Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Relax in This 3BR House Minutes from Williams College

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Enjoy the beautiful Berkshires in this ideally located three bedroom farm house built in 1880 by the Darling Family. This house sits on the edge of the picturesque Williams College campus, tucked away in a breathtaking valley in the Berkshire Mountains. It is only a few minutes walk to the center of campus, the center of town, or the entrance of Hopkins Forest. The home is situated on a large lot with nearly an acre of fenced-in backyard. The back of the property is bordered by Hemlock Brook.

The first floor includes a large family room/dining room (12 by 25 foot), featuring wide pine flooring, and is quaintly furnished. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped, including a dishwasher, stove, refrigerator and microwave. A laundry room off the kitchen with a washer and dryer is provided for our guests’ convenience. A sunroom is situated in the rear of the first floor with wonderful views of the backyard, extending down to the brook. Also on the first floor, there is a bathroom with full shower and bath.

There are three bedrooms on the second floor. One bedroom has a king bed, another has a queen bed, and a third room has a pullout couch which may serve as a second game room by day and a bedroom by night.

The house has loads of amenities. These include two TVs, a VCR and DVD Player, and a video library. There are bicycles for exploring the abundant natural scenic wonders of Williamstown and beyond. There are several games and puzzles for both young and old. Available outdoor activities include volleyball and badminton. There is a picnic table and charcoal grill for your convenience.

It is said that in the Berkshires 'Nature sets the scene and culture steals the show.' Nowhere is this truer than in Williamstown. This idyllic setting boasts wonderful mountain views, including Mount Greylock, the highest peak in Massachusetts, (3491 feet). Mountain lakes and streams abound, for fishing, swimming and exploring. The Appalachian Trail and other alternative hiking opportunities are nearby. Hopkins Memorial Forest, a 2500 acre preserve, with hiking trails, Buxton Garden, and The Moon Barn, is 0.8 miles from the house.

The picturesque beauty in and around Williamstown provides four seasons of scenic wonder. In addition to the fall leaf-peeking, this area serves as a stellar backdrop for golfing and skiing. The Taconic Golf Club (semi-private) and Waubeeka Golf Links are nearby. Several options exist for cross-country skiing and downhill skiing can be enjoyed at nearby Jiminy Peak. Several antique stores, shops, and superlative restaurants are in the area.

Williamstown is the home of Williams College, one of the preeminent educational institutions in the country. Thus, the area bustles with cultural activity. The College offers a host of cultural activities throughout the year. The nearby Clark Art Institute boasts an outstanding collection of European and American art. Located a few miles away, in North Adams, is the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art (MASSMoCA), home to avant-garde and provocative art, theatre, and dance. Just a few minutes walk from the house is the famous Williamstown Theatre, home to the prestigious Williamstown Theatre Festival. The Tony award winning WTF has been in existence for fifty years, presenting over 200 performances each summer, featuring the finest actors in America. Approximately 30 minutes away in Lenox, Massachusetts is Tanglewood. This spectacular outdoor theatre plays host to well known classic, popular, and jazz concerts each June through Labor Day and is the summer home of The Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Based in Williamstown, the Darling House is an ideal comfortable location, from which one can explore the Berkshires, visit with friends, explore Williams College, or immerse oneself in scenic beauty and cultural activity.

Keywords: House

More Details

Ellen Schratz
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 16, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great stay in the house in Williamstown- it was a perfect place for us to stay- enough room for 2 young adult kids and 4 adults... wonderful sunroom/deck & yard. Thanks
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 22


Williamstown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , double
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) One full futon and one pull out double couch
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Bikes, Volleyball Net, Games


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Relax in This 3BR House Minutes from Williams College
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 35 reviews
Westmont Il

great time had by all!!!

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our daughter's graduation from Williams College. Made especially easy and relaxing by being within walking distance of the commencement. The house was perfect, with enough sleeping for all and a kitchen fully outfitted. Thanks much

Margaret & Bill

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
North Attleborough, MA, USA

Convenience in the Berkshires

  • 4 of 5

Situated just acros a very busy (and noisy) Rt. 7 from Williams College, this was an excellent location from which to base excursions to various cultural experiences in the Berkshires. The Wiliamstown Theatre Festival (based in the Willams College Theatre) was a five minute walk across the street, the Clark Art Institute a fifteen minute walk down Rt. 7, the Bennington VT Music Festival (chamber music) was a twenty minute drive and Tanglewood approximately forty-five minutes to an hour drive. The house itself was simple and adequate (a bit dusty and cob-webby when we arrived) with a large fenced-in back yard which was great for our dog, a fully equipped kitchen and generally comfortable living quarters. A couple of quibbles: many light bulbs were burned out upon our arrival (which we replaced from the house store room supply) and the one bed that could accommodate my 6'4" height was "cratered" from what appeared to be an unsupported bed frame. Otherwise, it served our needs well for the week.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best location!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I were looking to spend a weekend in the Berkshires and wanted to be centrally located to Williamstown. This house was perfect for us. We walked to town for coffee in the morning and drove the 2 miles to Hopkins Forest for a beautiful hike. We had our dog and the back yard is a dream! Huge fenced in area where we could play with our dog when we weren't out with her hiking. The house is well-loved, but if you can look past some of the dated rooms, it's a really great option to enjoy everything the area has to offer. The hosts were easy to communicate with and the place was very clean. Thank you for a great weekend getaway!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

New England Charm

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in the Williamstown house for five days in February. It is a comfortable house with a huge backyard. It has a outdoor deck (which we did not use since it was winter) adjoining an outstanding "porch room" with full windows on three sides, bamboo shades, and plenty of heat. This room was our favorite - someone was always out there relaxing in the sunshine. In fact, my daughter and her husband decided to sleep in that room. There are two big bedrooms upstairs and one quite small room with a futon. The living/dining room are spacious with comfortable furniture and a dining room table that can easily seat 8-10. The house was clean and well-maintained, the appliances all work, and it expanded easily to sleep nine (one on the living room couch). We are planning to rent this house again when we return to Williamstown to visit our daughter.

We have only three "downsides" to mention. There is only one bathroom and it is on the first floor - it works perfectly but is a little inconvenient. The stairs are steep and narrow and so could be a hazard for older folks and children - we managed just fine but it could be a consideration for some. The porch room for sleeping could easily solve the problem for Grandma! And finally, the lighting in the kitchen is dim - I had to go to the window a couple of times to read my recipes. My eyes are old so this wouldn't be much of a problem for most people.

In sum, this is not a fancy house but it is well kept, centrally located, and has all the necessary amenities. It is loaded with the charm of old New England. For the price, it is an outstanding value. We will go back!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Chatham, MA

Property #55466

  • 1 of 5

We had reserved this property for two nights beginning on October 21, 2012. Upon arriving, we noticed heaps of garbage overflowing the rubbish cans, the screen totally missing from the side storm door, and the front door very difficult to pry open. We entered the house to find all dirty sheets and pillow cases thrown in front of the washer/dryer, bed spread and pillows on the carpeted floor in an upstairs bedroom, very dirty shower curtain liner, and no telephone anywhere in the house. Using my cell phone, I called the owner who maintained that the cleaning company had always been reliable, and his absence was most unusual. Many hours later after waiting for the cleaning crew, who didn't arrive, we departed the rental after 5PM. This was a very costly lesson for us using VRBO-- we could never recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly apologize for any inconvenience to this guest. It was a communication breakdown with our cleaning company. The house was a quick turnover and the cleaners made a date mistake. The previous guests had just left which is why the house was in such a mess. This guest called us a little after 3PM and the cleaners arrived a little after 5PM. We did refund the guest for their stay. We had offered to reimburse them for their inconvenience if they had wanted to stay. We have used this cleaner for many years and they have been reliable and do a good job. It was an odd day (Sunday) for a quick turn and they just got mixed up. As I said we have apologized and refunded this guest their full payment. We have talked to the cleaning company and are assured this will not happen again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Boston, Massachusetts

great location

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I had a great time at the darling house over Thanksgiving.Although some of my friends found the house to be hounted (lol) I slept soundly every night.I loved the big backyard and the bikes available too.This house was the most equipped both in Kitchen and bathroom.I don't think you can consider the room with the futon a bedroom.It's too small and anybody who dares sleep on that futon will wake up very achy all over...Also,the stairs are very slippery.we had 2 adults,2 children and a dog fall down it.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Tanglewood Music Center
The Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
"World renowned art institute minutes from the house."
Williams College
"The house is on the edge of the Williams College campus"
Stop and Shop Supermarkets
"Great place to do your grocery shopping."
Mass Museum of Contemporary Art
"Wonderful modern art museum about 25 minutes from the house"
Bousquet Ski Area
Jiminy Peak
"Great family skiing"
Mezze Bistro & Bar
"Nice restaurant with good reviews"
Spice Root
"Good Indian food"
The Purple Pub
"A nice pub with good pub food"
Water Street Grill
"Very nice atmosphere with good food."
Williamstown Theatre Festival
"Famous for summer stock theatre"
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Williamstown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

You might like these similar properties