check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Dan Hazard

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish

Sian Ka'an - Remote Beautiful Beach

7 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 18 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Tulum Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Casa Grande Sleeps up to 8, 2 Bedrooms, Patio, Common Room, Private Bath

Follow the Boca Paila Road into the Sian Ka'an Biosphere and discover a world like no other. The Boca Paila Peninsula is a narrow strip of land with beautiful, pristine Caribbean beaches on one side and one and a half million acres of protected mangrove lagoons on the other.

We are a complete Eco Resort, with 24 hour solar power, and many of the improvements were constructed from driftwood, washed up bamboo, coral, and other materials found close by.

Xamach Dos has a beautiful palapa restaurant for guests, with incredible food at reasonable prices. It is also a perfect place for a secluded wedding.

The warm, Caribbean bay waters are excellent for swimming, kayaking and snorkeling, with an unspoiled reef system just a hundred or so yards from the powder sand beach. Take one of our kayaks out in the bay and explore the reef, or take a boat trip into the Laguna with Mayan fishing and nature guides - it is full of hundreds of bird species, wildlife and overgrown Mayan ruins. Wait till you see the stars at night!

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this is the place for you! We were recently featured in INTERNATIONAL LIVING Magazine as one of the best places to get away!

Keywords: Cabana,secluded,beachfront,mayan ruins,private,remote,Casita,fishing,kayaking,Caribbean,Sian Ka'an

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
Dan Hazard (Property Manager)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish

About Dan Hazard

I purchased the property in 2004, after falling in love with the Sian Ka'an Reserve, an amazing 1.5 million acres of secluded jungles, mangrove lagoons teeming with hundreds of bird species, incredible fishing, unspoiled reef systems, and most importantly an incredible sense of privacy, well away from the crowded hotel zones.

Everything you will see at Xamach Dos, I had something to do with. I built the beautiful palapa restaurant, cabanas, and have created a magical getaway.

Staying here is like staying with family, you will love the feel and energy of Xamach Dos!

Dan Hazard purchased this bungalow in 2004

What makes this bungalow unique

While at Xamach Dos there are many things to do. Kayak to the unspoiled reef system right offshore, fish for snapper and Barracuda right from the beach, explore our hidden ruins right across the road, or just find one of our many hammocks and spend the day relaxing!

Guestbook comments from the manager

"THREE YEARS RUNNING!"Once again, we chose Xamach Dos as our "decompression zone" Although we have travelled to the Tulum area 5 years in a row, never have we stayed in one place THREE times!!!! We love the atmosphere, the remote location, and of course the staff!!!! The food here is an experience all on it's own. Francesa and Anna have something magical happening in that kitchen! Although there are 4 different cabanas to choose from, we keep coming back to our favourite each year. We enjoy walking out of our door, into the sand that stretches all the way to the Caribbean. In a full 14 days of staying here over 3 years, I have yet to put even sandals on for the entire time. The remoteness means you aren't inundated with "outsiders" all day, yet you are still close enough to Tulum or Punta Allen if you need to make a quick trip for forgotten supplies. The owners have created a place in paradise, and you know right away it is a passion of theirs as much as a love. Going to Mexico without going to Xamach, is something I can't ever imagine myself doing.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.1
based on 7 traveler reviews

Sian Ka'an - Remote Beautiful Beach
average rating of 4.142857 based on 10 reviews
Grand Rapids MI
5

Worth the Drive to enjoy Paradise!!!

  • 5 of 5

So worth the drive to the jungle. Wasn't really sure how I would like the "off the grid", but was pleasantly surprised on how I didn't even feel like I was off the grid. The view from the beach was even more spectacular than I could have imagined. Had internet if I needed it, but again...OFF THE GRID!!! Read other reviews and brought along the bug spray, which was needed, but you are in the jungle. Casa Secreta was a perfect hide away. My room was clean and the bed was comfy. The Staff were friendly and always making sure I had all i needed. And the cook made amazing meals each day!!! Had plenty of hammocks to pick and even learned the game of coconut bocci. If you are looking for adventure in the jungle and off the grid, a place to reconnect with your family and friends, this place is worth the drive!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Robinson Crusoe getaway

  • 4 of 5

I was looking for a place off the grid, away from Tulum in the biosphere and I certainly found it at Xamach Dos. Even though I emailed for availability at the last minute, I received a reply withing 20 minutes. Management and staff could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. The majority of our stay, we had the beach and restaurant to ourselves. It was off season, after all. There is a choice of loungers and hammocks sprinkled throughout. We stayed at Casa Secreta which was perfectly situated for someone craving privacy: in the jungle, yet steps from the water. We had use of kayaks and snorkel gear if we so desired. The reef is within visible distance. Ancient Mayan ruins can be found across the street and the staff will be more than happy to recommend tours within the biosphere or excursions to Tulum. Yes, the road is bumpy and the journey there will take a while at 20 km/hr. You are on vacation: relax and enjoy the scenery! Do bring plenty of DEET free mosquito repellent ( a must for the entire Riviera Maya) and strong biodegradable sunblock or sunscreen. The food was great; always freshly prepared. The vibe is relaxed. If you live by a different beat, please visit something more in tune with you.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Decided to try something different and stay off grid!

Well my husband and I were not disappointed. 24 hour electricity but didn't really need the fans due to the fabulous breeze! The treehouse cabana is a sure favorite!

A previous guest commented on the bugs and just make sure you bring bug spray. We really were not bothered. The staff took great care of us and the food absolutely amazing. The short 20kM drive to Tulum is absolutely doable for a day trip to the ruins. We actually enjoyed the adventure the road offers.

Definitely coming back!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
San Jose, California
1

Run Away!!! It's Really Bad!! Not As Advertised!!

  • 1 of 5

We booked this place under the pretense that this was a fabulous little Eco Resort with 24hr power, wifi, great water sports spot a reasonable distance from town, with all the basic amenities.......ummm no, sorry, not as advertised at all!

First off, there was no mention that this property is 40 kilometers out of town down a dirt & rock road covered with iguanas. For those of you like me who get motion sickness, find another place to go, this is not for you!! Run away!!!

24 hour power would have been nice, that's what they advertise, but sadly they turn the power off around 10pm & turn it back on around 8-9am so you can imagine a beach hut with no fans, no ventilation and no AC in the jungles of Mexico is unbearably hot, so much so you are unable to sleep, sounds great right??

Cleanliness, nope, EPIC FAIL!! Fleas in the restaurant, fleas on the beach, fleas & ticks on the 3 sweet beach dogs that live there!! You really want to pet the dogs until you discover their flea & tick riddled bodies!! Buy some Advantage for god's sake!! Call the exterminator!!! Do something!!! Crabs & scorpions in the room & the shower!! Wear shoes at all times, sleep with one eye open, bring flashlights to see what's coming for you in the heat of the night!! Again, not as advertised!! And no, none of this was explained to us by the owners or the advert you see here on VROB.

If you're an early riser & expect coffee when you wake, forget about it, 8am or so is when "the staff" fall out of bed to get moving on coffee, breakfast, not till 9am, but if you want, you can drive the 40 kilometers back to town and get food/drink there :) Seriously, I would have made it myself but the kitchen was locked!!

Bring all the bug spray you can get your hands on, "mosquito buffet" is a term frequently used at this establishment; again, not informed, as such we were eaten alive!! EPIC FAIL!!

And yes, while the staff is super friendly & laid back, a very strong "eternal party" vibe seems to be the norm for them. With lots of drinking and marijuana smoking, the staff wasn't readily available for a traveler in need, be it fresh towels, wifi, a meal, you need something, please wait while the party people to get it together :(

Bottom line, it was really bad. We left 2 days early & went back to town for some basic amenities & common courtesy. I contacted the owner for a refund, he told me we had 2 free meals & that should cover it. $320 wasted & $500 for the new hotel, not cool :(

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was given a full refund on her cabana plus her food and bar bill. She wrote this review even after we gave her her money back. Facts of the Sian Ka'an Biosphere, we are not allowed to spray our open air palapa restaurant for chiquistas or sand fleas because of the rules we have to follow here in the biosphere (no chemicals allowed). It is also impossible to keep fleas off of our dogs who sleep 24 seven in the sand. They are bathed weekly to help with the fleas not being terrible. We feel this is simply a personal attack and we attempted to make things right for her. Please read our other reviews or come down the road the 20km and see for yourself. Sincerely, Dan - Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
6 10
Ionia, Michigan
5

Road Trip Worthy

  • 5 of 5

If you are up for a little adventure, this is the place for you. we love that this is luxury jungle living. I mean who gets great food, wifi, and pillow top mattress in such a remote place. The road was a bit rough but we were prepared and pretty much new what to expect. So take your time and enjoy the views along with way. Bring bug spray, a flash and definitely need a good book. Plenty of hammocks to pick from. lots of beaches to walk and if you want they will take you to the ruins near the property. The staff are very trustworthy and helpful. All the cabanas have the owners unique personality built into them with drift wood and natural accents. The Tree Top Cabana is a must for a quiet romantic stay… one of my favs...Cant wait to get back.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Day, Calif, USA
4

a rustic beach getaway

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our brief stay here in April, 2012. It is mostly as advertised, with great owners and staff, and the clientele - both young and old - were having fun and were interesting folks to meet - and by that I mean interesting in a very positive way. If you like rustic and remote, this is getting you there. We thought the cost was a bit high for the level of amenities provided (compared to other places we have stayed in the region), but we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others who want to have a personal, uncrowded experience away from the resort mentality that most other places, especially those up the coast in Tulum, seem to thrive on. And, yes, the road is about as crummy as it was the last time we checked out Sian Ka'an 15 years ago, and that's a good thing. It's not as great a buffer as it used to be, but the area is still pretty wild and remote and worth a visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Car: recommended

Exploring our own hidden Mayan Ruins!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tulum Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
May 15 2016 - Dec 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
High Season
Dec 2 2016 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 4 2017
18 night minimum stay
$4,050
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tulum Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Hot water shower
  • Hot Water
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large room with queen bed, direct access to lanai porch
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , (2) queen beds in this bedroom, direct access to lanai porch
  • Queen size Beds (3) plus a common room with a futon.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
Clean Bathroom, Nice Beds, Powder Sand & a Hundred Palm Trees, Restaurant and Bar on Site

Partner Offers