Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

For more pics we just added a link to a Facebook page for the cottage at the bottom of this page

Our cottage has just received a major face lift. All of the carpet was removed exposing a wonderful old hardwood floor. We have put some new furniture in and redecorated the place with new curtains except for the main living room. Some of the changes can be seen in the pictures posted below.

This ideal location is only a brief walk from downtown Alden. The sandy beach slopes into the clear water gently, making this a great walk-in swim site with a raft out in front of the cottage. There is also a permanent anchor off the end of the dock for those who bring there boat (rentals are nearby & can be arranged with prior notice).

This single story cottage has a fully fenced back yard making it perfect for dogs or small kids. It comes with a fully equipped kitchen with a small island and an attached breakfast area as you walk in from the street. Through the kitchen opens in to a spacious living room with large picture windows facing the lake. With a TV and fireplace on one end of the room and a dining area on the other.

The living room opens out through French doors onto the screened in porch which provides an exceptional sunset view. There are two bedrooms one with a queen size bed and the other with two twin beds located on one side of the house sharing a full bath. The third bedroom is on the opposite side with a set of bunk beds and a full bath attached to it.

Keywords: House

More Details

Chris Stearns
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 7, 2017

Why Chris Stearns chose Northern Michigan

My Grandfather bought the house in the 30's and it has been in our family ever since. Both my mother and I grew up here over the summers. Obviously I am slightly biased but it is truly a great place


Alden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


3.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

16% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews

Fun family destination

  • 4 of 5

This is my second year renting the this cottage on Torch Lake. The atmosphere is pure relaxation with a great swim area for the kids (we have 4 children, 14 to 20 year olds) Beach area starts out shallow and gradually get deeper as you walk out with the depth only being 5 feet 100 yards out. The bottom is sandy. The owner made improvements since last year with the main one being the shower in the main bath and also an improved laundry room. Kitchen is fully usable and we cooked dinner 5 out of 6 nights we were here. Torch Lake is known for its mild climate in the Summer and we did not have a need for the heat or AC either year. Boat lift station is not usable as it needs new lumber for runners. There is a mooring point for boats and a dock though. Main improvement needed is replacement of the 15 inch CRT TV. WIFI is nice. We plan on coming back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not Good, but great location.

  • 2 of 5

I really didn’t want to write this review of Comfort Cottage but after the treatment we received from the owner I felt I had to let others know what it is like to stay at this cottage.

We were really looking forward to our vacation and staying at the cottage, but when we went inside we found out that the a.c. wasn’t working. We tried to call the handyman but his voice-mail box was full. So we called the owner and left a message for him. No response so we called again a few hours later. My husband talked to him about the air and he said that he was going to look into it, and not five minutes later, there is a post on Facebook that due to the harsh winter the a.c. broke and he was not going to fix it all summer. We looked for fans and found two very small ones and one of them when you turned it on would slide across the floor or slide and fall off of a table. We rented this place because of the air because I have asthma and can’t breathe in the heat. But thank God it was colder than normal and I was ok. Well you guessed it, it got really cold two days later and the furnace didn’t work. Again called the owner and his response was how cold is it, and that he would call the handyman and we never heard back from him.

On his website he says to let him know of any problems so that he can fix them because he lives in Montana. That is a great excuse not to fix things and leave your tenants hot and then really cold to where their noses are freezing.

I really didn’t want to write this but I don’t want anyone else to go through what we had to put up with. We knew the cottage was rustic and we were fine with that but with these problems we will not be back. I told the owner that and all he said was “Well I can understand that”.

We left three days early because we couldn’t take being cold one more day.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Cincinnati, OH

Heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is in the best part of Torch Lake to catch the most breathtaking sunsets. It is a short two minute stroll into town to go to all the wonderful shops and restaurants. The lake is shallow and sandy at this point. Perfect for small kids to get in and enjoy the lake. The cottage is rustic but cozy. Exactly as a lake house should feel! All the beds were comfy and the cottage was clean and had everything we needed. We hope to come back every summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
Portage, MI

Great cottage!

  • 4 of 5

Given that there were only two reviews for this cottage, I was a little leery of renting it for my family for a week. However, we had very short notice of our time off and I was convinced by the owner's response to an unfavorable review to give it a chance. We are so glad that we did! The house definitely has a "summer camp cottage" feel to it, but to us that was part of the charm. I don't want to vacation in a house just like I have at home. Just as the owner has stated, the kitchen has been stocked with all new supplies. All the pans, knives, dinnerware & utensils are nice and new. The surfaces are older, but easy to keep clean. The entire interior of the cottage was very clean. The bedrooms were comfortable and had nice linens. There are two full bathrooms, but one only has a tub. A nice big tub, but still no shower. There are plentiful towels in the kitchen and both baths. The wood floors throughout the cottage are very nice. The living/dining area is quite large with lots of windows. It made the cottage feel much larger. The beach area is very nice, and there's quite a lot of frontage. There are chairs down at the beach area for camp fires or relaxing in the sun. It's a bit a of a steep hill from the house to the shore, but not too bad. I suppose the only negative is that there is not a lot of comfortable seating in the house. The sofa in the living room is nice, but all the other chairs are small and uncomfortable, Not a problem if you have great weather, because who is inside on a lake in nice weather?? But we did have that random cold windy day that we felt very cooped up. The other thing was that this cottage did seem a bit pricey when comparing it to other cottages on Torch that seemed to have more to offer. Granted, we haven't stayed in those other places so we can't say for sure, but by comparing photos and amenities with prices, this one seems a bit high in regular season. Overall, this was a very nice cottage in a good location and we would definitely consider another stay here.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Chicago, IL

Sensational location; rustic house

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The property and location are spectacular (the photos on vrbo don't do it justice). A georgous sandy beach, with a gradual slope and a nice dock. Literally, one of the nicest spots on the lake. Also, the house sits on a little hill about 10 feet high and is ~40-50 feet from the water, so the view is amazing (180 degree water view facing the sunset directly). Lots of nice touches like stacked firewood on the beach for bonfire/smores at night. Great porches for sitting and enjoying the view (both screened and open). We rented a boat all week and made good use of the dock and mooring. The very short walk to Alden was a big plus (sandwiches, market, coffee/baked goods etc). There are nice large windows at the front of the house, so you can enjoy the view from both the main room and master bedroom. We brought our dog and she made good use of the fenced front yard.

The house has an old summer cabin feel. If you are ok with a much older house that hasn't had a major update in a long time, you'll be comfortable. If you are finnicky about housing and like everything in a house to be modern/new/spotless, then you might want to consider other locations. I personally liked the house and thought it had a lot of character and history. My wife was not as big a fan of the house and thought it was crying out for some basic updates (like a new kitchen). Note that although the house was rustic, all appliances, etc. worked. The house has plenty of room, and all of the beds/bedrooms were comfortable.

One the whole, I give the property/location 5 stars, and the house 3 stars, for a blended four stars.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Grand Rapids, MI

Not Good....(but great location)

  • 2 of 5

The good: 1) location, both to Torch Lake & downtown Alden; 2) in email correspondence & phone conversations, the owner seems like a genuinely nice guy.

The bad: 1) the place is really, really, really dirty -- carpets are terribly soiled (the women wouldn't walk around in bare feet); the kitchen floor was filthy (I wiped up a water spill on the first day with a paper towel and was disgusted by the dirt coming off of the linoleum floor); etc.; 2) the place is poorly maintained -- when we arrived one of the two toilets wasn't working, & wasn't fixed until two days later; the light switch in the master bedroom stopped working & we had to unscrew the bulbs on the first night to go to sleep; the sinks into which the washing machine drains were clogged such that you couldn't do two loads of laundry within two hours of each other; when it rained on one of our last days there, water was dripping from the ceiling into the living room area; &, finally, the mooring anchor buoy was missing, having been replaced with a little yellow innertub that was destroyed by the waves on our first day there; 3) the kitchen is stocked with antiquated, rusted equipment/accessories -- the decription refers to "fully stocked kitchen". Maybe technically correct, but who wants to use kitchen knives that are totally rusted and disgusting-looking? No one in our group would use *anything* in the kitchen that we didn't wash ourselves ahead of time. Pots, pans & skillets looked like something from 100 years ago that you would use around a campfire.

I really thought long and hard before posting this review. However, forums that allow customers to post reviews exist for a reason -- to help inform prospective renters. I think the owner is a decent guy, but, unfortunately, he lives in Montana & doesn't get back to Michigan very often (he and/or his family also own the cottage next door). In my opinion, the carpet needs to go NOW & be replaced with tile. It's in horrible shape & new carpet will look almost as bad after a couple of seasons. The owner needs to go to Target or WalMart & spend $500 or $1000 on new kitchen equipment/utensils. And the place needs to be cleaned/scrubbed from top to bottom, with maybe a fresh coat of paint. I don't know whether the price we paid is "current market" for a cottage in this condition on Torch Lake, but I do know that this rental experience fell far, far short of expectations and, as a result, I just can't recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would honestly like to thank you for posting this review, As you said I live in Montana and I am not aware of things that go wrong with our cottage unless someone tells me of the problems. I would like to let you and anyone else know my wife and I removed all of the carpet while we at the cottage over Labor Day weekend and that we were extremely lucky to find beautiful hardwood floors underneath. Please look at the updated pictures of the living room. We have also found a new cleaning lady for switching over the cottage between renters as it is now apparent that the old one was not doing her job to the proper extent. We also removed much of the older kitchen utensils and have replaced them with new ones, we did leave a few of the old "camp fire" ones in case anyone wants to use them for that reason. As far as the maintenance issues go we have had all of them fixed and taken care of. The roof leak is fixed, of which I am very thankful to have found out about. We have had a new well pump put in this year and new toilets in each of the bathrooms, and we have also purchased a new buoy for our boat anchor as well. I would like to say that the cottage has had a pretty significant face lift from this past summer and is in significantly better condition than it has previously been. The kitchen still looks as did but we are hoping that it will get a major face lift like the rest of the cottage in the next few years. I hope that any prospective and future renters will find this review and response useful in deciding whether or not to stay at our cottage, to which I hope that you will consider staying with us and enjoying our cottage for your summer vacation. Chris Stearns
Did you find this review helpful?
32 0


Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Alden Bar


Rates & Availability

Alden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jun 26 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Payments are made by check only. We require half down as deposit and the remaining half a few weeks before you arrive.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties