Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Grade II listed 17th Century Manor House in Herefordshire village

Sleeps28
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms8
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

11 bedrooms, 8 bathrooms, hot tub, max 22 adults plus children in z-beds/cots.

This beautiful 17th century Grade II listed manor house stands in grounds of around 1 acre, on the banks of the River Arrow. It is on the Black and White Trail, and in one of Herefordshire's loveliest villages. Furnished with luxury and relaxation in mind, the house offers a mix of traditional style and 21st century technology such as 42inch flat-screen TV with Sky Plus and cinema surround-sound, and BT Broadband. The ground floor comprises a large kitchen with Aga and dining area, study, sitting room, living room with baby grand piano and inglenook fireplace, and separate dining room to seat up to 22. The 11 bedrooms (4 en suite) contain 8 kings and 3 double beds, including 4 four-posters. There is a large garden with hot tub, dovecote and 2 barbecues (one gas, one charcoal), plus a games barn with table tennis, air hockey, football and pool tables. This property is family-friendly. It is not an appropriate venue for amplified music or loud/late-night parties.

Eating Out: The Cross Inn, Eardisland, 01544 388249;

New Inn, Pembridge, 01544 388427;

Angel Inn and Restaurant, Kingsland (Award-winning pub food), 01568 8355

Stagg Inn, Titley (Michelin-starred)

.

The Village: Eardlisland Parish Church and St Mary the Virgin dates back to the 14th century, and regularly holds exhibitions and Flower Festivals. The dovecote (the rear of which is situated in the garden of the Manor House), is a Grade II listed building which has recently been restored and houses an exhibition about the village. Access to the dovecote is via the main public entrance.

There are 2 public houses in the village; The White Swan Inn and The Cross Inn. Both serve home-cooked food. In addition there are tea rooms open 7 days per week and a part-time post office and general store.

Please note that the Manor House is situated in the centre of the peaceful village of Eardisland and has near neighbours. It is therefore not a suitable location for loud parties and/or amplified music, but perfect for relaxing and enjoying this quintessential English village.

Ludlow: The nearby historic market town of Ludlow has been referred to as 'the perfect historic town'. It has a castle, over 500 listed buildings, and still retains it's medieval street layout. It hosts an annual 3-day food festival, and a weekly producers market, offering locally grown cheeses, fish, meat, poultry, game, fuit and vegetables.

Also known as Britain's food capital, it boasts more Michelin-starred restaurants than anywhere in Britain outside London.

More Details

Owner
Mrs Doyle
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2016

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Absolutely fantastic house. Beautifully renovated and furnished. An amazing time was had by all and we hope to be back very soon to be ladies and gents of the Manor again!'. 'This old house was the perfect setting for close family and special friends to share the celebrations. We will all remember with great pleasure the Manor House at Eardisland (what a pretty village). A great communal kitchen for preparing meals. Everything perfect'. 'What a lovely home, and so well stocked. Good karma and vibes! Happy memories for all who were here'. This was a fantastic venue for a big gathering. I have a weeks worth of wonderful memories. It's so easy staying here, all you have to do is relax'. 'Superb house - just the best we've ever stayed in. Some lovely touches - gorgeous towels, soaps, shampoo, cookery books etc to really make you feel at home. Thank you so much'.
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

Map

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Birmingham
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Leominster
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
Worcester

The Black and White Trail was developed as a means of encouraging visitors to take a closer look at the beautiful countryside and villages between Leominster and Kingston in north-west Herefordshire. The trail is characterised by the large number of timbered and half-timbered houses in the area - some dating from medieval times. The Manor House is about 5 miles west of Leominster, 15 miles from Hereford and 10 miles from the Welsh and Shropshire borders. Visit the dovecote or the 14th century Parish Church in the village, take a walk along Offa's Dyke or see the fine houses and castles at Ludlow and Stokesay. Spend the day shopping in Hay-on-Wye, Shrewsbury or Worcester or view Mappi Mundi at Hereford Cathedral. About a mile away Burton Court houses an extensive collection of European and Oriental costumes - It also has a history dating back to the Domesday Book. Oxford, the Cotwsolds and Shakespear's Stratford-on-Avon can all be reached within 2 hours.

Amenities

Eardisland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 28
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 22 people
Bathrooms:
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • 1st floor main house - toilet , combination tub/shower , services bedroom 2 and 4
    2nd floor main house - toilet , combination tub/shower , en-suite to bedroom 5
    second floor main house - toilet , shower , sole use for bedroom 6
    first floor main house - toilet , shower , en-suite to bedroom 1
    first floor main house - toilet , combination tub/shower , en-suite to bedroom 3
    1st floor flat section - toilet , shower , services bedrooms 7, 8 and 9
    first floor cottage section - toilet , combination tub/shower , services bedrooms 10 and 11
    cottage section - toilet , shower , ground floor
  • All of the bathrooms and shower rooms have been refurbished in the last 12 months - the final 3 having been completed in February 2007 - and are beautifully presented, with quality bathroom fittings and fixtures, and natural stone floor and wall tiles.
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 28
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 4-poster, en-suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 4-poster, shares bathroom with b/r 4
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 4-poster, en-suite
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , shares bathroom with b/r 2
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , en-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 4-poster, sole use of adjacent shower room
    Bedroom 7 - 1 king , shares bathroom with b/r b and 9
    Bedroom 8 - 1 queen , shares bathroom with b/r 7 and 9
    Bedroom 9 - 1 double , shares bathroom with b/r 7 and 8
    Bedroom 10 - 1 queen , shares bathroom with b/r 11
    Bedroom 11 - 1 queen , shares bathroom with b/r 10
  • Two cots are provided. Sofa beds and z-beds for use by children only, are available to hire at £20 per item, to include bedlinen.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 30 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Past experience has shown us that happy children make for relaxed parents, so our younger guests are catered for with a good selection of toys, books, games, VCR's, DVD's, TV's (Sky connection in the sitting room and study), and a PS2 console with Singstar and 2 microphones for karaoke competitions. Outside there is a games barn with pool table, air hockey table, football table and table tennis table. Adults can enjoy a leisurely lie-in in a 4-poster bed with goose-down duvet, relax on the squishy sofas beside the wood burning stove, or simply read a book in the Aga-warmed kitchen. In the garden the large, sunny terrace has ample garden furniture for all of our guests to enjoy a leisurely lunch or just sit and enjoy the beautiful grounds. The secluded seating areas around the borders of the garden and the six-seater hot tub make it a fabulous location to unwind with a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Grade II listed 17th Century Manor House in Herefordshire village
average rating of 4.909091 based on 23 reviews
Belgium
5

An Easter to remember

  • 5 of 5

The Manor House was perfect for us. We were 10 adults 12 children (5 families) in our party looking for a comfortable house that could accommodate us all easily with ample space and facilities,. The house is great as the dining room can seat 22 so we could all at together. The cooking facilities are superb with an Aga and electric cooker so cooking for 22 was not difficult. There are also plenty of glasses plates and cooking utensils which is a must. We could have done with a second dishwasher though which would be my only slight complaint!

The garden is fantastic and it proved invaluable for our easter egg hunt on Sunday! Plenty of space to sit and the hot tub was a huge asset!

If you are staying in the house with a mixed age group like we were the house has four lounges with three televisions so Sky Sports could be on in one with a DVD/Video running in the other so we were all able to spread out.

I would certainly recommend the house to either families or friends. The location is perfect and there is plenty to do. We went to Telford and the boys saw a rugby match at Worcester. Next time we would probably take our bikes to explore the countryside.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sarah. We are so pleased you had a good time, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. There is a second dishwasher in the laundry room, however we appreciate that is not very convenient, and we are in the process of installing another one in the kitchen.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
4

Fantastic stay with family, great space.

  • 4 of 5

We were celebrating a significant 80 th birthday and had a fantastic family weekend. The house was perfect for everyone to have private time or to join in the the fun. The garden gave us the opportunity to talk over a glass of wine or to play games on the lawn. The hot tub was a favourite before dinner chilling again with a glass of wine. The kitchen was well equiped although some cupboard were broken as was the ice container in the kitchen freezer. We catered for ourselves but the tearoom across the road was able to provide food if we wished. We had a lovely tea there on our first day. The facilities in the house enabled us to have enjoyable evenings either playing games or doing karaoke - such a laugh. We played table tennis and boules on the lawn in the house and went over to the park to play rounders. I would definitely recommend the house.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantasic Property - Great Location

  • 5 of 5

A group of about 20 friends go away for a weekend every year. This is probably the best we have stayed in. It was certainly the best equipped. The décor, furnishings and finishes were really nice and for such a lovely old listed building it was in great condition. The service provided by the owner was great, I managed to organise a slightly early arrival and a slightly late departure, those extra few minutes really took the pressure off.

It is a pretty village with a lovely river, we even saw a Kingfisher. We walked to The Angel in Kingsland for Sunday lunch - also to be recommended.

I would recommend this property to all my friends and relatives!!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Manor House and Eardisland have the Wow factor

  • 5 of 5

My wife selected Eardisland Manor house for our group of 17 to celebrate a special birthday over a long weekend. Our first impression on arrival was "Wow". The house and grounds are beautiful and as we pulled onto the driveway the anticipation built.

The exploration of the house was an adventure in itself as we toured a grand collection of ground floor rooms: huge well-equipped kitchen; dining and reception rooms, before going on to explore the staircases, landings and bedrooms. The house was clean and beautifully decorated and furnished with a mix of modern and traditional styles. The bedrooms ranged from the grand to the simple but again the mix of traditional and elegant modern facilities gave a feeling of comfort, good taste and quality.

Outside the gardens are spacious, pleasant and well kept. Sunny weather ensured we made good use of terrace furniture to enjoy breakfasts, BBQs and general social gathering along with the well-equipped games/recreation barn and hot-tub.

Eardisland itself was delightful, with "picture-postcard" village views of river, bridges and cottages along with church, dovecote/museum and other country village features. There are two pubs opposite the Manor house, but we had no need to try them as we were so comfortable and had ensured that we were well supplied in the house.

We had a walk with our OS Map, towards Shobdon - a little longer than expected due to some unclear footpath diversions! However, the walk was enjoyable, the pub at Shobdon was most welcoming, setting us up for the return walk via the nearby busy and interesting airfield.

Back in the house, the variety of lounge/sitting rooms meant that our group of young adults and the older generation could mix in large or small groups as appropriate at various times.

The beds were soooo comfortable with good quality bedlinen. Bathrooms had thick fluffy towels and were thoughtfully equipped with toiletries. All of our group were as impressed with the house, facilities, garden and Eardisland village as we were.

A couple of minor things. The hot-tub was initially out of action due to a leak, but that was quickly attended to by the on-call house manager who was brilliant and clearly loves the house as much as her guests do. The grand piano was out of tune which was a shame as we had a pianist in our party eager to try it.

This was a special occasion for me and the Manor House provided an exceptional setting for it. All the elements needed for a perfect weekend.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Our Weekend Stay at the Manor House

  • 5 of 5

I rented the Manor House for a weekend stay with my family to celebrate my 70th birthday. 23 of us gathered on Friday afternoon and stayed until Sunday lunchtime.

We had a excellent time and I cannot find fault with any of the facilities provided, from the beautifully-appointed kitchen, dining room and three lounge areas, to the hot tub outside in the garden. Everything one could think of was provided.

Many thanks to Maggie and Nicky for the obvious time and effort that has been put in to make things run so smoothly.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

40th Birthday weekend

  • 4 of 5

We have just spent a fabulous weekend at The Manor house in Eardisland.

The property is beautiful, very tastefully decorated with high quality furniture and soft furnishings. The kitchen is excellent with ample crockery and appliances.

The bedrooms are all a good size with very comfortable beds.

The property sleeps 22 in 11 bedrooms which was an important factor when looking for a property for our party. So many large properties advertise as sleeping a certain number but then put 4 people in 1 room.

The grounds of the property are beautiful and we were blessed with good weather so were able to make the most of the garden.

A truly fabulous and memorable weekend was had by all.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $662.34

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties