, as the peoples here are called, are the happiest, friendliest and welcoming people we have ever met. I have observed that there's a great respect and courtesy paid to women and a civility toward there fellow man that's being lost in many other parts of the world. We fell in love with the views of the sea and mountains from our spacious 3 bedroom 3 bathroom penthouse which we furnished to try to make feel at home. We also look out over a 10,000 S.F. free-form pool that never ceases to amaze us with it's design and gardens that surround it. The shaded swim-up bar makes lovely drinks when you want refreshments and don't want to leave the pool. We also have a 25 meter pool on the property for swimming laps and we love the water spouts coming from beautiful statues that create a perfect lane to complete are laps.

Reviews

4.3
based on 9 traveler reviews

3 bedroom oceanfront Penthouse Loft in Diria Resort
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
Jax. FL
5

Durian rental

  • 5 of 5

I just want to thank Joel for this fantastic rental property. He met my husband and two teenage daughters and their friends upon our arrival. He was most hospitable and acccomadating. He gave us great recommentions for restaurants, excursions, etc. One morning at 6 am, we had to call Joel for access to the condo. We discovered we had locked ourselves out of the condo on our way to breakfast. Joel came right over to let us in. Now that's what I call Five Star service! By the way, The condo was in excellent condition, and is in the best location in Tamarindo! We should know. This was our third time there. We will be back! Thanks, Joel.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Sunset in Tamarindo Amazing

  • 5 of 5

I am not good at writing these but wanted to say what a wonderful time we had in Diria Condo. Arrival was easy as a direct shuttle from the airport drops you at the door. The condo is a penthouse and it was clean and well appointed. We had all we needed for cooking and bar-b-que. Spent time on the beach, water is so warm and clear and then came back to watch the sunset with a margarita's for all. The pool is beautiful and we never failed to get our spot with thatched umbrella and lounge chairs. Everything is in walking distance, we enjoyed "Wok N Roll", "Patagonia", "La Terrace" and our favourite breakfast was Kahiki. People are so kind and helpful, I got to practice my Spanish. We walked at all hours and it is so safe here. The paddle boarding was fun. We went on the Marlin del ray, it is open bar and swimming and snorkeling, a complete day which was just great. We found a gym in town, can walk and do your work out then on the way back grab a gelato and espresso. An awesome trip we will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great Location, Condo needs work

  • 2 of 5

I feel like I stayed in a different condo than what was described in the other reviews. As others stated, it was definitely very convenient to restaurants and shops, had access to a wonderful pool across the street from the ocean, and had a nice ocean view in the middle distance. There was also a significant walk up stairs as described (no big deal if you are in good shape).

But the troubles began when we went to the Diria front desk to check in as directed. They specifically told us we did not have access to the pools, beachfront lounges, etc. on the beach side of the resort, which is different from what is stated in the listing. A key attraction of the condo since it wasn't on the beach was to be able to sit by the beach in the hotel's grassy area with access to pools, but that wasn't to be.

When we arrived at the condo in the late afternoon, the cleaning crew was finishing up, and Joel arrived shortly thereafter to tell us about places to eat and get groceries. After he left, we started to unpack and discovered several things that were broken (living room slider doors, master closet door), and I realized how dirty the whole condo was. The dishes and cabinet handles were greasy. The floor made my feet black from walking on it. The rugs were so filled with dirt that I drug them all into the guest bedroom and piled them up to just get them out of the way. The sheets in the master were tattered and stained, so I washed them before sleeping on them. Many of the kitchen towels were stained as well. The bathrooms might have just been old and stained from the water, but they seemed dirty too. I felt better once I had scrubbed everything down, but it was just so strange that so many people commented on how clean the condo was previously.

When I spoke with Joel just as we were leaving, he said we should have called him, and he would have remedied the issues. Two issues with that. First, the cleaning crew was leaving when we arrived, so obviously they didn't know how to clean, so inviting them back would have been pointless. Second, it would have taken hours to clean the condo up and fix the broken things, and I do not want to spend my vacation dealing with things like that. I just cleaned it myself and didn't worry about the broken things. But I felt others should know the situation.

I've had many good experiences with VRBO rentals, so hopefully this is just a hiccup.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HELLO People, I have been very busy. I should have responded to this REVIEW weeks ago. Let me say this about that. Yes the 3 bedroom Penthouse at Diria was a “work in progress” since we were only 75% through a total remodel. In retrospect I should have never rented this glorious property until the work was complete. However it was still habitable. On the day of the guest’s arrival we had a late check-out and we rushed our housekeepers cleaning process.. As luck would have it our head housekeeper was off attending to a very ill child. I do concur that the Penthouse was below our normal standard for cleanliness. The property’s untidiness and the condition of linens plus the broken door handle WERE NOT BROUGHT TO OUR ATTENTION UNTIL OUR GUESTS were CHECKING OUT. That is why we feel this complaint is grossly unfair. We spoke to the guest who would not retract their review. I feel I’ve earned the reputation as a “pride of service” Manager getting a lot of 5 star reviews. If the guest would have told us at the inception of their stay what her issues were we would have corrected everything and least of which would have been to send a cleaning crew in as soon as the guest said it was OK to do a thorough cleaning. We offer concierge services to our guests 24/7. If you have an AC , electrical ,plumbing or need a doctor we go 24/7; nobody I know of will do that. Quite frankly, I have never had a negative review on my many properties because we nip things in the bud and try to satisfy everyone we serve. We never had the opportunity to address their concerns which again we would have done immediately. Since this complaint we have replaced the handles with a new assembly, replaced all linens and put-in a new washer and dryer and State of the Art AC. It sleeps 8 and is a dreamy property with memorable ocean views. I consider this bad review an aberration. Do more due-diligence and make up your own mind whether you want to stay with us. Cheers JH
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

I would like to start by saying I have never written a review on anything before but this trip was so wonderful I just had to share our experience Joel met us upon arrival and spent time going over wgat restaurants to go to, tours to take etc...he gave us a map of the town and answered any questions we had. He was also available at all times for anything we needed. My son became I'll and he had a doctor come see him in our room within 20 minutes. The condo was clean and beautiful. Great location. All of the people in costa rica were so friendly and accommodating. We did many activites as well enjoying the beautiful pool and beach. Restaurants are wonderful and all within walking distance. Pack light because it is very casual. We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Alberta, Canada
4

Lovely Place to Stay

  • 4 of 5

The condo was lovely. Two huge king beds and a loft gave lots of space for us. It is a bit of a hike to the beach so that was one down side. But the pools are quite close and they are beautiful and the balcony offers a great view of the sunsets which are just breath taking.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Place - excellent view - awesome location!

  • 4 of 5

This condo is across the street (not that far at all) from the Diria resort/hotel where the beach is. The condo pool is beautiful and all parts of the condo, grounds, pool, etc are clean and comfortable. The view from the condo balcony is priceless - but with that you do also get 3 flights of stairs (no elevator). It wasn't a big deal at all - good exercise - but wouldn't be good for someone who can't do stairs very well. The condo's location is perfect & within walking distance of many great restaurants. The town was very casual and safe, too! WE LOVED It and hope to return someday.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
Nearest Beach
25 Metres
Car: not necessary

You can walk to restaurants from the property that are an epicurean delight cooked to perfection by many of the wonderful chefs who live in Tamarindo. You can take a Resort Course in Scuba Diving with a few hours of instruction in a pool and the following day you go down on a dive. I am a diver and I love diving in Catalina nearby because the water is warm and there is so much Sea Life. I never where a wet suit. I love to golf at Hacinda Pinilla an excellent test of golf that is nearby and has several ocean holes. It is always in excellent condition. You can learn how to surf and you have some of the best conditions in the World to do so. There is no hunting in C.R. and our Rain and Cloud forests have an incredible array of wildlife including many species of cats, monkeys and parrots. The rivers are teaming with crocodiles and other river life. Gallup says that C.R. has the lowest crime rate of any country in South or Central America. The Ticos are the warmest friendliest and welcoming people you could ever meet and its greatest resource. C.R. also is among one of the top medical tourism destinations in the World. You can have medical and dental procedures done by American and Cuban trained professionals who will provide services at a much lower prices than in the U'S. Costa Rica in general and Tamarindo in particular are hot tourist destinations. Many of our vacation properties are 5 star and you will catch the famous Pura Vida feeling. Won't you come be our guest.

Cheers Management

Photos

Rates & Availability

Playa Junquillal Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Green-Season
May 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
I love it-Season
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Pre-Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Christmas-Season
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
High-Season
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Easter-Season
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
April-Season
Apr 17 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 

Additional information about rental rates

PayPal Invoices can be paid by credit or debit card very simply; half on reservation, half 60 days before arrival. In case you can't come at the time you've booked we do refunds only if we can book a new guest for those dates and we will charge a $100 cancellation fee only. We can also discuss moving your dates to another time that you find acceptable. We're busy and a return of funds is possible.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Costa Rica Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large with tile
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , very nice and tiled
  • Bathroom 3; 3rd full bathroom just built in loft
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Ocean views, bathroom in suite
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ocean views, Bathroom in suite
  • 3 en suites with 2 with king beds and 3rd has queen. Custom stairwell.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Many tours are available as follows: zip-lining, repelling, surfing, fishing for game and bill-fish, ATVs, seeing large turtles, alligators, monkeys,sloths, parrots, volcanoes, Arenal, Montverde, scuba diving and much more

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties